Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (10)
 Add a review

Green Clown Goby

 
Clown gobies are small fish that come in a variety of colors and patterns, usually with a blunt, rounded stout. The Green Clown Goby in particular has a green body with reddish vertical stripes on its head. They are...


Scientific Name Gobiodon atrangulatus


Common Names Green Clown Goby, arspot Coral Goby,


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Green Clown Goby in Reviews
 

 

Little Fish Big Personality! featured

Comments I went shopping several months back and my local fish store had a blow out on these fish 5 bucks each. I was a little concerned because my tank is a 150 with soft corals and I have to semi aggressive fish. I have a flame angel and a starry blennie that pretty much rule the tank. I liked the fish so much I bought 3. I figured I have lots of live rock they can find plenty of places to hide. At first my 6 line chased them around a bit but after a few days he gave up and let them be. They eat anything I put in the tank. They are very active hoping from coral to coral and rock to rack. They always come out of hiding when I come close to the tank. they will even follow me from one end of the tank to the other. They dont seem to fight but they stay in diffrent sections of the tank. The colors are great very bright. They havent really bothered my corals by sitting in them but I have mostly soft corals.


Liked about it Personality color they make their presence known even in a large tank with larger fish. Easy to feed.


Didn't like nothing really. I would prob think twice about putting a group of them in a smaller tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Aug 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Not SPS safe

Comments In my opinion this is the nicest colored clown goby if you are considering having one in the tank. The one I got is I believe a female so needless to say went after my sunset millepora out the gate and stressed out the coral. My goby didn't kill the coral but at the same time took a bit of energy to get it out of my display and into the sump where it will enjoy the rest of its life.


Liked about it -Good nano fish
-Interesting body shape and colors
-Interesting to watch when feeding


Didn't like -Likely to go for your most expensive acropora
-Hard to catch if you find out yours is a coral muncher
-Can take forever to go after food with bigger fish around
-Does not eat much each feeding so probably better if fed multiple times a day


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By discuslin
Mar 29, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

neat little goby, but not for tanks with SPS

Comments This fish is very similar to the yellow clown goby. They hail from the same general region, and the stay under 2" even as adults. This one has a bit more of a unique coloration, and it would do well in tanks as small as 10 gallons.


Liked about it The green glown goby is a very peaceful fish that doesn't require a lot of room. At under 2", it won't add much bioload to your tank, and they tolerate other fish well. It may not tolerate other clown gobies, but otherwise you shouldn't have any temperament issues with this fish.


Didn't like The biggest risk with clown gobies is that they can irritate small polyped corals, so tanks with SPS are at risk with these fish. They tend to lay eggs on the underside branches of acropora species, so if you're unwilling to sacrifice some otherwise healthy acros, you may steer clear of the clown gobies.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Attractive fish but shy. Probably not for beginners.

Comments Like the yellow and black clown goby, the green clown goby is a small (1.25 inch) goby with a very attractive appearance. Green with red markings decorate the body and make this a unique standout among the smaller goby species. Specimens in poor health or stressed will have dull colors but don't mistake these dull colors for the bright and enjoyable colors of a healthy fish! Dull color is a sign of problems, not the normal look of the green clown goby.

Unlike the other clown goby species, this one is a bit more shy and not an aggressive feeder by nature. I placed one in my tank and didn't see it again for a week. I had no way of knowing if the fish was feeding or not, which is why I say this fish isn't necessarily for beginners or at least for immature tanks where natural infauna for food is scarce.


Liked about it 1. Nice green color and interesting red markings.
2. Small non-aggresive fish.
3. Affordable price.


Didn't like 1. Very shy. So much so that it may make it difficult to properly care for.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By tcamos
May 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

very colorful fish

Comments mine about inch and half seems very hardy easy to care for hasnt bother any other fish in tank


Liked about it it has very bright colors
very peaceful
like to watch it swim


Didn't like it stays hid alot other than dont know of anything bad about this fish


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefwreck
Apr 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Excellent for newbie to experts

Comments I have to say I am a big goby fan. We have one in our 14 gallon nano soft coral tank and 6 in our 75 gallon sps tank. These are super easy and very resistent to diesease. Pretty well peaceful expect with like gobies in tight quarters. Not active mainly a percher except when the dinner bell rings. Super easy to feed they eat about anything. I have noticed the growth rates in the sps colonies that they spend the most time in also.


Liked about it Can be captive breed. color is off the chart with these guys. Super easy to take care of and feed. Can fit in the smallest of nanos. Price point is great for all clown gobies. Like I said this is one of those fish that can be enjoyed at all levels in the hobby.


Didn't like when breeding they can kill a branch of your sps when the lay the eggs on it. but for the whole chance and challenge to raise them it's worth it to me


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By segreefclub
Apr 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Little coral bather!

Comments Pretty little fish but spent to much time hidden in a patch of xenia.Only seen it when feeding are switching to another coral.


Liked about it - very atractive little fish.-Other bigger fish seem to not even bother it.-Has its own little personality


Didn't like - Seemed to iritate my soft corals- Stayed hidden to much- Prone to ich


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By treeboa
Jan 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Hard to feed

Comments Not very active


Liked about it Looks good, its small


Didn't like Mine is about an inch or so and will only eat like 2 live black worms at a time. i feed him once in the morning and once at night. he is skinny and not really gaining weight. it is hard for him to eat anything other than the worms cause his mouth is so small and their throats are even smaller.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By peasofme
Nov 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Cute little guy.

Comments This little goby was easy to care for, I just got a sick one. It wasn't very agressive if not at all. He was always out and about, but like to stay in one spot for a long period of time. I hear about the goby bothering corals a lot, but my goby didn't have any part in that, luckily.


Liked about it He perched on anything and liked to look around.
Nice and small.
Ate like a champ.


Didn't like More prone to sickness, I think.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kakalakasha
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Has an underbite

General Good fish, hasn't eaten anything that they shouldn't (corals, macroalgae, etc.) Fun to watch.


Liked about it Good personality, gets along well with clowns and my bicolor blenny. Likes to hide in corals, a good eater of meaty and algae sheets.


Didn't like Stressed out my corals by lying on them 24-7. Did not get along well with another clown goby that I purchased at the same time. One sometimes nips at my clowns at feeding time if they aren't letting him get enough.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jschulzpt
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec338