Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (13)
 Add a review

Scooter Dragonet

 
Scooter Blenny


Scientific Name Synchiropus ocellatus


Common Names Scooter blenny, Ocellated dragonet , scooter dragonet


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Scooter Dragonet in Reviews
 

 

Adorable lil guy! featured

Comments This little guy has spunk and personality all bunched up in a tiny package. They use their front fins more as a perch and to scoot around and hold up instead of swimming around like a fish. Care is a bit more of how mature your tank is more than anything. The more mature the tank the more chances of Copepods living and breeding in the tank (the main food source for these guys). Without this they are prone to starve to death over time. If you have one and it looks like a starved Super Model, than you know its not eating well even though its pecking all over your tank.

Some of these guys can be fed by Mysis shrimp or Cyclopseeze but most will end up starving without a proper aged tank. Having a refugium in your sump can help grow these for them otherwise they can be bough online or at the fish store. Not recommended to have multiple of these unless you can support their feeding.


Liked about it These guys are fun and have personality to back it up. They dont mess with coral and get along with most of the tank mates. Cheap little guy.


Didn't like Hard to get them to eat if the tank isnt stocked with enough copepods.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Quik Z06
Jul 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome little fish! featured

Comments I have a male and female, and I have had them for about three months now. For me, The care has been easy. My tank has been set up about that same time, 3 months. I cycled my 100 gallon tank with a 30 gallon refugium tank with Prodidbio, and bought 120 lbs of pre-cured rock from from another system, that had a ton of copepods, and hair algae. Hair algae is gone, but the copepods remain! And there is a ton of them. I have a 4 inch deep sand bed, and can actually see copepods running across the sand. I keep these two, with two Psychadelic Mandarin Dragonets, as well as two Green Spotted mandarins. I also have a 6 line Wrasse, and a Leopard Wrasse, and they all love copepods. And they all have fat guts.


Liked about it The Scooters, of all the fish, adapted quickest. being a male and a female, I get to watch their little dance they do. They have a beautiful dorsal spine, that stands up when they do their dance. They are very active in the tank, always searching for food. They will eat frozen mysis as well, if they see it float past.


Didn't like I dont have any. This fish is great.. But, this isnt a fish for a beginner, or for a new tank. I also dont recomend it unless you have a refugium. I have rock in my refgium, and I added live copepods to seed my tank with. In other words, I built a habitat, for these guys, and its why Ive had success. If you would like to own one, take the time to do it yourself, and you will be greatly rewarded, with one(or two)cool fish!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By derailone76@yaho
Feb 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome little fish that dies in most tanks featured

Comments I try to be realistic about the chances certain fish have of survival in the average aquarium; like the Mandarin, the scooter dragonet (most commonly sold as the scooter blenny), has very specific feeding requirements and doesn't readily take prepared foods, even fresh frozen ones. This makes the the chances of the fish surviving very slim, and sadly enough the reason for its death will likely be starvation. Some individuals will eat prepared foods, and if you can get one of these, do, but ask to see it eat the prepared foods first, don't just take someone's word for it, this is too important.

If, like most of us, you can't get a scooter that eats prepared foods, you will need to make sure your tank can sustain it. A mature tank (1 year old) with at least 60-70 pounds of live rock should house enough infauna to feed it. Even so, it is a good idea to occasionally add copepods to the tank to keep them in stock and add to the genetic diversity of the population. I have also read about aquarists having success with Cyclop-eeze but have not tried that yet myself.

Almost certainly your new purchase will be almost starved to death when buy it, and will be skinny as a result. If properly fed you will see it plump up over the course of a couple of months. To get to that point it will constantly be "pecking" at the rock and sand. You may also see it pecking at a coral, this isn't to eat the coral, but rather to get some tasty treat that just happened to be crawling there at the time, don't worry, it won't harm your corals. This is totally reef-safe fish.

Aside from being reef-safe, the scooter is also an easy going fish as far as temperament is concerned. I've never had mine act aggressively toward any other fish in the tank. Also, since it roams around the whole tank it will inevitably pass through some other fish's territory, the scooter will just quickly move on when confronted and the event passes in a moment with no harm done. Most fish will simply ignore it though.

I've read aquarists describe the scooter blenny as being "drab" in color. I have to disagree. While it certainly isn't what one would call colorful, the brown, black and white spots that it does have are unique and bright causing it to stand out in your tank. That, and the fun scooting movement from which it derives its name makes this fish a quick favorite of family and friends.

If kept in a proper tank this fish is hardy, if not, it will starve to death.


Liked about it 1. Fun behavior (pecking), movement (scooting), and coloration
2. Affordable
3. Even tempered


Didn't like 1. Usually doesn't eat prepared foods making it difficult, if not impossible, for the average aquarist to keep long term.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 16, 2010
 
Last updated: March 18, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great fish for a large mature tank. featured

Comments The ones I have had in the past seem to take care of themselves pretty well. Feeding can be an issue. Some people have great luck and others like myself have less the desirable results. No aggressiveness at all unless it saw a pod to eat lol. Mine seemed to grow fast at first but them growth pretty much came to a halt. The fish is very active and is all over the place hunting for its next meal. Seemed to get along with everything in the tank and even the more aggressive fish did not pay any attention to it. It seemed like they knew he had one job, something like "nothing to see here, move a long" kind of things. Mine was housed in a 55 gallon and I honestly think it needed a bigger tank.


Liked about it -Very active fun fish to watch, he would often bury himself and make little sandstorms
-Color is kind of drab
-Funny looking when he "walks" around. You honestly feel like you could sit him on the floor and watch him walk around your house.


Didn't like -Feeding, IMO needs a mature tank with a healthy pod population which it will quickly deplete.
-Hit and Miss with supplement feedin


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fun Little Guy

Comments This fish is very fun to watch as it scoots and climbs all over your tank. They are fairly easy to care for and are peaceful towards everything. Most fish will ignore these guys and its coloration makes it hard for predators to see. You just gotta make sure its eating because some can be picky. Its diet requires copepods which only thrive in an established reef tank with lots of live rock, however these Dragonettes commonly adapt to other diets. They are the easiest of all Dragonettes to care for in my opinion and they are just fun to watch!


Liked about it Very fun to watch. Peaceful to all tank mates. Inexpensive fish.


Didn't like Pretty good fish with no complaints, just gotta make sure its eating.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jayman3777
Jan 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful fish!

Comments Maybe I was just lucky, but the first thing my scooter did when it entered its new tank was greedily consume all the leftovers on the sand. On the first feed it was present for it climbed to the top of the live rock to get nearer to the sinking food. Its by far the greediest inhabitant in my aquarium. No problems at all! I feed my fish with flash frozen mysis, artemia and mussel meat, mixed with garlic.


Liked about it Top 3 likes: Good temperament, Amusing to watch, Efficient cleaner!


Didn't like Dont really have any dislikes with this fish. If anything its reputation as a difficult feeder almost put me off.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By klooncid
Aug 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great little fish...

Comments This is one of the first fish that was added to my tank and he has done well. Not a high action fish but you will see him going place to place and perched on the rocks. Have not noticed much growth in 6 months but seems to be doing well and never bothers tankmates. He eats algea but I do not ever see him eating food placed into tank.


Liked about it Easy to care for. I would suggest having some algea growing in tank. Gets along well with other tankmates. This is a fish that I am never concerned about, he seems to take care of himself.


Didn't like Not much to dislike. He could make his presence more but then again, that is not who he is.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By deanp88
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Easy keeper and adds movement to scape

Comments Helps stir the sand bed....hard to find sometimes @ lights on, as it is covered with sand. It doesn't bother other fish or corals which is always a plus. There's nothing worse than adding a fish which you find out later is destructive. These blennies are not!


Liked about it Affordable price, and fun to watch. They seem to always be looking for a morsel of food or pods. They use the entire rockwork, so expect to see them anywhere whre you have rock.


Didn't like What's not to like? I suppose the rock hopping is the limited route of these scooters....They rarely swim freely in open water. I suspect it's in their nature not to, as they are not speedy and might become a meal to a predator in open water.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Creamhorses
Jan 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome lil fish!

Comments I saw this lil guy at the LFS. Just scooting around picking at the sand bed. I asked if he was eating prepared and was told yes. I asked to see for myself. I brought him home. My tank was 1 1/2yrs at the time so I was confident as to the pod population in both tank/fuge, plus the fact he was eating prepared.
Today he's eating Hikari gut loaded brine shrimp, Rods Complete, Nutramar Ova and of course pods. I soak any 1 of the given frozen in Selcon 1x weekly. I'm also feeding him 3x daily.


Liked about it Everything!


Didn't like Nothing!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By NanaReefer
Jan 24, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

very hard to feed

Comments needs a mature tank of 150g


Liked about it awesome personality


Didn't like very hard to feed, constantly eats, only eats live foods


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By peasofme
Oct 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

unique fish, but not for most tanks

Comments These fish dine almost entirely on live foods and are a challenge to acclimate to captivity. Most don't live longer than a few months once in a tank. One of those fish that is best left in the ocean.


Liked about it Neat personality and rather docile, these fish will live peacefully among most of the reef compatible fish. If you can find one that eats prepared foods well, I'd say they're a great addition and a unique personality.


Didn't like Really the only negative is that they don't take well to captivity; finding one that eats prepared foods is a big challenge.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Scooter Dragonette

General I have read that a lot of people have had problems feeding these fish but mine ate dry food right from day one. He was a very fun fish to watch. Highly recommended.


Liked about it Very active and easy to feed.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Scootin

General This fish is all over the tank just jumping from rock to rock. A great lil addition to tank. Is fairly easy to care for too


Liked about it Very active fish


Didn't like love so far


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By clowninaround
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec327