Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (13)
 Add a review

AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer with Pump

 
AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer with Maxijet 1200 Pump


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched AquaC Remora Protein Skimmer with Pump in Reviews
 

 

THE BEST IN IT'S CLASS featured

Installation and Operation I really don't know why some people are having trouble with the instructions. It was straight foward. Attacthing the pump was a little tricky. Was careful not to push too hard on pipe. Operation was easy to start. It says may take a week to skim....I got the optional skimmer box also..well 2 and 1/2 weeks went by..then it starting skimming like mad. I have been in this hobby for over 25 years and had several skimmers. This is the one for HOB models.


Performance vs. Expectations I was hoping for the money spent it would skim well and be on the quiter side. That is funny tho...people expect a skimmer not to make noise...they all do...thats how they work. Some tho are quieter than others. This is in my living room and it is quite low as far as skimmers go. This item out perfoms itself. It is well worth the money.


Value for money Yes well worth the money. I have had it running for 6 months now.
I am getting another for my Fish only tank.


Customer Support No need.


Liked about it I like the dark tinted acrylics body to help reduce algae.
I like the simple band around cup for height adjustments.
I also like the easy way to clean the aerator.


Didn't like The skimmer box is a bit difficult to get level. It attaches to the pump with a thumb screw. An overhang type braket would have been better maybe. No big deal tho.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 1 SMART TRIGGER
Mar 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A product that actually does what it says it will. featured

Installation and Operation The instructions that come with the Remora aren't great. I also purchased the pre-skimmer box, and the instructions for that were even worse. Getting the pump into the tube was a bit tricky, and I resorted to using a little spit (gross, but effective) to get the thing to go into place. I am sure it won't come off by accident though. I did need to look up photos on the Internet so I could see which way the pump went, and again when I installed the pre-skimmer box so I could see which direction it should go. Even with the above being true, this was not a difficult piece of equipment to install.


Performance vs. Expectations AquaC, the company that makes the Remora, states that it will begin skimming in a week or so. I was getting useful skimmate in 2 days. There was a noticeable difference in my tank after just a week, and 2 weeks later my corals showed signs of being healthier. I couldn't be happier with the performance. Make sure you don't get the Rio pump with it though as I've read they don't perform as well. The one I got comes with a Maxijet and others with a Mag drive, either of those will be fine, but avoid the Rio. This isn't to say Rio makes bad pumps, it's just the one that comes with some Remora aren't powerful enough to do the job.


Value for money I think it's a fact of live in the reef hobby that any good skimmer is going to cost more than you really want to pay, I paid $160 for my Remora. While there are more expensive skimmers, and cheaper ones, I really feel, after doing tons of research, that the Remora was really worth the money. It looks good, is well built and will last, and performs.


Customer Support This was probably the nicest part of my choice to get Remora. I had a couple of questions so I emailed the company. Steve, the customer service manager, answered my emails. He was able to answer my questions, and was honest about it too, not trying to upsell me on something I didn't need. He ended his email by inviting me to email back if I had any other questions. A couple of weeks later, I did just that and he answered promptly just like the first time. I was impressed. Good service is actually pretty hard to come by nowadays and I was pleased.


Liked about it 1. Fit easily on the back of my tank even though there was very little clearance between it and the wall.
2. Started producing skimmate almost immediately
3. Looks nice with its black color which also serves to keep algae from growing inside of it. Other companies made skimmers that were clear and would certainly cause extra work later.


Didn't like 1. A bit noisy at first. This does die down after the break in period is over. I did create a baffle (easy to do with materials you have around) and that really made it silent.
2. Lacks really clear instructions. Still easy to install though.
3. Pre-skimmer box should not be an extra expense ($24), but should come with it. This box is a must have though so I got it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Workhorse skimmer at reasonable price featured

Installation and Operation The Remora AquaC skimmer hangs on the back of the tank; it couldn't be easier to install. I recommend the optional surface skimming pump housing box to improve function because it skims on or at the surface and picks up more of the protein. Also the other side, overflow compartment, can have carbon in a filter bag added to treat water before it re-enters the tank. The cup is very easy to remove and clean. I recommend the Maxi-jet 1200 pump. One modification makes the pump run quieter: drill holes and use suction cups to hold the surface skimming box. The manufacturer designed it to be held in place by the pressure of a couple of screws pressing against the pump suspended by a hose connection to the skimmer. Using three suction cups holds the box securely and dampens noise.


Performance vs. Expectations The skimmer works up to 30 to 37 gal well; not quite as high as the manufacturer recommends. The suction cups modification (see above description in installation) is an improvement over the manufacturer's design.


Value for money This skimmer is an excellent value especially with the Maxi-jet 1200 pump for adequate power.


Customer Support Not dealt with company.


Liked about it Easy to use. Recommend purchasing surface skimming box then it skims surface efficiently and optional carbon filtration possible. Smaller tank with LR and LS as biological filters can operate with Remora AquaC HOB skimmer (not necessary to have overflow box and sump).


Didn't like User should modify with suction cups the surface skimming box for better support and quieter operation. The band that holds the collection cup in skimming setting position breaks after a little use; however a large rubber band will substitute well enough. Water evaporation is an issue and can expose the pump's intake; recommend using this skimmer with ATO.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fantabulous! featured

Installation and Operation This protein skimmer..
Was literally, the definition of, "Plug 'n Play".
Popped it on the back of the aquarium, plugged it in, and it was on!


Performance vs. Expectations YES!


Value for money Yes, I'm e firm beleiver in "you get what you pay for".
And this is one of those times where you truly do "get what you pay for".
You save a bit of money, compared to other higher end skimmers.
But you end up having to clean more often and maybe not produce as much skim.
But I am VERY satisfied with the price.


Liked about it Started sucking protein with in 5 minutes of putting it in the tank!
Very sleek design.
Pretty cheap.


Didn't like They require some maintenance to keep running at their full.
It's kinda big.
It's also a little bit loud, but I see passed that.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 21, 2009
 
Last updated: December 30, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth 2x its cost

Installation and Operation Very easy to assemble, 3 pieces to put together. One piece is the top, slides into place, 2nd piece is the pump that attaches to the precut hose, and 3rd piece is the main unit that is well built, and black yet easy to see inside.


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is very efficient, but the unit has a break in time of about a week. Microbubbles at start enter tank, but can be reduced with units pre-skimmer box, but not necessary


Value for money Well worth every penny


Customer Support Have not had to, hopefully stays that way


Liked about it I love the form factor, compactness, no tinkering with input valve, plug it in and its good to go


Didn't like Lots of microbubbles at start, directions are pretty awful


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By p3nguin
Jun 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Working well so far!

Installation and Operation The directions kinda suck but its pretty easy to figure out how to set this thing up. I too purchased the pre-skimmer box to go along with it. The break in period lasts a couple of days, but after that its been producing some good nasty stuff.


Performance vs. Expectations I have been happy so far with the performance.


Value for money I did a lot of research before buying this product and I felt it was the best bang for the buck.


Customer Support I have not yet had to deal with the company.


Liked about it 1. Easy to put together.
2. Easy to use.
3. Looks cool.


Didn't like The only thing I would have changed about the item is the instructions to get it set up. Although, it's not that hard to figure out without them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fritos
Jun 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Not Bad

Installation and Operation Its a simple plug and play, but I would use a MaxiJet 1200 to produce better foaming action.


Performance vs. Expectations I was originally told that this was all that I would need for my sixty gallon tank at the time. It wasn't. I've gone through other skimmers, and realized, this protein skimmer isn't bad for what I need from it now. Now it is an HOT on my sump, for light skimming. For that purpose, its perfect. Easy to clean and maintain.


Value for money I thought this was quite pricey, but have been happy to keep it as a backup and bust it out whenever I needed it.


Liked about it Easy to clean. Works sufficiently. Better than any of the junk they sell at pet stores, and quite good enough to compete with all of the mid range stuff from mailorder.


Didn't like If you adjust it incorrectly, its a pain in the butt. The skimmate will overflow. The adjustment screw is worthless. I think the new one is like the CPR backpack with a rubber band. The rio it came with was not sufficient enough. For my sump attachment, I wish it had the option to have the return on the left side of the intake.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By disenchantedone
Apr 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great protein skimmer!

Installation and Operation Very easy to install and operate. Does a great job, especially after I replaced the original pump with a more powerful one.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes.


Liked about it Doesn't break, just keeps running and running. I've had mine for years. You can pretty much have it for life, just replace the pump if the old one goes bad.


Didn't like There's a slight flaw in the design. A tiny hole under the plastic injector screw through which the water runs to the pump can get clogged up sometimes. If you notice that the machine hasn't been skimming lately, take it apart, and unplug the hole with a long q-tip of some sort. It's also a little hard to clean for maintenance, but luckily, it works so good, that you don't have to do that too often.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By juels
Dec 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

AquaC Remora Skimmer

General I have owned about a dozen different skimmers in the past and highly recommend AquaC skimmers. They are reliable and very well built. The main issue that people have with AquaC skimmers is that they under size the pump. All injector type skimmers function better with larger pumps. I generally recommend going one size larger than AquaC recommends on almost all of their units.


Liked about it The skimmer works very well, if you use a Mag 3 pump on it. It is also a very narrow skimmer so you can place it on a tank that does not have much room behind it.


Didn't like The skimmer can be a little noisy due to the injectors and some people complain about air bubbles being produced by the unit. Also, due to the large pump in order to make it run well, it isn't the most energy efficient skimmer.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By pogodzib
May 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Mediocre skimmer

Installation and Operation Pretty much plug and play, very easy to set up


Performance vs. Expectations It skims poorly. I have been running it for over a year now and have never pulled anything but tea colored water. It is loud. It works, but very poorly. It is horribly inefficient. Perhaps if it came with a skimmer specific pump, it might be better. But I think their "Spray Injection System" needs to be completely redesigned.


Value for money very inexpensive and you get what you pay for. There are FAR better skimmers out there for only slightly more money.


Liked about it 1) Tinted acrylic to keep algae to a minimum
2) Decent beginner skimmer for a small tank


Didn't like 1) Wish the pump was external, even though its not a huge footprint
2) Loud
3) Skims poorly


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.5

By chrisfrat
Aug 06, 2013
 
Last updated: February 18, 2014
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Easy skimmer to use

General If you want a set it and forget it skimmer, this will work for you. I probably would go larger than a 35 gallon tank. It keeps up with my 36 gallon tank, but I don't see it doing a good job on any thing larger


Liked about it Very easy to use and maintain


Didn't like It is louder than most skimmers
Rubber to adjust cup breaks after a year of use


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Brocnizer
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

GREAT compact skimmer

General This skimmer is awesome! It pulls nicely, but I feel that the pumps are not enough for it. The cleaning isnt too bad, but if you have big hands it can be a pain. There is nothing to adjust but the collection cup, which makes life a WHOLE lot easier. Set it and forget it. Awesome skimmer, just needs a little more torq.


Liked about it Compact
Black Acrylic
Great concept


Didn't like Underpowered pump
Cleaning of injection nozzle


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great skimmer for smaller tanks

General great skimmer


Liked about it this skimmer is almost 100% idiot proof. attach pump, hang on tank, plug in. also safe from spills that you can get with most hang on skimmers


Didn't like wish they made a multi input version for larger tanks


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Twitterbait
Apr 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec2 spec20 spec25 spec27 spec30 spec35