Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (16)
 Add a review

Instant Ocean Sea Salt Mix - 50gal Bag

 
Aquarium Systems Synthetic Sea Salt Instant Ocean 50 gallon mix bag by Instant Ocean. Synthetic sea salt specifically developed to maintain a thriving marine aquarium


Price: $10 to $14 at 2 stores
Searched Instant Ocean Sea Salt Mix - 50gal Bag in Reviews
 

 

I have used this salt for years with great success - why pay more? featured

Comments I have used this salt for years with great success

I've read many articles on salt mixes, and the magazines come to the general conclusion that many of them are all the same. Sometimes being all the same is a bad thing, but in this case they found that they were all the same in a good way, meaning they contained all the essential elements for your reef.

So what makes Instant Ocean my choice?

First off it has an affordable price. The overall savings by buying in bulk is significant. Secondly, it mixes quickly and easily with little effort. Finally, the package states to put 1/2 cup of mix per 1 US gallon of water. When this recipe is followed the salinity is 1.025 which is exactly what I keep my tank at and which is a good level for most corals, especially anemone.

Also, you might be interested in this TRT forum thread in which the stability of Instant Ocean was tested over a short period of time with very interesting results. http://www.thereeftank.com/forums/showthread.php?t=152987&referrerid=34031


Liked about it 1. Affordable.
2. Dissolves quickly.
3. Easy to find right salinity.


Didn't like 1. I would like to see the bucket come with a scoop.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

I Like this Brand

Comments Yes, it dissolves almost instantly as claimed, although a run a pump in the bucket for an hour or so, as I used RODI water, which I understand is low in dissolved oxygen. Compared to Instant Ocean Crystals, I use a half cup less for mixing two gallons, so yes, the price is VERY good (and it's less expensive all around). For people like myself who maintain a steady water change schedule, this is the salt mixture to use.


Liked about it 1. Economical compared to other products. I use much less of this salt per gallon than other mixes I have tried thus far. It comes from a reputable company and that's good too!
2. Helps keep my calcium and magnesium levels constant.
3. Dissolves quite readily as advertised, although probably still a good idea to aerate (they tell you this in the directions).


Didn't like 1. The bucket claims the product contains trace elements, which I don't doubt, but I can't find the specs. As it is, I add a capful of Seachem Trace Elements to the tank twice a week to be on the safe side.
2. That's my only complaint!


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MichaeJayKlein
Sep 10, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Best Salt by far

Comments Totally worth the money. The only way to make it easier would be to drive out to the ocean and pump ocean water into a reservoir. This sale is at a affordable price it plenty for a 1.026 level in a 44 gallon brute pail. It is worry and trouble free.


Liked about it for the money you cant beat this product. I have only used this product after seeing all the good reviews on it. It worked flawlessly when starting my new 95 gallon tank. It is pretty much available at any local pet shop that carries aquarium supplies.


Didn't like 1. The bag, please pretty please take some lessons from ZIP LOCK and modify your bag.
2. Should come with a little scooper
3. Would be cool if it also came with a paper salt tester.... hmmm...


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By weicowireman
Jun 14, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Would not buy again

Comments Please don't confuse this with instant oceans reef crystals.. I have been using natural sea water for years and with the tank upgrade I decided to start making my own salt water.. This product is readily available ant most fish stores for cheap.. 50$ for a 160 gallon supply.. So I bought 2.. After reading the directions which are easy to remember/follow I added my salt to my ro/di water..it takes a few hours for the salt to totally dissolve. It also leaves pieces of film-like material in the water.. I went another company after testing the water for calcium, magnesium, and dkh.. I don't find the quality of the water to be good for reef aquariums.it would be fine in my opinion for fish only with live rock..


Liked about it It is sold almost everywhere without a huge mark up..


Didn't like The calcium is to low(380) the dkh is to low(7), and the magnesium is also to low.. The time it takes for the salt to dissolve(has lasted for over 8hrs), and the film like material that it leaves..


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By saltlifefan4278
Jan 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A decent salt but I feel there's better out there

Comments This product is good if you are running a fowlr setup. I found that it lacked in trace minerals needed for a reef tank. However, their Reef Crystals line is good for a reef setup. It has higher concentrations of trace elements needed for corals. Overall, it's a good salt and is readily available at almost any pet store.


Liked about it I liked the price of the item, generally lower in cost compared to other brands. It dissolves easily, one trick I learned is always add your salt to the water, not your water to your salt. Believe it or not, makes a big difference. The last thing I liked about this is the fact that Instant Ocean has been around a long time, so they've learned over time like we all have in this hobby.


Didn't like I didn't like the fact I had to dose more with this salt because it was lacking in trace elements my corals needed. I wished their bags were resealable, because it can absorb moisture if not properly closed and cause the salt become hard.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By br0ken68
Aug 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Reliable Instant Ocean

Comments Overall pretty good synthetic salt mix. Has a good balance of all the major trace elements needed to run a salt water aquarium. Definetly good for the beginner aquarist.


Liked about it Mixes well and fast. Consistent quality. Not a bad price.


Didn't like Kind of low magnesium and calcium levels. Requires some boosting to keep most corals happy.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Price Great Product.

Comments This product is the best deal for the many salts on the market


Liked about it I has all the nutrients to keep the tank balanced after a good water change. the salt mixes easly and is right on with the mixing ratio for a proper salinity.


Didn't like Does not mix well if the products is exposed to moisture and gets hard.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Buy the box, save money.

Comments I have used this salt for almost a year now. I have to say that unless I see a great deal on another brand I do not think that I will change brands. My corals are doing well, my tank is stable and I have had no adverse deaths in the past year.


Liked about it Nutrient levels are high, good for corals and inverts. The cost of the box is a significant cost savings, then you can refill a bucket. The box method is a much greener method. The salt mixes easily. The separate bags that the salt comes in helps to keep the salt viable if you get some of the salt accidentally wet.


Didn't like The box is really heavy.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jschulzpt
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Works like a charm!

General Very nice.
Especially for someone who uses this salt in mass amounts.
Such as 20 gallons a change.
Even more then that, and it's still nice!


Liked about it I like how cheap it was.
The 25gal was about $14, the 50gal was only $18 or $19!
I don't use it on a regular basis, only when I need a immediate water change.
I like how you can mix the salt and use it immediately, you don't have to wait!


Didn't like The bag idea.
I'm afraid that there is too much moisture getting in.
I use little ties to hold it shut, but I think having a bucket would be nicer.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Kakalakasha
Mar 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Product

Comments this salt mix is awesome! its relatively cheap and it lasts for a while. this was not the first or last of many bags of this kind of salt that i buy. i will continue to buy this brand again and again. i really like how it dissolves really quickly


Liked about it cheap
dissolves quickly
chemicals stay the same


Didn't like should come with a scoop


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Plugger999
Mar 12, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Reef Crystals

Comments its a good salt for the money not as much as other brands i have been useing it for last couple of years with no problem


Liked about it Good price
disloves quickly


Didn't like it dose not have high concentration of mag or calcuim
so you have to dose mag i dont worry about calcuim because i run calcuim reactor


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefwreck
Apr 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A good place to start

Comments I have used IO on and off for years. It is a good middle of the road salt


Liked about it Mixed easy
Can count on it being close to the same each time
Price


Didn't like Mg has always been low for me


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Seaweed88
Oct 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

best grain of salt

General Buy the 5 gal bucket once an then buy the bag to refill


Liked about it I switched from Oceanic to Instant to get the trace elements needed. And tank has been doing great since


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great bag o salt

General i really like IO salt has a good level of Ca,Mg, etc.. but im going to switch from the 50gal-mix to the 200gal-mix to save money.


Liked about it i like that its cheap and has a great mix of things


Didn't like smells like chalk. lol


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Only thing I use

General Always gives me good levels when mixing. With it being readily available in most stores it's got a reasonable price. if you're going to use lots of this product you're better off buying it in the bucket though to avoid moisture getting in and causing lumps of salt which are not a big deal if you break them up before mixing.


Liked about it consistent levels, price


Didn't like bag allows moisture to get in


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good bucket refill

General A solid base salt for most tanks with a long standing good reputation. It is more of a refill for the buckets than a container by itself.


Liked about it Good solid levels and competitively priced. A much better buy than smaller lots of salt if you use it very quickly at all.


Didn't like Requires supplementation for high growth SPS or clam tanks. If you plan on leaving this in the bag be prepared for clumps.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Mar 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $10 to $14
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec517