Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
2.2 (13)
 Add a review

Blue Devil Damselfish

 
Blue Devil Damsels have bright electric blue bodies with one small black dot at the rear of their dorsal fin. They are hardy fish that are good for beginners or for cycling a new tank. Blue Devils will live peacefully...


Scientific Name Chrysiptera cyanea


Common Names Blue Damselfish, Blue Devil Damsel, Electric Blue Damselfis, Sapphire devil


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Blue Devil Damselfish in Reviews
 

 

Devil? Not really...but quite aggressive nonetheless featured

Comments This isn't the worst fish in the whole world, but it is certainly one of my least favorite. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to keep a community tank. This fish is fine by itself but as it ages it seems to get more and more territorial.

You will read that this fish can be kept in a 30 gallon tank, and it can, alone. Actually, alone I would say a 20 gallon would be find for this fish. But if you want to keep it with other fish you really need to put it in a larger tank. The larger the tank, the better chance you will have keeping it without bothering other fish. Any fish that is territorial, like these are, just needs room to be happy. Give them that and you won't have any problems. That's why I say this isn't' the worst fish in the world because in the right tank you could keep it happily.

This damsel is super hardy and easy to keep in terms of it eats whatever you give it and it can survive pretty poor water conditions without seeming to even notice.

Just my personal opinion, but I don't feel it has a very nice blue color, nor do I like the body shape. It's a fish I don't ever plan on buying again.


Liked about it 1. Very affordable.
2. Very hardy.
3. Eats just about any food.


Didn't like 1. Aggressive.
2. Not the most attractive fish to me.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Sep 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Unfounded bad rap

Comments I got three of these guys (juveniles about 2 "), then found all the derogatory feedback about them, and thought ****. I had them in the quarantine with a powder brown tang and a flameback angel initially, the damsels never bugged either, not even once (maybe chased each other around a bit). About a week later I put them all in my display tank, with alot of other fish, the blue devils seemed almost docile. I have a sm. niger trigger & osc. clown that chased them. The blue devils lasted a week, one night were all gone; killed. I found one up by the heater beat to shit and missing an eyeball (euthanized him). One thing is for sure, there are alot of really stupid people posting on these forums, (probably lonely geeks, running assumptions like 'I heard', or 'my friend said these guys are bad news'. Likely you've no experience with these fish what so ever, you should just shut it (rather than give inaccurate information)! I can see with maybe one, it might be hard to see their real disposition or to make an accurate asses on their behavior and temperament, but with three being model tank mates, c'mon dummies. These fish have an unfounded bad rap, don't believe the crap you hear about them.


Liked about it - Nice blue colors (but fade over time)
- Docile w/ other fish
- N/A


Didn't like - Misjudged
- Can get up to 6"
- Colors will eventually become drab


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Niglin
Aug 03, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

such an angry fish

Comments This is a very common fish that I'd bet most everyone has had at one point. They're incredible cheap and stay rather small. Only problem, they're terrible tank mates for most every fish, especially if you're hoping for a small peaceful marine tank. While they get to only about 2 inches, they are incredibly territorial and aggressive and don't do well in many applications.


Liked about it They do have a nice color, they're incredibly easy to acclimate to captivity, and they are pretty active in the tank. And they're cheap, especially when considering most fish in the hobby. At around five dollars, these are an attractive solution to the otherwise uninitiated.


Didn't like I don't like their behavior. These fish are simply not going to tolerate other fish that are like it or even that are about their size. If you have a tank full of aggressive large fish, these damsels will hold their own, but otherwise you're better off just passing them up. And if you think you're just going to keep them in your system for a little while, think again. They're very challenging to catch, so expect to tear your entire system apart to get to them.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

They call them blue devils for a reason!

Comments As with most all Damsel fish the blue devil is just as aggressive. They are very easy to keep and extremely hardy. sadly for this reason and the fact that they are very inexpensive many people use them to live cycle their tanks. That is just cruel to the fish. Aside from the aggression these are great little fish perfect for any tank from a Nano to a very large system. Be warned that due to their aggressive nature many people decide they they want to get rid of them after a few months which is near impossible without removing all the live rock in the tank. They are small and prefer hiding in the rock work.


Liked about it Price, They are extremely cheap and affordable.
Care, they are easy to keep and nearly bullet proof.
Color, all of the damsel fish are extremely bright and colorful.


Didn't like Aggression, they fish are very aggressive and are always picking fights even with fish much bigger than them.
They are also near impossible to remove from your tank if you so choose.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Little Bully...

Comments This is a colorful little fish that I put in my tank during the cycle. Very hardy, but mine came with an attitude. Now after 5 months he is still about the same size in a 125 gallon and he nips at my hand when I get close to his little corner of the tank to clean. He stays mostly in the rocks since most of the other fish are larger than him.


Liked about it Brings some color to the tank, he's very very hardy and will eat about anything you throw into the tank.


Didn't like This is the only fish I have that will nip at my hand when cleaning the tank. Does not hurt but gets annoying while trying to clean.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By deanp88
Mar 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Little Devil

Comments These fish are quite beautiful and very hardy but they also pack a nasty temperament.


Liked about it Very Hardy
Beautiful color


Didn't like Nasty temperament


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By scubasteve3610
Jan 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

This guy keeps of radar

Comments this is a good looking fish, nice blue color, easy to care for, eats anything I feed it.


Liked about it Gets along with everyone, stays to himself most of the time. non-aggressive to anything in my tank.


Didn't like I got lucky with this one, nothing bad to say about it.

but I would not get another one, for fear it may be aggressive


Overall rating:
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.5

By Nate_Bro
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Agressive fish

Comments These fish have a beautiful glowy blue color. But dont be fooled by their pretty looks and cheap price. As they grow and get older they turn quite agressive towards other fish. Mine also nips at corals even though they say they are reef safe. They are very hardy and will except many different foods. Overall I think these fish are best left in the ocean unless housing them with other agressive fish.


Liked about it Color, hardyness.


Didn't like Aggressive, will loose color with age


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A splash of color

Comments If you have a well developed tank with large fish, than these damsels should be a nice addition because they will hide in the rocks and crevasses that are not occupied.


Liked about it Nice color!


Didn't like Can pick on fish close to it's own size.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By hawaii4485
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful but Mean

General DO NOT BUY THESE TO CYCLE A TANK WITH!!! If you want a small beautiful fish with a very bad attitude this is the one for you. Just remember once you put one into a tank it is a lot of work to get one out.


Liked about it It is beautiful blue. It could survive nearly anything. It makes a great starter fish


Didn't like .It is as mean as the day is long. I have had one nip at triggers and lions. A damsel is really not going to tolerate many other fish.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jenglish
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Blue devil damsel

General These are perfectly named. They are little devils. They have little mans syndrome. And they just aren't nice.


Liked about it A very cheap and hardy fish


Didn't like Very agressive


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

the devil

General Would get unless you want a bully


Liked about it It acts as a good starter fish


Didn't like The name says it all very controlling in the tank


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By clowninaround
Jun 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The Name Says it All

General I started the cycle of my tank with this fish when I first started. I quickly learned why they named this the blue devil. This fish has attitude like you wouldnt belive. They terrorize anything in the same size class and almost imposible to catpure as they are lighnighting fast. Make sure you want to keep this fish otherwise DO NOT PUT HIM IN.


Liked about it Easy to take care of.


Didn't like Personality to match the name


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By quick_murdoc
May 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec332