Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (9)
 Add a review

Sailfin Tang Featured

 
The sailfin tang is a peaceful herbivore who grows to over a foot in length and therefore requires a large aquarium when grown of 125 gallons or more.


Price: $20 to $80 at 7 stores
Searched Sailfin Tang in Reviews
 

 

Good choice if you want a Tang... featured

Comments I love the Sail fin Tang. I have had one for about 8 months and it has always done well. My tank is a 125 gallon. As with all Tangs I would not recommend this fish in smaller tanks. He is always out front and swimming within view, even at night. Seems to be a fairly hardy fish and has not been picky with its food choice. I feed him algea and he also eats meaty foods that are fed to other fish. Adds some color to the tank and really adds to the look of the tank. I believe this fish will get rather large so that is something to consider when purchasing the Sail fin Tang.


Liked about it This fish is an easy fish to keep and will eat about anything. I use a very small net to rinse frozen food before putting into the tank and this guy as swam right into the net within seconds of putting in the net trying to get to the food. Not a shy fish. Mine stays out in the open almost all the time. One of the easier Tangs to keep. Has not bothered any corals but has went after some silversides that I placed on some corals for food.


Didn't like Really not a lot to dislike. The downside to this guy is it will get rather large quickly. As stated above, he has went after food that I fed to corals. I usually have to wait for my plate corals to finish eating and keep him away until the coral is done eating.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By deanp88
Sep 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Never get's boring

Comments This is such a beautiful fish. It is not aggressive towards my yellow tank or other tank mates. If anything The yellow tang and Sailfin swim together to keep each other in check but so far so good. I love the way he looks when he fully expands his fins. I have him with a lamerick angel fish, yellow tang, copperband butterfly fish, crab, foxfaced rabbitfish, clarki clownfish and a clam. No problems with any of them


Liked about it Calm, docile, non aggressive, eats meaty foods and algae wafers. Just make sure you give him a nice hideout and plenty of room to swim because they get large..


Didn't like There is absolutely nothing that I dislike about this fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By weicowireman
Jun 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Beautiful tang

Comments This is one of my all time favourite fish I own. Mine eats wonderfully on a diet of multiple fish foods and nibbles a lot on a piece of "seaweed salad," on a clip. It doesn't bully the other fish I have and It is very fast. It is also active when ever the lights are on. I paid $36.99 and I feel it has been worth every penny. It is very curious however it can be a bit skittish and spooks easily.


Liked about it 1.) Beautiful
2.) Non aggressive in my tank
3.) Eats well


Didn't like 1.) It is a bit skittish at times
2.) If I ever had to catch it for any reason it would be almost impossible


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Dudders
Mar 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

great Fish!!!!!!

Comments I have a sailfin tang in a 100 gallon tank. I feed mine a diet of flake food, brine shrimp and seaweed. I also have a juvenile yellow tang and a juvenile blue regal tank. The 3 of them are inseperable. I love this fish. I got this tang after a cucumber died and wiped out my whole tank. this fish is great to watch and I swear mine loves the attention. He swims by the front of the tank, fans out his fins and swims back to do it again. Though I would not recommend putting this fish in a tank with older tangs as they may not accept each other


Liked about it He is very peaceful. Eats about everything and is a easy keeper. I also like the fact that I introduced him to the tank with other tangs and they all stay together in their little group. Where you find one tang, the two others are sure to follow


Didn't like there is not one thing I can say bad about this fish


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luvmyhoss
Oct 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Great fish for reef tanks, but they get very large

Comments This is a really neat fish that won't bother corals. It's sailed fins make it rather unique compared to other surgeonfish, and it's generally peaceful to other fish in similar settings. As with all tangs, these fish require a good amount of algae to graze on throughout the day, so stashing some nori in the tank is a good means of supplying the fish with food. If that's not practical, ensuring proper vegetable matter in the overall diet is important. The one thing to consider with this fish, however, is that it does get large. Up to 14" in the wild, you've got to ensure you have the proper space to house a sailfin tang before you bring it home. They're often sold at around 1-2", so don't be fooled into thinking they're good choices for tanks under about 120 gallons.


Liked about it A generally peaceful fish, the sailfin tang make a great addition to both reef and fish only tanks. They may help with the control of nuisance algae (though I wouldnt expect it). A very attractive fish with an impressive display when all fins are flexed, I've really enjoyed having one of these tangs.


Didn't like As stated by other reviewers, the biggest drawback to this fish is the size. If you have a tank thats under 100 gallons, I would much sooner consider some of the other Zebrasoma fish (such as the yellow or scopas tang). This fish may be aggressive towards others in the same genus, but should tolerate non-conspecific surgeonfish.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

One of my favorites!

Comments I have had a sailfin tang in my tank since I can remember. I just love the unique colors and patterns on this fish. The sailfin is and extremely docile fish and plays well with just about all reef safe fish. It fill flair it's fins when I add a new fish to show dominance but that's about all it will do. This fish is always on the move, it you like active fish and have a 125 gallon tank or larger try a sailfin you wont regret it. I feed 1mm sinking pellets exclusively and this tank has always been fat and happy even with out any nori.


Liked about it The colors and patterns of this fish set it off from many other tangs.
It's always on the move I like fish that swim all over and just do not stay in the same place.
Extremely docile and gets along with everyone. I have never seen aggression from him.


Didn't like Whats not to love about this tang? It's docile, colorful and full of personality.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

BEAUTIFUL fish!!!

Comments Saw this fish in the store and HAD to have it! Very beautiful fish both as a juvenile and adult. We have it in a 210 gal and it seems very happy. this should a large enough area when he gets bigger. we have not seen any aggression towards any of our other fish. this is a very active fish and stays out to be seen just about all day. he does get startled when you first walk up to the tank, but doesn't hide for long. he hasn't given us any problems with eating and love frozen or pellets. i am SO glad that we decided to purchase this beautiful fish!


Liked about it love the coloration of the fish. The dots that they get as an adult are great! the sail fin makes it look like no other fish in our tank and is beautiful. very active so we get to see it all the time. so far no aggression just easily startled.


Didn't like wish it didn't get quite so big, but hopefully we have quite some time before we have to worry about that. no other complaints about this fish though!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Sailfin Tang

Comments The sailfin tang (Zebrasoma velifera) is a yellow headed and yellow tailed tang with a striped body. When young, the stripes are black; they become more brownish in the adult. Although peaceful, the tang may fight with other tangs of like shape and appearance. I've found a foxface to be a suitable companion without aggression. The sailfin has a delightful behavior of occasionally expanding its dorsal and tail fins. Even the younger fish looks pretty big with the "sails" out. it is a grazing herbivore and loves garlic-soaked nori on a vegetable clip as well as occasional feeding of gracilaria and red grape algae. Ideally the sailfin should be kept with a cleaner shrimp that will combat its tendency toward ick.


Liked about it The sailfin has a dramatic striped appearance and engaging behavior of spreading its fins. Watching it be cleaned by cleaner shrimp is also entertaining. It is a fish that can be purchased relatively small and then grow to over a foot and make a statement in a 125 gallon or bigger tank.


Didn't like The sailfin needs to graze on a variety of herbivore foods to stay healthy. It will fight with other similarly shaped tangs. The stripe colors become more brown and subdued with age.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Feb 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Great Fish!

Comments Very attractive and active herbivore fish. They are a peaceful fish that you will love to watch constantly swim around your tank. Very good fish for larger aquariums.


Liked about it Love how it is constantly swimmin and picking algae from the rocks. They will help in algae control as well. Mine is constantly picking at the rocks for food. Great begginer fish, and community fish.


Didn't like Their size makes them a problem. However, this is only for smaller aquariums. They need atleast 125 gallons when they are full grown to be happy.


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By joschend0325
Jan 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $80
Compare Prices
at 7 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec540