Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (23)
 Add a review

Firefish Goby Featured

 
The Red Firefish has a body that fades from pale yellow at the head to orange and then red near the rear of the fish. The fins are yellow, fading to red and the first dorsal ray is extended. Red Firefish need plenty...


Scientific Name Nemateleotris magnifica


Common Names Fire Goby, Firefish, Firefish Goby, Magnificent Dartfish, Fire Dartfish


Price: $15 to $20 at 3 stores
Searched Firefish Goby in Reviews
 

 

These guys are very sweet! featured

Comments I have an 120 tank filled with lots of fish and corals. These fish are easy to take care of. They can be very shy or right out there with the rest of them.


Liked about it When we got rid of our 9 inch shoal tang and Miss Sassy (our maroon clown) we decided to add more fish. So we decided to add four firefish and four clowns. I had the store put them together in a small tank for a week before I bought them. He did and so I did. I put the four clowns in on one side of the tank and the four firefish on the other end. Well they found each other and they all hang out together on one side of the tank. Of course the fish that rules the tank --the infamous six line wrasse--caused some havoc for about six weeks. Consequently they HID!!! Only coming out for food. I put in fresh cooked shimp tails sometimes, to let the fish have some fun digging around. We thought we had lost one--why? the tail laying in the tank did not look like one I had fed everybody with, 2. We only saw 3 firefish. Finally after about four months, she reappeared, with her dorsal fin half the size. They are all out all the time now. They all hang out where the lights are pretty darn bright in the daytime. When its time for beddy by--they swim to the bottom and find their safe hiding places.


Didn't like Nothing bad to say about these guys. Frankly, the thing I would do different -- I would have added 3 or more. They are great as a school fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By juicyfruits
Dec 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great fish but be very careful featured

Comments This fish was a great addition to my reef tank. It got along with the other fish very well and and stay in sight most of the time. Very interesting to watch as it stays propped on it;s two fins and tries to find a nice place to rest.

Be very careful, and be warned if you have a open top tank and you intend to keep it that way do not get this fish. It is a jumper, you will have to put some type of cover over your tank to keep it from jumping out. I had a open top tank and before we purchased him i went to home Depot and got egg crate for around $13 to out on top of my tank.

He was a picky eater at first didn't eat any pellets and only ate shrimp. but he began to enjoy any food we put in the tank.

Unfortunately we lose him the other day while doing a water change he jumped out and landed on the rug. i placed him back into the tank and he seemed to get pick at by the hermits and he died. But I am going to be getting another one.


Liked about it Very colorful,very friendly, coral safe ^_^, and great hiding places.


Didn't like That he jumps


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Miyo
Sep 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A sweetheart of a fish with a tendency to jump featured

Comments The firefish goby (actually a dartfish) is small, and attractive, as well as peaceful and easy to care for. This combination makes it a very popular fish. It can be housed in a small tank, as little as a standard dimension ten gallon.

It doesn't do well at all with aggressive fish. It also doesn't like bright lighting. In a tank with one or both of these issues the firefish goby is prone to jump out. It is a reef safe fish but reef tanks require bright light which can stress the fish and cause it to jump. Providing plenty of hiding places for the firefish to dart into helps but keeping the tank covered in better. If the tank has to remain open you can search thereeftank.com forums for some cleaver ways to keep the fish in there's plenty of good advice and clever do it yourself ideas.

For part of the firefish's diet it will pick and eat the zooplankton that is growing in your tank. For this reason you should wait at least six months before putting on in our tank for best health. They also eat chopped shrimp.


Liked about it 1. Beautiful and unique fish.
2. Peaceful.
3. Requires only a small tank.


Didn't like 1. Will jump out of the tank when stressed.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 18, 2010
 
Last updated: March 12, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

nice fish for almost any tank featured

Comments The firefish are nice additions to peaceful tanks, particularly reefs. They are likely to shoal when in groups of 3 or so, which is somewhat unique in aquaria. They don't require much space, and can easily be kept in tanks of 20 gallons in more. They're rather peaceful fish that will do best without any aggressive tank mates, but make certain you've got a good cover as this fish is very likely to jump.


Liked about it These are easy fish to keep that are very attractive and will, in most cases, but pretty active. They stay small and won't add a lot of bioload to the tank. You can keep multiple of them in the same tank with territory or aggression issues, which is more often the exception than the rule.


Didn't like I think my biggest complaint with these fish is that they are very skittish. They intimidate easily and don't do well when co-housed with either larger fish or aggressive fish. They will dart behind and under rocks, and will often break the surface of the water in an attempt to escape from a perceived predator. As a result, be prepared to either cover your tank (a nice window screen netting works best) or to dispose of crispy, dried out firefish.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

colorful small fish - caution, it's a jumper featured

Comments The peaceful firefish goby is colorful: yellow on its head, a white body, and pink to orange to black in the posterior and tail regions. It has an unusual dorsal fin flicking behavior. It floats with the tail slightly drooped as if the fish were wearing oversized brightly colored bottoms that weight it down. In short, this little (about 3") fish has an usual way about it and colorfully swims about your tank. It requires lots of places to hide and may jump out if not prevented. Although it requires a 30 gallon tank, it also swims about in large portions of a tank as big as 150 gallons. It will live with other peaceful fish or even a semi-aggressive pink and blue spotted goby or a pygmy cherub angel. It likes a variety of carnivore food: marine flakes, thawed mysis shrimp, thawed brine shrimp, and zooplankton.


Liked about it The colorful firefish goby has a quirky charm in its appearance and movement. It is peaceful, easy to keep, and reef safe. It easily feds upon a variety of carnivore foods.


Didn't like A jumper, the fish must be prevented from getting out of the tank. It only explores the tank if there are many hiding places nearby in a variety of locations. One by itself is peaceful; a mated pair is fine. However, the firefish goby is aggressive toward its own kind.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 10, 2010
 
Last updated: March 14, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great small reef fish featured

Comments Firefish Gobies are nicely colored, fun to watch, and have great personalities. Also, their top fin sort of "twitches" when they move and swim around, which I personally think is quite entertaining! They are easy to feed and maintain, and are also very hardy.


Liked about it Eats just about anything I can put in my tank, as far as fish foods go. Never has nipped at anything or tried to do any harm to inverts/corals/fish in any way. On the contrary, they are easily bullied by aggressive fishes, I think. Fun to watch as they swim around the tank. This fish offers lots to like.


Didn't like Firefish are best kept singly or in mated pairs. If you have two males or two females, one will likely kill the other. In addition, they are difficult to sex. I don't know of any easy way to tell if a particular firefish is male or female. So, if you want the best chance of getting a pair of them to survive, you should put three of them in your tank, and most likely you will get at least one male and female. The downside to this, of course, is that the male and female may then kill the third one. So, it's best (and by far the most humane thing) to only buy them in an established male/female pair or to just buy one. Trying to keep them in groups is just inviting failure.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Jan 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great fish, but shy

Comments We named ours "Shy Ronnie" because he darts to his rock hole whenever there is sudden movement around him. Outside of being overly cautious he's fantastic. They are peaceful and are fine with most fish. Don't buy this fish if you have any known bullies as you'll never see it again. Great colors and he adds some variety with his mid level hanging and his movements are more like little "ticks" of quick movements with his dorsal fin popping as he darts about. He eats everything from froze, to flake, to pellet so he's easy to care for and very hardy.


Liked about it 1. Attractive.
2. Peaceful.
3. Hardy.
4. Adds some variety.


Didn't like 1. Hides easily.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jreece11
Jun 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A Great Beginner Fish

Comments Picked up this guy from my LFS as a hardy and cheap starter fish. So far I am quite happy with the buy. He stays out in the front of the tank almost all day long just swimming in my powerhead currents. He will just remain stationary and feed on anything that comes his way. This fish has a great color scheme with a striped red tail fin and an electric green dorsal. Mine has some blue dots above his eye also. In some reviews they say that theirs is quite shy, but mine couldnt be more active. My overly excited cat can't even scare him! I have a kole tang in my tank as well and they don't really bother each other. If they do get in each others way, the firefish yields.


Liked about it Great Color
Low Price
Always active
Very Peaceful, I don't reccomend housing with agressive species


Didn't like Personality is a little lacking.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A colorful Dart in your reef tank.

Comments These little guys are just awesome. Very reef save and small enough to keep in just about any sized tank.

Very Friendly, not aggressive or territorial at at. Althhough they are not know to be a schooling fish they do look great keeping 3-5 of them in the same tank. Great colors and a very unique dorsal. When threatened they will raise their dorsal straight up in defense. They are very fast fish and known to be jumpers. Personally I have lost a few from jumping. Still none the less a great addition to any tank especially a nano.


Liked about it This is a very colorful fish with a bright red body with some iridescent white. They have a unique dorsal that when threatened they will raise to look much more aggressive. They are very reef save and will kinds school up if you add more than one. It's is fun to watch them dart around the tank.


Didn't like They are jumper and if you do not have a lid or something to keep them in eventually you will loose them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Peaceful FireFish

Comments good beginner fish in a non-aggressive tank. This fish likes to hide in the ca1ve or substrate if necessary. A very friendly fish if kept with other like sized peaceful fish, shouldn't be with Damsels or Coral Beauties. Make sure there are plenty of hiding places for this little guy to hide. Try to get a pair of these to help keep the aggressors at bay and they will school as well.


Liked about it fun to watch, when happy his central spine lifts up and when upset that spine is down,
I also like the colors as well as his temperament to get along with almost any other fish. I have seen these in schools as well.


Didn't like easily targeted and eaten by more aggressive fish

may hide all the time, may starve self to death from fear.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aiaman
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

colorful addition

Comments magnificent little fish that's perfect for reef tanks. These fish have a white forebody and a "fiery" rearbody that is colored in a mix of red colors. These little fish have lots of personality and should be kept in a tank with lots of rockwork. The Firefish Goby likes lots of crevices, caves, and overhangs where they can "hang" in place.


Liked about it -color
-hardy
-attitude


Didn't like -will let other fish bully him around


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

great small reef fish

Comments This is a great addition to any reef aquarium. It is very easy to feed these guys as they take almost anything I ever feed mine. This is a very timid species that should be housed with other passive fishes. If housed with aggressive tankmates, it will hide and not feed. These guys are prone to leaping from an open aquarium.


Liked about it these are a few things I like about these fish
1.I like how their top fin "twitches" as they swim around
2.I like how they are so easy to feed
3.I like there vibrant colors that make any tank more colorful
4.I like how they stay small for the most part (they can grow to 8cm or 3.2 inches)


Didn't like I really don't have any complaints for these guys other than the fact that they have been known to jump out of open aquariums. This has happened to me on one occasion.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By 9erNation
Feb 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Unique looking fish

Comments This is a beautiful fish that adds a splash of color in any aquarium size(minimum size 10 gallon). They are peaceful fish that will get along with most other peaceful fish. Not a picky eater, not aggresive when feeding. It's fun to see them become more active, they are somewhat shy. Be careful when they sleep, because they sleep pretty heavy! Don't be mistaken for it to be dead, they sleep on the substrate. Plus they're pretty hardy.


Liked about it Very colorful
Reef Safe
Unique attitude
Eats anything!


Didn't like Jumper
Can be shy if kept with extremely active fish
They can be a bit boring, mine usually stays in the same spot of the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Dec 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great fish

Comments Has awsome colors and is a great fish with a great personality.


Liked about it Great colors, very peaceful fish, great personality.


Didn't like Easily scared.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A word of caution

General I was told I could have more than one if I had a large tank. Since I have a 150 and consider that a large tank I bought 3. I placed all 3 in at the same time from the same store. For the first week or so they stayed pretty close to each other but then split up. After another week or so they started fighting. I could have had 3 male I guess but I don't think the likelihood is high. They fought until only one was left. If I ever buy more of these fish and I might I would only buy 1.


Liked about it Very active Great color Easy to feed.


Didn't like Aggressive toward its own type


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great fish for a Peaceful tank!

General These are neat little fish they mind there own business and are not the least bit agressive. They can be housed in small groups but should not be house with any agressive fish as they will tend to be harassed. Make sure that you have a lid on the tank because if they get scared they will rocket out of the tank, this happened a few times and found the fish in the over flow once the next time he wasnt so fortunate.


Liked about it These are great fish fun to watch the dorsal fin pops up and down looks almost like a lighter.


Didn't like Be careful as they can be jumpers, need to be in a passive tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very stunning fish!

Comments I bought this fish just as an "Eh might aswell" fish. Might I say that this fish is just beautiful! It is not aggresive and can be kept in groups. Very entertaining fish.


Liked about it Flashy


Didn't like Very shy


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Coreyb
Jan 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Beautiful fish

Comments The firefish is an easy to take care of and beautiful addition to any peaceful fish tank. They are interesting to watch because the little fin on their back jumps up when every they swim. The color on them is very pretty. They are good eaters mine love brine shrimp and marine pellets. They are a good fish for a nano tank because of their smaller size.


Liked about it Beautiful coloring, hardy fish, cheap price.


Didn't like Sometimes can be shy and duck into caves when someone walks past the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

color

Comments easy to care for not picky about what they eat.


Liked about it the bright colors


Didn't like some are shy but not all.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fuzzybob4
Aug 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Cute fish

General A fun little fish, mine hid most of the time.


Liked about it Attractive fish, not picky about diet


Didn't like The one I had was very shy but some are very social.
Needs a closed lid, they are jumpers


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jenglish
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Fish

General I have had these in nano tanks and just love them, and i did have mine jump out of the tank.


Liked about it Has nice color
Doesn't always hide
Eats almost anything


Didn't like Jumps


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Sweet fish...

General My firefish is so cool. He is very social and doesn't hide at all. Seems very happy with my other fish. Likes all types of food. Very easy to care for.


Liked about it Very pretty...


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By reefer.madness
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

firefish

General My dart fish didn't come out for a week or so and is very timid, hell never rush for food but wait for the scraps that come his way. He looks amazing especially under actinics and is never a problem. He needs a lid or may try to swim out.


Liked about it Colour
reef friendly


Didn't like Bit of a wimp


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $15 to $20
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec338