Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.2 (26)
 Add a review

Green Chromis Damselfish Featured

 
The Green Chromis has a brilliant green-blue hue to its scales. Green Chromis are schooling fish that are best kept in schools of at least six fish. Unlike many of the other damselfish they are peaceful and shy. They...


Scientific Name Chromis viridis


Common Names Blue Green Chromis, Blue Green Damselfish, Green Chromis, Green Puller, Blue-Green Reeffish, Blue Green Reef Chromis


Price: $4 to $14 at 4 stores
Searched Green Chromis Damselfish in Reviews
 

 

Boy was I wrong! featured

Comments Ive had saltwater fish for several yrs now and have always desired the flasher more expensive fish. I've seen these fish at pet shops but have never bought them. I never felt they were good enough for my tank. Well with times being what they are spending allot of money for fish is something of the past for me. I bought three green Chromis about a month ago. To be honest I wasn't excited at all I was just like oh yeah I'll take the last three of those. I didn't even really look at them closely before buying them(thats something I never do). These guys are really small so I know they are still babies. I placed them in the tank with all my flashy fish yellow tang flame angel swollowtail angel 6line wrasse thinking ok well at least they will add more movement. I Love these fish they never stop swimming around they took all the bulling the flashy fish could dish out they eat what ever I feed them they school. I just cant say enough about these fish. I now have a whole new respect for them!


Liked about it I would recommend these fish to beginners or to folks who have been into saltwater for years. They are a great deal at any price!


Didn't like The fish store where I bought them only had 3 I wish I would have bought more!!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Chromis featured

General Great fish for beginners. very active, nice color and very tolerant of water conditions. If it were not for my experience of them killing one another I would consider them a staple in my tank. As I mentioned however, other people had had better luck with them, but I feel that several groups over seven or eight years has proven that it is the fish, over my habitat.


Liked about it These fish are usually quite active and very popular in the aquarium trade. Every few years I see an impressive shoal of these fish and wish to add more to my tank.


Didn't like It has been my experience (some people have the opposite results) that a shoal of these fish tend to pick on the smaller one until it dies. The group then systematically singles out the smallest or weakest member left in the group and does the same thing. I started with three, one died and then I bought 11 new ones. Systematically over about three years they singled one out until it died until I was left with seven. I then bought a handful of replacements and watched the same thing happen over about two more years. I am now down to two of them and doubt I will replace them again. this has been in a 450-gallon tank and a 300-gallon system.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Hop
May 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Chromis

Comments Lovely little fish. I only have one in my 20 gallon. He started off with an orange spotted goby and a maroon clownfish. The clown bullied him and stressed him so I moved him to a 5.5 temporarily. He almost died from stress but is happy and healthy back in the 20, now with two clowns and a yellow tail blue damsel. I have had him for about a year. He has grown slowly but is definitely bigger now. He is curious and just a lovely little addition to my tank. He takes a bit of bullying and tries to school with the clowns. Totally peaceful but a pushover to more aggressive fish. Always swimming and he accepts anything I throw in there for him. After a year, his coloring is beautiful and the finnage has definitely grown out and is absolutely gorgeous. Great all around fish.


Liked about it -Great personality
-Hardy after it stabilizes
-Easy keeper


Didn't like -It is a pushover
-Color can get a little dull if he isn't in the right lighting


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Zephyrsue
Dec 30, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Green Chromis

Comments I have a couple of these awesome fish in my 55g aquarium. I used this fish as one of the fish to start my tank cycle. They are great for new saltwater enthusiasts. Better then other damsels. They are very hardy fish and a fun to watch when you have enough to make a small school. Make sure you get one of these at one point of owning and maintaining a salt water aquarium.


Liked about it Mine weren't aggressive, fun to watch, would chase my glass cleaner around my tank when I cleaned. Nice coloring under proper lighting. They do really well with my reef set up and avoid hitting anything over.


Didn't like They are hard to catch. Most of the time you have to take apart your tank to get them. They are known for their red sore disease that can wipe out a tank and is very difficult to cure.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By bbrockmeier
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Beautiful fish

Comments I bought 3 of these for my 55g and despite what others say, I am in love with this fish. It's scally scales light up when it swims close to the light. It follows others around in a school. Really great fish for just about any sized tank. Make sure you quarantine this fish!


Liked about it It's great because it swims in the water column adding movement to the tank.
Looks great in a small school.
Lights up in certain lighting conditions/positions.


Didn't like Needs to be kept in groups which really adds to the bioload.
They can grow quite big.
Odds are, when you buy from a store they are in very prone to diseases because they are kept with several other chromis (2o or so). Buy from a legit source and be sure to quarantine.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Coreyb
Dec 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Very good fish for me

Comments This was my very first saltwater fish, I was always taught to cycle a tank with a fish (I know better ways now) so i took this bright green-blue colored fish home, when i got there he was almost all black, with stripes. but after he was in the tank for a few hours he was just fine. i still have this fish (1 year old), and he is the king of the tank, and very healthy, and easy to take care of.


Liked about it this fish is the king of my tank, but he dose not injure any other fish, or invert. very peaceful and keeps everyone else in check. I have him in my reef tank with no probs. i also keep 2 other damsels, 1 false clown, 1 fire gobe, 1 silver tip shark, mis shrimp/corals. he also eats any food i put in the tank.


Didn't like I have had no complaints with this fish, but i would not buy another one, because I got lucky with this one not being aggressive.


Overall rating:
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.5

By Nate_Bro
Dec 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

My first ever saltwater fish

Comments The Green Chromis was my first ever saltwater fish and ended up being my favorite fish for about 4 years. The fish was obviously easy to acclimate since I'm pretty sure all I did was float him (not reccomended). He was very easy to care for and lived 4 yrs until my tank crashed. I was sad to see him go. Anyway now have 5 of them in my 150g and they are all the same as the original. They are not to aggressive like most damsels. They tend to grow kind of slow overall but seem to go through quick spurts of growing. My original one and 2 of the five I got will come right up to my finger in the tank. Overall a great beginner fish and even enjoyable for the advanced reefers out there.


Liked about it everything. easy to care for
*hearty fish
*not aggressive towards tank mates
*actually great personality in some specimens


Didn't like There is really nothing to not like about this fish except it isnt a flashy multi-colored eye catching fish but its not an ugly fish either


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

great for starters!!

Comments Green Chromis really are not a challenge to keep. I have 4 of them and 3 out of 4 are always together. Normally what they do is 3 will swim around together for a certain amount of time while one stays behind and guards their cave. They take turns guarding so the guard and school are different every couple of hours. They do sometimes get attacked by my Domino Damsel, my Azure Damsel and occasionally my Clownfish, but there's never any damage and my Chromis don't care much. Also they are all real pigs, they eat most of the food in my tank before anybody else does. They're very cute little fish, easy to feed, forgiving and can sometimes be used to remove parasites.


Liked about it -inexpensive
-great color
-cool on groups


Didn't like -can be aggressive
-will eat other fish's food
-can grow rather quickly


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gabranth17
Jun 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Awesome in a School and great color and affordable.

Comments I love the blue/green color of these fish. They tend to be smaller fish but I have had some for over 3 years and that are pushing 2" long. The are no know for schooling in a tank but will school up. They will also kill the weaker fish in the school still a excellent addition to any tank and very affordable. You can buy a dozen of these for the same as one other fish. They are always out and about and do not hide much. Very friendly and get along well with most other reef safe fish. This fish is hard to beat for it's price and color.


Liked about it Price, I think this is the cheapest fish available for marine tanks.
Color, They have a unique blue/green color to them, not too dull but not too light.
They will school in a larger tank.


Didn't like Not much to dislike about this fish except that they will eliminate weaker fish in the school.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Lots of fun

Comments I bought 3 of them for my 37 gallon and they really add life to my tank. From day one they have been real pigs when it comes to feeding. They are always playing, they even try to get the other fish to play along in their games. They swim everywhere in the water column. Not aggressive at all.


Liked about it They are always playing.
Rush to the top of the tank to be feed.
Their color shifts between green and blue.


Didn't like Not a thing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Hop Head
May 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Good Reef Fish

Comments I bought two of these fish before I invested money into more expensive fish. They did very well until they picked on each other until death. I don't think this happens often but was just my experience. They are overall easy to care for and peaceful fish. Can use for aquariums of almost any size (10 gallons or more). I would buy them again or recommend them to a friend.


Liked about it Beautiful fish at a really good price. Peaceful with other tank mates and overally generally hardier than other species. They bring a lot of color to a tank.


Didn't like Sometimes they pick on smaller fish of the same species until it dies.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By chaedtke
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great schooling fish and affordable, but not for beginners

Comments This fish is affordable, has interesting schooling (shoaling) behavior, and a unique color pattern that changes from blue to green and back depending on the how the light is refelecting off of it. They are one of the more affordable fish you can buy, however, affordability does not mean they are beginner fish. They are schoaling, so you will need no less than three, but five or six is a better number. Without the proper numbers they will be stressed and perhaps die. For many people this number of fish is the max they should keep so the chromis isn't always the best choice. When stressed they succumb quickly to it though once well established they are more hardy. They also need to be fed 3 times a day which can be a chore for some aquarists.


Liked about it 1. Affordable
2. Interesting behavior
3. Blue/green color in a school is beautiful


Didn't like 1. Must be fed 3 times a day to obtain maximum health or be in a tank that is mature.
2. Must buy several of them
3. Prone to stress


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 17, 2010
 
Last updated: March 12, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

great starter saltwater fish

Comments This is a really good fish to start out with. It is a good cheap fish to use to start the cycling process as well. These fish like to run in schools. The size of these schools and the even or odd number amount to keep varies upon what source you are using. In my experience, I have housed these guys in even and odd numbers. I have seen them single one guy out the school in even and odd numbers.


Liked about it these are few things I like about these fish
1. one of the few species that is totally reef safe that runs in schools
2.I like the price of these fish as most fish in our hobby can get expensive
3.they are very active fish that spend a good amount of their time in the upper water column


Didn't like I really don't have anything to complain about these guys.
One of the few fish that you know what you are getting. I have had this fish several different times in several different set ups.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Cheap fish, usually don't last too long

Comments While these fish are very common and are often kept in groups, I've found they don't last long. In my experience they drop one at a time until only a few (or one)remain. They do make good additions to a reef (in at least that they won't bother much of anything), but they're rather bland and don't add a whole lot to the tank.


Liked about it Cheap, simple, reef safe, these fish are very common and at the price hard to refuse. They don't bother other fish for the most part, and are rather replaceable if some don't make it.


Didn't like Not always hardy. Not only that, but those that do acclimate in a group tend to fight off the weakest fish until only one remains.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great reef safe fish.

Comments I added one of these years ago when I was first cycling my tank. After cycling, I removed all the other damsels except this one. It was an attractive fish, good eater, and didn't bully anyone. He's slowly grown into about a 1.5" fish with long flowing fins and beautiful colors. My wife felt he was lonely a couple months back and we added 3 more. They got along great and now we have a little school of them in our 29g.


Liked about it Attractive, peaceful, good eater


Didn't like Can't really think of any. They don't dig, they don't bully, and they don't lose their bright green color.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Diving The World
Oct 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

The best fish to school.

Comments This is one fish that's so easy to keep. There not aggressive to other fish but will tend to be aggressive to there own kind. It's seems they fight to be the pack leader. Their Reef Compatible and should be kept in a tank no smaller then a 30 gal. One thing I have notice was its best to keep them in odd numbers. If you put 12 of them in the tank 11 of them will school and one would be out cast as a loner causing stress and even death to the loner fish. They love flake food's and brine shrimp, and they are very active fish and need a lot of rock work to hide when the lights go out.


Liked about it Their very Peaceful. Very easy to school in 50 gal + lager tanks.


Didn't like Hard to school them in 30 gal and under tanks.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By J-LUIS
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Very Active Fish

Comments This fish swims around in front of the glass most of the day. He has a great personality.Even though he is part of the damsel family, he never even looks at the other fish and just swims right by.


Liked about it 1. Very active
2. Small size
3. Isn't aggressive


Didn't like 1. Color wasn't actually green


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Jan 22, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Green Chromis are great for the price!

Comments For $5 a piece, you are getting a great deal. These fish are fun to watch. They look good under T5 lighting, they are aggressive swimmers, and they sometimes shoal.


Liked about it These fish are Cheap, Swim wonderfully, and look great. I also like that they are mid to upper tank level swimmers. They are easy to feed as well. My Green Chromis eat flakes, pellets, and frozen.


Didn't like I lost some right after acclimation, started with 7 and now have 3 (for the last year). They tend to be aggressive toward each other.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By szucchi
May 02, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Very nice fish

Comments I started a 20 gallon tank and when it was all done cycling I added 2 of these blue-green chromis. They are very hardy and very easy to feed they do not disturb anything in my tank and make a great addition. I wish I could get more - That way I can go for the schooling effect but my tank is not large enough for all that so ill stick with the 2 for now. They have a nice color and depending on the light look blueish or green at times wich is pretty cool. They get along with all my other fish and seem to enjoy life. I would highly recommend these fish to anyone that is just starting up or to someone that's been around for a while. I even had an ich outbreak in my tank and they both survived (with treatment) so that right there just shows how hardy they can be.


Liked about it Color
Simple
non-aggressive


Didn't like Can be really small


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jamesbooth66
Apr 07, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

spastic

Comments can only eat very small foods


Liked about it cheap, peaceful


Didn't like spaz, very fast, epileptic, drab looking, annoying, annoys other fish with it's constant spastic behavior, can only swallow very small foods, always wants to eat, no personality, boring, lame


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By peasofme
Oct 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Perfect beginner Fish

Comments These nice colored fish are perfect for the beinning hobbiest. They may look plain but they really bring personality to the aquarium. I love their blue/green coloration and they are very easy to find in pet stores. They are also cheap so thats a plus because we al know this hobby can get expensive.


Liked about it Coloration, cheap, hardy.


Didn't like None


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fishoutofwater25
Oct 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great schoolers

Comments Easy to care for not aggressive in my experience, Good eaters, Very active swimmers when lights are on and hide when lights are off. I had them in my 57 gal.


Liked about it I like that they are schoolers and swimmers, easy to acclimate and great eaters


Didn't like add to bio load.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fchidsey
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Hardy little thing!

Comments It was very hard and accepted all the food I fed. It was very peaceful. It grew at the perfect pace, in my opinion. It's very active, always out and about in the tank. I would recommend one for a reef tank any day.


Liked about it I liked the personality of it, it was like a damsel, but wasn't anywhere near agressive.
The blue-ish green color of the chromis is an awesome dash of color for a tank.
It ate almost anything.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kakalakasha
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

chromis

General My chromis where for cycling the tank and now I cant get rid of them. They look nice enough but to me id rather change for something more impressive.
They eat like they have never been fed and if in numbers less than 3 there will be bullying form the bigger, they are shoal fish and will cause trouble for each other as a pair.


Liked about it Cheap.


Didn't like Look like tropical fish.
Need 3 or more.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Green Chromis

General I love to watch these fish shoal. I could watch them for hours. They are very tolerant of other species and are very peaceful.


Liked about it Hardy as a damsel, but doesn't have the attitude. They shoal with as few as 3.


Didn't like Nothing to report


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

damsel

General Great starter fish for a reef tank i have seen many in a reef tank a very easy going damsel. I dont think you can kill these guys


Liked about it Great starter fish
can leave in reef tank


Didn't like plain green color


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $4 to $14
Compare Prices
at 4 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec332