Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (13)
 Add a review

Coral Beauty Angelfish

 
Pet Supplies:Aquarium & Fish:Tropical Fish:Marine Species


Scientific Name Centropyge bispinosa


Common Names Coral Beauty AngelfishTwospined Angelfish, Dusky Angelfish


Price: $25 to $25 at 1 stores
Searched Coral Beauty Angelfish in Reviews
 

 

Favorite fish in my tank! featured

Comments I have a 60 gallon setup with about 40lbs of live rock. I purchased one of these 2 weeks ago at my LFS for $22.99. For the first day or two, it was somewhat shy and stayed hidden in the rock. Once it felt more at home it ventured out little by little and within a week it became very active. It spends most of the day swimming around the live rock picking at the algae. It also leaves small "kiss" marks on the glass from picking at that algae as well. This fish is exactly as it's name states a real beauty. Very colorful and is always on display when I have guests checking out the tank. It is a real eye catcher. Many people have trouble getting them to eat at first, but mine took to pellets immediately and comes right to the top of the tank at feeding time. It is also very peaceful and does not bother any of my other fish. I do not have any corals yet so I cannot comment on any of the issues people have with them picking at the polyps. Overall a very colorful and active fish that adds some great character to my tank.


Liked about it - very colorful and beautiful
- cleans up algae from live rock
- peaceful toward other fish
- very inexpensive for a such a beautiful fish


Didn't like none to report


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By koz954rr
Jun 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good practice for a Beginner/Average Reefer featured

Comments The Coral Beauty (Centropyge bispinosus) belongs to the group know as pigmy or dwarf marine angelfish. These angels are often, though not always, available. Hardy, this is one of the most easily cared for dwarf angels available. As an angelfish, it needs plenty of room to move around as these fish often like to 'cruise' the tank looking for algae and other bits of food to eat.
Unlike the Flame Angelfish, the coral beauty is a little more out-going and can often be seen moving in and out of the rockwork. These fish are usually peaceful with their tank mates; however, they can sometimes be aggressive towards smaller tank mates, although the majority of the time no physical damage is seen. Unlike its relation with other fish, the Coral Beauty is known for nipping at certain soft corals and clam mantles. This can sometimes be halted by ensuring the Coral Beauty always has abundant sources of food.
Feeding this angel can sometimes be a bit of a pain. It is usually 50/50 on if this fish will eat readily or if it will need to be enticed to eat. Often they will accept flake and frozen foods readily and can be encouraged to eat algae sheets and other types of food. If there is trouble feeding this fish, often the use of mysis shrimp soaked in garlic will have them eating in no time.


Liked about it 1. Coloration is wonderful but not overpowering (like the Flame Angel)
2. Actively Swims throughout the tank
3. Can be inquisitive and will learn to recognize you
4. Will accept most any foods once eating


Didn't like 1. Can sometimes be hard to get the Coral Beauty to Eat
2. If not feed regularly, will nip at soft corals and clam mantles
3. Can annoy smaller fish though not physically
4. May disturb loose corals/smaller rocks


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By JeeperReefer
Oct 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A beautiful coral nipper. featured

Comments Not quite as flashy as it flam angle cousin but still a beautiful fish. As with all dwarf angles they can and usually will nip at corals it's just a matter of time. Kepping this and any other dwarf well feed is key in keeping it away from your corals. I feel this fish is best kept in a FOWLR. In a reef there will always be a risk of it nipping. That being said I do love the Coral Beauty, and have often considered setting up a FOWLR just so I can keep one. This fish did not seem to like the pellets I feed exclusively and may have been a factor in the coral nipping. prepared frozen foods seems to the a preference of this fish. If yo ugo with a Coral Beauty it will quickly become a favorite and a center piece of your tank.


Liked about it The Colors they are simply amazing but not as flashy and the flame angle.
This is a very docile fish and plays well with others.
As far as dwarfs go this is a fairly inexpensive one.


Didn't like It will nip at your corals. It's just a matter of time
Can be a bit of a picky eater, I had a hard tie getting them to eat pellets but they love mysis.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Glad I rolled the dice

Comments My coral beauty is beautiful---less orange in the middle and more velvet purple. I have had him only for a week now, but he is eating, coming out more and displaying basic behavior. He goes from live rock to live rock and searches for food. He is peaceful with the corals--in my 75 gallon tank, I have zoanthids, mushrooms, toadstool, bubble, frog span spaghetti, kenya tree, yellow polyps, pipe organ and a duncan. He does not seem interested in any of them--which was my biggest concern. He gets along as expected with the YELLOW tang, copperbanded, butterfly, clown and 6 line wrasse. He does seem to try to snip at a few of the turbo snails at their base, but they seem to be holding their own.


Liked about it Beautiful, peaceful, coral safe (in my situation) and swims around alot (over 100 pounds of live rock)


Didn't like He seems to want to snip at the snails here and there but no major issue as of yet


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By lordeze007
Mar 19, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Coral Beauty

Comments I have had this fish for about a year now and despite what others have told me, it has been a model citizen. It hasn't given my corals so much as a second glance, but it does like to pick on my snails; but I'm OK with that. In my opinion, this is the most reef safe dwarf angel out there and would recommend it for any reef.


Liked about it 1. Good color
2. Active
3. Reef-safe
4. Doesn't need a large tank; mine is in a 40gb


Didn't like 1. Occasionally nips at snails
2. Easily spooked; it took awhile for to get used to me and come out and stay out
3. Nothing else


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Oct 17, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Their name suits them well

Comments These fish are true beauties nut be careful when picking out your fish. When picking a coral beauty be sure it has no signs of stress like white spots. I would reccomend quarentining them for around two weeks to be sure they have no parasites. My local fish store reports with this fish they have the highest mortality. Coral beauties need algea in their diet like many other angels do. They will accept pellets and flake food but algea needs to be a big part of their menu. I would reccomend at least a 29 gallon tank for these fish with plenty of live rock and swimming room. They will also nip at corals, so I think they are best suited for a FOWLR tank.


Liked about it Color & personality


Didn't like Very susceptible to parisites, will nip corals, special diet.


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A graceful swimmer not for the Reef tank in most cases.

Comments As with any fish there are always the odd balls that don't match the normal profile. I kept a Flame angle in my 55 FOWLR tank several years back. This fish was easy to acclimate and forgiving during an improper acclimation. After finding a home in the tank this fish was observed cruising all the time and showing it's beautiful colors.

Eating: I had no problem with this fish taking both flake (which I feed at the time) and Brine shrimp plus. mine was an aggressive feeder and darted right for the food.

Tank demeanor: this fish was peaceful toward the other ten fish in the tank and was very easy going I don't recall seeing it attacking any other fish in the tank ever.


Liked about it Easy acclimation, good eaters, and peaceful toward tank mates, Great color during good water quality and color would diminish during poor water quality. always out in the open swimming about.


Didn't like nothing, as mine was in a fish only tank. I would not want one to nip at my corals and won't take the chance in a reef tank.

I guess that is one thing that I don;t like is that it is not reef safe.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fchidsey
May 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

beautiful and easy to care for dwarf

Comments Coral beauty dwarf angels are good additions for fish only tanks, especially those over about 30 gallons. This fish gets to about 4", and they're generally peaceful towards other non-like fish (in other words, don't try to stick it in a tank with other angels, especially other dwarf angels). Many folks do try to keep these in reef settings, but I've always had trouble with them nipping at clams and corals.


Liked about it This is one of the cheaper of the dwarf angels, and they're readily available in the hobby. They're pretty easy to acclimate to captivity, but do yourself a favor and make sure you research it's dietary needs prior to attempting one. Early in my marine aquaria career, I got one of these and didnt provide it with natural foods upon first introducing it to the tank. It probably would have done fine if I had given it primarily meaty and spongy foods, but I didnt know better and it didnt fare well.


Didn't like It's frequent that people try to add these in with reefs, but the bottom line is that there's no guarantee it will leave your coral or clams alone. I've never had 100% success with dwarf angels, and the coral beauty is included in that list. I'd much sooner recommend another fish if you're keeping a reef. Also, they arent going to tolerate other angels in almost all cases, so I wouldnt have high hopes of cohabitation if you're going after that combination.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Lives up to its name!

Comments The Coral Beauty is yet another gorgeous pygmy angelfish with splendid coloration. Some are more attractive than others so make sure that you find the one that you are looking for. They can be a very attractive centerpiece to smaller aquariums. Among angelfish the Coral Beauty is one of the easiest to take care of. Make sure that you have a decent amount of live rock because as with most angels the Coral Beauty is a grazer and needs enough live rock to provide it with algae and other food substances. They should be kept in aquariums of around 29 gallons and up. Make sure that you provide this fish with spirulina (marine algae) mixed foods as they are dependent on the vegetable matter. As an angelfish these fish can be prone to nip at corals. I have always held to the philosophy that if they are fed enough then they will not touch corals and have found this to be true. I have never had a Coral Beauty nip at corals, but they were fed 2-3 times a day. Always be wary when adding them to a reef tank. Make sure to select the healthiest specimen available at the LFS to ensure success with this fish.


Liked about it 1. Beautiful fish
2. Can be a great centerpiece
3. Accepts most types of food
4. Very active
5. One of the cheapest angelfish available
6. Will graze on the live rock and eat some types of algae


Didn't like 1. Can be territorial and aggressive at times
2. Can't have other dwarf angels in the same tank unless it is a large tank
3. Possible coral nipper
4. May hide often until they are accustomed to the tank


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Guchte22
May 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beautiful, but not reef safe

Comments We bought this fish knowing that we needed to use caution when adding it to a reef tank, but since we feed every night, we didn't think it would have any need to snack on our corals. We added a small colony of acropora and over night the Coral Beauty had eaten over half of it and we think he nipped at our birdsnest too. We moved him to a smaller tank with just softies and didn't have a problem. He was never aggressive to other fish and was buddies with our Foxface. Since we decided to move our softies to a smaller tank, we had to get rid of him, unfortunately. He was a beautiful fish and very easy to take care of. He ate everything offered; frozen, pellets, and sheet algae. He was not a shy fish and was always out to be seen and got along great with all our other fish.


Liked about it We bought him because we loved his colors! A very beautiful fish to have! Not aggressive at all and a good eater; ate right out of our hand. Very friendly and active.


Didn't like NOT REEF SAFE! It ate our acropora and picked at our birdsnest.
I've heard it depends on the individual fish, but we won't be trying another one unless we have a FOWLR tank!


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beautiful, easy, peaceful

Comments These are great angels for reef or really any salt water aquarium. They get along with all the fish and can stand up to tank bullies, yet they don't bully others. I notice mine picking around the live rock, but have never witnessed it eating corals, inveribrates, or other living inhabitants.


Liked about it Colorful, peaceful, great eater


Didn't like Nothing that I can really think of. I supposed they tend to hide more than swim out in the open. They prefer the crevices in the liverock. But they swim in and out so you see them regularly. They also come out during feeding times.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Diving The World
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice fish

General These angels are relitively easy to care for. Make sure to check the eyes of the fish and do not purchase if it looks even remotely couldly. I have seen many in the LFS that develop pop eye so its something to look for. However if they eyes are clear and the fish is eating you shouldnt run into to many problems. He will also want to be one of the last fish that you add as they can be territorial once they are established.


Liked about it Inexpensive, will eat some forms of alage.


Didn't like Not the best looking of the dwarf angeles, can become territorial.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By quick_murdoc
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Coral Beauty review

General The Coral Beauty is a great fish with alot of personality. I house 1 in a 55g reef tank with soft corals and inverts. Mine exhibits no agressive behavior at all, he is more curios in natural than any thing. He tends to play with my emerald crab by swimming near him. Great fish mine its forumal 2 Ocean Nutrient pellets and frozen mysis shrimp.


Liked about it Highly attractive...Looks great under actnics...1 of the least expensive angel fish, utilty fish due to it will graze on live rock, and glass for algea


Didn't like no Complaints would recommend to anyone


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
May 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $25 to $25
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec325