Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (11)
 Add a review

Bicolor Blenny

 
The Bicolor Blenny has highly variable coloration, and may not have the typical appearance at the time of purchase. The front half of the Bicolor Blenny is typically dark purple-grey, and the rear is orange-yellow....


Scientific Name Ecsenius bicolor


Common Names Bicolor Blenny, Two Colored Blenny


Price: $14 to $14 at 1 stores
Searched Bicolor Blenny in Reviews
 

 

If Dr. Seuss made a fish... featured

Comments 1 fish 2 fish red fish blue fish...seriously, I love this fish because it looks like something from a Dr. Seuss book! When I first switched over from freshwater tanks to marine my wife and I were looking at fish and what would become our Blinny was hiding in a hole in the rock with just it's head sticking out looking all around like a prairie dog, it was love at first site.

I went home, did my research and based on what I read got the fish. What I read was that it was a peaceful, easy to care for, small fish. After years of keeping it, I can add to the research that this is totally correct. I've never had one issue with this fish and it even shares a tank with a bottom dwelling goby which I would expect it to fight for territory with, but it doesn't even though they look similar and share the same zone, no issues.

It eats mostly Formula 2 but seems to really love mysis shrimp when I put them in the tank for the candy cane corals. It does like other meaty foods, but the mysis just seem to be its favorite by far.

This fish does spook easy and runs for the rocks at the passing of shadows, but unlike goby it's never tried to jump out of the tank. I don't know if that is something they do generally, but I do know that mine has not done so.

It seems most active in the morning and evening time and sleeps all night.

I would say this is a good beginner fish and also a good fish for smaller tanks. I kept mine in a 29 Gallon BioCube for years. He's now in my 50 gallon.


Liked about it 1. Adorable!
2. Peaceful.
3. Hardy.
4. Not a picky eater.


Didn't like 1. Spooks easy so if it's not feeding time you may have to wait for a peek.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 24, 2010
 
Last updated: October 05, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Fun to watch

Comments The care of the bi-color blenny is easy. Mine eats meat and picks film algae off the glass and rock. I would consider it an active fish and fun to watch. They like to perch and hide in holes of rock. He was a bit timid upon introduction, but has since broke out of his shell and accepted his new home.


Liked about it I find myself observing my blenny quite often. I will see his little head peaking out of his bolt hole, than all of the sudden he will swim to rest on my Monti cap. A minute or so later he will graze on some film algae. He swims around the tank for most part of the day looking for places to perch and algae to graze on.


Didn't like I think it is an excellent fish to add some personality to any tank. I know that is not a bad thing, but I have only good things to say about this fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dirtycontour
Nov 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Cute personality when not hiding

Comments Blennys are easy to care for. Not aggressive. As small as a 10 gallon tank should be fine. Mine was very timid and hid in the rock all the time - it shared a tank with 2 clowns. Mine wasn't interested in flake food, and tended to feed on algae.


Liked about it My blenny would feed my clownfish. If flakes fell to the bottom of the floor before she got them, the blenny would take the flake in his mouth and spit it out in my girl clown's face. Hilarious to watch :) Cute personality.


Didn't like It hid in my rock most of the time. It was a very timid fish.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Ems0000
Jul 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

great reef safe fish, one of my favorites

Comments This is a great fish with amazing personality that will do well in most reef tanks. I've had one of these for years, and it's always been very peaceful towards other fish in the tank (though my springer's dottyback didn't necessarily care for him). They stay small and take to captivity well. I would find this guy perched in various spots throughout the tank, taking towards following me around from time to time. The one I had actually lost it's color in the tail, turning from a bicolor to a straight purple over the first few months that we had it.


Liked about it This is a small fish that does well in a reef tank. It will not pester invertebrates (be they corals or otherwise), and generally they tolerate other fish very well (with the possible exception of conspecific fish). It stays small, under 4 inches in my experience. They will take to a captive diet very readily, I've never even read a report of one of these fish struggling to eat after being introduced into a peaceful tank. They're cheap and readily available, I see them often at the LFS. If you're looking for a smaller fish with great personality, I'd recommend this one.


Didn't like I don't have anything terribly negative to say about this fish, it's done well for me. It does have a habit of hiding in rocks, especially when frightened or at night, so if you're rearranging rocks make certain you know where it is (especially if they're removed from the water). The fish will not necessarily drop out of the rock when you move it. Also, make certain you know the compatibility of the other fish in your tank. While this fish is rather peaceful, others in your tank may not necessarily car for it, so be prepared if that's the case.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Bicolor Blenny

Comments An attractive blenny that is interesting to observe. They are easy to keep in aquariums with natural microalgae growth. It spend most of its time perching on or picking at the substrate and is usually ignored by its tankmates. Mat behave aggressively towards members of its own species, closely related forms, or smaller bottom-dwelling species. Keep only one per tank. May jump out of an uncovered aquarium.


Liked about it here are a few things I like about this fish
1.they stay small for the most part (3-4 inches full grown)
2.they have a funny personality
3.fun to watch


Didn't like here are a few things I don't like about these fish
1.occasional specimen may nip at and eat some SPS corals
2.some may bite LPS corals and clam mantles


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Colorful personality

Comments Bi-color blennys are an easy care fish. They are generally very hardy and will adapts to many different conditions in the home aquarium. They are full of personality and like to have their own little cave that they protect. They will scoot around the rock work and keep an eye on everything. They can be shy at times and will hide a lot. The colors on this fish are very neat. A bright yellow in the back and a gray/brown color in the front.


Liked about it Cool colors, personality, and hardyness


Didn't like can be very shy at times.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great, fun fish!

Comments Bicolor Blennies are very fun fish for any reef tank. They eat well and aren't picky, they're active, and they often will stop for a bit to "perch" on something and observe what's going on around them. They are hardy and extremely social.


Liked about it Eats well.
Very active with lots of personality.
Hardy.


Didn't like Can't think of anything I don't like about my Bicolor, because he's a good fish and fun to watch.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Neat bottom dweller

General A fun little fish that seems pretty tolerant of less than optimum tank conditions.


Liked about it Interesting personality. Very Curious. I enjoy the coloration. Eats algae


Didn't like Easily bullied. Don't mix with more aggressive bottom dwellers.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jenglish
Jul 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Good fish

General I had one several years ago and sold my tank. It was the first thing on my list of things to buy when I started a new tank. They hide in shells and rock crevices and will poke their heads out and guard their home.


Liked about it Good personality, gets along well with clowns and gobies, eats almost anything you put in front of them.


Didn't like Couldn't find any tank bred fish


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jschulzpt
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Bicolor Blenny

General Not the workhorse that my Algae Blenny was, but still fun to watch an interesting inhabitant.


Liked about it Nice personality. Mine likes to perch in the rocks and watch what is happening in the living room. Active fish and interesting to watch.


Didn't like Overall the color on mine is rather pleasant with a very deep orange tail.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop
May 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great little fish

General Great fish that minds his own business. They have a nice look to them but are not the most colorful if that is what you are going for. They can be bullied by other fish but they tend to mind their own business. Eats some alage from my experience but not going to go for everything so he may or may not eat what you have in your tank.


Liked about it Minds his own business feeds on some alage.


Didn't like Not the most colorful fish. Some can be very dull


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
May 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $14
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec327