Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (32)
 Add a review

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix - 160gal Bucket Featured

 
Reef Crystals salt is enriched with an extra measure of the components that have been indicated as most important by reef aquarists includeing: extra calcium, extra trace elements, vitamins, and a metal detoxifier. As...


Price: $32 to $78 at 6 stores
Searched Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix - 160gal Bucket in Reviews
 

 

Great Reef Salt! featured

Comments Once we started adding corals to my tank I noticed changes in the calcium levels and other nutrients in my tank, so I switched to Reed Crystals. Once I made the switch all of my levels became more balanced and my corals started showing better colors. this salt has a bit higher calcium and other nutrients than other salts to help make up for what the corals need and use. For the most part the salt mixes well, but there have been times I have had problems. I still dose calcium (part 1 and 2), but don't have to do it as much when I use Reef Crystals than I did when I was using other salts.


Liked about it I like having the bucket
when I find it on sale, the price is pretty good
higher nutrient levels
corals look better vs when I use non reef salt


Didn't like isn't always available at LFS
I have had a bucket where the salt got hard on me and i had to use a drill to break it up. even if the whole bucket doesn't get hard, little clumps can form and they are harder to dissolve when mixing.
price can be high depending on where you buy.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By andbob25
May 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great all around salt mix

Comments I have used only this mix for all my tanks and water changes over the years. This seems to produce excellent results. It mixes easily and clears up quickly. The company has been around for a long time and has a great reputation.


Liked about it I like that it came in a bucket and lasted a long time. It was an awesome value for the money and reduced the amount of times i had to buy salt


Didn't like I didnt like that PH seemed to stay high for an extended period of time right after the initial mix up.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gouch
Jun 06, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Not the same as it once was

Comments I've been using Reef Crystals, probably from the time they came out. I've always been a huge supporter thats seen other brands come and go. Unfortunately, something has changed. Now the salt produces a nasty brown slimy film on the inside of the mixing container. The new bucket is almost impossible to open, and harder to seal back up. What's not used the first time turns into rock salt. I hate to do it, but I'm changing brands.


Liked about it My animals do seem to still like it.


Didn't like The new bucket is horrible. I have to filter out all the brown slime stuff before I can add the freshly mixed salt water to my tank.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Elegance Coral
May 09, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great Stuff!

Comments I use to buy my SW from my LFS, which got tedious after a while, and when I started adding corals to my tank the calcium and other nutrients fluctuated a lot. I decided to give RC a try and it has made a huge impact on my water quality. My water seems clearer now, and calcium and nutrient levels stay reasonably constant, which seems to have lead to my coals "exploding with growth."


Liked about it - Keeps Calcium and other nutrients consistent within my tank
- Easy to measure and mix
- Dissolves fast when mixing
- Seems to have attributed to large, and fast coral growth
- Lid seals tight


Didn't like - No measuring scoop


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Maverick986
Sep 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Good salt that mixes well and is affordable

Comments I've read many articles on salt mixes, and the magazines come to the general conclusion that many of them are all the same. Sometimes being all the same is a bad thing, but in this case they found that they were all the same in a good way, meaning they contained all the essential elements for your reef. So what makes Instant Ocean my choice? Three things really:


Liked about it 1. Affordable price. The overall savings by buying in bulk is significant.
2. Mixes quickly and easily with little effort.
3. The package states to put 1/2 cup of mix per 1 US gallon of water. When this recipe is followed the salinity is 1.025 which is exactly what I keep my tank at and which is a good level for most corals, especially anemone.


Didn't like 1. I would like to see the bucket come with a scoop.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Aug 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Better than most

Comments This is one of the best salt mixes on the market in my opinion. It a bit more expensive but well worth it, especially if you are just starting out your tank and need the extra nutrients. This salt dissolves easily without a lot of mixing.


Liked about it I liked the fact it had extra nutrients. With the higher Calcium levels I find I can dose less doing normal water changes. Comes in a handy bucket which makes it easy to make a large batches without having to open several boxes/bags. This is probably the closest to actual sea water without the bad stuff that you can get.


Didn't like The only thing I didn't care for is this salt will harden due to moisture in the air. The clumping makes it a bit harder to get accurate measurements. It is a bit more costly and harder to find at my LFS.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By br0ken68
Jun 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Best Made a Bit Better!

Comments Setting the right reef environment is most critical in coral keeping. IO Reef Crystals gives you a head start when it comes to introducing Corals, invertebrates, crustaceans etc. due to a slightly higher level of essential Ca compared to several known reef salt mix. The product does give me the advantage over other salt mix (only because of it's Ca level content). If you think about it, yes I'd say it is good stuff for your corals and other organisms in your reef tank.


Liked about it The product is easily dissolved when proper steps are taken, clearly, there are no unusable components included in the mix.
Good packaging, a usable bucket for different aquarium maintenance tasks.
Gives you a bit more time in making Ca level remain stable in your system.


Didn't like However high the Ca level there is in a reef salt mix, you still would need additional Ca supplimentation even with a weekly patrial water change (which could not keep up in maintaining the proper useable Ca level) in a moderately dense populated reef tank. The same goes with essential and trace elements that are being utilized in a reef system.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rye_ws@yahoo.com
Jun 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great salt

Comments Reef Crystals certainly performed as advertised. I found the listed concentrations of elements to be correct at the specific gravities listed. The price is slightly higher than other salt mixes, but not by much, and many of those mixes require supplements to attain the trace element content of Reef Crystals. For this reason I have always felt it was a good value.


Liked about it It dissolves quickly, and I have found SG readings to be the same 1 min after adding salt, as they are 24 hours later. I also appreciate having the trace elements and calcium levels I am looking for in the standard 1.026 mix.


Didn't like There isn't much I don't like about this product. I guess the price could be a little lower to bring it more in line with other brands.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gobbly
Jun 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great salt for any reef

Comments Product performs great, but I like coralife a bit better. I've been hearing stories of people finding things in the buckets but I had no problems with the salt.


Liked about it All levels are pretty good, I got good coral growth with this salt, and it is very easy to mix.


Didn't like The calcium isn't as balanced as Coralife salt. Days after I switched to coralife I got crazy corraline growth.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

One of the highest quality salt mixes. Enough sai

Comments Reef Crystals is one of the best salts for a reef tank, especially a tank full of corals that eat up calcium. It has a slightly higher amount of calcium, magnesium, etc, than natural seawater. This helps the aquarist better stay on top of things like Ca/Alk/Mg, etc... It dissolves well with minimal solids left at the bottom of your mixing container, and the bucket makes it economical and convenient to purchase and use.


Liked about it Helps you keep your parameters up to spec.
Not uber-expensive.
Made by a quality company.


Didn't like Hard to find things to dislike about this salt!!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

great product, would recommend

Comments For a few dollars more than the regular instant ocean, I like the alk/calc levels in the reef crystals product. I've been using it for over 3 years without issue. It dissolves quickly and cleanly, thought it's always recommended to let salt water circulate for about 24 hours before use.


Liked about it Good price compared to some of the more "designer" brands, it dissolves quickly and has a good alkalinity and calcium balance compared to the instant ocean line.


Didn't like Nothing really bad about this product. I had read a few reports of really low alkalinity in a few batches, but I've never had an issue with reef crystals salt.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Love it

Comments Excellent salt, as has come to be expected


Liked about it Buckets :) quality


Didn't like Not much


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fat Tony
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great Salt

Comments Mixes with ro/di water almost instantly. I have a saltwater mixing barrel that I just add ro/di, IO and a Mag 3 along with a heater to mix the saltwater. No residue on the bottom of the barrel when finished.


Liked about it Most of the time it's always on sale for under $45, sometimes under $40. Great price for a good salt mix.


Didn't like Some batches the calcium is low and has to be brought up.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wanareef
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great mix

General Love the mix, packed full of nutrients and my corals thrive!! would recommend it Absolutely!


Liked about it Love the mix, packed full of nutrients and my corals thrive!! would recommend it Absolutely!


Didn't like do not like the fact that it is not a regular item at my LFS and petco near me. I have to special order it! bu thats not the companies fault


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By AdamG
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Instant Ocean Reef Crystals Salt Mix

General When I swapped from Instant Ocean to Reef Crystals my parameters stabilized much closer to natural sea water without the need for additional supplements. Very happy and wouldn't consider changing brand at this time.


Liked about it Quick dissolving, spot on pH, Ca, Mg, dKH, good value for money


Didn't like N/A


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bella d
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Reefcrystals

General I've been using RC since I started in the hobby, they make every effort to produce the cleanest salt with the most essential elements at an affordable price. A while back the levels were off on the sale and they sent everyone who sent in a sample of the salt they got free supplements to fix it with.


Liked about it Clean mix, doesn't clump, great customer service


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Not the best, but ok for now

General I was using sera sea salt prior to trying IO. It seems to take twice as long to mix and just as long to clear. I don't enjoy spending the extra effort mixing water for changes. I don't have any other complaints about it.


Liked about it The calcium and other levels seems to stay very good with this salt.


Didn't like It takes a lot longer to mix and properly dissolve it versus other salts I have used. With IO I have to prepare my water earlier than I normally do.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By guitar8222
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

IO salt

General Ok, so I have not tested other salts, but my reef seems happy. If this is the most vital thing we put in our tanks we should be aware of the outcome. I'm sure that there are "better" salts with higher purity, Ca, Mg, content etc, but with all the additives we use, reactors, skimmers, this fits the bill. Easy to find, not too painful on the wallet.


Liked about it It works


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hansmatt
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Amazing Reef Salt

General This stuff is perfect. I have never had any problems with it and my tank looks beautiful using it. Corals are all happy. I do regular water changes with it and everything is stable as can be.


Liked about it - Mixes easily
- Stores well with the twist seal bucket lid


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

IMO, Best Salt for the Money!

General I switched to this salt and things seem to have gone from good to better... That may be attributed to better maintenance habits, but I have nothing bad to say about this salt. I would recommend it as a good base for anyone starting an aquarium.


Liked about it Parameters, Mixed Well, Price


Didn't like Nothing really


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Reef Crystals

General I keep buying it. I trust this brand


Liked about it This has been my salt from day one (almost 4 years). I now use it in 3 different tanks totaling about 300gal. It's easy to mix and is usually available on some kind of special. I try to buy 3 or more at a time.


Didn't like I had one batch that had low alk (just a little low). It didn't seem to cause any issues. All other (about 20) buckets have been good.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By danjen10
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great!!

General I've been using reef Crystals now for several yrs and my tank has never looked better. It's really the set it and forget it salt mix for reef tanks!! I now use the Reef Crystals in the box and like it even better. The mix is the same but I feel I may have saved a tree or two plus a few bucks.


Liked about it Everything!!


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Best Salt ever

General I would not use another salt mix. This was my first salt purchase, and I will never change up. Easy mixing and stays fresh longer due to twist off bucket lid.


Liked about it I would not use another salt mix. This was my first salt purchase, and I will never change up. Easy mixing and stays fresh longer due to twist off bucket lid.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By DGlove904
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great salt mix

General Overall this is great salt in my opinion. I have to do very minimal adjustments for my parameters with this salt mix. And it is one of the least expensive on the market.


Liked about it Fair price. Good calcium, alkalinity levels.


Didn't like Leaves residue in mixing container.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Wish the buckets were still avail

General I used this for my first set up. I was disappointed to find the buckets are gone and is now offered in a box-yuck. Every time you mix, I get salt all over from the sides of the bag touching my arm. Mix didn't always dissolve and had bits of white stuff.


Liked about it Extra elements


Didn't like Switched from bucket to box.
Mix didn't always dissolve


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great Salt

General Good salt for your reef tank


Liked about it Just like IQ regular, a very good salt,


Didn't like Nothing I don't like about it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By VWD
Jun 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Excellent Salt.

General Top of the line synthetic salt.


Liked about it Excellent synthetic salt for reef systems. Includes all the vitamins and minerals you need for running an excellent reef tanks. High in calcium.


Didn't like Not much to dislike. Little cloudy when mixing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By OLDETOWNENORTHPE
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Awesome Salt Mix

General An excellent salt mix that I have used for years with consistent, quality results.


Liked about it Easy to use. Contains more trace elements that instant ocean which is a plus for reef systems. Reliable and consistent dissolution of substrate with reliable salinity. Free from silicates and phosphates.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

I/O RC Salt Review

General I switched to R/C from regular I/O when I went from a FO to a softie tank. Never had any reason to test Ca or Mg just thought it would work better since it was a "Reef" salt. Have been using it ever since and will continue to use it on my Reef Tanks.


Liked about it No need to alter anything to keep my softies tanks. Just mix, let it mix for 24 hours, and good to go.


Didn't like Nothing that I didn't really like about it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By OneDummHikk
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

I like this salt

General I like this salt over the other salt i was using bigger container means less trips to buy salt and some containers u cant see for sure how much is left and i hate to run out in the middle of mixing.


Liked about it I like the bucket over the baged salt. Stores easier as well.


Didn't like takes awhile to disolve and clear up.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By chatterboxbaby82
Apr 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Very Nice Salt Mix

General Very nice mix I used IO for years then switched to RC.


Liked about it Higher Ca then IO


Didn't like Cloudy when mixed
Takes a while to dissolve


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Like Instant Ocean +

General More expensive but with higher elemental concentrations than Instant Ocean. The large buckets keep the salt from caking from moisture.


Liked about it A complete salt for reef tanks. It has increased levels of calcium and other elements. If you don't like dosing or testing then regular water changes with this salt is a simple solution.


Didn't like If you dose magnesium, calcium and carbonate hardness buffers then the added expense over instant ocean will not likely be justified.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Mar 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $32 to $78
Compare Prices
at 6 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec517