Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.1 (14)
 Add a review

Super Skimmer - Needle-Wheel System up to 65 G

 
Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer 65 gallon by Coralife. Patented needle-wheel system with aspirating venturi creates micro-bubbles to vigorously remove dissolved proteins


Price: $80 to $345 at 4 stores
Searched Super Skimmer - Needle-Wheel System up to 65 G in Reviews
 

 

first skimmer featured

Installation and Operation this is my first skimmer so i dont know if they are all this terrible but it is a pain to set up. it overflowed on me once i thought it was broken in, and water ran down the cord an into my coralife digital light timer blowing it up and burning some holes in my carpet. i have had it set up for nearly two months now and i cleaned it all up and put it back on and the break in period has had to start all over again. the break in period took a week the first time.


Performance vs. Expectations it skims pretty well i guess, it is mainly dry skimming for me when it is turned all the way up. it is really sensitive to water level changes, so when adding top off water you should adjust the flow to compensate for any differences in skimming rate. for the price of this skimmer it is probably better to just save a little longer and buy a better brand that has good reviews on this website. but i can deal with it for now, i have learned how to make it work and adjust it to do what i need it to do


Liked about it it skims dissolved organic wastes lol.... when it works right. it was cheap.


Didn't like its loud. its hard to set up. its a pain in the hindquarters.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By pbrainey
Feb 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Haven't had a problem with it featured

Installation and Operation well it was a little bit hard to install and has some awkward corners directions are of no use so its pretty much going off the picture of the box. once you take it out of the box i would say that just about 75% is already put together just hook the pump and the tubes up the attach it and secure it to your tank or sump and attach the filter box and secure it also and run the return tube into the box and thats about it.


Performance vs. Expectations Well some ppl say this is a crappy skimmer but ever since i have had it i haven't had one filtration problem with it at all since Ive had it its been running great the water volume knob is a little touchy and you gotta watch it if you move it one cm it may cause a overflow that you may never even know about but that goes with all skimmers IMO this model though seems to produce a lot of microbubbles for the 1st month but after that they are minor


Value for money I pd $130 for mine if i could i would take it back and get a different one but i would say that i wouldn't pay over $100 for one but if you can find one on ebay for cheap or maybe one on the reef forum that wouldn't be bad i just wouldn't buy a brand new one its just not worth the price.


Customer Support Haven't talked to them personally but the directions that came with this item were not helpful at all. The directions are only like 3-4 pages long and didn't really say much its mostly just about the warranty on the item so you are stuck putting the skimmer together by the look of the box ( which isn't to hard at least for me)


Liked about it Runs quiet
Has a nice overflow tube connection
Overall nice design


Didn't like Microbubble central
Odd filter box location
Price


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By jamesbooth66
Nov 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Save the Money and Buy a Different Skimmer featured

Installation and Operation To sum up these skimmers in one word I would use cheap. That has a double meaning since it such a cheap and attractive price, but they are also one of the most cheaply made skimmers I have ever seen. I was talked into purchasing mine by a friend who was in the hobby a little bit longer than I was based on reviews he had read and that was a big mistake. I wish I would have spent a little more and bought the Reef Octopus. The plastic of this skimmer is extremely cheap and will crack or break off easily. With limited use my intake tubing connector cracked. The mounting brackets are terrible. The "bubble trap" is a waste of time. The only thing I liked about this product was the detailed directions which made it very easy to put together. However, some of the pieces were a pain to connect and seemed to be off. Flexible tubing for the intake had to be modified in order for me to even come close to connecting the pump to the body of the skimmer. Once put together I was really excited to start this product up, but I was very upset. This skimmer is one of the worst things I have ever tried to adjust. It is nearly impossible to get the right adjustments to the valves to get this skimmer to work right. Either it will pump way to much which will cause the collection cup to fill and then overflow or it won't do enough and you will never get any skimmate out. After about an hour of fussing with the valves I got it in a somewhat manageable setting only to look into my tank and see micro bubble city even with the bubble trap mounted. I let it run for over two weeks which produced very little skimmate and only tons of micro bubbles. My skilter (which came with the tank) produced more skimmate without modifications than this skimmer did as well as less micro bubbles. The last straw was when I came home from work to 1/3 of my tank on the floor from this thing overflowing. The pump is also huge and takes up a ton of room if you use this as a hang on the back skimmer. This thing is better as a sump skimmer. In theory and design it seems like this would be a decent skimmer, but it is too cheaply made and finicky. If you get this skimmer look up modifications to make this better. The only issue is that it voids the warranty.


Performance vs. Expectations I thought that this would be a great skimmer to add to my tank. My expectations were only increased by a friend who kept raving about how great these were even though he didn't have one. So I bought one and was extremely disappointed. The performance of this product is minimal even when it is working correctly. There are much better hang on the back skimmers for about the same price. All I can really say is that I have new friends and a new skimmer.


Value for money This product was pretty inexpensive which only added to my excitement when I purchased it. However, despite this price I would say this product wouldn't have a good value for the money even if it was free. I know it sounds harsh, but there are better performing skimmers that are better made and take up less room in a tank for around the same price.


Customer Support There were so many issues that I had with this product it wasn't even worth calling for support.


Liked about it The price was nice...before I used it.
It was realtively easy to put together and directions were sufficient.
Versatility from hang-on to sump.
It's light weight making it easy to throw into the garbage from a great distance.
Modifications are easy to find.


Didn't like Extremely hard to adjust.
Overflows easily.
Very cheap plastic that is easy to snap attaching pieces.
Microbubbles are impossible to get rid of.
This skimmer is fairly loud.
Water level has to be right on and consistent.
As a hang on the back skimmer this skimmer is massive and takes up a lot of room in the tank and in the back especially with the pump.




Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Guchte22
Mar 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Good inexpensive skimmer

Installation and Operation This is my first skimmer and i have to say this rocks!! It is fairly cheap and preformes very well. Ive never had a micro bubble problem unlike other people. and It skimmes so much, i have to empty it every Tuesday!! The only problem that I've had with this protein skimmer is that every time i add a pre-filter it acts like it is breaking it self in again? it is very strange. but overall i would give this unit a 7 out of 10


Performance vs. Expectations this skimmer preform es exceptionally and helps keep my tank extremly clean, It's price, It's size is perfect for my sump.


Value for money its a OK value for the money


Customer Support no i have not dealt with the company.


Liked about it skimmes ALOT! and it is one of the cheapest protien skimmer on the market, and it has a small foot print in a sump


Didn't like It breakes it self in every time I add a new pre-filter, it can be noisy when first pluged in, hard to tune in.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By turtlesoup23
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Got it on sale, MAKING IT work excellent! First skimmer.

Installation and Operation The directions are not the easiest to follow and I would say that at least an intermediate knowledge of protein skimming (as a process) is necessary to tweak this skimmer into a very efficient machine. Do the youtube homework and mod it up for a nice little machine. Of course that throws the warranty out the window so know that will be your risk.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes, but the bubble volume knob could be more precise. I was extracting dark skimmate in a few hours.


Value for money Yes because as soon as you get into a skimmer using a venturi/needlewheel system vs. an airstone system you are easily looking at $100 + I am very happy with this investment.


Customer Support I have not. Since I used mods, I bet they would hang up/laugh at me.


Liked about it 1. Good power intake with bubble-slicer to increase bubble volume.
2. Large Collection cup
3. Found it on sale for $109 and free shipping!


Didn't like Obviously a product that must be changed from out-of-box state to work as efficiently as the purchaser would hope has some issues. While, this is an adaptable skimmer that can do the job in virtually any system set up.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By mnreefer86
Feb 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

I am happy

Installation and Operation installing was fun just like any new device!


Performance vs. Expectations performance - i can only compare it to a odyssea 75 and its way better


Value for money i feel that it is


Customer Support never - although the place where you plug the airline tubing in broke off so i rigged it - prolly my fault for trying to pull hose off too hard - thinking about replacing that part


Liked about it its big - good visible turbulance - and it works


Didn't like broke inport for airline tubing - kinda pist me off but i cut a hole in the vent for the water intake and slid airline hose in there.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishluv
Jan 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Poorly Designed Skimmer

Installation and Operation Simple to install, easy to operate and maintain... the acrylic appears to be pretty decent quality too. Only problem is, the bubbles are too wet to really pull "true" skimmate. This thing is really finicky to water levels too. Must keep level constant.


Performance vs. Expectations No, it doesn't. It doesn't do anything near what the manufacturer states. I don't even consider that "tea colored" skimmate, skimmate.


Value for money I purchased mine used for $20. I felt that was a ripoff after I saw how it performed. Many mods can be done to improve this skimmer's performance, but you have to ask yourself if it's worth it.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Nothing really. I turned it into a DIY carbon reactor.


Didn't like 1) Loud, 2) Too finicky to water level, 3) poor skimmate production, 4) microbubble city (I wouldn't recommend using it as a true HOB)


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By flipside
Mar 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

well worth the $$ IMO

Installation and Operation The directions could have been a little clearer.
Thankfully it had a picture on the box.
If you want to install it as a HOB style, you will need to do some minor mods.
Seems to be getting louder day by day.



Performance vs. Expectations first night was wet skimming pretty good
day 2 dry skimming or wet skimming fairly well


Value for money I like the price/performance that you are getting with this piece of equipment.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I liked that it had a large collection cup.
It also had easy removal of collection cup, which is a plus IMO.
I liked the fact that it can be used as an hang on unit or in or out of the sump.


Didn't like The picture on the box was more helpful than the directions.
I found way more helpful info on this product online than in the box.
I also don't like the idea of having to do mods on a brand new piece of equipment.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Its an OK skimmer if you’re on a budget

Installation and Operation Its easy to install and operate. The directions are clear and helpful. As with any skimmer, it requires regular upkeep


Performance vs. Expectations Initial I had some issue with this skimmer, as the adjustment valve is kind of touch. However, I got the hang of it and it works well for what I need it to do


Value for money Works well if you're on a budget


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I like the Rio pump - they tend to be dependable

Can be used as a hang-on unit or within a sump


Didn't like Adjustment valve is kind of touch

The unit is loud - I had to put cotton in the air inlet silencer


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Strong cheap skimmer

General I ran this as a hang on the back and I strongy advise against it. It overflowed more times than I can count on my floors. In a sump, its a great product. As long as your water is constant and your using RO water not (prime) treated water, it works great. Pulls a lot of skimmate and will wet skim very easily. The pump is perfectly sized for the skimmer and is easy to clean. The silencer on the air tube does a good job, but gets salt creep in it easily. Overall I would buy another due to its cheap price and great skimming ability.


Liked about it STRONG


Didn't like Overflows easily
Hard to adjust
Microbubbles are hard to get rid of


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fihsboy
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Coralife Skimmer 65 review

General This is my second skimmer and I it has been installed in my sump for over 2 years. I get consistent waste in the collection cup but the performance has diminished over time. I would suggest cleaning the pump every month or two. I have noticed vibration noise from the needle valve in the pump after putting it back together.It takes a while to produce waste if you clean out the main chamber. I would highly suggest that you place the unit in the sump as it will overflow on occasion like most skimmers. overall, I am happy with the unit and the price is right. It does what it is supposed to do. May not be as popular with the hard core marine hobbyist but this is a good product for the regular guy.


Liked about it Small footprint, easy to adjust, stable once it is set up


Didn't like Venturi air inlet chamber gets clogged quickly. initial set up can be touchy.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Invader
Apr 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

pretty good skimmer

General i think that this skimmer has the potential to do better if your willing to do a few mods. For example i made the ID of the venture hole a little large to allow more air in and got more bubble production also did a mod to the needle wheele were i added fishing line to make the bubbles finner. the production valve is a little touchy you have to play with it for a little while to get it were you want it. but over all, for now and with my tank i am happy with it but i dont think i would buy this model again.


Liked about it easy to use and setup at first.


Didn't like had a few problems with it overflowing alot. also small collection cup, and touchy production valve.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Coralife 65 Skimmer Review

General Can be a good skimmer with a few mods. I have all three sizes of CSS skimmers (65/125/220) and they all work relatively well but they all needed a few mods to get them to there full potential.

The 65 seemed to benefit the most from a few mods to it but performs fairly decent straight out of the box.


Liked about it Body can be in or out of sump while the pump has to be in the sump. Allows freeing up the sump space if its needed with room in the stand for it. Lends itself to a few mods fairly well.


Didn't like Hard to adjust with the built in gate valve.
Very finicky with the water level affecting the air draw from the pump.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By OneDummHikk
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great entry level skimmer

Installation and Operation This skimmer in very easy to setup and allows for hang on back or in sump use. It can be hung on the tank or the sump or placed in the sump.


Performance vs. Expectations Needs some adjusting from time to time but over all works great once its broken in.


Value for money Great price and seems to skim plenty.


Customer Support Replacement parts are readily available.


Liked about it Ease of setup
Versatility
price


Didn't like It does need adjusting from time to time.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gouch
Jun 22, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $80 to $345
Compare Prices
at 4 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec4 spec19 spec25 spec26 spec27 spec31 spec35