Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.5 (9)
 Add a review

Super Skimmer - Needle-Wheel System up to 125 G

 
Super Skimmer Needle Wheel Protein Skimmer 125 gallon by Coralife. Patented needle-wheel system with aspirating venturi creates micro-bubbles to vigorously remove dissolved proteins


Price: $142 to $181 at 3 stores
Searched Super Skimmer - Needle-Wheel System up to 125 G in Reviews
 

 

Good Skimmer

Installation and Operation Easy to install, setup quick and painless. Really didn't need to use the manual, cut a dry really. Plug and play, the packaging was great everything was serrated and marked correct


Performance vs. Expectations Performance was good. Loved the east tweak knob


Value for money Well i got it for a steal of a price so yes very good skimmer


Liked about it Easy flow control, The entire assembly is firm and durable able to take a hit imo.


Didn't like I didn't like the micro bubble box it was big bulky and just kinda sucked. Need a huge sump for that one woudent work/look good with that box for a HOB skimmer


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By ExploziveAF
Sep 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

CSS 125

General The only thing I can say that made my CSS 125 considerably better was upgrading to a Sedra 5000 pump.

Word of advice once tuned in turn the pump off or just simply remove the cup. Don't adjust the skimmer to lower the water level or it will take you forever to get it just the way you want it again.


Liked about it Good quality skimmer for a low price, great for people just starting out or people with low bio loads.


Didn't like Skimate clogs in the neck of the skimmer so depending on bioload many cleanings every week might be a must for your application.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

SS 125

General I can't complain too much. These were fairly inexpensive and have lasted me. They do work. If you are like I was (a total beginner in the hobby) then this may be the skimmer for you.


Liked about it I have 2 of these. Both have worked well for me for years. I can't compare mine to other skimmers because I have not used any others but so long as I keep these ones clean, they work. Both my tanks have No3 of zero.


Didn't like These skimmers can be touchy. I recommend "in-sump" as a setup due to the risk of these skimmers producing excess skimmate at different (unexpected) times. I have a lot of issues with the venturi tube getting CA build up. This dramatically reduces the skimmer effectiness.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By danjen10
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Coralife 125 Skimmer Review

General Can be a good skimmer with a few mods. I have all three sizes of CSS skimmers (65/125/220) and they all work relatively well but they all needed a few mods to get them to there full potential. Of the three though, this one is the least of the three when it comes to potential versus size.


Liked about it Body can be in or out of sump while the pump has to be in the sump. Allows freeing up the sump space if its needed with room in the stand for it. Lends itself to a few mods fairly well.


Didn't like Hard to adjust with the built in gate valve. Doesn't seem to perform as well, for its size, as the 65 and 220 do.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By OneDummHikk
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very good skimmer

Installation and Operation Install was a snap break in was quick pulls out a lot of dark brown or black stuff you need an ato system to keep from having to make minor adjustments often.


Performance vs. Expectations It is living up to what i need it for


Value for money Its not the cheapest but it is one of the better


Customer Support The customer service was hard to get a hold of but helpful once you get to talk to a person


Liked about it Works very well with a light bio load on it. minor adjustments if the water level stays constant.


Didn't like Constant adjustments


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By phishdreams
Jul 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Skimmer for the price

General I think this works great for my frag tanks that have a very low bio load


Liked about it Hang on or in sump.


Didn't like Sometimes it over flows for now reason.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By DwightKeenan
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Coralife SS 125 Review

General Wonderful skimmer if you need a hang on back skimmer now but plan on using a sump in the future.


Liked about it 2 things I really like about this skimmer. The pump produces a ton of air which makes for good skimming. The other thing is the versatility of being able to hang it on back of the tank or use it in sump.


Didn't like Very finicky. If anything gets even remotely plugged with saltcreep, the thing is going to overflow. It is also very bulky in the hang on back format.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By luvmylo
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Ok skimmer

General Doesnt skim like I thought it would, but you can do a few mods an you will smooth skimmin. All around not so bad of a skimmer still using mine after a year and had no major problems


Liked about it The price. Can be used internal or external


Didn't like Doesnt seem to work for the size.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By clowninaround
Jun 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good Skimmer for the price

General If you want a good skimmer without the high cost of some of the others on the market try this skimmer


Liked about it I like the cost and ease. easy to clean the skim cup


Didn't like Don't like the air inlet and how often you have to clean it.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By VWD
Apr 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $142 to $181
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec4 spec20 spec25 spec26 spec27 spec31 spec36