Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (16)
 Add a review

Maroon Clownfish

 
The Gold-Stripe Clown has stripes tinted golden-yellow in this color morph of the Maroon Clownfish. As juveniles, these tankraised clowns may have more whitish colored stripes, but their golden stripes develop as the...


Scientific Name Premnas biaculeatus


Common Names Maroon Anemone fish, Spine Cheek Anemone fish, Maroon clownfish


Price: $14 to $14 at 1 stores
Searched Maroon Clownfish in Reviews
 

 

Wow! This little guy grew! featured

Comments Our maroon clown grew in our tank till she was as big as she could be! We have 120 tank and the only time she was super territorial was when we had an anemone. Then all hell would break loose if I tried to clean the tank. We have a huge bubble anemone and she "Miss Sassy" could have cared less about it. She was not agressive towards the other fish, but that might be because we have a six line wrasse that is very agressive and a nine inch shoal tang. I think they all kept each other in line. (We have many other fish and corals who I have not had any problem with.

I do have a funny story to tell. My shoal tang was nine inches, and I just felt our tank was too small. So I set about trying to sell the fish to someone who had a 200 gallon tank. One day I was at the Pet store. Some guy was there looking at the fish. I told him I had this gorgeous tang and would he be interested in buying him. He said he would love too, but he was laid off of work. We talked for quite a while and when I found out that at one time he had owned a company which did residential work--such as repairing woodwork, painting etd, I got an idea. I said, if he would paint at my house, and depending on how well the job was done, I would give him the fish. It turned out he was superb and I hired him for other jobs. I

I was tired of being chumped on by Miss Sassy, so eventually Mark took her also as payment. Mark had a 200 gallon tank, and very few fish. Since I hand fed the Shoal Tang--we thought that this would be the easiest fish to catch! NOoooooooooooo! We finally gave up! The next week he caught Miss Sassy in less than a minute. Mr Shoal was having nothing to do with being caught, so Miss Sassy went home with him alone.

Two weeks late, Mark was back to get the other fish, and told me he never saw Miss Sassy. She hid in the rocks and did not like to come out. Nobody was bothering her--but she was definitly not happy. That day he caught the Shoal Tang immediately and went home and added him to his tank.

The next time he was out, he told me "It was the funniest thing.! As soon as I put the shoal tang in the tank, Miss Sassy came out and greeted him like a long lost love!" For six months now, the Shoal Tang and Miss Sassy swim up and back in the 200 gallon tank--just as happy as they can be!
Now I have studied biology and was aware that elephants always remember those whom they might have been in the circus with 50 years ago--but I do not remember ever reading about two fish being buddies and truly depending on them for companionship!


Liked about it Lively beautiful fish
Easy to keep
Ate anything I put in the tank!


Didn't like This gal had an attitude!
Chunks of my flesh are still missing


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By juicyfruits
Oct 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

One of the most beautiful and aggressive clownfish featured

Comments This is a rather aggressive, powerful, and large clownfish. If it weren't for that it would be my absolute favorite.

If you decide to get a pair of these, I would recommend just getting the pair and having them be the only fish in the tank. Certainly there are appropriate tank mates, but at a max size of 6" (usually only the female gets this big) it's not a small fish to keep. I feel comfortable keeping a couple in a 50 gallon tank or one in 30 gallons.

They will host readily with the Bubble Tip Anemone (Entacmaea quadricolor) but make sure the size ratio is good. meaning if you have a large clown or pair, then a large anemone is required. As this is a larger clown, and a powerful one, they can buffet an anemone so much they destroy it.

My clowns eat out of my hand, but I have known aquarists to get attacked by their Maroon. They have spikes on their cheeks that are needle sharp and with a yank of their head they can create a bloody wound. I have found them to be aggressive toward other fish, and other people, but not me. Perhaps they know who feeds them each day.

Speaking of the cheek spines, be sure to watch out for them if you have to move the fish. I made the mistake once of using a net to catch mine, he started trying to get out of the net so I placed my hand over it and got stuck. Many aquarists suggest you not use a net to catch them because the spines can get caught. I no longer use a net based on this advice and the jab I got.

This is not a hard fish to take care of. I don't feel it is as hardy as some other clownfish but once established it is long lived. I would recommend it for aquarists with at least a year of experience in the hobby or who have a mentor who can help them out with acclimation and care.

They are omnivores and will readily consume just about anything you plop in the tank. They like a mix of algae and meat in their diet for full health. I feed Formula 2 most of the time with weekly cubes of shrimp or squid meat as a treat and to balance the diet out.

Because of some of the above mentioned characteristics of this fish, when mine are gone, I probably won't by another, I will stick with A. Ocellaris instead but if you have the tank for them, I recommend them and say they are among the most attractive marine fish out there especially in the clownfish group.


Liked about it 1. Readily hosts with BTA anemone.
2. Striking color and body shape.
3. Very impressive fish when full sized.


Didn't like 1. Aggressive.
2. Spikes, yikes!
3. This is not a small fish and can grow large enough to bully other fish.
4. Will host with coral. Normally with smaller clowns this is a good thing, but this guy is so powerful it can damage the coral or a small anemone to death.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Sep 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Feisty Scarlet

Comments Aggressive: I'd rather face a swarm of bees
Growth: I bought mine when she was all alone in the store now I know why!
Active: A bit too much for my liking
Difficulty: Very easy!
Coexistence: Try not to pair it up with a smaller clown like I did. Doesn't eat it or nip at it but it is very territorial
Tank: I have her in a 28 gallon nano cube.
I feed her flakes and she eats pellets as well.

She kicks up the sand covering the corals. Beats up every anemone she hosts with to death, whether its a RBT or GBT or even a 7.99 Haitian anemone. Knocks over coral that isn't completely attached to the rock. But I love her anyway. She glows in the dark :)



Liked about it 1. Big
2. Funny
3. Fun to watch


Didn't like 1. Bossy
2. Territorial
3. Picks on "nemo"


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Snowflakefanatic
Jun 18, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Piranha in cute clothes!

Comments this fish is pretty hardy mine has moved with me a couple of times, and it is pretty hard to even stress this fish, this is my second one and i have had her for about 2 years now. its a very mean mean mean fish, but they grow slow and have lots of personality. you also need to have them in their own tank, they are not a community fish and i have always kept mine as singular fish in a tank.


Liked about it hardy, like a cockroach!
pretty fish.
very full of happy personality.


Didn't like mean! any time you reached in, the fish was there ready to bite you!
big fat bully! picked on my poor corals for snuggling whether they wanted to cuddle or not.
big, did i say that already? these fish get big enough to draw blood when they bite, especially the females.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wolfe4372
Oct 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

pick me last

Comments The maroon clown is a great fish. They have wonderful personality but you should really add him to your tank last. They become very territorial and aggressive toward new additions. If you decide to get one buy a small one after you have a well stocked tank. They will also rub up against any LPS coral you have in the tank whether you have a nem or not.


Liked about it This fish adds so much life to the tank. They are beautiful and will swim right up close to your hand. They also will eat whatever you put in the tank.


Didn't like They will host your corals whether you have a nem or not. They are extremely aggressive and territorial.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By shanalea
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Mean and a bully.

Comments I have had many Maroons every last one of them and been extremely territorial and aggressive towards all fish in the tank.

That being said this is an extraordinary fish with beautiful coloration and I just just to watch this fish swim. It kinda pulses through the water. Having an anemone also made the bad behavior worse. After time this fish did seem to settle in a bit but was still way to aggressive so I got rid of it. I think in either a very large system or anemone only tank they would do great!


Liked about it The color is great the the white stripes are the whitest and most vibrant of any other fish.
The way this fish move through the water is really neat.
I have found the maroon to be one of the most prone to host an anemone.


Didn't like This fish is just plain mean. I have had three and they were all alike.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

I wasn't expecting a war!

Comments What can I say about these little guys that hasn't already been said? Let's see... I bought two of them because I wanted something to host my newly acquired green bubble-tip anemone (GBTA). No problem! They both dove right in there! I was stoked! However... The bigger one started beating the heck out of any fish that got within 5 inches of her. Then, she started beating on the other Maroon! Finally, the Maroons killed my GBTA and that's when I realized that these weren't the clowns for me. Shame too... they are a beautiful fish, especially the yellow striped ones. If I did them again, it would be in an exclusive tank.


Liked about it 1) Coloration, 2) Eat anything, 3) Not difficult to get to host a 'nem.


Didn't like 1) Too aggressive, 2) Very territorial, 3) Will attack your arm if you get too close during maintenance time


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By flipside
Feb 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

The Maroon Clown

Comments The Maroon Clownfish is one of the most beautiful of all the clownfish. They can get fairly large and can be very territorial. Even goes after me when I'm working in the tank. One of the easier clown fish to breed. They seem to prefer the bubble tip anemone(E. quadricolor) but do not require one.


Liked about it love its disposition and its colors and the way it feeds its anemone


Didn't like rearranges the tank surroundings around its host


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

My favorite clown.

Comments These are my most favorite of the clown species. I prefer the attitude of a more aggressive fish, and these guys fit that. They can be overly aggressive, especially in a smaller tank and especially when they are hosted with an anemone/coral. They will "defend" their host. I really like the maroon color and the red eyes; mine was a gold stripe. They are also a larger variety of clown.


Liked about it Color.
Behavior, very defensive posture.
Size.


Didn't like Can be too aggressive for some.
Can get large in small tanks.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wharyat
Jan 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A nice clown, but aggressive at maturity

Comments A nice clown that's almost guaranteed to take to a bubble tip anemone as a host, the maroon clown can be a good addition to a reef tank. Take caution, however, as they're very aggressive as adults (especially when being hosted in an anemone). I've had a pair in the past, and the female would often attack my arm during tank maintenance. Not a simple peck, either, it genuinely hurt. So without a large tank, I would hesitate adding conspecifics.


Liked about it Hardy, easy to adapt to captivity. Also, unlike many clownfish species, this one will almost always take a bubble tip as a host.


Didn't like Grumpy, can get a bit large for smaller tanks (under 20 gallons). Not great for small peaceful systems.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Maroon Clownfish

Comments This species of clownfish is by far one of the easiest to care for. Its supper hardy so it will be able to survive most mistakes made by new hobbyists. This species of clownfish is one of most aggressive clownfish and can be very territorial at times. However they do make a great addition if you plan your aquarium needs. This is just my opinion but I believe clownfish always seem to be happier if they are kept in pairs.


Liked about it Hardy, great color, and supper easy to care for and energetic


Didn't like Can be a little aggressive especially with other species of clown fish.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Jan 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Bossy, Bossy

Comments Like any other clown fish they are relatively easy to acclimate, readily take food, grow really well, are active swimmers unless hosting a anenome or coral, there are really no tank requirements for these guys,can be aggressive with other tank mates and are very territorial.


Liked about it mine was a swimmer, when the lights were on the fish was always swimming about. it also hosted a pumping xenia which was rather silly but it was neat to watch the fish bring the coral food. mine fish also doubled in size in a year.


Didn't like a little aggressive toward other fish at times, would bite my hand wheni was in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Thought on Maroon Clowns

General When my Yellow Wrasse(also refered to as a coris wrasse) would wake up @ night my female would case him if he came near the left hand side of the tank she would chase him. I feed my mated pair a combination of Mysis shrimp(which they show little interest in),and Ocean Nutrition formula two marine pellets(they dart after these). I have a aquacultured pair i bought as juveniles from petco no signs of hosting. Only close display of hosting is the male wiggles on the silicone strip in the back of the tank.


Liked about it Velvet like color. can grow nearly 4-6 inches.(lfs display has one that is 6 inches)


Didn't like Like all clowns they are territorial. NO complaints with will recommend to anyone


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
May 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Maroon Clown

General Carl(my clown) was my very first fish to survive all the mistakes I made. He is awesome, but he has been a little agressive to smaller fish that I have added, but always calms down. I will always have a maroon in my tanks.


Liked about it Very Hardy, colorful, and easy to care for


Didn't like Nothing to report


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great clown for the larger or more agressive tank

General These are bigger then a lot of the other clowns. They can be very agressive which is great if you are adding them with other agressive fish. These however can get quiet big for clowns so I wouldnt advice that you try to add a pair to a nano system as I have seen some people try to do. Still a great fish with all the clown behavior.


Liked about it Great color and a great clown for the larger tank.


Didn't like They are not for the nano systems can be agressive.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quick_murdoc
May 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Mine was named Emmitt

General a good, fairly tough fish. mine was very hardy and easily weathered my newbie mistakes. mine would swim at all levels of the tank and was not a picky eater it would beg for food and look very cute doing so, it also left my corals alone.

if i were to set up a tank where a clownfish would be happy, i would get another white stripe maroon.


Liked about it energetic fish, nice contrasting colors, cute appearance, hardy and easy to feed.


Didn't like they can be awfully aggressive at times


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By icebear
Mar 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec331