Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (12)
 Add a review

Yellow Tang

 
The Yellow Hawaiian Tang is for many aquarists, the definitive fish of home saltwater aquariums. With its oval-shaped, vibrant yellow body, Zebrasoma flavescens brightens any marine system. The Yellow Hawaiian Tang is an active swimmer that will glide throughout your aquarium in near constant motion, acting as an aquarium tour guide of sorts to any onlooker who...


Price: $20 to $30 at 2 stores
Searched Yellow Tang in Reviews
 

 

Well mannered swimmer that needs a race way

Comments I often have lively debates with other aquarists as to the idea tank size for the yellow tang. Since I don't feel this review is the place for debate I will go with the prevailing wisdom on the matter and say the yellow tang needs a tank at least 72 inches long. You will often hear people say tank requirements in gallons, and with some fish that does work, however, with the yellow tang, we need to talk about length. Some tanks are the same gallons, but are taller, and therefore not as long. The tang is a swimmer! It loves to have a nice open runway in the tank so it can fly the length of it. It also likes a secure cave to hide in at night. Just a quick side note that I find interesting, at night the yellow tang will change coloration turning pale and displaying a brown spot on its sides with a white stripe across it. This is nighttime camouflage and is something interesting for the aquarist to see after lights out. This fish will get 6-8 inches long when full grown, but is not what I would consider a fast growing fish.

Feeding a tang is a thing of ease, they love algae...love it. Mine will even eat caulerpa and when I scrape the sides of the tank she follows me around gobbling up the bits of algae that I scrape away from the glass.

I don't know if this is the case for all tangs, but my tang loves me. Okay, maybe that's wishful thinking, but she does display behavior that demonstrates she recognizes me. When I look in the tank she swims right over to where I am looking (making it almost impossible to take a photo she isn't in) and when someone else looks in, she heads for her cave. Sheila (that's my tang, don't laugh) will also readily take food from my hand.

I am careful, however, not to try and stroke or grab her. Tangs have a spike on either side of their tail which they use for defense. Though I have never so much had my tang make threatening movements toward me, I am still cognizant that this potential threat exists. She has flicked her tail at the clown fish when they try to compete too aggressively for "her" food.

Once adjusted to their new environment, tangs are hardy, active fish that usually end up being a show piece for aquarists as the bright yellow color always draws the eye of friends and family.


Liked about it 1. Active feeder
2. Beautiful fish
3. Community and reef safe
4. East various kinds of algae which helps keep your tank clean of the stuff


Didn't like 1. Requires a large tank
2. Can be too boisterous to house with certain shy species of fish
3. May out compete other fish for food


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By tcamos
Jun 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

One of the most popular Reef tank fish!

Comments The yellow tang is one of the most common fish available for tank owners. They are bright yellow beautiful fish. they are a very active fish and are constantly searching for algae. They are also very affordable at under $50 in most stores they are a great addition to tank over 125 gallons. Because of their price and beauty all too often people put them in a tank much too small for them. They do require plenty of swimming room to remain healthy. They can be prone to Ich. But with all that said if you have a tank over 125 gallons the yellow tank is a must.


Liked about it The color, these are extremely vibrant bright yellow fish.
Price, Very affordable.
Personality, They are great always swimming around and checking everything out.


Didn't like Whats not to like about this fish..
They come from Hawaii and regulations on catching them id getting tighter I would expect to see a dramatic rise in price before too long.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow Tang

Comments This guy is not aggressive at all, if anything submissive to the other fish in our tank. He is always active and loves swimming through holes and crevices of lr. Readily eats everything we've fed him so far, but will not come to the surface to eat anything like flake food. Also a good cleaner! Ours is always pecking at any algae he might fight on the lr and the anem's don't seem to mind him being very close to them.


Liked about it Beautiful color is striking in the tank, gets along well with everyone, helps to clean any algae, has been very easy to take care of.


Didn't like No complaints...he is a great addition to our tank!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow Tang...

Comments A yellow tang is the first tang that I purchased. Has done very well and is constantly roaming my 125 gallon tank for food. Will eat hair algea if you have any, which I do. I later added 2 larger brown tangs and the yellow tang did not like it at all. He went after them fairly aggressivly for a couple days then settled down. Now after 2 months with the brown tangs they don't seem to notice each other. He does seem to search for food and does not go for the food I put into the tank like the other fish.


Liked about it Very colorful fish. An icon for the reef tank. Has been easy to take care of and is one of my favorite fish.


Didn't like He does bully other fish that are added after him. Does not seem to matter if the newer fish are larger than him. I would like to see him eating the food that I provide for him like the other fish but he seems to stay back during feeding. I know he eats but I like to be sure. Could just be my yellow tang...


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Mar 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow Tang

Comments First Tang I ever bought. Great personality and very colorful. One of the hardiest of the Surgeon fish family. Very active swimmers and a minimum of 100-125 gallon tank required for all Tangs. They will eat anything offered but need a constant supply of seaweed to thrive. Will spend much of its day grazing the rocks for algae. Only one per Tang of its kind should be added. If you plan to keep more than one type of Tang this one should be added last. Yellow Tangs can be quite the bully.


Liked about it Its vibrant color and personality. Active swimmer.


Didn't like Its aggresiveness.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A great addition to a reef tank.

Comments The Yellow Tang is overall a pretty easy fish to keep. Make sure a diet high in algea is offered. A clip of seaweed added occasionally is highly recommended. The Yellow Tang can sometimes become a bit of a bully, but it does not continue to bully, it just seems to get in a mode every once in a while.


Liked about it 1. Great color.
2. Will keep hair algea growth in check (unless it is out of control)
3. Swims the whole tank.


Didn't like 1. Can be a bully.
2. Needs at least 4 ft of tank to roam.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mark_Winn
Jan 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow!

Comments Very unique fish.
Love to watch them swim back and forth!


Liked about it They NEVER stop moving!
Very easy to keep.
Thick yellow color.


Didn't like Very unappealing appearance at first glance.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Yellow Tang

Comments Tangs are by far my favorite fish and the yellow tang was the first fish that i bought unlike most of the other tangs yellow tangs are not that expensive. mine was very easy to take care of all i did was has good flow for it to swim in and add food for him to eat. and the color mine was actually a brighter yellow then the other yellow tangs that i have seen and he seemed to alwayse come to the glass when you were looking in..he was the star of my tank and i believe that if you buy one you will love yours justa s much as i loved mine.


Liked about it there colors are so bright and beautiful.
they eat very quickly and easily.
and they are quite hardy little fish.
kepp algae under control


Didn't like could get aggressive at times but mostly a very calm fish that kept to its self.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By collin
Oct 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Important member of the reef

Comments One of my first fish was a Yellow Tang. After he got established in the tank, he would kill any newcomers. I could not add anymore fish. One day I noticed it had severely injured one of my Clownfish. I got rid of the Tang the next day. I recently replaced that fish with another Yellow Tang with much better results. The Tang goes about his business cleaning any bits of algae growing on the live rock. The fish adds such beauty, color and movement to the tank. It is a must have in an aquarium large enough to house one.


Liked about it Beautiful fish
Great color in the reef
Keeps algae in check


Didn't like Can be quite aggressive
I had to remove my first yellow tang because he was too aggressive
A large tank is necessary


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Winderful Peaceful Fish.

Comments I found mine to very easy to care for. It would eat pretty much anything you drop into the tank but you will need to supplement lots of green and red algae to feed it properly or you might have a hard time with lateral line disease. This fish even for its rather large size is very peaceful and a great addition to a larger tank. If you are feeding them correctly you can literally watch them grow. They are very active swimmers and are all over the place. I had mine in a 55 gallon as a juvenile but as everybody suggests you will need a much larger tank to house one properly. Mine loved green seaweed sheets.


Liked about it -Yellow color is awesome
-Peaceful fish
-Easy to care
-Seems to be a great community fish


Didn't like -Seems to be pretty fragile fish
-Tank size requirements


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Iconic fish

Comments I absolutely love Yellow Tangs, they are beautiful fish. They are a fairly easy fish to take care off with the proper sized tank, which most recommend a 100 gallon tank minimum. They need plenty of swimming room. They also need plenty of greens in there diet, either through seaweed strips or green flake food or pellets. They will eat meaty food also IME. As long as they are being treated, and fed good they are model citizens in a reef tank. They do get big pretty fast so don't think you can get a baby and put him in a small tank because he will outgrow it very fast.


Liked about it The color just adds so much character to any tank I can't see how anybody wouldn't like them. They are a very peaceful and best of all reef safe fish. And they do a great job at cleaning the live rock af any algae in between feedings.


Didn't like I wish they could be kept in a little bit of a smaller tank but they just get to big and need to swim.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Sep 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

perfect,active, and peaceful

Comments The yellow tang as about the best fish anywhere for tanks 4ft and larger. I've heard cases of it being a ick magnet, but i have not experienced this. Unlike other tangs, the yellow tang is peaceful to every member of my tank. The yellow tang will eat just about anything I feed my tank, it will also enjoy weekly seaweed feedings too! I would suggest this fish to anybody with 4ft or longer tanks.


Liked about it color, personality, reef safe,


Didn't like possible ick magnet and large tank requriments


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By turtlesoup23
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $20 to $30
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec540