Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.9 (10)
 Add a review

Banggai Cardinalfish

 
Banggai Cardinal


Scientific Name Pterapogon kauderni


Common Names Banggai Cardinalfish, Kaudern's Cardinal, Longfin Cardinalfish


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Banggai Cardinalfish in Reviews
 

 

as peaceful as they get

Comments I have 3 of these great fish. They are very peaceful and have not shown any aggression to any other fish. I bought 2 big ones and 1 small one and I think the two bigger ones have become a mated pair and have shown aggression towards the smaller one. He only comes out at night, but the other two are always out. Whenever I feed them they are always the first ones to get to the food. I would suggest that you only keep 2 in a tank if it's small, but if you plan to put a lot in a big tank I think that they would all be fine.


Liked about it -peaceful except with some of its kind
-hardy
-shape


Didn't like -as said before, it might need a bigger tank for them not to fight against its own kind
-could get picky regarding its food source
-its great that it gets along with other fish, but i hate how it lets others bully it


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Peaceful addition to reef tank...

Comments I purchased 2 of these fish to put into a established reef tank. Like most fish they hid for a day or two. At this point they basically pair up and swim in the same spot with not a lot of movement. Very peaceful and not for tanks with aggressive fish. Not my favorite fish in the world but a decent addition to the tank. Not very expensive either.


Liked about it Price was right. I'd get at least 2 because these fish are peaceful with their own breed and will pair up in tank. They are not aggressive at all and will get along with any fish that will tolerate them.


Didn't like Not a lot of action with them. During the day they tend to hide behind rock ( I knew that before purchase) and when the lights begin to cycle off they will swim in the open.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By deanp88
Jun 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awsome fish, fun to watch

Comments These fish are very attractive, very easy to care for. Don't know if they are agressive at all i have a mated pair. my Banggais are very active. They love brine shrimp i only feed 1/4 cube everyother day.


Liked about it They are fun to watch, Their spots glow under lunar lighting.very comical personalities.


Didn't like nothing love these fish


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jboley
Jan 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Banggai Cardinalfish

Comments This a very good first fish. It is very peaceful. It was a little picky when starting to eat, but then got the hang of it.


Liked about it 1. Peaceful
2. Cool pattern


Didn't like 1. Not all that colorful


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Apr 11, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Docile reef fish

Comments Banggai cardinals are pretty hardy when acclamated correctly. These fish are very peacful and love to swim slowly through the aquarium. The color on these may seem plain compared to other marine fish but I find the color patterns very unique. They enjoy eating mysis shrimp and brine shrimp. I would reccomend a 29 gallon and up for these fish.


Liked about it Color patterns, peacful, reef safe


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful and peaceful, be careful of tank mates.

Comments These are very attractive little fish. We saw these diving in Jellyfish Lake, Palau and you could swim so close, they were kissing our face masks. In an aquarium, they can be difficult due to them being extremely docile. When we added two to a well established tank, they were beat up on by multiple (normally docile) fish. I would suggest an extremely docile and small aquarium for them.


Liked about it Beautiful, peaceful


Didn't like Can't stand up for themselves. Don't do well in a mixed fish environment.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Diving The World
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful Fish

General The Banggai Cardinal fish is a beautiful addition to any aquarium, but has a hard time in the wild because of over-colection.


Liked about it love their color and they dont hide much at all.


Didn't like They just sit there.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fuzzybob4
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful Fish

General The Banggai Cardinal fish is a beautiful addition to any aquarium. When I bought these fish I was unaware that they were suffering from over-collection. Most Banggai's are still wild caught and until is more done to advance the selection of tank bred fish, I will not buy anymore Banggai's.



Liked about it Beautiful fish
Banggai's do not hide much


Didn't like Most Banggai's are wild caught and suffer from over collection


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice but not for me

General This is a interesting fish but its not for me. Well they are peaceful I personally dont find this fish to be the most interesting addition to a reef collection. Yes they are peaceful and intesting to look at but they are not going to add a great deal of movement if that is what you are looking for. Well I did enjoy the one I had (named Raider) I probably would not buy another.


Liked about it Unusual body type, peaceful


Didn't like Not the striking color that we think about when refering to reef fish.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By quick_murdoc
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fun & Quirky

General This fish moves a little more slowly than the rest of the fish in my tank, except during feeding time, when he has a herky jerky sanpping motion to sang his food. I like his more causal movement and unique body shape. Seems to be a strong fish, can handle his own with the damsel in my tank who is the same size. Just hope he doesn't get ICH cuz it'll be hard to notice...


Liked about it Hardiness, striking coloration, temperment


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
May 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec330