Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.6 (12)
 Add a review

Clown Goby

 
These tiny gobies may differ in coloration between individual specimens. Most are brilliant yellow in color, though some may be more pastel in coloration. The Clown Goby spends time in coral heads, alive or ornamental,...


Scientific Name Gobiodon okinawae


Common Names Yellow Clown Goby, Yellow Coral Goby. Citrin Goby, Okinawa Goby


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Clown Goby in Reviews
 

 

Do you want a yellow clown goby? How about three! featured

Comments This is one of my all time favorite fish. First, a point of clarification, this is not the same fish as the citron goby, they look similar to each other, but the citron gets larger and has slightly different markings. I have seen citrons labeled as yellow clowns so just keep an eye out. This fish is so small that you can keep several of them without really adding to your bio-load.

They aren't picky eaters, get along well with other types of fish and have great behavior to watch. When keeping more than one just be sure they have enough space because they are territorial. I have three in my 50 gallon tank and they evenly space themselves about a foot apart, but they don't need that much room, three could be easily kept in a 10 gallon tank with only minor squabbling. If you have too many in too small an area one may jump out to avoid the picking of the others.

They have no problem competing with larger fish for food either.

I could have a tank with no other fish but these little guys, they are that much fun.


Liked about it 1. Small size
2. Nice bright yellow color
3. Interesting goby behavior


Didn't like 1. Territorial disputes in too small of tank space may result in one jumping out of tank if not covered.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Hard to feed

Comments It is not aggressive at all. They are only territorial with other clown gobies. They aren't fast growers. It isn't that active. It perches on my corals all day, and switches perches every once in a while. They are very hard to get to eat. Even when they eat, they don't eat much. They need to be fed multiple times a day with nutritious food since they don't eat much during each feeding. Many stores advertise as easy to keep. They aren't. Only buy fat ones that are eating voraciously. Mine, unfortunately, starved after 4 months.


Liked about it They are very colorful and fun to watch. Mine added a whole different dimension to my tank by perching inside my leathers. He was always my guests' favorite fish due to his tiny stature.


Didn't like They are very hard to get eating. Mine ate, but only very tiny amounts each day. He starved after about 4 months.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By wii64brawl
Mar 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

that little yellow spot on the rock

Comments my little goby is a sight to see in the tank. ive got him im my 40gal with a bicolor blenny, two perculas, and a boxer shrimp and they all seem to get on very well. all of them peaceful little creatures. the goby cruises around the tank and neither the gramma nor the shrimp nor the blenny meddle with him. when i first put the goby, the bicolor blenny tried to examine the little yellow guy but on the same day it calmed down. now the goby feels at home in the tank. its definitely a fish to have in your tank. the goby prefers to hide in the rock. maybe the only disadvantage of such a small fish is its size, it could make perfect bait for bigger fishes like tangs or angels.


Liked about it -size (love it but it can be easily eaten)
-strong color
-attitude


Didn't like -not as hardy as i would think
-size (as said before he could be a meal for anyone)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Jun 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

nice small fish if you don't have SPS corals

Comments This is a pretty fish that stays really small. At under 2" as an adult, it will make a great addition to any tank, and does well in tanks under even 20 gallons. They are relatively inexpensive and can be found easily.


Liked about it The greatest aspect of this fish is its size, as it's uncommon to find such small fish. For nano tanks, this fish makes a great addition. They're peaceful, should do well with most soft corals, and don't add much in terms of bioload to the tank. I've had one of these in the past and it was a great addition to a small tank I kept.


Didn't like Clown gobies may nip at small polyped corals, so if you're hoping to keep it in an SPS tank you may be disappointed. Otherwise, these are good fish.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Wonderful reef safe fish!

Comments You can't go wrong with this timid, beautiful fish. Very easy to care for and hardy. Great for smaller systems as they are peaceful and grow no larger than 1-1.5". They will eat just about anything, though best to offer frozen or brine shrimp during acclimation to stimulate feeding. With mine it was a little too shy at first to feed with the other fish. For a week I had to target feed him until he grew more bold. Safe in smaller systems, though avoid pairs as they will attack each other in small quarters.


Liked about it Beautiful fish with a great personality. Likes to perch on LR and corals and polyps which adds diversity in your tank. Small fish, small bio load.


Didn't like This fish can be shy at first. IME, you may have trouble getting him to feed especially if you have bullies or bold fish in the system.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By drew1092
Oct 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful fish but I would pass if I had to do it

Comments Getting them to eat was my biggest problem. In fact it never ate anything I offered it. This is probably one of the least aggressive fish I have ever seen. This fish is not very active at all. He would perch on the rock with my mushrooms and scout the tank all day. Mine was in a 12g aquapod and the size of the fish is pretty small so I think it would make a excellent nano tank dweller.


Liked about it -Gorgeous fish, vibrant yellow
-I liked the fact that it was not aggressive at all
-Fun to watch when it would hide behind stuff, swim backwards and shoot from rock to rock


Didn't like -Feeding, maybe it was just mine but I have heard and read many people say they can be a pain when it comes to feeding


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

very hard to feed

Comments hides a lot


Liked about it cool personality, small


Didn't like very hard to feed, hides a lot, can only eat very small foods, only likes live foods, only eats a very small amount in 1 feeding, must be fed several times a day


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By peasofme
Oct 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good for smaller tanks, but may nip at polyps

Comments This is a low-maintenance fish that is fun to watch. Beware that it's a small fish and spends lots of time perching on rocks/corals/etc. So, it's best for small tanks where it will not easily be lost. It's important to note that clown gobies sometimes nip at polyps--I had a friend who had to get rid of a yellow clown goby because it was eating sps polyps in his tank.


Liked about it Fun to watch.
Easy to care for.
Great beginner fish for smaller tanks.


Didn't like Easily lost in larger tanks.
May nip at polyps.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By schneijt
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

clown goby

General In a soft or fish only a great fish. If you have a mixed or sps reef I would think twice about it.


Liked about it This fish does have a nice yellow color. It does perch alot which is normally in a place you can see.


Didn't like They seem to like to perch in acros which i didnt ever see it hurt them just kept them from showing the polyps.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By slant77
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good nano fish

General Good little fish it will just sit on a rock and watch everything


Liked about it Was small and good size for nano tanks


Didn't like Though it had a lot of color it wasn't active to much


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By zero186
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Clown Goby

General I keep 2 of these in my qt tank to keep the cycle up and running. And then there is something to always look at in the qt tank. Great little fish.


Liked about it Very active fish and very fun to watch.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

cute

General I loved this fish when I had him. He was always out in front and sitting on rocks. He was just so cute. He was however a little small.


Liked about it The way it looked and the color


Didn't like the size


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By winnker
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec338