Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (15)
 Add a review

Flame Angelfish Featured

 
The Flame Pygmy Angelfish has a bright red-orange body that is crossed by black vertical bars. The dorsal and anal fins are blue and black striped. Flame Angelfish are generally peaceful toward other fish (but not...


Scientific Name Centropyge loriculus


Common Names Dwarf Flame Angelfish, Dwarf Angel, Flame Angel


Price: $2 to $99 at 5 stores
Searched Flame Angelfish in Reviews
 

 

Glad I got it!! featured

Comments I struggled with purchasing this fish for awhile because I did not want to spend the money. I'm glad I did. My Flame angel has been a model citizen. It lives in a 300 gallon tank stocked with corals. They have been known to nip at different corals and clams but I spend hours in front of the tank and have never seen it do anything I did not want it to do. This is a fish you notice in your tank from across the room with its bright colors. It acclimated easy and has been active and healthy since.


Liked about it Very colorful fish which is probably why it is so desirable. It has almost been maintenance free. He will eat almost whatever foods I supply to the tank either meaty or algea. Does not seem agressive towards other fish I have. Does not get to big.


Didn't like This guy is a little on the pricey side. It is sometimes known to nip at corals and clams. I have both and have not seen it bother anything but knowing that I feel I need to keep a watch. It's worth it to me.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Jan 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

I really love this fish featured

Comments I think the look of this dwarf angel typifies whey people get into marine fish. There's nothing at all close to the brightness of color in freshwater aquariums.

While many consider this a reef-safe fish, I don't agree. In my tank it nipped polyp heads on even some soft corals. I suppose depending on what corals you had it might leave them alone but for me I had to move it out to a different tank.

It doesn't need much room, about a 30 gallon tank is fine as long as there is enough rock for it to hide in. I found it didn't bother other fish, but I know others who have had it be territorial so based on all I've heard I would say it is a semi-aggressive fish. I certainly wouldn't put it with another angel species or anything that looked like one.

They like to pick on the rocks for algae, sort of grazing all day long, but they still need plenty of algae added to the tank. I found for best color they needed live algae and not just the dried stuff. Once every couple of weeks I would feed it some meaty food. It especially seemed to like clams. They are known to nip clam mantles so this might be why it especially liked that.

When my fish finally dies I will run right out an get another one. For the size, just 3-4" I can't think of another fish that provides more visual appeal. The only thing I would do differently, and I advise this, is to add it to the tank last. I added mine after two other fish were established in the tank and there as sparing for a couple of weeks. It finally settled down but was stressful...for me.


Liked about it 1. Super colorful.
2. Can go in a small tank.
3. Hardy once established.


Didn't like 1. Nips corals and clams.
2. Can be aggressive to other fish. Stocking order is important here.
3. Requires lots of algae and fresh is better than dried.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

A nice fish but not reef safe featured

Comments The flame angel is one of the more common dwarf angels available in the hobby, and they're very popular. They're dynamic color are very appealing, and they're generally viewed good behavior make them decent additions to tanks over about 30 gallons. This fish is commonly kept with coral, but that is a risk. I've had them nip at LPS and clams personally, so if you're wanting a guarantee that this fish is a model citizen you won't find it. They do well with most other reef safe fish, but they won't tolerate other dwarf angels unless the tank is very large (well over 100 gallons). Even in those case, it's a risk to add this fish with other dwarfs.


Liked about it This fish is commonly available and is very attractive. They're pretty easy to get acclimated to captivity, usually taken to prepared meaty diets and those which contain some sponge material. They do well in smaller tanks (over 30 gallons), and they are peaceful towards most tank inhabitants. I found the one I had in the past to be rather active, always swimming about and adding a bit of personality and a lot of color to the aquarium.


Didn't like The biggest risk with this fish is if you plan on adding it to a reef tank; they are, in my opinion, more likely than not to nip at clams and corals. If you have a huge system where that's a little sacrifice, that may be an acceptable risk, but in my case I ended up getting rid of the fish due to this trait. I usually see this fish for over $50, so that's a big investment for a small fish that may or may not do well in your reef. If you have a fish only tank, then this would probably be a great addition, otherwise I'd take caution before adding.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

A beautiful fish but may nip at yoru softies. featured

Comments This is one of the most beautiful fish available. The coloration will just blow you a way and woudl be in awesome addition to most reef tank it it was not for the fact that there is a 50/50 chance it will eat your soft corals and LPS. This fish can be kept in a SPS only tank with no issues but is prone to nip at soft corals asnd LPS. For that reason I would have to say unless you have SPS only stay away from this fish. Yes it is possible to keep this fish with soft coral and LPS but do so at your own risk. I had opne fro well over a year and loved it. It was always out and I never saw it nip anything. After I started collecting rare zoanthids it was not a risk I was willing to take so I took him to the lfs and swapped him out.


Liked about it The Colors! I do not think you can find a more colorful fish.
This fish is also very friendly and social with other reef save fish.
Affordable, It is usually in the $60 range which is a little high but for a fish with so much color well worth it.


Didn't like I may eat your corals. For me once I started collecting high end zoanthids that was not a risk I was willing to take.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

My Favorite Little Pal! featured

Comments Flame angels are one of the main reasons that I finally switched from freshwater over to saltwater aquariums. These fish are gorgeous with some of the most vibrant coloration you can find in any fish species commonly available. The only kicker for that beauty is that they are extremely popular and command a high price. This fish can sometimes be very fragile for many reasons. You must acclimate these fish correctly or they can die quickly. Freshwater dips, IMO are not for this species. I was told to dip them to rid them of parasites etc. and it really just stresses them out and they died quickly from it even with short dips. I went through two of them from this. In my experience these fish have been very susceptible to ick. They will recover easily if they are a healthy, active specimen, but in some cases they need medication. A fact that isn't discussed much is that these fish are sensitive to elevated levels of copper so treatment can be more difficult with some specimens. Since this fish comes at such a high demand, many collectors harvest them in unfit means and typically gas them in order to catch them. This will usually result in their deaths within a short span of time even when nothing is wrong within your tanks parameters. All I can say is know your supplier and their collection methods. Also, try to select the healthiest looking fish at the store, put it on hold (usually done for a small fee), and observe it for a week or so within the store. Once you get a healthy specimen they will live for a long time as long as they are well taken care of. My current angel is extremely active, cruising through the tank grazing on all of the live rock. It is a must to feed them a variety of foods from frozen to flakes and pellets. Algae must be included in their diet for better health/ coloration. In all of my experience with these fish I have never had one, or any other dwarf angel for that matter, nip at any corals of any kind. If they have enough live rock to graze on and are fed enough throughout the day to satisfy them they have no need to nip at corals. It is important to note that pygmy angels should only be housed together in large tanks. In small tanks they will fight to the death no matter what you do to keep them apart and lower aggression. Only in drastic color differences is there a chance of little fighting, but it is still slim. In my experience with flame angels they are extremely hardy and easy to care for as long as you select a healthy specimen from your LFS. They are an extremely active, gorgeous fish that are able to be housed in smaller tank sizes making them one of the most sought after additions for many aquarists.


Liked about it Unequalled coloration.
Can be housed in smaller tanks, 29-30 gallons.
Extremely active swimmers.
Fun to watch dart in and out of the live rock searching for food.
Great eaters.
Very hardy and easy to care for IF you buy a healthy specimen.
I play hide and seek with mine!


Didn't like The price can be high at some stores. (shop around)
Has the potential to be a coral nipper. (no problems if fed well)
Can't have more than one or another species of dwarf angel in the same tank. (at least in smaller systems)
Can be agressive to some tank mates.
Will be shy at the start and hide frequently, but gets more accustomed and confident.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Guchte22
Mar 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

My first and last Angel in a reef tank. featured

Comments Another easy to care for fish that would eat almost anything you put before it. The fish was aggressive but not too aggressive if that makes sense. If you are looking to buy one I would go ahead and purchase it from the LFS and have them put it in a tank with another fish. Most places will do it for free or a small deposit. The can be social fish if they are subjected to fish at a early age. Mine grew fast because it had a buffet I called my reef! Very active and literally all over the tank always investigating something. Mine was housed in a 55 gallon tank and seemed to be ok but I think over the long run I would suggest a much bigger tank to meet this fishes swimming demands.


Liked about it First and foremost is the stunning colors of this fish. they are a beautiful species and really are very eye catching. They often cruise around the tank looking for their next meal which more then likely will be a piece of coral.


Didn't like =Pretty dominate over easy going fish in your tank
=They will eat your corals! Nipping at first and then leading to a coral genocide.
=Great swimming defense and are pretty hard to trap once you get them in the tank.

I would not recommend this fish at all in a reef tank setting. Some people have had better luck then others but honestly I would not have another one unless it was a FOWLR tank. The LFS's seem to be pretty proud of these things too and prices will be all over the place.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Brightly colored territorial fish that might nip coral - risky but rewarding

Comments The dwarf flame angel (Centropyge loriculus) should not be kept with other angelfish (this includes the pygmy cherub angel). Add it last to a peaceful tank so other fish have opportunities to establish territories.Feed it well a mixture of carnivore and herbivore foods and hope it doesn't nip your corals: some individuals will and others won't. Also, this fish is usually a bit more expensive than some other dwarf angels. However if the tank is big enough (at least 30 gallons, 100 is better) and the fish are different and the flame angelfish is well-fed, it can be a rewarding, beautiful addition to your tank. From the Hawaiian Islands, Christmas and Marshall Islands, the flame angelfish is bright red with black stripes, violet blue tail-end body edges and yellow tail. It swims actively around the tank. Although the fish only gets up to 4", mine hangs out with the larger foxface and sailfin tang. It has a tendency to chase the co-habitant pygmy cherub angelfish around feeding times, but as time passes they are working out different territories in a 150 gal tank.


Liked about it (1) Really beautiful color in an active fish that adds color and interest to your tank.
(2) Easy to feed (marine flakes, spirulina, clipped seaweed, thawed mysis and brine shrimp)
(3) Medium-sized (4") fish that can live with the smaller fish and swim with the larger ones.


Didn't like (1) Individuals may nip at coral; some will and some won't.
(2) It it gets ill, it is sensitive to copper and therefore more difficult to cure of ich (i.e., cannot treat with cupramine)
(3) Semi-aggressive so care is needed when adding it to a tank to be sure all fish are adjusting well and no one is getting stressed.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Apr 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Flame Angel is one of the most colorful additions to a tank, but can be a pain in the reef !

Comments Overall care of the fish is quite easy, it will readily accept a wide varity of food. The Flame is a very active fish and swim all around the tank. It is a dwarf angle hence will stay farily small. It will occasionally become territorial with smaller fish, but will does not seem to mess with bigger fish in the tank ever. I myslef keep one in my reef tank, and yes it will on occasion nip at SPS and LPS, however no damage has been seen. This one in really like to nip at the Open Brain Coral.


Liked about it 1. Very Colorful.
2. Very active
3. Not shy at all.


Didn't like 1. Is a little nipper. It most likely will nip at corals at one time or another.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Mark_Winn
Jan 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

BIG price for such a little fish.

Comments I have had a few different pygmy angels and have ALWAYS ended up regretting my decision. Most recently my Flame Angel died of Fin Rot and seemed to stress the entire tank from the beginning. With that said the colors of this fish are remarkable and one of the main reasons the demand for these guys is so high along with the 60$+ price tag.


Liked about it It almost single handily brightened up the tank, Its colors are beautiful.


Didn't like These things are in the angel family so nipping at corals is always a possibility, although mine never touched them. (course he only lived 2 weeks) The price of this fish seems out of line when compared to others in of the same species but Im guessing, like everything else, its driven by supply and demand. I just cant help but think there are other pygmy angels (lemon peel, bi-color, and coral beauty) that cost far less and just as attractive.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By reef-rookie
Jan 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Very beautiful fish, but NOT REEF SAFE

Comments I always wanted a Flame Angle, so I got 1 because they were supposed to be reef safe. Well mine was at first. But then he started nipping. He ate my Stylophora, Superman Monti, Favia, Acans, and my Micromussa. He seemed to really like the "brain" type of LPS corals. Most of them recovered after he naturally died after I had him for 2 years. If it wasn't for the nipping he would have been a perfect fish. But I wouldn't recommend anybody putting 1 in a reef tank.


Liked about it Beautiful colors. Didn't get to big. And he ate just about anything, and ate very well. So I really like this fish, but not in a reef tank.


Didn't like I didn't like the fact that he picked at my corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Jul 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great Fish but Not for the Reef tank!!

General I currently have one of these beauties in my 150 reef tank. Putting him in my reef tank was the biggest mistake Ive made in a long time. He nips at everything lps softies sps snails feather dusters he just doesnt care. Its been a nightmare trying to get him out. This is the second flame I've had through the years. The first was in a fowlr and I had no problems. I highly recommend these fish but not for a reef tank. Ive heard stories of how people have them in reefs with no problems but if I were you I wouldn't chance it. Both flames dominated the tanks so I wouldn't added one to a peaceful fish tank.


Liked about it Very Hardy The color is amazing will stand its ground easy to feed


Didn't like Can be a bully and nips at corals.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

My pick of the Angels

Comments This is the only Angel I trust in a reef


Liked about it Beautiful
Gets along with tank mates


Didn't like Cost


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Aug 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great lil angel

General Wouldn't put into a reef tank some nip some dont . a great fish only fish its very hardy lil guy


Liked about it A great hardy lil angel. Has bright colors


Didn't like Can nip at corals and sometime is kinda territorial


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great Little Fish

General These are great little fish to add to fish only systems. Addition to reef systems are at the owners risk as they have been known to pick on the fleshy parts of LPS and clam mantles as well as devour polyps. I had one that decimated an entire zoe colony in two days.


Liked about it Great coloration.


Didn't like Can be very agressive and territorial.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drdude05
Jun 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Stunning!

General This fish has great color, they are hardy and are great additions to any tank. If added to a reef some will nip corals so be careful. They can also become territorial and will chase other fish around. They also like to graze all day so it is best to keep them with lots of live rock.


Liked about it The color of the fish is one of the first things that I noticed and when i found out that they were hardy I had to have one.


Didn't like They can become territorial.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $99
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec325