Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (11)
 Add a review

True Percula Clownfish

 
Pet Supplies:Aquarium & Fish:Tropical Fish:Marine Species


Scientific Name Amphiprion percula


Common Names Percula Clownfish, True Percula, Clown Anemonefish, Orange clownfish


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched True Percula Clownfish in Reviews
 

 

Great starter fish featured

Comments A very hardy fish, the percula clown is a great fish to get started with. Best kept either singularly or as a pair, they can be housed in tanks as little as 10 gallons. These fish will tolerate a large range of water conditions and will eat just about any type of food. These clowns are also the most docile of any clown species, and while they may be locally territorial of their host, they do well with most any other fish not in the same family.


Liked about it These are very popular fish that are always recognized by visitors. They don't take up a lot of space, stay under about 4" (at most), and are generally peaceful to other tank inhabitants. They commonly pick one spot in a tank and stay there, so don't expect them to roam throughout the tank. I'm sure I'll always have a pair of clowns in my tank, and percula are the most peaceful and the ones I tend to lean towards.


Didn't like Percula clowns can be a bit territorial, and I've had them bite at my arm during maintenance in the past. It's not great to keep them with other fish in the damsel family, so more than a pair in a tank is bad news. I've also lost more of these than I care to admit from jumping, so keep your tank well covered. They also don't always take to anemones, particularly captive bred fish, so do some research before buying these for the particular anemone host in your tank. Otherwise, they're great fish to keep and shouldnt cause any trouble.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 30, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nothing says reef tank like Nemo

Comments These lil fish are great for beginners up through the most advanced hobbist out there. They are easy to care for. Bright colors and most develop their own unique personality. Even if people don't know much about saltwater tanks, most will recognize this as a saltwater tank just because of this fish. Provides instant attraction to those that come over.


Liked about it 1)Easy to care for. 2)They get along with other tank mates relatively well. 3)Willing to share their space with others without too much of a fuss. Their quarky persoality makes them fun to sit and watch. They will eat a variety of food from flakes to frozen. Will host a variety of anemomes. These fish stay relatively small, so they can be kept in a tank as small as 10 gallons.


Didn't like I wished I would have bought a pair together.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By br0ken68
Sep 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A must for a reefer

Comments Probably the most popular fish in the sea! They are for a reason, these fish are very colorful and extremely fun to watch. I have a pair that just love to play and swim together. Very hardy and always excited to be fed, also hosted my colt coral since i have no nem. Great, great fish


Liked about it Everything


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By boltzfan
Apr 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

True Percula Clownfish

Comments This bread of clownfish is one of the easiest to care for. I would recommend buying tank bred true percula clownish as they tend to be hardy and will adapt to changing water conditions. These fish can be a little aggressive to other clown fish but overall they are very peaceful. I love to watch these fish as they are very active swimming about the aquarium.


Liked about it Great colors
Excellent personality
Active


Didn't like I have not dislike with this bread of fish


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Jan 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Reminds me of Finding nemo!

Comments These fish are very easy to care for. They do better in a mated pair, and sometimes fight. But they're peaceful overall. They're always acting hungry and recognize the yellow container I feed them with, they're like a dog! They grow at a moderate pace. They're very cute and very colorful!


Liked about it They move like clowns!! It's so funny to watch them swim, it's very weird. They'll host about anything, they hosted my hairy mushroom! They're very colorful and get along well with other tank mates!


Didn't like They can be a bit aggresive, when I added a firefish, they started nibbling on it's tail, but I gently guided him away and hasn't bothered anything since.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Dec 29, 2009
 
Last updated: January 16, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great reef fish

Comments Needed in any tank, not aggressive at all in my tank and is always active.


Liked about it Very active fish, they get used to people and eat right out of your hands and aren't aggressive.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

One of My Favorite Fish!

General This is a great fish to own. I personally like the black that outlines the white of these fish and I continue to have them in my collection. They are not as hardy as the false percula and are a little more expensive so if you are just starting out I would recomend the false perculas. However if you are willing to pay attention to your water quality these are a great fish to own.


Liked about it Great fish has it all going for it; personality, easy to care for and its an attractive fish.


Didn't like Not quite as easy to care for as the false percula, require better water quality.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

awsome little fish

Comments very easy to care for,he isnt agressive at all. It only grows like an 1/2 inch every couple months.needs about an 15 gallon minimum and any flack,pelet,or frozen food will do


Liked about it funny little fish loves the bubble tipped anemone,swims to the glass when you walk up


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By turtlesoup23
Oct 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

clown

Comments I have had no luck with any clown fish Ive tried before for some reason but when i bought my pair they seemed to thrive in my tank so i would say that they were very easy to take care of..but in my pair they fight sometimes during feeding and when my bubble tip anemone closes up


Liked about it I love my percs. be there color looks better than other clowns, they swim a lot around the tank, there entertaining, they ate good the first time i feed them


Didn't like my pair fights sometimes


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By collin
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

True Perc

Comments Very easy to maintain in a reef aquarium. Colorful and fun to watch with a great personality. Great for first timers as well as advanced reef keepers.


Liked about it Very colorful and easy to care for.


Didn't like None these are great fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Paramecium
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fun Fish

General I love the personality of this fish. It is always quick to swim up to the glass when someone is observing the tank up close. its bobbing, wiggly swimming style is fun to watch and it is a very hardy fish. great fish to start off with for your first tank. only thing is, they're picky about what anemones they'll host and their natural anemones tend to be the harder-to-keep species.


Liked about it Great personality, hardy fish, classic reef fish


Didn't like picky about its anemones


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Jun 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec331