Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.3 (18)
 Add a review

Yellowtail Damselfish

 
The Yellow-tailed Damselfish has a mostly bright electric blue body and a yellow caudal fin. The tips of the dorsal and anal fins may also be yellow. These are hardy fish that are good for beginners or for cycling a new tank...


Scientific Name Chrysiptera parasema


Common Names Yellowtail Blue Damsel Fish, Yellow Tail Damselfish, Azure Damselfish, Goldtail Demoiselle


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Yellowtail Damselfish in Reviews
 

 

Probably the most attractive fish for the money good for beginners featured

Comments This is a very hardy beginner fish that is reef safe. The bright color is about the brightest blue you can find. I certainly recommend this for a beginner, but not for every fish tank. Damselfish are well known for being aggressive, but the yellow tail is not as aggressive as others and do pretty well in a 30 gallon tank but do a bit better in 45 - 55 in terms of staying away from other fish.

It eats algae and plankton for the most part but is pretty happy with a treat of meaty foods, like muscles, squid, or clams.


Liked about it 1. Very bright color.
2. Affordable.
3. Very hardy and can survive most beginner mistakes.
4. Not as aggressive as other damsels.


Didn't like 1. Still aggressive even though not as much as other damsels.
2. Can be difficult to provide a really balanced diet for it. Even though it eats most foods you give it, to really bring out the color and keep it in full health requires a balanced diet.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 18, 2010
 
Last updated: March 12, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great addition for Color, but not a Mellow tank mate.

Comments The Yellow Tail Damsel is a nice addition to the Reef or FOWLR systems. It will provide lots of Color and Movement.
But the bottom Line, it still is a Damsel and will show aggression once it establishes it's self in to your community.


Liked about it It seems many things in the aquarium are a big decision, but the one thing all hobbyist look for is Color. The Yellow Tail Damsel will provide very vivid and pronounced color in any system.
They do seem to be a fish with much personality to add to your system.


Didn't like Some of the cons to this tank mate are one, being aggressive.
Two they can be voracious eaters fighting and pushing there way to get nutrition.
And three when the time comes and you might want to remove them you must dismantle your entire system to get to them.
They are very fast and cunning Fish.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.5

By Treasures of the
Jan 09, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

I bought five this time!

Comments I bought five fish who were in a tank of thirty. In Thailand they are about $1.50 each, so not expensive. They are in a 170 gallon tank with a Hawkfish, two False Clownfish/Ritteri Anemone, two One Spot Foxfaces and a Bang Cardinal. The five fish are so busy zipping and zapping among themselves they ignore their fellow tank mates entirely. Easy to feed. When they were bought and transported home in a plastic bag, two were stressed showing a darker color but three were still bright blue even when put in the tank. One fish has adopted a crevice in the rock but the others just frolic around at one end of the tank. All fish feed together peacefully.


Liked about it Cheap
Easy to feed
Bright and Busy fish


Didn't like Wish I had bought ten now. I'm reluctant to add more


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Evil Jaffar
Dec 03, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good Fish, Bad Temper

Comments I enjoy this fish, but is the only fish i have ever had that i would flush down the drain alive!
nice colors, eats anything i feed it, easy to care for.


Liked about it looks good, I like the colors. eats anything i feed it.


Didn't like WAY to aggressive. he killed a clam, coral banded shrimp, and a peppermint shrimp.
he killed them all within 2 min, the clam he killed as soon as it opened up, took maybe 2 days for that.
he just wants any new thing i put in the tank dead! he dose not eat it, just wants anything new, dead.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Nate_Bro
Dec 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

spumky little guy

Comments I will have to say damsel fish are very easy to take care of. The two i had were very nice to each other but when we put a emerald crab in the tank, well they weren't very nice to her. The one damsel fish we had named Pistol was very active but the other one we had named Tweedledee was very skiddish and always hiding. They ate very well and very hard to catch out of the tank. I liked them but had to get rid of them since we got other fish and my LFS said to take them out since they will be aggressive towards them.


Liked about it They were always out swimming. Very fast swimmers. And all together very easy to take care of.


Didn't like Very hard to catch out of tank.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Miyo
Aug 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Hardy fish that seems to just stay out of the way..

Comments I bought one of these damsels long ago after tank had cycled. I still have him and he is doing fine. Needs no special care at all. He is one of those fish in the tank that you just kind of forget about. Has not grown a lot but looks to be very healthy. For a damsel fish he does not seem very aggressive at all. He will eat about anything that I put into the tank.


Liked about it Very easy to care for. I feed specifically for some of the other fish and this one will eat whatever you put into the tank. Very hardy fish. Has never caused me any problems. Brings some color to the tank.


Didn't like Not my favorite fish but not much to complain about with him.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By deanp88
Jun 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

my favorite damsel, but an angry fish

Comments This may be my favorite of the damsels, but they're certainly as grumpy as any of them. I find them to be the most attractive of the damsels, and they're pretty small fish. If housed in groups, you'll often see one of them take a dominant position, indicated by a darker color compared to the rest. These fish are territorial and won't tolerate like fish in a tank for too long (mostly including other damsels and clownfish).


Liked about it This is a very attractive damsel and they will do alright in groups. They are pretty active, darting around the tank, especially if there are larger fish in the tank that may frighten the fish. The stay small and they don't require a lot attention, adding a flash of color without needing a particular diet or other unique need.


Didn't like The biggest issue with this fish is that they're territorial. While they don't need a large tank to thrive (usually not over 20 gallons), they won't like similar fish in the tank with them. They're also a terrible challenge to catch if you want to remove them, so be prepared to tear the tank apart if you decide you want to go in a different direction in the future.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful and small but aggresive

Comments The yellow tail Damsel if basically identical to the blue damsel except with a yellow tail. Beautiful bright blue almost electric body with a bright yellow almost orange tail. This is a very aggressive and territorial fish although is able to be kept in a small tank I think it a large system the aggressiveness would fade. Extremely hard, this fish can live through just about anything. Super cheap! for that reason too many people thinks it's ok to cycle a tank with then in the tank. It's not OK and it's cruel.


Liked about it Price, They are extremely cheap and affordable.
Care, they are easy to keep and nearly bullet proof.
Color, The yellow tail really sets this on off from the all blue damsel.


Didn't like Aggression, they fish are very aggressive and are always picking fights even with fish much bigger than them.
They are also near impossible to remove from your tank if you so choose.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Last updated: May 22, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Colorful starter fish and a good addition for some

General This is one of my smaller fish mixed among non-aggressive fish. I have 5 other Damsels (Yellow with Black stripe and some Orange and blue) non common Damsels. He is the second smallest fish and he does not bother anyone. I have added 2 Damsels after him and after 2-3 days no problem, I have a 75 gallon with lots of rock and coral which makes hidding better. He will become territoral once he finds a space. He has become friends with my Ocellaris clown. My clown will not let anyone around his area except the Blue with yellow tail Damsel. He is a good eater and his color has remained very dark blue and he stands out as my only dark blue fish. I got him as a source of in-expensive color and I was very impressed. He eats flakes, brine, mysis and cyclops without any problems.


Liked about it Dark color with Yellow contrasting tail, good eater


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Invader
May 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

it a cool fish

Comments it is very easy to care for i have 5 in my 100 gallon they are easy going


Liked about it there cheap hardy and cool there one of my favite fish because the color


Didn't like there eat all the food before my other fish get it it piss of all my corals and aneomes it dig in my sand bed.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By nanoman123
Mar 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

I wouldnt be suprised to see these guys survive in freshwater.

Comments Great beginner fish, is very tolerant of bad conditions in the tank.


Liked about it really pretty when they are juveniles. Very active in the tank. Agressive behaviors between this and other damsels can be quite amussing.


Didn't like Impossible to catch if you have rocks. Theyre almost like tattoos, permanent, and very painful to get rid of.


Overall rating:
 
2.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By derailone76@yaho
Nov 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice fish

Comments These are the fish I would reccomend to cycle a tank with. The yellow tail damsel was my first fish and he wasnt agressive when I first got him but boy did that change. After they get a little size and a territory they become pretty mean. I added a little blue damsel to my tank and the yellow tail went after him constantly. After a while he stoped chasing him. They accept most foods and eat well.


Liked about it Color full, active, hardy


Didn't like Agressive


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very Little to Say

Comments Ugh, such a pain in my a$$.


Liked about it Good looking, active, and hardy; great to cycle a tank


Didn't like Very simply put, when you go to catch these quick little buggers, use 2 LARGE nets.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By mossyoaktoe
Aug 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A great fish

Comments I think they are better than just for cycle fish. They have a beautifully vivid blue color and are always active.


Liked about it They are extremely hardy, they have beautiful color. They are always active and make any tank more exciting.


Didn't like They can get aggressive in a small tank or if they are with other fish that are smaller then them. Also school of these fish become a terror in a community tank.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Rapidfire143
Aug 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Well behaved damsel

General This was my first fish. it is very hardy and can't be missed in the tank, always swimming about. damsels have a reputation for being bad-tempered but this one actually is one of the least likely to cause trouble in my tank.


Liked about it Nice colors, hardy


Didn't like bad reputation (unwarranted)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Jun 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

YT Damsel

General You could have a nuclear waste spill in your tank and these guys will still survive. This was the first fish in my tank and the only one that is survived.


Liked about it VERY HARDY!!!


Didn't like VERY AGGRESSIVE!


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great starter

General I still have mine after 2 years he is in my 135 gal reef tank and gets along great with everyone


Liked about it great starter fish minds to himself


Didn't like nothing special


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By clowninaround
Jun 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

OK starter fish

General i would only put them in with bigger fish or with other damsels.
but i do like them and i have 2 in my nano tank.


Liked about it nice color


Didn't like very aggressive


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec332