Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
2.7 (10)
 Add a review

3-Spot Damselfish

 
3-Spot Domino Damsel Fish - Dascyllus trimaculatus The 3-Spot Domino Damselfish, also known as the Three Spot Damselfish, Threespot Dascyllus or Domino Damselfish, is so named due to the three white spots on its black body...


Scientific Name Dascyllus trimaculatus


Common Names 3-Spot Domino Damselfish, Three Spot Damselfish, Threespot Dascyllus, Domino Damselfish


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched 3-Spot Damselfish in Reviews
 

 

Beginner fish or evil incarnate? featured

Comments While this fish is often touted and sold as a great fish for beginners, I imagine few beginners are prepared for just how aggressive this fish can be to conspecifics or just about any fish smaller than it is.

So, is it a beginner fish then? Yes, in terms that it will survive most beginners' mistakes. It's very hardy, can exist in a relatively small tank (30 gallons) with less than perfect water parameters, and it eats just about anything you feed it. It's also very affordable (generally between $5 and $10 depending on harvest location).

NOTE: While this fish is often recommended for use in cycling a tank this is an old fashioned practice that should not be used. It is cruel to the fish and unnecessary. Research fish-less cycling techniques to get the job done humanely.

One very important note, beside the aggressive behavior (which gets worse as the fish gets older) is that the bold coloration of the fish, that so often attracts aquarists, will fade, even to brown, and some spots will vanish, as it matures. What starts out as a nice black fish with several bright white spots, ends up as a brown fish with one spot.

One final note of interest is that this fish may host with a Carpet Anemone (Stichodactyla sp.) when it gets older.


Liked about it 1. Hardy.
2. Affordable.
3. Possible host fish for Stichodactyla sp. anemone.
4. Eats readily.


Didn't like 1. Aggressive.
2. Changes color as it matures.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Sep 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The Domino Devil!

Comments A solid black body with it's 3 spots really set this on off from other damsels. Although do not let the shape and color fool you it's still a damsel and just as aggressive. Extremely territorial it will attack a fish of any size at any time. That aside they are super cheap and easy to care for making them popular amongst new aquarists.


Liked about it Price, They are extremely cheap and affordable.
Care, they are easy to keep and nearly bullet proof.
Color, This one is unique with it's solid black body with white spots.


Didn't like Aggression, they fish are very aggressive and are always picking fights even with fish much bigger than them.
They are also near impossible to remove from your tank if you so choose.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
May 19, 2010
 
Last updated: May 22, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good starter fish...

Comments I bought one of these to go thru my tank cycle. Has done well. Seems very hardy and not a fish that you will ever need to worry about. Seems to always be swimming in a local area of the tank. Is a little aggressive if you come into that area. Will eat anything that you put into the tank.


Liked about it He does add some flash to the tank. Very hardy and not a picky eater. A good fish for any new tank or someone just getting into saltwater tanks. Cheap.


Didn't like A little aggressive when you wander into his area. Other than that I can't really say anything bad about this little guy.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By deanp88
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

a spotted damsel its still aggressive!!

Comments small fish with wonderful black color and a couple of white spots, easy to maintain, extremely hardy, easy to feed. the damselfish will live in almost any conditions, i actually had one survive in a cycling tank. the only problem with this fish is that its extremely territorial and wil attack most other fish. great beginners fish!!!!


Liked about it -color
-hardy
-attitude


Didn't like -aggressive
-color deteoration over time
-territorial


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nasty Little Fishy

Comments As with any damsel fish they are easy to take care of, easy to feed, fun to watch, hardy fish that can stand the initial cycle of a tank.


Liked about it these fish look cool, they are swimmersand only hide at night or when the lights are off.


Didn't like Nasty toward other fish, very territoral, If i used them to cycle a tank then i would take them out before adding other fish I wanted to keep.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By fchidsey
Nov 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Mean fish

Comments This fish was easy to take care, but i have a Dragon Wrasse, it was still a baby, and i put them together so the dragon wrasse wouldn't be lonely, with my crab, but till one day, i saw the dragon wrasses bones, and i was so sad, i see the crab eatting the wrasse, but i've seen the 2 fish fight, but this is an agrressive fish, but hard to control.


Liked about it Easy to take care, ate anything i fed to it


Didn't like aggressive, other fish scared of it


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By marco
Nov 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

There's a reson why there cheep.

Comments This is a very beautiful fish don't get me wrong. But looks are deceiving! Out of the Damsel fish family this 3 spot is one of the most aggressive fish. They will chase everything in the tank. I had two in a smaller 20 gal tank and both of them chase my baby butterfly fish around nipping at it's fins till one day I woke up to find the poor fish dead. There so easy to care for and eat a hole lot like gold fish! But if you want to have other fish I would say have a tank no smaller then a 55 gal.


Liked about it easy to care for.


Didn't like They are very aggressive. So active that they stress other fish out that fish would be scared to go to the top of the water to eat at the same time with the 3 spot. I had to give this fish away.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By J-LUIS
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great little fish.......mean BIG fish lol.

Comments This is one of the the easiest fish to care for. It eats everything and I have even seen them eat their own poo. When they are little they are laid back and all over the tank. very fast swimming fish. When they are little they are a bit aggressive but hold on cause you have not seen anything yet. The larger they get the meaner they get and quickly can high jack your tank and turn it upside down. they grow like little weeds. I had mine in a 55 gallon and they were all over it. I think if you had a fairly large tank they would still be all over the place.


Liked about it -Nice color and honestly a very attractive fish
-Very hardy and will adapt to a plethora of tank condidtions
-Fun and exciting to watch
-Eats pretty much anything


Didn't like -Aggressive when they mature to the point they will dominate a tank


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By bb0029
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

3 Spot Domino Damsel

General Overall a good and hardy fish. Just be careful with its size and aggression as your hobby grows with tank mates.


Liked about it The thing I like about this fish and other damsels are there ability to cycle the tank, there ease and wide range of feeding applications with no real issues of health. Great starter and through to a permanent tank mate


Didn't like They can get large and more aggressive.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Waynesworld
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

cool fish

General good starter fish for some one starting out but take them out of your tank before you get the fish you really want.


Liked about it looks cool


Didn't like very aggressive


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ldsreef
Jun 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec332