Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (14)
 Add a review

Blue Tang

 
The Blue Tang boasts a vibrant electric blue body dressed with bold black markings. In fact, the black that begins at the eyes, traces the dorsal line down to the tail, and circles back above the pectoral fin to create a unique shape reminiscent of a painter's palette. This marking is why the Blue Tang is also known as the Palette Surgeonfish. It is also called the...


Price: $18 to $18 at 1 stores
Searched Blue Tang in Reviews
 

 

One of my favorites!! featured

Comments I waited a long time to purchase this fish. I had heard stories that they are hard to keep and that of course as with all Tangs, prone to ich. Mine was bought about 2". He is one of the most active fish in the tank. Always eats no matter what food I put into the tank. I thought other Tangs would bother him because they are larger but they don't even know he is there. Loves nori sheets and meaty foods. He did get a couple spots of ich the second day and by the end of the 3rd day it was gone. Seems to be one of the happiest fish in the tank. Very colorful. I was suprised at how well this fish did aclimating in my tank and how well it has gotten along.


Liked about it Very colorful fish. May not be the same situation for others but this guy has done very well eating and getting along with others in the tank. Very active swimmer and usually stays out front in full view so you can see them.


Didn't like They are a little expensive to purchase and being that Tangs are prone to ich, it is a tough choice to decide to purchase one.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Jan 13, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Regal Tang

Comments Love this fish period, I always treat me fish prior to popping in the display tank but still on occasions shes break out in a few spots but it goes and never as transferred to the others. Now she can be a bit of a bugger and when shes got it on her she'll swim about mad and nip at all the corals be it soft or sps, no damage, well a little bit. Costs around £30-70 in the uk. Lots about and the red sea ones seem to have that extra kick of colour. Feed with sea greens every few days.


Liked about it Love Everything but please please treat your fish prior to putting in your main tank. In the uk we keep them in much smaller tanks than in the US and they seem to do very well indeed. Quality not quality counts with these little beauties. Very peaceful to the extent that the sailfin guards the sea greens and she just lets him and then when hes had enough its her turn.


Didn't like Nothing to dislike.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ombos
Nov 04, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great fish if QT'd and tank is ich-free

Comments My little hippo blue tangs are favorites. They are active, on display, and fun to watch. True to their name, one brought in ich and soon after the other had it too. It's easy enough to treat with a QT tank but it turns into a big episode in a display tank with inverts. I can't stress enough that as cute as these guys are at the store you have to QT them a few weeks and remember, they are tangs, so your pH should be good and they should be housed in a stress free environment. That being said these are fantastic fish to own as they are friendly with all other livestock and graze algae. They are social and one of them insists on being right next to my foxface 24/7 like their besties. I'd say you need 120 gallons to house them as they grow quickly.


Liked about it 1. Gorgeous.
2. Active.
3. Always on display.
4. Eats algae.
5. Social and friendly.


Didn't like 1. Ich.
2. Ich!
3. Ich!!!


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By jreece11
Jun 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not with the money!

Comments These fish are so entirely beautiful--but we have had a terrible time keeping them from getting ich. We basically have a great tank going for some fish and lots of corals. However, everytime we try the blue tang, from various sellers, we generally loose it in six months. Our tank is 120 gallons. Some fish of ours like our Moorish Idol, maroon clown fish (he got to be 5 to 6 inches and was way too territorial) and our Shoal Tang got over 9 inches, I swamped for other fish because they needed more room. I would have loved the to have been able to keep these guys, but they just looked like they were prisoners in a small tank.


Liked about it Beautiful Blue
Good with other fish


Didn't like ICH
ICH
ICH!!!!


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By juicyfruits
Dec 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Hey it's Dori!

Comments Of all the tangs this one is one of brightest and most vibrant. The blue tank became very popular after Finding Nemo causing people to buy them that had no idea how to keep them. That to me is a sad thing. It led to over capturing and a price increase and decreasing population in the wild. None the less this is a great fish. Very friendly and gets along well with others. It will graze all the time and is not picky about eating food. Don't let it's size at the fish store fool you. Usually they are sold very small about 1" but can quickly become very large even up to 8" or more. If you get one of th4ese make sure you have a large tank with lots of room to roam.


Liked about it The colors are amazing bright vibrant blue set off by the black markings and yellow tail.
Very friendly and Docile. Gets along with all other fish even other tangs.


Didn't like There really is not anything I can think of about this fish that I disliked.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Worth the money and trouble

Comments I've had my blue tang, aka Blue Fishy, for about 7 - 8 years. (Yes, that's 7 or 8 YEARS.) I got him when he was the size of a quarter or so and now he's a lot bigger, about four inches long. At first, I had some trouble with ich for a few weeks and eventually got rid of it by lowering the salinity in the tank. Since then, Blue Fishy has been easy to care for. He's nice and fat and eats anything, flake food, brine shrimp, and Formula Two. He nibbles on any algae he can find in the tank.


Liked about it Blue Fishy is droll and a real character. He's interactive and friendly at feeding time. He swims around a lot and is visible, and makes a real show in in the aquarium. Blue Fishy does not bother any of the reef inverts, however, I did see him sucking the film off a sarcophyton that was shedding. I like long lived fish, and Blue Fishy is looking like he will excel in that category.


Didn't like I mostly don't like the threat of ich. I'm afraid to buy any new fish for fear of an ich recurrance. I also don't like the thought of Blue Fishy out growing his 55-gallon tank and having to give him away.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By CebakaLaika
Apr 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beautiful fish

Comments Awesome colors.very aggressive feeders. blue tang is very active and shy.


Liked about it love the colors. personality is funny just like dory on nemo. does well with other peaceful fish.


Didn't like They can be stressed very easy and are ich magnets


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By jboley
Feb 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice fish, for large tanks only

Comments I wouldnt recommend this tang for any tank under 180 gallons. I've had a few over the years, and the last one reached grew over 4" in about 18 months and was quickly turning into a dominant fish for my 150 gallon tank. I ended up getting rid of the fish due to space issues and it's dominance over other fish (particularly eating time). They grow fast, need lots of swimming space, and are terribly active. Also, they're aggressive eaters. Some have even reported that they have bothered soft corals. A beautiful fish, but only in the right applications.


Liked about it Great color, great personality, very popular even among non-aquarists.


Didn't like Very large, needs lots of space, and you may find some of your softies (such as zoanthids) disappearing.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great color but can be prone to head/ lateral line

Comments These are great fish they add color, movement however they do need the proper size tank and diet in order to stay healthy. So buy with caution some store will tell you they can be kept in small tanks but they are made to swim and really need a tank at least 6 feet long.


Liked about it Great color, add movement to the tank, a fish that really has it all if you have the proper tank!


Didn't like Ich, ich, ich! Need to have a large tank in order to swim and are many times sold for small tanks which really do not suit them.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quick_murdoc
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Blue Tang

Comments One of the most beautiful majestic fish in my tank. Although they are susceptible to ich, they are well worth it. Just make sure to take the proper precautions when acclimating and limit any to all stresses. You won't be disappointed.

Editor's note: this fish requires a very large tank as it can grow a foot in length.


Liked about it Beautiful color, Very active and not overly aggresive.


Didn't like Ich, They can be very ski-dish and took a while to get it to eat pellets.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Scriles
Dec 22, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great Fish

Comments Awesome and beautiful little fish. This is one of the prettiest and most active fish in my tank. However, these fish need a larger sized tank. These are fiarly hardy fish and I have never had any trouble with them.


Liked about it Like most other tangs these are herbivores. They will help in algae control. This is also a very active fish. They are constantly swiming through and around rockwork. They are also strikingly beautiful.


Didn't like You need a large tank to prpoerly house them


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By joschend0325
Jan 31, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Beatiful, but not seen that often

Comments I love the Blue Tangs colour, it isn't like any other colour in a reef tank.
It is a very timid fish, and likes to hide in the rock work. But comes out when at times.
It is very susceptable to ich.


Liked about it Beautiful colours, shy, and easy to feed.


Didn't like How susceptable to ich these fish are.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By warzek_13
Jan 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

If you can get them acclimated, beautiful addition

Comments I've tried these multiple times over the years and had mixed success. The are generally not cheap and not super easy to keep. They also tend to get "Hole in the Head" disease fairly easily. If you can get them properly acclimated, they can be a beautiful addition to your reef tank. We've had one now for about two years and it gets along great with all the inhabitants.


Liked about it Beautiful, peaceful


Didn't like Difficult to keep, can get Hole in the Head disease.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Diving The World
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Nice looking fish

Comments Seemingly easy to care for. Extremely active. Gets along with all other tank mates. Very skittish. Requires a larger tank min 70 gallons.


Liked about it Very pretty fish adds color to the reef
Everyone loves "Dori"


Didn't like Seems like it's an ich magnet
Needs a large tank
My Blue Hippo only lasted a short time


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $18 to $18
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec540