Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
5.0 (13)
 Add a review

Black and White Clownfish

 
The Saddleback Clown is named so for the saddle-shaped white marking that extends from the rear dorsal downward. They often exhibit color variations from light brown to jet black. They have a wide white band behind...


Scientific Name Amphiprion ocellaris


Common Names Black and White Ocellaris Clownfish, Black Perc, Black Percula Clown Anemonefish


Price: $27 to $54 at 2 stores
Searched Black and White Clownfish in Reviews
 

 

A wonderful color-morph of my favorite clownfish featured

Comments This is a black color-morph of Amphiprion ocellaris, commonly known as the False Percula or simply as ocellaris clownfish. Several other stable color-lines have been bread are available to the aquarist. I like the black, because it is a stark contrast to most anemone they would host with and makes them stand out more, however, care of this fish is the same as with any other A. ocellaris, don't let the colors or fancy names you might come across fool you, they are the SAME FISH but sometimes they just cost MORE MONEY.

They've been known to live for over a decade in captivity with one pair I read about claiming to be over 20 years old! This longevity is a sign of their adaptability and hardiness.

I would recommend this fish for a beginner because I got mine when I was a marine beginner, my pair, which I still have, were my very first two saltwater fish!

My title mentions that they aren't "too" of anything, which means they aren't too big, too hard to keep, too aggressive, too plain, too picky...you get the idea.

I bought mine as juveniles, they had paired up in the local fish shop already, even though they were in a tank of several clownfish, these two swam together and stayed with each other. I made sure to get them both because of that. When juveniles both clowns are male, once will become female later on, the one that is dominate. She will then grow larger than the male and she tends to be the protector.

My fish have hosted with a Sebae anemone (Heteractis crispa) and are very at home there. They keep the anemone free of debris. The only aggression they show at all is if some other fish gets too close to the anemone, then the female moves toward and swims out a few inches from the protection of the anemone. I've never had them get any more aggressive than that, even with very small fish like my clown gobies.

An anemone is not necessary for keeping these fish in terms of health. I have found that they will host with a coral (especially Xenia) if there is no anemone. However, if there is nothing at all to host with, I have found they are more shy and their behavior is a bit different. I do recommend a Xenia-like coral for them if you aren't able to keep an anemone. I don't recommend keeping an anemone unless your tank is at least a year old, so the coral idea works for many people.

They eat whatever you feed them including food that floats on the surface of the water. I feed mine Formula 2 for the most part but feed them Elos pellets and meaty foods once a week each to provide them with a balanced diet. As they are omnivores you will want to make sure they get both algae and protein to eat. This will help keep them healthy and bring out the brightness of their colors.

A 30 gallon tank is plenty big for a pair. This is one of the smaller clownfish, only 3 - 3.5" for the female and usually only 2" for the male.

A. ocellaris comes in several color-morphs such as black and naked, and many mis-bars all having stable breeding lines by companies such as ORA. You can end up with some very unique fish but the same species.


Liked about it 1. Hardy.
2. Not too large.
3. Eats readily.
4. Very attractive.
5. Will breed in captivity (young take special care to keep alive though).
6. Readily hosts with a few anemone types or corals that are similar.
7. Not aggressive.


Didn't like 1. Young require special care to raise in captivity which the average aquarist won't have set up so if it lays eggs in the tank, they will not make it. Coming up with something I didn't like on this one was a stretch!
2. While the black color is nice, I think it hides some of the better lines on the fish. I like the typical wild coloration best but a black pair is quite impressive.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Wonderful color morph clown

Comments Black and white ocellaris clowns are simply a color morph of the regular orange false percula clownfish. These fish are very attractive and display the same clown like personality of other clowns. They are very interesting to watch when they form a pair because they will always stay by their mate and renforce their bond. They will except many different types of food from frozen and live mysis and brine shrimp to flake and pellet food. They are quite the eater and will be the first fish begging for food as you walk past the tank. I see these clowns grow pretty quick if given a lot of room to swim. They are pretty peaceful and will only get terriorial when other fish get near their rock.


Liked about it Color, hardiness, personality.


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

saddlebacks

Comments I am enjoying my new clown pair, The female is absolutley the boss and eats first while the little guy takes the left overs. They mostly stay near my carpet and don't often venture far from it. They come right to my hand when I am feeding. The female is comical when she chases the male away so she may feed first.

I feed silver sides to the carpet host and it is awesome watching the fish all curled up in the carpet after feeding it.


Liked about it I cant take my eyes off them! I love the way the female will burrow in the carpet as far as she can and pop her head up.
They are a joy to watch!


Didn't like I love everything about these fish, just wish I would have put them in a bigger tank. They seem very happy so far.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By miamigirl22
Jun 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Our favorite fish so far!

Comments Very easy fish to keep. Instantly hosted to our anemone when the nem was added. Not aggressive unless the other fish get too close the the anemone. Our's has almost doubled in size in about 3 months and is very active. Ours eats anything offered both frozen and pellets and even feeds his anemone too.


Liked about it We LOVE the coloration of the fish. Love that within minuets of us adding an anemone, he came out of hiding and hosted. I don't think he has been across the tank since he's hosted. He is very happy staying with the anemone and only ventures halfway across the tank to get food.


Didn't like The only bad thing was that before we got an anemone, the fish hid. We thought it had died and were really upset because he was the first fish we got as a baby. Other than his hiding the first few weeks, we have had no complaints about this fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Lives up to its name...

Comments This little fish is probably my favorite of all my 12-14 fish. It is truely comical to watch him as he is in and out of his anenome and keeping an eye on who is getting close to his home. I have seen him chase a damsel all the way across the 125 gallon tank for getting to close to his nem. When the anenome is fed silversides, he is always there to try and get himself a little snack.


Liked about it A comical fish that you may loose track of time while watching. Takes to his anenome rather quickly and protects it. He is a very hardy eater and will go for about anything you put into the tank.


Didn't like Not much in the area of dislike. Possibly that he is a little agressive towards intruders near his anemone but not to the point where it is a problem.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Cutest little thing!

Comments Very easy to keep.
Feed it.
Watch it.
Enjoy it! (:


Liked about it The little bouncing motion it made while it swam.
The green/yellow nose and fins!
Very active.


Didn't like It JUMPS!
Gets fairly large.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Better than the "norm"

Comments It is a very easy fish to keep. I love the fact that anyone that comes overs to the house says that they have never seen a clown that color.
It is non aggressive unless someone messes thier carpet.
Strongly recomend that you get a anenome with it/them. My clowns immeadiatly took host and never go far from the anenome.


Liked about it Color
Playfulness
Easy to keep


Didn't like The female sleeps in the anenome's mouth. (could turn out bad)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By arkinsey
Mar 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Just AWESOME!

Comments These little guys are so fun to watch and have so much personality! They seem "happier" when kept as pairs.


Liked about it TONS of character
They have great colors


Didn't like Their faces turn a lil orange when they get big


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Black and white clown

Comments My black and white clown fish is my favorite fish in my 200g over all of my tangs and other fish bc it sticks out the most he has never given me any trouble or fought with any fish he eats good and sometimes will eat out of your hand....i would get an anemone if you get a clown because mine seems happier now that i got a rose anemone


Liked about it 1.its colors stand out
2.eats good
3.friendly to other fish even new clowns


Didn't like 1.he stays in his anemone a lot(but that normal)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By collin
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Fish!!

Comments Really easy to care for not really aggressive but will stand its ground always on the move has its area but will often wonder from the area to explore other parts of the tank the 2 I had would eat any and everything I fed them


Liked about it I liked everything about them. When I first bought them(a mated pare) I was a little hesitant because they were black and I tend to like bright colored fish. I loved them and will never look at black fish the same.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By partobe
Jul 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great hardy fish

General I have a pair of these guys and they are the most beautiful fish to see swimming together. They are a mated pair and just great. They will however bite and be aggressive if you are in their territory. Mine have a spot on the one side that they sleep in and if you get close they will bite you. I have also seen them be aggressive towards my other fish.


Liked about it I just love everything about them.


Didn't like They can be aggressive and teritorial


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By winnker
Jun 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My second favorite fish

General The Black and White Clown is second only to an Orange and White Clown fish in my opinion. I have one of each and they are my favorites.


Liked about it Great personality


Didn't like I can't say anything bad


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

AMAZING FISH

General I have a pair of misbared B&W clowns and i love them. they have such a great personality there always playing and they love when i come up to the tank to watch them. Also don't worry about the brown color in the pictures you see when they get older they will become this brilliant Jet black with these glowing white stripes.



Liked about it absolutely beautiful!!


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $54
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec331