Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (6)
 Add a review

AquaC EV-120 Protein Skimmer

 
AquaC EV-120 Protein Skimmer


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched AquaC EV-120 Protein Skimmer in Reviews
 

 

Easy Install, Easy set-up, Good Customer Service, What more could you ask for? featured

Installation and Operation I bought the EV-120 which included a Mag-5 pump. I ran a clear vinyl hose to it, made a high chair for it to sit on in the sump as directed in the assembly instructions and finally, added a few inches in the drain line to reach over a wall in my sump to reach discharge area. Cranked the valve to attain required high water mark, set the the air flow and PRESTO! I'm make beer foam in the unit in 24 hours. I don't see where the tweaking complaints are coming from.


Performance vs. Expectations Having never owned a protein skimmer prior to this one I cannot compare this to others but I can say I think this is doing everything its supposed to do with flying colors.


Value for money This is a well built unit, compact and sturdy. All the connections came teflon taped out of the box. all I had to do was read the instructions and decide how I was going to install the unit. Of all the gadgets I have had to buy for this reef tank prodject, this was the easiest to put in and forget about.


Customer Support AquaC has a customer service phone number that IS NOT toll free. That kinda blows but with a cell phone it doesn't really matter anymore. I mean who doesn't get free long distance on a cell phone!

I called them and left a voicemail, I think that thats just the way they operate. I was called back within the hour and asked a few questions about the extended drain line. The represtative told me what I needed to do and with a quick trip to the hardware store I resolved my issue and didn't need to tweak anything in the settings of the pump.... Still making foam like a laundry machine.


Liked about it LIKES:
Simple Installation
Compact Design
Set it and forget it



Didn't like DISLIKES:
Had to make some modifications for splashing
No live answer on Customer Service call
No TOLL FREE PHONE NUMBER for Customer Service


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mpcolson
Aug 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

No complicated parts featured

Installation and Operation Easy to install and once its dialed in it works well, what I like about injection skimmers is that they are very easy to understand, all the parts that you really need to know about are the pump and then you just need to remember to clean the cup and the glass injection piece.


Performance vs. Expectations This product works very well and keeps my tank very clean but at times it seems like it needs to be tuned alot, but if you have the time to mess around with it a little then it's a great skimmer.


Value for money Deffinetely worth it, it skims well and has a small footprint, along with being very simple compared to other skimmers. This skimmer works great on my tank.


Customer Support Have not dealt with the company.


Liked about it This skimmer has a small footprint, it is easy to figure out, and there are no complicated parts. I also loved how it came with a drilled collection cup so that I can just run tubing into a jug and don't have to empty the cup as often.


Didn't like I didnt like how the gate valve is so low to the bottom of the skimmer. If the skimmer is not raised then it can only be in 6 inches of water, but this can easily be fixed by boosting it up with something like a small fish tank or a DIY light diffuser stand.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Can be touchy, but good when dialed in properly featured

Installation and Operation This skimmer is easy to install, and has a remarkably small footprint compared to some of the other skimmers out there. It is simple to operate, though it does take some time fine-tuning the skimmer to get it to skim well. Maintenance is the same as any other skimmer--cleaning the collection cup, cleaning the pump every few months, etc.


Performance vs. Expectations If you have the time and patience to tune the skimmer and are committed to getting the most out of it, it will perform well. Having said that, I was frustrated by the amount of tinkering I had to do with my EV-120 while I owned it. I know many people with AquaC skimmers who find the "sweet spot" and then never have to worry about it again for a long time. Mine, it seemed, needed constant tweaking for some reason.


Value for money I think that with the massive amount of new skimmers that are coming out these days, the price of the AquaC is now quite high compared to the performance you get out of it. However, it's a solid product that is made in the USA, whereas some other skimmers come from China now. So, I think you can get better skimmers from China for less money, but you can support a great company in the USA by dealing with AquaC.


Customer Support I've spend many many many hours e-mailing AquaC while I had my EV-120. The staff was nothing short of incredible with its knowledge of the product. I wouldn't hesitate to contact them with any possible problem if I had one of their products again.


Liked about it 1. Small footprint
2. Gate valve for easy, quick adjustment
3. Short height makes it easier to work with versus other skimmers I've had


Didn't like 1. Was difficult for me to get mine dialed in where I wanted it, and to get it to stay dialed in over time
2. Requires a large pump, meaning more heat is entering the system versus a needlewheel skimmer or other types of skimmer designs
3. The "box" of the skimmer is made out of dark gray acrylic, so you need a flashlight to see inside the skimmer body when making water level adjustments


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By schneijt
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

good skimmer on smaller tanks featured

Installation and Operation This is a nice small skimmer, but I wouldnt recommend it on anything over 75 gallons. Also, the mag 5 pump was still not enough for me, I ultimately jumped to a mag 7 and had better results.


Performance vs. Expectations I was a bit underwhelmed with the performance, especially with the recommended pump size. I'd recommend going with something larger than the mag 5.


Value for money This skimmer is probably a bit overpriced considering the tank size for which they're recommended, but they fit a small space and there's probably a premium to be paid for that. Not my first choice, but I've owned this in the past so I can understand why someone would decide on this skimmer.


Customer Support The manufacturer of the AC line is quick to respond to request for information, and I was very pleased with the amount of feedback they provided before and after purchase. It's a good company.


Liked about it A small footprint and easy to remove/clean the collection cup. I also like the collection cup drain feature, which will allow you to hook up a larger container for collecting skimmer production.


Didn't like over-rated on tank capability, and they require a lot of power compared to some other skimmer styles. Not the best skimmer available, but a decent performer.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Decent little skimmer

Installation and Operation I ran one of these on my 55 gal about a year ago. Its was a decent skimmer once its dialed in. Produces quite a bit of skimmate. The air valve is a little tricky and needs a mag 7 to run it correctly. It has a really small foot print that makes it a very handy skimmer to have. Especially if you sump is on the smaller side. You will have to make a stnd to hold the skimmer up higher in the sump or you can only run 6" of water. It is also easy to maintain.


Performance vs. Expectations It performed about as expected. Good skimmer but will require some fine tuning and a little patience to get it going. But once its dialed in it will really well.


Value for money Its about right. There are better skimmers out there but they are also more money.


Customer Support Have not had to call them.


Liked about it Small foot print.


Didn't like Air valve on it is to touchy.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By robertmathern
Apr 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

AquaC EV-120 Protein Skimmer

General Keep an eye on the skimmer for when it stops skimming. Its time for an adjustment. Use the MAG 7 pump with it, works so much better.


Liked about it Easy to set, Lots of skimmate.


Didn't like Requires to be reset every week.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec2 spec21 spec26 spec27 spec30 spec34 spec35 spec36