Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
2.0 (23)
 Add a review

Aquarium Systems SeaClone 100 Protein Skimmer

 
SeaClone Protein Skimmer SCPS 100 up to 100 gallons by Seaclone. Vortex cleaning action helps keep your aquarium healthy


Price: $64 to $106 at 4 stores
Searched Aquarium Systems SeaClone 100 Protein Skimmer in Reviews
 

 

Decent skimmer at a decent price featured

Installation and Operation Installation was fairly straight forward and simple. Everything fits together nicely and very little effort is required for assembly. The skimmer took about 24 hours to produce any kind of foam but soon began removing plenty of disgusting brown crap from my tank and filled the collection cup about 72 hours later. Not completely silent, but with the noise of other pumps and fans from lights, it isn't really much of a noisy skimmer as other people have reported.


Performance vs. Expectations I wasn't expecting much from this skimmer due to the negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised to find it working quite well on my tank. I have a low bioload and it was still pulling quite a lot from my water, perhaps even over-skimming (adjustments need to be made on my part). So far it seems to be performing quite well with very few drawbacks.


Value for money I only paid $75 for this skimmer and with the performance thus far, I'd say it was worth it.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Skims well on my tank.
Hangs on the back of the tank and is mostly out of the tank and out of sight.
Reasonably priced for those on a tight budget.


Didn't like Pump must be placed in the tank/sump.
Louder than some other skimmers that are around the same size and price (again not obnoxiously loud).
Air adjustment is touchy and it can be difficult to perfectly dial in the proper adjustments.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Ann_A
Apr 16, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

It works but not as well as others for the price featured

Installation and Operation Installation was quite easy, instructions were easy to understand as well. Simple twist-lock connections between pump to siphon to reaction chamber. Simply fit everything up, affix the collection cup with cap, fill the chamber slightly with tank water and plug in the pump.

The pump is pretty powerful and is capable of self priming without having to add additional water to the tank, unless you want to top off your level to keep things up as the chamber will take in about a half gallon of water or so from the display tank.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance wise, the skimmer seemed to do quite well when I first purchased it, pulling out a somewhat acceptable skim-mate. Over time though, the skimmer seemed to loose performance for a some reason I could not diagnose. I tinkered with the air intake line, replace the screw-type air valve on the intake with a brass fitting. Nothing seemed to really work, eventually the skimmer began to produce a very wet skim-mate, although I would see some floating organics in the skim-mate it seems to pull more water out than organics.


After about 2 years of operation the twist-lock seals began to leak, which lead to a replacement.


Value for money Considering the price I paid for this was close to $200 at Petco I thought I was getting a decent product without doing much review on the item. I thought anything better than a nano air-stone skimmer would be much better since I don't have room for a sump with my 28 gallon bow front.

2 year later I replaced this skimmer with an AuqaMaxx HOB-1 for about $180 dollars online and I have been much happier with it as it far out-performs the SeaClone. I don't want to seem biased, but for the price, if you really need an HOB solution I would not consider wasting money on the SeaClone 100 and shop around.


Customer Support Never had to call, just replaced the product once it began to leak at the twist-lock seals.


Liked about it Top three likes:

1. Powerful pump and can be reused for other applications if the skimmer breaks down.

2. Simple assembly and worked well for a "beginner" skimmer

3. Was readily available at the local pet shop which made it a quick buy versus purchasing online and paying for quick shipment.


Didn't like Top three letdowns:

1. Not all self contained, pump must sit in the display tank while a siphon tube transfers water to the reaction chamber. The twist-lock seals are prone to leaks after repeated "break-downs" of the skimmer to clean it. The seals do not seem to be gasketed at all.

2. Pump needs to be placed into the tank meaning that the heat generated by the pump is thus transferred into the display tank easily. Not ideal for smaller reef tanks that need to keep temps swings in check.

3. After 2 years of operation, the twist-lock seal from the siphon to the reaction chamber began to leak which lost pressure to the chamber and required replacement of the skimmer. For the same price I purchased the AquaMaxx HOB-1 which is all self-contained in one HOB assembly with intake and return ports, much better overall design and performance when compared to the SeaClone 100.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Omegaoveride
Jan 29, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

It gets the job done featured

Installation and Operation This is a really easy skimmer to install the instructions where pretty easy to use and it made it a very easy setup the only thing that was kinda trickey was to get your skimmer set right it took a little time to get it right but when you get it to work it works great.All you will need to do for maintenacnce is you will need to clean out the chamber that the foam builds up in.


Performance vs. Expectations For the amount of money that it cost compaired to other skimmers i thought it worked great i am producing so much foam in my chamber you will just have to find out how to get it set right and that will take a little bit of time.


Value for money I tought it was a great value for its money i know that there is better skimmers out on the market but this skimmer gets the job done.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I liked that the set up was really easy and it is a fearly small skimmer and the style of the skimmer is nice looking.I also like that it is a hang on the back skimmer so if you dont have a sump this is the way to go and will work with almost any tank.


Didn't like The only thing i didnt like was that is did take a long time for me to produce foam about 2 months.Also there is a big compoent that does have to be inside your tank that does take up a bit of room.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By gr.dane101
May 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Not worth the money featured

Installation and Operation I purchased this skimmer a week or two after I set up my 55 gallon SW. I was looking for a skimmer that wasn't too expensive, but that would do the job. It was very easy to install, just by looking at the picture on the box. It is a little difficult to get it working at its optimum level. There is a little knob that you have to turn to adjust the water flow. If the flow isn't adjusted properly, you get tons of microbubbles in the tank.


Performance vs. Expectations The performance of this skimmer is pretty poor right out of the box. At first I didn't realize that it wasn't working very well, since I was new to the hobby. After reading other reviews, I realized that I was getting less than 1/4 of skim in a month. I did make a modification to the skimmer, which has helped tremendously. I'm now getting about 1 cup every day to day and a half. I will still be purchasing another skimmer in the future to replace this one, but at least I can make do until then.


Value for money I don't think that out of the box this is a very good skimmer for the price. If I had it to do over again, I would spend the extra $50 and get a better one. As I said, I modified this one by drilling a hole in the collection cup lid and dropped in an airstone hooked to a medium air pump, and it works much better.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it This skimmer is good if you are really tight on money, and can't afford something better. You can make the modification, and it works pretty well.


Didn't like I didn't like the fact that I paid over $100 for this skimmer, and it didn't work out of the box. It's a little loud when it's operating. It also has a pretty large sponge attached to it, that is pretty ugly hanging in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By kjmader
Nov 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Not worth using

Installation and Operation I've used Marineland equipment for many years on my freshwater tanks and I feel they make some pretty good products. This one, however is not one of them! I got mine not knowing any better (alas, my LFS sold me this when I was buying equipment to start up a reef tank; saltwater aquariums is not the store's specialty--although with freshwater equipment, etc. they know their stuff, so I think they were not sure about how well the Seaclone worked either).

It's easy to install, the instructions covered all the grounds.

Maintenance of this thing is a pain in the behind. Apparently, the air valve supplied is pretty crummy, so I replaced that with something better. Even then, I found myself constantly adjusting the air intake for the unit to work properly. This was ongoing for months.

Had no trouble taking it apart to clean, nothing broke or snapped off, and I cleaned this unit every 2 weeks.


Performance vs. Expectations Er....when it's working maybe, so perhaps 42% of the time?


Value for money I frankly don't remember what I paid for this, maybe $149.00. Put it this way, I wound up buying a Remora protein skimmer for $245.00 and wished I'd saved the money I'd spent on the Seaclone to put towards the Remora (which works excellently!)


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it 1. When it worked, it worked pretty well really.
2. No very noisy; pretty quiet actually.
3. Kind of fun to watch the water vortex in the tube (I'm easily entertained).


Didn't like 1. Perpetually having to readjust the air valve.
2. Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of microbubbles.
3. Having spent $149.00 on the thing.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By MichaelJayKlein
Apr 19, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Its ok.

Installation and Operation I find this protein skimmer very easy to operate and I have no issues with the air valve. I enjoy the fact that it can come apart a bit. However It can be difficult to clean inside it. It is a bit noisey but not too loud. Also After a few months I had to reseal part of the connection tubes with a silicone caulk for it was leaking all over my floor.


Performance vs. Expectations It was a bit disapointing that I had to reseal the connection tube.


Value for money It was only $99 so it wasnt that bad of a price so I guess so.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it 1.) it worked
2.) its a quick set up
3.) it was cheap


Didn't like 1.) part of it broke but didnt stop it from working
2.) I wish the air valve was a twist knob and not so tiny
As of a week ago it broke for no reason (does not skim)...


Overall rating:
 
2.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.5

By Dudders
Mar 22, 2011
 
Last updated: April 29, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Not worth the time or money

Installation and Operation installation was quick.
Very annoying o have to constantly make adjustments to the air valve.


Performance vs. Expectations While running the thing was finicky and produced very wet, dilute skimate on a good day. The whole premise that the company seems to be so proud of, that you can see the "cyclone" of air is in fact an indicator that the rest of the water column isn't even exposed to air. The air injection method clearly isn't sufficient.


Liked about it Conveniently small enough to fit into the trash.


Didn't like better control of the air valve
more consistent running
More effective method for air infusion.. the fact that you can see the little "tornado" of air means that the whole rest of the column isn't even being exposed to air.
The pump being in the tank was an eye sore.
The thing constantly pushes bubbles into the tank.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By dgh5
Jan 13, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

I like it

Installation and Operation Easy to install, just put it together and hang it on the aquarium and plug it in. Then open the air valve just enough to force the bubbles down the J-tube. Two much water flow and you'll push bubbles into the tank.


Performance vs. Expectations I'm not one to leave things alone so I tried all the different mods found on the Internet, just Google Seaclone mods. The only one that I found to make a big difference was cutting the inner tube down an inch or two. The skimmer works best when left alone. Takes 3 days to produce a half cup of nasty looking skimate.


Value for money I have a 37 gallon tank with 3 fish, and for what I'm using it for I think it's a good value for the money.


Liked about it Price, simple, works well, easy to clean.


Didn't like Can be noisy at first but after it gets working it quiets down.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Hop Head
Apr 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

OK?

Installation and Operation Very easy to install
Very easy to operate
Very easy to empty
Good instructions


Performance vs. Expectations This item doea perform as advertised.


Value for money Pretty good for the money


Customer Support no


Liked about it The ease to which you can empty it
The ease to setup
The low noise level


Didn't like It is very bad about mircro bubbles. This skimmer will totally fill your tank with them. I had to rig up a catch bowl in my tank to try and keep them in check when I was using this skimmer.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By joschend0325
Mar 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

spend a few more $$$

Installation and Operation The installation is quite simple if you follow the directions. It works good for the first couple of months and then its all downhill. It leaked at the bottom where the J-Tube met the skimmer body right about the 2nd month. After doing several mods to keep this thing skimming, it finally made its way to the local landfill.


Performance vs. Expectations I was extremely disappointed with the decision I made to buy this piece of equipment. The closest LFS to my house is PetSmart. However, this is the only skimmer they carry and it had a cheap price. You live and learn.


Value for money I don't think it is a good value for your money. I just recently picked up the Coralife Super Skimmer 65 after reading some good reviews here on TRT, TheReefTank.com


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I liked the price when I first made the purchase. After getting home and seeing I could have saved a few more bucks online I wasn't very happy as I had already installed it.


Didn't like This product seemed to be very noisy as well. We have our tank set up in the living room and lets just say it was hard to watch a movie without waking up the kids.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By 9erNation
Feb 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Worth the money

Installation and Operation Very easy to install & skims great.


Performance vs. Expectations The performance of this product exceeded my expectations.


Value for money For the money this skimmer does a great job!!! I have had it for 1.5 yrs and have never had a problem. I have to empty the top cup every 2 or 3 days.


Liked about it This skimmer gets a bad rap in the hobby, but all mine has ever done in the 1.5 yrs I have had it is skim the hell out of my water.


Didn't like The only negative about the sea clone is that every once in a while you need to adjust the air valve. It is simple to do and only takes a second.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By sdusky
Jan 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Skimmer

Installation and Operation It was very easy to install but it doesn't work nearly as well as other hob skimmer that you can buy for around the same price


Performance vs. Expectations my expectations were set alot higher when i bought it but it didn't live up to me expectations at all so a few weeks after buying i had to go and buy another skimmer that would get the job done right


Value for money I personally don't think that the skimmer is worth what i payed


Liked about it I liked that it was cheap and easy to install


Didn't like I didn't like how hard it is to get it to even start to do what it supposed to do


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By collin
Aug 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great Start, Slow Finish

General I would not buy this product again. I only deal with hang on back skimmers and this was my second. The products is great at first but the tails off. The seal at the top failed and it was harder to adjust as time went on.


Liked about it This product was very good for the first couple of months (after adjusted).


Didn't like The initial setup was hard to get the bubbles adjusted right. Had multiple experiences with it flooding. Also had a problem with bubbles in the tank.

The lifespan of this product was about 1.5 years and all product stopped, even with regular cleaning.



Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By TheReefer12
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Better than nothing.... but not much

General Like i said, if you can get it for about $15 bucks or for free, its worth it... but i wouldn't suggest paying regular price for it.

It can be modified in a number of ways, there are a few posts on TRT with ideas and instructions, so if you like a challenge, you could tinker with it to make it better.

I had mine in a 30 gallon tank, so skimming was optional at that size, so whatever it pulled out was a bonus. I have bought another skimmer to replace it, but i will clean the Seaclone out and tuck it away as a backup if i ever need it.


Liked about it I got it brand new for way less than half the regular price... so it was not a bad deal for me.
It is powered by a MaxiJet pump.

I have paid more money for worse skimmers.


Didn't like It *does* work, but it needs to be adjusted daily- sometimes hourly, it spills out a lot of bubbles into the display tank and it really isn't all that efficient. It takes a week or two to 'break in', then it peaks, and the peak is not grand.



Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By icebear
Mar 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Spend the extra $$ on a different brand

Installation and Operation Installation was easy...all you do is put it together, stick it in the sump and you're good to go.


Performance vs. Expectations The skimmer was quiet, but very tempermental. The slightest adjustment and it was overflowing.


Value for money It is fairly priced, but not worth the money when you have to upgrade anyways.


Customer Support n/a


Liked about it easiness to put together and install, and quietness.


Didn't like Did not perform to expectations, very tempermental, waste of money.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Sherilw
May 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

I was expecting more

Installation and Operation It was easy to install, and the instructions are kind of helpful. it is difficult to keep right, it has an air intake that you have to fix once a week if not more. other than cleaning, none.


Performance vs. Expectations Not as well as i had hoped.


Value for money It was not for me, i was expecting much more out of it.


Liked about it It was pretty cheap


Didn't like It doesn't work really well
It needs to be fixed because of air intake.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Roflberrypwncake
Jul 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Don't do it

General Nice skimmer at first and skimmed well but after a couple months didn't do anything and made loud noises...kept clogging and wouldn't even skim eventually.


Liked about it Nice and compact


Didn't like Didn't skim worth anything.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By cutietwo
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

skimmer

General for my first skimmer on a 20 gallon it did ok but when i up graded to a 55 gallon it just cant do the job. you can modify it with a needle wheel impeller to get it to skim but it still wont do the job


Liked about it small hang-on or sump


Didn't like it wasn't worth the money


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ldsreef
Jun 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Starter skimmer

General You can make this skimmer work but you have to mod it.


Liked about it It was easy to install could hang-on or in-sump


Didn't like Doesn't skim what is needed. You have to adjust it to get anything out of it


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By clowninaround
Jun 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Don't waste your money

General These skimmers do not produce much skimmate at all. They leak very easily and are WAY WAY overrated. Save your money and buy a decent skimmer instead of doing like I did. I have "inherited" several of these from tanks that I bought and people do not like them. You have to adjust them all the time and salt builds up in the air inlet tube quite often.


Liked about it It was easy to install, and get up and running


Didn't like It was leaky and put a ton of bubbles back into the tank


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By CoonValleyCorals May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Don't even bother

General This skimmer doesnt pull out much, the parts are known to fail or break very easily when cleaning. Youre better off getting a better skimmer used for around the same price, or just saving up for a better one. Don't bother with this skimmer.


Liked about it The price


Didn't like Everything else


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By EndlessSummer
Apr 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Not the best choice

General If it was at least half the price it would be one thing but for the price i expected better.


Liked about it Easy to hook up


Didn't like Leaky and doesn't skim much constantly having to adjust it


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By chatterboxbaby82
Apr 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

A poor design 10 years ago unchanged

General It was my first skimmer and it did pull out some gunk. Having paid a bit more for another skimmer that pulls probably 6x more per week with the same bioload, I can say that it is poor compared to most skimmers. I would pass on this one at any more than half of retail.


Liked about it It was inexpensive and easy to hook up.


Didn't like It is very touchy. It has an air inlet adjustment that has a very narrow sweet spot between not skimming at all and dumping bubbles. It produces very little skimmate.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By jenglish
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $64 to $106
Compare Prices
at 4 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec10 spec19 spec25 spec27 spec31 spec35