Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (21)
 Add a review

Yellow Watchman Goby

 
The Yellow Watchman Goby has variable color, but is usuallly yellow-orange body with bright blue spots on the head and fins. This coloration is one of several color phases of the species. They may be brown or brown-banded...


Price: $12 to $15 at 2 stores
Searched Yellow Watchman Goby in Reviews
 

 

Love It featured

Comments I just got my yellow watchman goby about a week and a half ago but already I love him. The first couple of days I worried about whether or not he was getting enough to eat because he seemed a little intimidated by my fire shrimp's eratic movements during feeding time. He still seems to be a little frightened of him, but still gets his food. I was a little disappointed at where he chose his burrow (facing the back of my tank under a piece of live rock) but once I found the right angle to peek at him, it completely changed my mind. He looks so funny just sitting there under the rock watching the back of the tank. I haven't seen him be aggressiv toward any of my other fish, however, I have noticed they all seem to keep clear of that area. He's been a little more active lately, coming out and sitting in the front corner of the tank where I normally put the food in. I love to watch him as he watches me. His little frown is adorable. A few days ago, while cleaning my filter, I scooped a few live copopods back into the water and watched as he snatched them all up one by one. He eats the mysis shrimp I feed the rest of the tank and seems to do okay, but he wont fully go after it if another fish is close by. I almost wish he were a little more aggressive when eating. All in all, Im very glad I got him. I really get a kick out of watching him in his burrow and when he seems to be watching me back.


Liked about it -Very cute little guy, perfect for my small tank
-One of the cheapest fish I ever bought
-Doesn't harm any of my other tank inhabitants.


Didn't like -A little timid when eating
-Hides for the better part of the day
-The fin on his back gets a little scraped up from going in and out of his burrow, but seems to be growing back


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MayFields
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

An great addition to any tank! featured

Comments I wanted a pair of Yellow Watchmen Gobies since the day I set up my tank. I finally got them after 2 years and love them. They are a brilliant yellow with bright blur spots. These fish are great for any size tank and very affordable. They will tend to excavate themselves a home under live rock. They are not too destructive and build a small home. Have teo is great they are so much fun to watch. They tend to stay right near their home and don not swim around the tank but are still great to have. I got lucky, mine setup up their house front and center of the tank and are always in sight. Some may build their home in a place that you really cannot see them. Non aggressive and very reef safe make them a great addition to any reef tank! Get ya one and you won't regret it!


Liked about it I love the vibrant yellow color. Paired up I think they are a little more social.
They are very friendly and get along well with other.
They are affordable fish suitable for just about any tank!


Didn't like They stay close to their homes and do not swim around the tank at all.
When I first got them I did not see them for about 2 months. They built their home behind the rocks then eventually moved to the from of the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

fun fish to watch

Comments They are a very bright fish that is very mello and will not hurt a fly they like to pair up with pistol shrimp and they make a cool team digging in the sang they pop in and out of the rock but they arnt out all of the time they dont grow to be to big so they can fit in pretty much any aquarium


Liked about it i like that they are very bright and they pair up with pistol shrimp and dig all around they are very fun to watch they sweap across the sand very cool fish


Didn't like the only thin i dont like is they are not out all of the time.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gr.dane101
May 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Neat little guy

Comments This was the second fish I bought and he has been so cool. He has a nice color and catches people's eye when he hovers across the sand bed. Mine is so brave. He literally sat infront of my coral banded shrimp and scared him away. IT's hilarious seeing him open his mouth (doubling in size) to scare off other fish. If you are looking for a neat little fish, but one. If you are looking for a big swimming fish, don'.


Liked about it Adorable
*Attractive
*Hardy


Didn't like Can be shy
*Only eats when food is right in front of him
*Doesn't do much


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Coreyb
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great little fish.

Comments These little guys are great hardy fish. They are not incredibly active but for what they are, they will draw alot of attention. Adds some color to your tank. Very easy to keep. Mine does not do alot of swimming around and likes to perch on rocks. Will shift the sand to a small degree. I would not recommend this guy if you have larger fish that could consider him a meal, he is small.


Liked about it Colorful and hardy little fish. Does not increase your bioload like some fish. Inexpensive to purchase. Helps shift your sand and keep algea growth down.


Didn't like Not alot to dislike about it other than it is not a big swimmer. They do not get very large so could become potential prey for larger fish.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By deanp88
Jan 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

An easy to care for beginner fish with the potential of a good commensal relationship

Comments The yellow watchman goby lives commensal with a pistol shrimp. The pairing is incredible and I am not sure I can describe it here without making this the longest review in history, suffice it to say, you will derive endless hours of pleasure from watching them together. I would never get this goby without also getting the shrimp. Therein is the problem however as this team lives underground. Coming as I do from a background in freshwater planted tanks, I am more conscience than most about aquascaping, including the elevations in my sand bed. With this duo, you will have no more control over this as the burrowing activity will make its own elevations, mounds, and tunnels. Don't even try to fight it, you will loose. It is important to point out that if you have this pair, be sure that your rocks rest on the glass and not on the sand because as the burrow increases in size it will did out the foundation the rocks are sitting on and collapse them. If they rest on the glass, this can't happen.

This fish will stay mostly hidden, with just its cute little face (yes, cute) sticking out of the burrow. Only when the shrimp is at work, and at feeding time will you see its entire body. At feeding time they have no problem at all competing for food and have been known to grab more than their share and run with it.

They are not a particularly aggressive fish but will defend their little chunk of the tank in a regular and mild way, nothing I would call aggressive. I keep them with some very small fish (yellow clown goby) and there is no squabbling there.

I love the color, activity, and behavior of this well tempered fish. Next time I would not get the shrimp, as much as I love it. I've lost (literally could not find) small coral frags that were resting on the sand bed because they got buried, then shifted, by the activity of the shrimp/goby team.

You can keep one without the shrimp, in which case the goby will find a nice cave or crag in the rock work to live in. However, it really does loose something without the pistol shrimp.


Liked about it 1. Affordable
2. Hardy
3. Feeds well
4. Awesome activity with pistol shrimp pairing
5. Not aggressive


Didn't like 1. Not as fun without the shrimp, and the shrimp loves to dig!


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By tcamos
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A Watchman Goby Where did he go??

Comments this fish is an interesting character. First off the price is right for them and they are a great beginner fish. they acclimate to a new tank with ease but can be very skidish. they are hardy little guys that are really quick. Most of the time they will take any food but will not be an aggressive eater usually scooting from his burrow to grab a morsel and then back in so you have to watch them to make sure they eat. I would say that if the fish makes it through the first week you are in good shape as they are some what tolerant of a lazy reef keeper. these guys are great tank mates and not aggressive toward anything. I added one to my previous tank and really did not like him when I fist got him because he went and hide in the rocks. then i added a favia in the front of the tank and he made the bottom side of that his new home buy finally he hung out, out side of the coral and was in view.


Liked about it 1. Reef Safe
2. Easy acclimation
3. easy eater but not aggressive
4. hardy and will tolerate the lazy or new reef keeper that might slip on water parameters.


Didn't like A hider only out to see for food.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fchidsey
May 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

I love this fish

Comments Easy to keep, eats detritus in your sand by sifting it, which keeps your sand looking nice. That being said, it prefers finer sand than coarser sand. Crushed coral should be a no-no, as it won't be able to do what's natural to it. Mine ate flake food as well, same as the other inhabitants of my tank. It never bothered any other critter in my tank. It got to be about 3-4 inches long, and lived for about 4 years.


Liked about it This fish is very hardy, keeps your sand clean, and has tons of personality. No it doesn't swim all over a lot, but it perches up front a lot, and has that hilarious frown. It seemed to peep it's head up and look at me, just hovering there waving it's fins, and then descend back down behind the rockwork at the same speed and direction it came up. It was one of the cooler fish i've ever kept.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Shane the Reef G
May 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow watchman goby and companion tiger shrimp

Comments I've had my yellow watchman goby (Cryptocentrus cinctus) and his faithful crustacean companion tiger shrimp (Alpheus bellatus) for five or six years now. They are a great addition to my 55 gallon tank! The shrimp's responsibilities include burrow maintenance and the goby is in charge of food gathering. The shrimp is really fun to watch as he takes on his Sisphyean task of shoving small pebbles out of their burrow, over and over again. The shrimp, as he moves rocks and shells around, almost looks fussy, like a self-important human in arthropod disguise. Goby and shrimp seem to eat anything and don't bother any of the invertebrates (movable or otherwise) and don't mess with the fish. The shrimp is about an inch and a half long, the goby twice that.


Liked about it The shrimp and goby are more fun to watch than either the shrimp or the goby as individuals. They don't bother anything and they are not fussy eaters. The best test is, of course, would I buy another set? Absolutely!


Didn't like I can't think of much of anything I don't like about the Dynamic Duo.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By CebakaLaika
Apr 26, 2010
 
Last updated: April 28, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

great fish!!1

Comments requires a 10 gallon or larger aquarium with plenty of loose coral rubble, ample swimming room, and a sand bottom for burrowing. It rarely becomes aggressive towards other fish, but it is territorial, and will fight with its own kind. the goby has an unique attitude and makes a perfect match with a pistol shrimp


Liked about it -attitude
-color
-benefits to the tank


Didn't like -aggressive
-territorial
-cannot be with another watchman goby


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

What in the world are you looking at?!?!?!?!

Comments As their name states they will perch and just watch everything, especially you. I love my yellow watchman goby. It was the first fish that I ever had. The specimen that I have was bright yellow when bought with few blue spots, however as it matured the blue spots have really started to come out making it a very beautiful fish. The only down side is that the yellow has also started to fade and become darker. My goby found/ created a cave under a piece of liverock and has been there ever since. He will sit at the mouth of the cave and watch everything that goes on around it hence its name. They are fairly peaceful. I have only seen mine go after other fish that come near his cave/ territory. These fish are really easy to take care of and will take just about any food that is available. I have had the best luck with mysis shrimp when feeding my little goby. The only downside of my goby is that if something spooks him he will just dart back into his hiding place so at times he is hard to see and watch. Other times my goby will be a statue and will just sit and watch anything and everything that is going on in and around the tank. As with many gobies the watchman will occasionally shift the sand in and around its burrow. He has also shared his home with a peppermint shrimp for about 2 weeks before the peppermint shrimp moved out.


Liked about it Great eater!
The yellow with blue dots is really pretty.
Very hardy.
For the most part peaceful unless you invade his cave.
I get into staring contests with mine all the time.

Their perma-frown is kinda cute.


Didn't like Mine has found his permanent home in a cave underneath the liverock in which he will hide often.
Can be very shy.
They don't tolerate other watchmen gobies unless a mated pair.
Sometimes chases fish if they get too close to his turf.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Guchte22
Mar 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Shy!

Comments Easy to keep!
Eats anything and everything.


Liked about it Very beautiful colors.
They eat anything you give them.
Paired with my pistol shrimp! (:


Didn't like Hides too much.
To agressive to anything that comes near his tunnel.
Kinda small.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great nano fish

Comments These are very easy to keep and will eat almost anything. They are fairly peaceful, but I believe it may have killed my other shrimp gobies due to territorial issues. It isn't that active and stays on the sand bed most of the time. It doesn't need a large tank.


Liked about it They are fun to watch sift sand and build burrows. They have great coloring and are very personable. They are especially fun to watch if they have a pistol shrimp to live with them.


Didn't like They can be territorial in smaller tanks with smaller gobies.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By wii64brawl
Nov 11, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

hides a lot

Comments hard to feed


Liked about it looks, decent price


Didn't like hides a lot making it hard to feed, mine ended up starving. this is a common scenario with this fish.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By peasofme
Oct 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Cool little fish

Comments Very hardy and brightly colored fish. My goby built a home under a rock and it was fun to watch him sift sand in his mouth and build little tunnels. Sadly after a year he dided and I miss him. I would really reccomend these little fish because they are fun to watch and colorful.


Liked about it Colorful, fun to watch, hardy


Didn't like Sometimes these fish hide alot


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Love This Fish!

Comments What a way to add color and personality to any tank! Easy to feed not really agressive but will defend his cave a nd stand his ground. I have him in a 150 but he likes to come out and look at me when I'm near the tank.


Liked about it Color Personality Easy to feed(sinking pellets) not a bully


Didn't like I wish I could put more in my tank. From what I understand they only work in mated pairs so I only have one.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Funny little guy

Comments Easy to care for as long as you have a deep sand bed. He teamed up great with my pistol shrimp.


Liked about it Fun to watch him protect their home when the pistol shrimp is out and about. Good color and great character.


Didn't like Sometimes he goes into hiding.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By EndlessSummer
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A neat addition

Comments An active, curious and forgiving specimen. Dwells on the bottom and loves caves. Can be paired with some pistol shrimp.


Liked about it Has personality.
Is not a picky eater.
Tolerates less than optimal water quality


Didn't like Is quite a jumper and needs a covered tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Jul 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Super easy fish

General My second fish in new tank. He seems to get along well. He perches himself on rocks like he's the cops watching everything going on. Likes all types of foods. Very easy to keep. great for beginners. Kids like 'em since their so bright with color.


Liked about it Ease of care
Non-agressive


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Shy But Full of Life

General My very first fish in the Saltwater hobby and i still have it 4 years later. Isn't shy anymore and even eats food that has fallen all the way to the sand bed.


Liked about it A Hardy fish.


Didn't like Can be scared and run off to hide even when just walking or viewing the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow Watchman Goby

General The second reef fish I bought when I started my reef in 05 - after a couple years she did lose her bright yellow color and is now beige w/stripes from what I can find on the net - I think he is a she


Liked about it Very pretty personable fish


Didn't like Did get along with my Sailfin blennie at first although they did work it out


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dobejazz
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $12 to $15
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec338