Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (27)
 Add a review

Aquarium Systems Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt Featured

 
Instant Ocean Salt is the most carefully formulated and most carefully manufactured synthetic sea salt in the world, a tradition of quality that dates back more than 30 years. Instant Oceans complete formula contains...


Price: $9 to $43 at 5 stores
Searched Aquarium Systems Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt in Reviews
 

 

Only salt I use.

Comments I love Instant Ocean salt and have been using it ever since I began in this hobby. It is great for beginners because everyting is very easy to do. Mixing the salt is takes only a few minutes and gets clear pretty fast. I really enjoy this hobby and Instant Ocean products make everything alot easier.


Liked about it This salt is cost effective, mixing is easy, brings salinity to the perfect point.


Didn't like I love the product but the 50 gallon bag is a little hard to work with. I think Instant ocean should put a zipper top or something to make using the product easier.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Aug 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

An affordable and quality salt mix

Comments I've read many articles on salt mixes, and the magazines come to the general conclusion that many of them are all the same. Sometimes being all the same is a bad thing, but in this case they found that they were all the same in a good way, meaning they contained all the essential elements for your reef. So what makes Instant Ocean my choice? Three things really:


Liked about it 1. Affordable price. I also suggest getting the large bucket because the overall savings by buying in bulk is significant.
2. Mixes quickly and easily with little effort.
3. The package states to put 1/2 cup of mix per 1 US gallon of water. When this recipe is followed the salinity is 1.025 which is exactly what I keep my tank at and which is a good level for most corals, especially anemone.


Didn't like 1. If buying the bag, instead of the bucket, I would like to see the back have some sort of zip-lock top to close it up and I would like to see it come with a half-cup scoop for free.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

great salt mix!!

Comments Ive found this product extremely useful throughout my time on this hobby. when i first started i used to use a generic brand that was sold on my general area, and it turned out to be a mess; cloudy water for weeks and parameters going crazy. after much talk with one of my friends i was convinced to buy from instant ocean, i started this hobby 3 years ago and i haven't regret buying this salt over and over again. the salt mixes right away without causing any "clouds" and it doesnt seem to affect water parameters in any way


Liked about it -mixes quickly
-no cloudy water
-doesnt affect parameters


Didn't like -no complains, the product seems to be worth it to me


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

I've used this salt from the beginning...

Comments I have always used this salt. Mixing is easy and like others have said, it dissolves very easy. I mix in a 10 gallon bucket and use a powerhead to mix for a few days till I am ready to do water change. I have bought a bag before that did have several large clumps but they had no problems dissolving. Water tests show that I am getting the ingredients that I need. Not to that expensive and most all pet stores I have found to shop carry it so it is easy to stay with same salt.


Liked about it Easy direction to follow. Mixes easy. I drop mix amount in bucket and mix my hand then install a powerhead to continue to mix for several days.


Didn't like I did get one bag with the clumps. It will mix but I wish I had been more observant at store when choosing the bag.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Apr 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Hard to keep calcium levels correct

Comments This Salt is great for beginners, it dissolves fast and has a minimal cloudy affect. But unfortunately, this salt does lower calcium level which is important for reef tanks. So adding liquid calcium or limewater is a must when using this salt.


Liked about it This salt is easy to add, it's never in clumps. It dissolves very fast and doesn't make your water cloudy first when your doing a water change. Also this salt is cheaper than the others on the market.


Didn't like This salt doesn't have any(if it does its not very much) calcium in it, so you'll have to raise your calcium levels while using this product. Also I found that you need to add a little less salt that the directions call for, because it usually goes over the desired amount of specific gravity, and it's a pain to take out water and add fresh.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By berger9953
Jan 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Worth the Money

Comments Good Product and Less expensive thank a lot of other salts on the market.


Liked about it If directions are followed ie salt to water ratio then the desired specific gravity is easly achived. salt disolves into the water fast and easy.


Didn't like Don't buy a bag that is clumpy or hard the salt does not mix well then and makes it difficult to achive desired specific gravity.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fchidsey
Nov 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

good salt, great product for the price.

Comments A good salt that has generally been the standard for 20+ years. Works as well, and a great solution for fish only or softy tanks. Honestly, however, this salt will work well for almost any tank. While it is a bit low on calcium (and high on alkalinity), as cheap as it is it's often financially viable to adjust the levels to your needs over paying for more expensive salt products.


Liked about it Good price, dissolves quickly, and works well for almost all applications, this is a great salt solution for anyone in the hobby.


Didn't like The calcium levels are a bit low compared to other products, but not so depleted as to be a huge concern.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
Apr 27, 2009
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

IO Salt Review

General Overall very happy with it in FO setting. I switched to I/O Reef Crystals after the first two buckets of I/O but if I ever set up another FO, it will be with I/O salt.


Liked about it This was the first salt I started with. It was a Fish Only tank (for the first few weeks) and I had no issues with it. Even when I went to softies I still had no issues with it. Mixed very easily without cloudiness. Overall extremely pleased with the salt mix.


Didn't like Nothing that I didn't like about it. Perhaps that it didn't mix itself but otherwise no complaints with it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By OneDummHikk
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

The Standard Salt Mix

Comments This salt mix in my experience has performed somewhat lower than expectations. When mixed to 1.025, this mix's calcium tested out at only 350-380 ppm. Alkalinity ranged from 7-9. When I used this salt mix, I only had one hard coral (a few hammer coral heads), so I know that the low parameters weren't caused by having a bunch of calcium-sucking hard corals. This mix would be great for a FO, FOWLR, or non hard coral dominated system.


Liked about it Cheap
Reputable manufacturer


Didn't like Low calcium


Overall rating:
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Yrahcaz
Aug 02, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant Ocean salt mix

Comments I have been using Instant Ocean Salt mix since I started this hobby. There have been many new brands that have come and gone but with the success Ive had with Instant Ocean and the results I wouldn't consider using anything else. It is very affordable and a wonderful product.


Liked about it Very low price, Mixes nicely and the results it brings are unbeatable


Didn't like Occasional plastic chunks in the buckets, and the lid can be faulty every once in a while


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Scriles
Dec 17, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

Comments I've used several bands of aquarium salt and found this product to be one of the best values for it cost. It's easy to use and I would recommend this product to anyone with a fish only / soft coral system.


Liked about it Easy to use

Cost


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

You get what you pay for

Comments I found the product to be OK, however I found that it took a lot more work to get the salt totally dissolved


Liked about it it is fairly inexpensive
it is available in different sizes including one that makes only 5 gallons
the directions were basic and simple


Didn't like The small size does not come in a resealable pouch
it took more work for it to dissolve


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By mcbunnymama
Jul 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Best one there in my opinion

Comments I have used this since I started my first salt water aquarium and I have never had any issues. It is easily mixed and everything seems to get along great with it. I have never heard anything bad about Instant Ocean and I have never experienced anything bad yet with it.


Liked about it Mixes easily
No issues!


Didn't like Nothing!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Top choice

Comments Great salt Never had an issue running it in Fish only and reef tanks


Liked about it Doesn't take a lot of work to mix and dissolves nicely.


Didn't like Nothing really to not like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant ocean salt

General I would recommend this salt to anyone starting up a saltwater tank.


Liked about it I have really like this salt, has always dissolved nicely for me and the price is just nice as well


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great Salt for Fish Only

General This salt is great for a Fish Only system. If I were still running FO, this would be what I would use. It mixed well and was consistent. My only problem was that some of the levels were low (Calcium and Magnesium off the top of my head) Overall a very good salt mix.


Liked about it Quality Salt, Mixed Well, Consistent


Didn't like Parameters were not right for my reef


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great salt

General I have used several salts and this one is by far my favorite! (aside from reef crystals) For the price, you cant go wrong! My fish and corals love it when I do my water changes with instant ocean. I will certainly buy again!


Liked about it Reliable
consistent


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

This is my number one salt!

General I have used this salt for the past 30 some years and never had a problem.


Liked about it This is a great salt.mixes really well and never had a problem using it. price is right


Didn't like No dislikes


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By VWD
Jun 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

salt

General this a very good salt mix, it doesnt cloud water like others iv used in the past.


Liked about it easy to mix , doesnt cloud


Didn't like doesnt mix as much as the bag says.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ldsreef
Jun 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

IO Salt

General I have been using this salt for over a year now and I have always liked it. All in all a great salt and I would def. recommend this salt.


Liked about it Price, easy to mix, clears up fast.


Didn't like A little lower levels.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant Ocean Salt

General Very good salt for the price. Needs to add to some of the chemicals needed for corals but makes an excellent cost effective salt for fish only tanks.


Liked about it Mixes very well for cheaper salt. Excellent cover for bucket.


Didn't like Little lite on some of the chemicals.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By OLDETOWNENORTHPE
Jun 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Good Bucket-O-Salt

General i have had a bucket for 3 weeks so far and i like it. i have made around 50 gallons of salt at 1.026sg and it doesn't look like i even put a dent in the bucket yet, i still have a ton left. also it has a good level of calcium in it my test kit reads 350 when i mix water up to 1.026sg.


Liked about it it mixes quickly and does not cloud water. free bucket


Didn't like nothing to complain about except for the price, but you do get a free bucket!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gabriel
May 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

IO review

General This was my first salt mix and the levels were low. It was difficult to raise and maintain to a satisfactory level.


Liked about it price


Didn't like Low Ca, Alk and Mg


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By motorslave
May 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Good as first part of two part salt solution

General Mix with a 50/50 ratio of Oceanic salt to acheive a better trace element/buffer mix. Personally, I can tell a difference in my coral inhabitants between using a ratio mix and using this product alone.


Liked about it Easy to mix


Didn't like Residue in mixing container


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By superwizbang
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Very good product

General I like that it says you can use it immediately. That's always good in an emergency situation.


Liked about it Just mix with water and it's ready
Mixes very easily


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Apr 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

I like it

General good solid product from one of the oldest companies in the field. good salt to start with IMO


Liked about it Generally, i have never had a problem with this salt. it always mixes well, lasts well, and has been good enough for my livestock


Didn't like sometimes there is slight variation in the cal, mag levels but nothing that has caused me too much trouble


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Twitterbait
Apr 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Good price, easy to obtain

General i have been using this for something like 8 years now, i have found no reason to try anything else.
i keep zoas, rics, shrooms, leathers and some LPS, they all do well with this salt and no other additives.


Liked about it Readily available and reasonably priced in most cases


Didn't like sometimes takes forever to dissolve


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $43
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec517