Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (24)
 Add a review

Royal Gramma Basslet

 
The Royal Gramma has a half magenta (front), half gold-yellow (rear) body with a thin black line that slants backwards through the eye. They also have a black spot on the front of the dorsal fin. Although the Royal Gramma...


Scientific Name Gramma loreto


Common Names Royal Gramma, Fairy Basslet


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Royal Gramma Basslet in Reviews
 

 

Great Addition featured

Comments I had read some variance in behaviors in Royal Grammas, some being out and about more others hiding most of the time. I added one to my 30g system with 2 Black and while Oce Clowns and a Scarlet skunk shrimp. After adding him to the tank, he hung out where he was placed in the front corner of the tank on the sand bed. The clowns kept and eye on him as a new threat in the tank but did not attack. As he started to explore to the rock work for the first few hours the clowns would move to him and get a closer look, spooking him back to his corner. By the end of the first night he found a rock overhang to feel secure under and was exploring when the clowns wandered off. This continued for a few days. By Day 4 woke up and found the Royal Gramma and the Clowns hanging out together in essence. They get along fine and have no issues with each other. The Gramma chose a hole in the rock work as his hiding spot when he needs to rest, next to the area the clowns host to, and the shrimps cleaning station. At night he still returns to the corner of the sand bed in the open and rests on the sand and sleeps. Due to we point feed the tank, it took him a few days to get used to the feeding operation, and soon took note of the clowns and now is a faster eater then the clowns. Great little addition and very peaceful since no other fish look similar to him.


Liked about it Color is brilliant
Mine is very active and out and swimming 90% of the day. (I have no large fish aggressive fish)
Not afraid of movement outside the tank, and watches us as much as we watch him.


Didn't like Aggressive to Con specifics (similar looking fish and I think gobies) I have none so its great.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Invic
Nov 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

neat fish featured

Comments This fish is a very hardy addition to any aquarium. Just to show how hardy it is, it got ich when i introduced it into the tank (i think it was because the store i buy from uses u.v. sterilizers and i do not) and it had it for nearly 2 months. No medications or anything i tried worked, but it fought it off and is now thriving in my aquarium. it is peaceful toward other peaceful fish, but when my damsels flip out it will fight back and usually win the quarrel. i bought mine as a mature fish he was about 3 inches long and is now nearly 3 1/2 inches, by far the biggest i have seen for sale around Georgia. it usually hides in caves in the evenings but is out in the water column throughout the day floating about the aquarium. Mine eats ocean nutrition flakes and live brine shrimp.


Liked about it This fish adds a nice flash of color to the tank, and has a very enjoyable personality. It is a very easy fish to care for, ate the first thing I fed it, and I would highly reccomend buying this fish before you decide to go off and buy a damsel.


Didn't like The fish did get ich when i introduced it, I dont know if this is common with these fish, but it was a pretty good scare. It is sometimes kind of lazy.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By pbrainey
Apr 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great little fish! featured

Comments All fish are not the same, so all Royal Gramma's won't swim around the tank like mine. I have one in a 14 gallon at the moment, will be upgrading soon. He is very entertaining, keeps away from my clownfish. Loves to eat! I bought him at a local fish store for $14.99

He has very minor ick at the moment, but he is still readily eating and loves garlic infused flakes. Even though he has this one ick spot, he acts, and eats like a normal happy and healthy fish. Some aquarist's say this fish is generally very hardy, some can't keep them alive. Generally if you have a choice of ocean collected or tank raised, I would pay double-plus for a tank raised Gramma. They are 10 times more hardy! I say the hardiness of this fish depends on the source its coming from. I would generally NOT buy them online due to shipping stress these can undergo.


Liked about it - Great Colors
- Active
- Interesting
- Easy to feed and take care of
- Affordable


Didn't like - Hide's in the aquarium when lights are dimmed, or moon lights are on.
- Easily spooked
- Gets territorial of his hiding place


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Arteom Shostak
Apr 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great easy to keep fish that most thoughtful beginners can keep featured

Comments This is one of those fish that I usually recommend bigger tanks for than the local fish store people do, I hear 30 gallons a lot, but I really think 45 - 55 is more realistic. It seems to like to swim, and is slightly territorial so the larger the tank the better temperament it will have. Even though it is slightly territorial I don't want people to think that's a problem, it really only mildly defends its territory. I've noticed if a fish looks like it, then it is far more aggressive. I have an orchid dottyback, which is similar in appearance, and I had to put it in a different tank. All other fish I have the Gramma gets along with.

They don't require any special care, just some rock work and a balanced diet of protein rich flake and the occasional meaty treat (They are omnivores).

This fish is small, mine never got larger than 2" and it keeps its wonderful colors even when it's mature.

This is a pretty hardy fish, but not for the total beginner. It can be sensitive to poor water quality which will reduce color and can cause fin disease.


Liked about it 1. Bright and pretty colors.
2. Feeds readily.
3. Peaceful with fish that don't look like it does.
4. Small size.


Didn't like 1. Slightly territorial.
2. Aggressive toward conspecifics.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

nice smaller fish featured

Comments This is caribbean fish that is widely available and generally inexpensive. I've kept a few of these over the years, and in generally they've been great reef fish. They can be kept in tanks over about 30 gallons, and generally do well with other peaceful fish. I would only keep one of these in an aquarium, though, as I've experienced some aggression with other like fish.


Liked about it This fish has pretty interesting coloration and can generally be found out and about in the tank. It's easy to acclimate this fish to a prepared diet, and they have a good success rate for being kept in captivity. They stay small and won't add a lot of bioload to the tank, but they do add some great color and a good personality. I've been relatively satisfied.


Didn't like For a fish that doesn't get that large, it does require a bit more room comparatively speaking. They can be aggressive towards conspecific fish, or at least be attacked by some similar fish, so do a little research regarding the other fish in your aquarium. They may jump, though they arent known for it as much as others, but it's always a good idea to have a good way of keeping fish in the aquarium


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

typical reef safe choice

Comments i have kept these fish on and off for about 3 years. my current gramma has been in a 40gal reef for 6 months. a great fish, sometimes shy. he is almost always out and visible, but always close to the live rock that he can bolt back inside if spooked. this fish will not bother any corals or inverts, ever, so it is a great fish for that type of setup, do NOT keep this fish with any other dottyback or basslet. it will be harrassed. i have tried to keep those types of fish and they all bullied the royal gramma and had to be removed to other tanks. i have tried everything, from moving rocks to having the gramma in the tank for weeks earlier than the others, but the gramma always gets beat up. other than that, everything else will just ignore him, and he will do just fine. will eat anything you toss in the tank as well and has a great coloration


Liked about it -the fish is pretty hardy against most water changes
-it has a great coloration
-it is a great addition specially to reef tanks


Didn't like -it can get bullied by other fish
-colors will decrease as it grows
-really shy sometimes


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gabranth17
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Perfect for a nano or mega tank!

Comments These "Grandma" fish are great! Lots of Color, very reef safe and somewhat social but they will spend lots of time hiding in the rocks. I would not expect to see your Royal Gramma very often. they just prefer to stay deep in the live rock. That being said when they do come out the are great. I love the purple/orange coloration. There are not alot of purple reef fish out there so this is a great addition to any tank. It can be kept in a small tank or a huge one if you so choose.


Liked about it The Color! It's very unique and I love the purple!
This fish is reef save and compatible with just about any other reef safe fish.
It's a bit shy but once it come out there is some personality there.


Didn't like It tends to hide in the rocks alot and is not very social.
It's great when it come out but that is not too often.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great, colorful, little, peacful, reef safe fish!

Comments I'm so glad I bought this fish. "Prince"(his name) eats all meaty foods that I through in the tank and never complains about the variety. Royal Gramma's are completely reef safe and are perfect for an invert tank. They're very hardy and compatable with all peaceful fish. They quickly find a small cave or crevice they like to hide in that makes them feel comfortable and do get a bit upset if they're disturbed. They're not intimidated by the size of other fish, they just want to protect their territory if it is threatended.

For the coloration of the fish: They are beautiful and are an incredible flourescent purple on their front half of their body and it turns into a bright yellow by a pattern of dots. They grow to about 5" but I have rarely seen them exceed 4".

They require at least a 20 gallon tank. They are not extemely active but they do like some swimming room.


Liked about it I love the coloration of the fish. Often times you can't find a fish your in love with without it being overly delicate or suseptable to some disease or parasite. But Royal Gramma's are hardy and pretty which is hard to come by. They are also extremely easy to care for because they like most meaty foods, mine has never rejected any food I have tried to give it.

They also never jump in my experience, which can be a worrying factor that some aquarists take into consideration.


Didn't like They do have personality, that is for sure. once he played dead and started iching himself against rocks, but he was obviously playing tricks on me because he was completely fine in the next 30 minutes. But I really have no complaints about "Prince".


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
May 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Pretty, but keep an eye on them

Comments I really enjoyed watching my royal gramma - when he was out. He would dart back into the rocks as soon as I got close to the tank. He seemed to be a little too excited about darting back into the rocks, because he scratched up his own scales darting into a hole that was too small for him. The royal gramma seemed to get along just fine with my ocellaris clownfish, but didn't like anyone else in the tank. He ended up going back to the fish store (after I dismantled the whole tank to catch him).


Liked about it - Vibrant color
- Definitely has a personality
- Got along with Ocellaris clown


Didn't like - Hides in the rocks a lot/shy with people looking in the tank
- Picked on my peppermint shrimp (ate their tails)
- Nipped new tankmates, even after I rearranged all the live rock


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By botanynut
Mar 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Reef safe, colorful, peaceful and small fish

Comments The royal gramma basslet is beautifully colored (magenta front, bright yellow rear, some black dotting details) and, once adapted, will swim around the DT adding interest. It is an easy fish, requires 30+ gallons if kept alone (55+ gallons in group); its full-grown size is less than 3". Naturally a bottom dweller, it prefers low to moderate lighting. A carnivore diet and plenty of hiding places complete its requirements. Its behavior, temperament and size make it a good addition to false clownfish and pygmy cherub angel as well as larger fish (i.e., sailfin tang or foxface).


Liked about it Colorful, peaceful, small and active reef-safe fish.


Didn't like If slightly larger male is kept with females, he will become more territorial. Kept singly, the royal gramma basslet is peaceful. It will stay in a hiding place when feeling threatened (although I observe mine swimming at a variety of depth, not just lower levels, once adjusted in a 150 gallon tank). It will need lots of low light areas in a strongly lighted DT.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

" A Beauty for a bargain"

Comments I love this beautiful fascinating Gramma, easy to feed and quite comical when defending territory by opening his mouth very wide as a warning to other tank mates. Its only show and wont bite! When the gramma finds his special spot in the tank he can often be found hiding there until feeding time.


Liked about it Love the colors as they look different depending on the lighting of your tank.
Will find a hiding place like my Tulip coral and will poke his head up and look around before coming out.
Once the gramma is feeling comfortable he will swim in the tank freely with the other tank mates.


Didn't like I cant think of anything I dont love about this beauty!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By miamigirl22
Mar 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Royal Gramma Basslet

Comments Great reef fish. Wonderful array of colors. This fish needs alot of rock for cover. It will find a cave or small hole to call home. Once it does it will defend readily. They will open their mouths very wide in a threatening gesture attempting to be scary. This is quite funny. They tend to stay close to their territory and dart in and out to feed. They will except a wide variety of foods. Beware they can be jumpers.


Liked about it Reef safe. Very hardy and disease resistent. Awesome coloration and small adult size.


Didn't like Wish they were a bit more social.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome!

Comments Very easy fish to keep!
Ate everything I fed it.
Not very agressive, but fairly defensive.


Liked about it He liked to poke his head out the holes in my rock!
Beautiful colors.
Perfect size for a smaller tank!


Didn't like They're jumpers. :/


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Aggressive little fish

Comments Another fish that is easy to care for but it can be very aggressive towards fish in its territory. Activity is strange with this fish. Mine would hide for several days and the next thing you know he would be all over the place investigating everything. Does not play to well with others at times but time and time again I would watch him ignore fish altogether. To me they seem kind of moody at times. Mine was housed in a 55 gallon and definitely had a territory in the tank that it would watch over.


Liked about it =Wonderful color
=Fun to watch when it was out
=The little mean face it has is funny as well


Didn't like =Hiding at times for days on end
=Aggressiveness towards tank mates could be a little overwhelming at times.
=This fish does not care how big or small its victim is.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great reef fish

Comments This fish is a great fish for fish only or reef they love going in and out of the rock work and they swim all around the tank


Liked about it I like they the dont just hide the whole time they are very active and they look really cool


Didn't like there really isnt anything i dont like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gr.dane101
May 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Stunning fish!

Comments If you're looking for an actractive and hardy fish, this is the fish for you! It was always the main attraction in my old tank. It can be a little aggresive at times though.


Liked about it Hardy
Great color


Didn't like Aggresive with certain fish


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Coreyb
Apr 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Fish

Comments The gramma is a very easy fish to keep eats most meaty foods and is a very beautiful fish although it can be extremely skidish and will almost always dart back into the rocks when you come near but but you can always wait a minute or two and he will normaly come back out


Liked about it vibrant colors
easy to keep
interesting at feeding time


Didn't like is extremely skidish


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By CHEZITSmaster
Jul 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great fish for any tank

Comments Royal Grammas are great fish for a reef tank. Though they sometimes appear menacing, they are rather gentle and fun to watch.


Liked about it Hardy
Fun to watch
Look "mean" but are not overly aggressive or territorial (in my experience)


Didn't like Sometimes will hide in the aquascaping, but mine is quite active and doesn't become reclusive very often.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great under actinics

Comments I would only have 1 per 40 gallons. They are a bit territorial and should have a XY space 15 times their body length as a territory.


Liked about it Wonderful color and not afraid to show itself out on the reef.


Didn't like Will move around sand and pebbles, so make sure that your aquascaping is secure.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By hawaii4485
Jul 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Hardy fish

Comments Kept with a reef tank and was easy to feed and pretty hardy


Liked about it Hardy fish
Nice Color
Would eat almost anything


Didn't like Would like to hid for long periods


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By zero186
Jul 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

GRAMMA

General My royal grammas life was short lived, he was aggressive and territorial and hid for days in my live rock, one day he came out and he had bristles in his head from a bristle worm, two days later he was dead. I think he went where he shouldn't and upset a big bristle.
They look amazing but can dissapear for days.


Liked about it Colour.


Didn't like Aggressive.
Hid in live rock.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Gramma Basslet

General A great little fish. Cheap price tag and becoming a staple to the reef tank.


Liked about it Bright colors, Weird swimming habits and very hardy.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Grama

General I love these fish. They are great colorful additions to any tank and can hold their own with just about anyone you will find in the average tank. Its funny to see them throw up a tough guy posture with a gaping mouth even when facing a much larger fish. They don't back down easily but aren't aggressive. They often will swim upside down and hand around caves in upside down or sideways positions. They are also easy to keep and quite active.


Liked about it Unique swimming habits, good colors and funny when they posture.


Didn't like no dislikes


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By motorslave
May 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

beautiful fish

General This is a beautiful fish. Colors are vibrant and striking. Said to be very easy to care for as well. I like that I did not have to break the bank for one of these. Nice addition to any tank.


Liked about it Very peaceful fish
reef safe
vibrant colors
inexpensive


Didn't like A little skitish at first.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec326