Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (21)
 Add a review

Six Line Wrasse

 
The Six Line Wrasse is both beautiful and active. With its six distinct, horizontal blue lines overlaid against an orange body, this member of the Labridae family brings a zip of color to any marine reef aquarium. This is especially true when a courting male Six Line Wrasse displays an increased color intensity. However, it is the active darting amongst rock outcroppin... - Also known as the Sixline or Sixstripe Wrasse, Pseudocheilinus hexataenia is native to reefs of the Indo-Pacific and the coast of Fiji. Here, the Six Line Wrasse forages amongst corals and rocks for foods, mainly keeping to itself. In the home aquarium, the Six Line Wrasse requires a peaceful environment with a generous supply of hiding places and live rock on which they can forage for food. Here, the Six Line Wrasse will search for live foods in the form of small crustaceans such as pyramidellid snails (clam parasites), urchins, and commensal flatworms. The Six Line Wrasse is also known to feed on unwanted pests on live rock, such as bristleworms. -


Price: $14 to $18 at 2 stores
Searched Six Line Wrasse in Reviews
 

 

Loves to show off featured

Comments Our wrasse is a piece of work. My girlfriend insists its a "she" and named her Rosie. Rosie is VERY active, but loves to hide at night in a castle. She loves to twirl around and show off her bright colors and her "eyeliner" as my gf calls it haha. We only have a 30g tank, nothing fancy, as we are just starting out, she is housed with a blue/green chromis, a lemon chromis, a bicolor blenny, a clown and a neon cleaner goby. we dont expect her to get very big but she the most fun to watch, amazing personality, not a picky eater, we feed pellets twice a day and brine shrimp every other day. When she gets stressed out she will rub herself against the live rock, causing discoloration on her one side, that usually goes away in a few days after she settles down. The only fish she has every been aggressive towards was a Purple Pseudochromis we put in, IMMEDIATELY after quarantine she starting harassing the fish, trying nip her and just chasing everywhere, her eyes even got red like she was enraged, kind of funny if you ask me. Needless to say we took the Pseudo back. Overall great fish!


Liked about it Great colors
Fun movements to watch
Easy to feed


Didn't like Wish they would get bigger


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By flakjack
Sep 14, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Lucky, lucky, lucky!!! featured

Comments My sixline is extremely easy to feed and it's colors stay bright and vibrant! It's reached max size and did not lose it's color like it's meant to! It eats whatever I'll feed it and is always playing worth me, hangs out with my clowns, and it's spiky head is so cute! It has some of the nicest colors ever seen in a wrasse and mine seems to have the prettiest colors I've seen on one! It's very peaceful but that's because I got a good specimen. It's usually gonna grow up and run the tank! Mine didn't. It seems to be a fast grower, it went from an inch to three very quickly. The biggest limitations for what you can and can not keep with it are other wrasses. You have to be careful putting other wrasses in. I'm gonna try myself but I have to plan what I'll do if a wrasse is bullied, going about catching it if it gets bullied, and never put sixlines together without somehow sexing them! So just don't try this... It's a great fish even for a nano! It needs protein in it's diet but if you don't feed it ( ._.) it still eats some worms from rocks ( ;w;)!
And If t seems like I'm bragging about how much better my wrasse is then others blah blah blah, I'm just talking about how there's always hope.


Liked about it 3. Cute
2. Playful
1. Colorful


Didn't like 3. Can be shy at first
2. Usually color fades (mine didn't)
1. Usually is a monster (mine isn't)

Happy Reefing!


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.5

By Personman131
May 04, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great personality but can be menacing. featured

Comments This is a more common fish to see in most reef tanks. It has great personality and there are several advantages as far as keeping pests under control. Can be somewhat menacing but I think the overall satisfaction with just the colors and constant movement make the six line a great tank mate.


Liked about it I really enjoy the amount of color that is presented on this fish. They can come in different shades but overall are close to the same. You will enjoy a fish with a great personality. Each one is different but as far as fish go this is one of the more active variety's. The one thing I think to find most appealing is they can infant offer some benefits in the way of species control with some common hitchhikers.


Didn't like You cant have everything in the reef keeping hobby. With pros come cons. These fish can be very irritating when caring for different Corals and Anemones that require target feeding. You will find your self at guard waiting for your Coral and or Anemone to ingest there meal. Otherwise The Wrasse will help its self to food. But I do think the pros outweigh the cons with this guy.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By Treasures of the
Mar 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Favorite Fish featured

Comments As recommended by my LFS, I added this fish to my 20g that had 1 clown, and 1 peppermint shrimp. I was worried the clown would be territorial as it had been in there for about 3 months on its own. However, the six line came in and had no problem getting along with the clown. They seem to be buddies. Although, the six line is much sleaker, slimmer, and faster than the clown. But clown does his best to keep up.

Six line is a beautiful fish and really adds nice colors to the tank. It's tail looks like a peacock and it appears to be wearing lipstick.

Spends lots of time picking at the rocks for food. I had no trouble getting it to eat. Eats everything I've ever tried feeding.

It is not supposed to get very big and seems to enjoy my 20g. It is very active and would not recommend putting it in anything smaller than that.

Don't be alarmed if you look for it at night and can't find it as it hides when it sleeps.


Liked about it -Beautiful colors.
-Easy maintenance.
-Great temperament.


Didn't like I have not found anything that I do not like about this fish so far.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mikenicol88
Jan 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Small Active Fish for the Reef featured

Comments The SIxline Wrasse is pretty easy to care for, it spends it's day swimming around the rockwork, looking for food. Not that finicky of an eater although took a while to get him eating at first. Very hardy, and it all depends on the temperament of the fish if it will be aggressive. Mine is very mellow and plays games of "hide and seek" with the clownfish. Very funny to watch. This wrasse does grow quickly but it's max size is still quite small at 3". He has been okay with all the tankmates, completely reef-safe. May pick on your shrimp, but most shrimp are too big for the fish. He is a carnivore who devours my flatworm and bristleworm populations and loves a mix of brine and mysis. I would recommend this fish in a tank size of at least 25 gallons, and you should avoid putting other sixlines with it.


Liked about it This fish is very fun too watch, he weaves in and out of the smallest holes in the rock, and always is in a good mood. When I walk up to to the tank he stares at me flips over, and shows me his belly, which I think is really cute. This fish is really a good beginner fish.


Didn't like The things I didn't like about him were:
1. Took over a week to start eating
2. He's kind of small, so most people don't even notice him
3. His colors fade with age.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Fish Lord
Jun 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Worth the Cash if you get the right one featured

Comments Overall this is a great fish, they are cheap add color, movement and yes they do eat flat worms but be careful because they are not all peaceful even if some of them are. I have one in my tank now that is great doesn't bother anyone else in the tank and minds his own business. BUT and there is a BUT I had one about 3 years ago that was a pain! I broke down my tank just to get him out of there and that was a pain to but well worth it! He attacked everything in the tank including shrimp which they aren't "supposed" to do. If you get a good one like the one I have now enjoy one of the best fish you can have if not get him out unless he is with other aggressive fish. Its not just me my LSF has one in the 250 gal that is the biggest I have ever seen about 3 1/2 inches but he is also aggressive and killed all the snails in his tank. He also has another that is in the 120 coral tank without any problems.


Liked about it Color, movement, keeps flat worm population low.


Didn't like CAN BE aggressive, kill shrimps, and attack everything its size!


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A Nice Fish

Comments This fish is constantly moving and is fairly shy. In my 29 gallon tank, he's with 2 clowns and there's no aggression between the fish. These fish have a reputation as being aggressive, but he's the shyest guy in my tank! I've seen him eat bristle worms and pods in my tank (in addition to the mysis and pellets I feed him). He hovers around like a humming bird which is pretty cool. Only downside is that the vibrant colors actually blend in with the live rock and the blue background, so he's actually takes a minute to find sometimes.


Liked about it Active, docile fish with a personality and cool eyes and swimming style.


Didn't like Blends in with the live rock too well. This may sound like not a big issue, but this is a pretty important factor IMO.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Yrahcaz
Jun 06, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

An attractive and active fish for your tank

Comments I have had a 6 line in a Bio-cube 14 for 6 months and he is my favorite fish and a model citizen. He has not shown any aggression whatsoever to any of my other fish or inverts. He has extremely vibrant colors and he often flashes his beautiful fins when I walk by (usually to the delight of guests). He ate within an hour of quarantine when I got him and has had great feeding habits sense. He is very active and it is interesting to watch him dart in and out of crevices within the live rock. I feed mine formula pellet food everyday and Mysis every other day. I also occasionally supplement his diet with live black worms. 6 lines do require many hiding spaces and crevices in the live rock as they constantly are darting in between rocks and such. I highly recommend this species for a community reef environment.


Liked about it Active
Great eater
Vibrant colors
Will eat some pests like flatworms
Reef safe
My specimen is extremely peaceful and has never bothered anything


Didn't like Nothing not to like so far, however I have heard of some aggression issues with this species


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dpoltsdsu
Jun 21, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Striped personality

Comments Sixlines are very hardy once acclimated. Mine has a great personality and loves to cruse around the tank inspecting the rock and all of his tank mates. He is pretty peaceful but if a fish gets out of line he will take care of it. These guys are known to eat flat worms and bristle worms so they can be very helpful. They will eat just about anything you offer, brine shrimp, mysis shrimp, pellets, and flakes are all good options. Sixlines also have nice coloration along with their neatly lined bodies.


Liked about it Hardy,great personality,good eater


Didn't like Colors can fade with age


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

great addition to any reef tank

Comments A great fish for the price. It is easy to care for most are not aggressive. Mine is a very active fish swimming around the rock work looking for food and sometimes running for my royal gramma if he happens to get to close to his rock. Otherwise it gets along great with all the other fish. Has a great coloration to it. Fish should be fine in a tank that is 25gallons or bigger and mine eats any frozen food I put in there.


Liked about it Has beautiful color
Active/fun fish to watch
eats flat worms


Didn't like can be a little timid of other fish and shrimps at first


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Farley
Sep 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

a fish with many qualities

Comments i have had a six line wrasse for a while now and just about a month ago i saw him do something amazing. my sailfin tang had been suffering from an itch and after a while the wrasse started picking the itch off of him. i glanced at the tank and after looking closer i saw that the wrasse was eating the white itch off of the tang! he would pick it off of the tangs body and the tang would hold still for the wrasse. the two continued this activity for several days. as of now the tang has started eating again and does not look to have any itch at all on him. without the six-line wrasse, the tang would probably be dead by now. the six line wrasse has also been know to eat other worms such as flatworms.
other than cleaning up the tang and being fairly peaceful with any additions to the tank, the six line wrasse is a colorful, hardy and inexpensive fish to add to any tank


Liked about it -color
-saved my tang
-hardy


Didn't like -loses color as it grows
-can get bullied by other fish
-some of them have been know to be aggressive


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gabranth17
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Keeping flat worms at bay.

Comments The is nothing really special about this fish. It's not bright and flashy, It's not as fun to watch as others. But it earns it's keep and should be a staple for most reef tanks. They eat flatworms! I don't have flatworms but I always keep a 6 line in my tank just in case. You never know when you might get a frag that has some flat worms on it. It's just some extra insurance. these fish just kinda dart around all the time aimless. They are also known to be jumpers.


Liked about it They eat flat worm, and I do mean they eat them!
They are small and take up little space.
The are very affordable.


Didn't like They are not all that colorful or flashy.
They just kinda dart around all the time not really doing anything.
They can be jumpers so consider a top for your tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great Wrasse

Comments If your looking for a fish that has a lot of personality and is very active, then this fish is for you! They are very lively and fun to watch. They will appreciate creative rock work and will swim in and out of all the holes in your tank. They have great coloration and pick out a lot of pests in your tank. One night I was wanting to watch the fish, so I went to the tank and looked for 30 minutes....could not find it anywhere, So I figured he had died off...next morning he was swimming around. I figured out that he laid down in the sand and slept under a rock at night. Very interesting fish!


Liked about it Active
Colorful
Fun


Didn't like Some times it will throw a tantrum and throw its spikes up and be aggresive towards other fish, but for the most part its a fun fish to watch!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Cool little fish

Comments Very colorful fish. Not difficult at all to care for. Excepts almost any kind of food and is a great grazer for pods and a variety of worms. Constantly moving very active. Provide alot of rock work for hiding places. Aggressive towards other wrasses but seems to subside in time. Had no experience with attacks on ornamental shrimp but have heard that this can be a problem.


Liked about it Love its activity. In the evening with only the atinics lights on, it supplies him with a great reflection of himself. He goes off on all sorts of acrobating flashing movements at his own reflection. Awesome to watch. Love his colors at this time too


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Cool little fish.

Comments Easy to keep. The aggression is the biggest problem with this fish; it will be the only wrasse you can keep it will not do well with others. Ornamental shrimp can not be kept safely with them. It's a very unique looking fish, the coloration is nice. The eyes are probably the coolest feature.


Liked about it Can control some parasites & unwanted hitch-hikers.
Good looking fish for the price.


Didn't like Aggressive; it will attack ornamental shrimp.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By wharyat
Jan 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A somewhat aggressive fish that is prone to jumping

Comments Sixline wrasses are common, but I find them to be a bit aggressive and often they'll jump from the tank if there is space to do so. They're often recommended for their ability to help control pests, but they are aggressive towards other fish. I'd much sooner recommend a fish from the Halichoeres genus (such as the canary wrasse).


Liked about it Nice coloration, small fish, can help control pests.


Didn't like These fish are prone to jumping (I've lost two even with actively covering the tank... they'll find their way through even the smallest hole it seems). They're also aggressive towards conspecfics as well as other small predatory fish (such as dottybacks). Personally, I think there are better small wrasses for reef aquaria, but I understand why many folks enjoy this fish.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Agile!

Comments Very easy to keep!
I haven't had any agression problems with mine, but others say they do.
Very active!


Liked about it Very active.
Swims through the smallest nooks 'n crannies in my fish tank!
Eats ANYTHING!


Didn't like Kind of small.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great little fish!

Comments Great at eating pods, flatworms, and bristleworms. Stays nice and small and is always swimming arund the tank picking at rocks. Not aggressive to any other fish.


Liked about it Great colors and always very active. They also stay nice and small.


Didn't like Nothing to complain about at all.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Valuable fish

Comments I have had this guy in my tank for almost 3 years now. And so far he has been a model citizen. Not to mention beautiful. They add color and activity to any tank. They are 1 of my favorite fish, and they are fairly inexpensive which is awesome. The other good thing is that they eat flatworms. Some say they don't, but I know for sure mine does because I have seen him. Not only that I had a small outbreak of flatworms a while back and they only were ever visible in the sump in any large numbers. Because the Six Line Wrasse was keeping them in check. And they are totally reef safe, except for the occasional stealing of food from some corals. But they don't eat the coral itself.


Liked about it Really good price, for such a pretty fish. And they eat flatworms which is very helpful. I would rather have a natural solution rather than having to resort to Flatworm exit or something like that.


Didn't like Sometimes he will pick Mysis and other food from my LPS when they are trying to eat. But I just hang out and fend him off, no big deal really.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

GREAT

Comments love this fish so much personality and fun to watch!! he got along with everybody


Liked about it easy to keep, ate just about anything. bery hardy and fast growing


Didn't like not too much i didnt like he didnt like the damsel art first but then they were fine after a couple weeks


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zach_24_90
Feb 13, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good fish for adventuring!

Comments IF you want a fish that swims in and out or your rocks and that doesn't always hide this is the fish for you! I had my sixline wrasse for a week now and i love her


Liked about it Swims through the rock
Very colorful
gets along well with other inhabitants
and doesn't eat coral


Didn't like doesn't eat pellets


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Miyo
Sep 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $18
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec541