Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (11)
 Add a review

Coralife 50 Gallon Mix Scientific Grade Marine Salt Featured

 
Coralife Marine Salt 50 gallon mix by Central Aquatics. Contains all essential major and trace elements, in optimal proportions, to sustain various forms of life found in typical marine aquariums


Price: $14 to $74 at 3 stores
Searched Coralife 50 Gallon Mix Scientific Grade Marine Salt in Reviews
 

 

It was OK nothing to Rave about. featured

Comments I purchased 150 gallons of mix for 40.00 from the LFS. I usually use Instant Ocean mix but this was what the LFS had changed to I figured I would give it a try based on the advertised parameters.


Liked about it the 150 gallon mix came in a box with 3 individual bag of 50 gallon salt mix. Each bag has a resealable zip lock opening for those small mixes. The bags were also a very durable plastic.

I prepared the water on Friday night and began mixing the salt Saturday morning. Following the directions I added the salt threw in a pump to mix things up and the salt dissolved very easy. Upon returning 30 minutes later all the salt had been absorbed into the water column in the buckets. Upon testing all three buckets came out to have a specific gravity of 1.026. Very good so far. the Calcium and Magnesium also posted their target number as advertised. the PH was a little different.

Sunday I did the water change. after the water change was complete I noticed that all of my corals had a nice brilliant color to them and were very full. (my tank is about 180 gallons of water and I changed about 60.)


Didn't like The ph upon mixing was 7.91 which is OK because of the variables that surround PH but I think that it could have been a little higher. I would have liked to have seen an 8.05 or so especially for new water. again the temp and air quality in the garage could have a negative effect on the PH level.

also when I buy salt mix for 150 gallons I would per fur a bucket because well you can never have enough buckets.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Aug 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Balanced formula

Comments I switched to this salt mix after using Instant Ocean and then Red sea Coral Pro. This salt mixes well and offers balanced parameters. I have consistent readings of Ca: 430, Alk: 9,and Mg: 1320.


Liked about it Mixes very well and fast. Seems to of taken care of my Silcates problem. No more Diatom blooms. The cost is much better than my last brand.


Didn't like nothing to dislike


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Apr 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very nice salt!

Comments I had previously only used Instant Ocean and Reef Crystals before buying this salt a little over a month ago. I'm sold! This is a teriffic salt mix and the price was perfect for me. I would definately recommend purchasing this salt over any other salt I've used.


Liked about it Mixes better and faster than anything else I've used and makes some extremely clear water.
Mixing parameters are VERY good right from the start. Calcium and magnesium levels are much better than other salts.
Very inexpensive when compared to other salts.


Didn't like I can't think of much of anything. The packaging is a bit cheesy but I can definately overlook that for the quality of this product. I'll definately keep buying this salt!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jan 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Worth the money, has great levels

Comments I have always used this salt, except at times I was buying pre mixed water with coralife salt in it from my LFS and the water had alot of phosphates, but my corals still grew with this salt, and now I mix my own water with this salt and it does an awsome job, all levels are very stable!


Liked about it The levels in this salt were perfect, I have never heard of a bad batch of coralife salt. I have tried Reef Crystals and my corals look so much better with coralife salt.


Didn't like I don't really have anything to not like about this salt, it mixes evenly, has great levels and have never had any problems with it.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

worth every penny

Comments Has performed perfectly for my 90 gallon reef for 2 years now with no problems. Easy to measure and mix.


Liked about it fine powder, dissolves quickly, great price


Didn't like nothing really


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquaman1987
Mar 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

only salt i will use now

Comments awesome for the money, used a ton of other salts, found this one worked just right for what i need, plus extra mag and cal for better coral growth and the mag gives more cal dilution....


Liked about it extra levels of mag, increase calcium dilution, extra calcium means no need for a cal reactor with reg water changes, never had a problem since i switched over four months ago...


Didn't like cant really think of anything, maybe if it were cheaper? its still worth the money....


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By joejoe104
Jul 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

great savings

Comments This product is highly effective, with a 35 gallon tank I purchase 1 bucket a year and save tons of money.


Liked about it reuse,......after the product is depleated, you have a great waterchange bucket, it is also resealable, there for your salt remains dry thus prolonging the shelf life and reassuring that the mix is sterile.


Didn't like I was pleased by every facet, but smaller people may have a struggle in trasporting the 50lb bucket,...but is is very worth it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Frank-n-Tank
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

This is what I have switched to.

Comments This has become my salt of choice


Liked about it Mixes easy
Consistent numbers


Didn't like Not found anything yet


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Oct 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Who would have guessed?

Comments Great salt, one of the most consistent and balanced salts out there


Liked about it Cost and balanced mix


Didn't like Not much, maybe cheesy packaging..


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fat Tony
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Salt...

General I used this salt for about a year. Nothing BAD to say about it, but there were several VERY successful aquarists using another brand that was cheaper, and I can't argue with success!!!


Liked about it Mixed Quickly, Parameters were good. No phosphates on my test kits.


Didn't like Seemed like a I had a little more algae growth with this salt.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Grade Marine Salt

General I purchase this salt to do my water changes....my local pet shop also uses it for all its live stock and for the water they sell for 1.00 usd a gallon.


Liked about it Easy to mix


Didn't like no complaints on the product i haven't had any water quality issues.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
May 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $74
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec516