Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (7)
 Add a review

Eshopps PF-300 Featured

 
300 gph hang-on-back overflow box


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Eshopps PF-300 in Reviews
 

 

No Worries Here featured

Installation and Operation Installation of the overflow box was pretty straight-forward. This was the first box I have ever installed and it was not much of a problem. There is not much maintenance needed for the overflow. I check on it every now and then to make sure there is no algae growing in the you tube or the box. I'm starting to see a build up of coraline on the tube, to no fault of the design.


Performance vs. Expectations The product does exactly what the manufacturer advertises. When I first installed it and got it running I was paranoid about a siphon break. I am now confident that a siphon break is not going to happen.


Liked about it I like the fact that it was fairly priced, easy set up, easy maintenance and an overall good design.


Didn't like The box that hangs on the outside of the tank could have been made a little deeper. It is a slim design, making it tough to install a standpipe to quiet the gurgle. I ended up going with a Stockman style standpipe. It is now dead silent. If your tank is not drilled and you do not feel comfortable drilling it, I would suggest the Eshopps brand HOB overflow box.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dirtycontour
Nov 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

One of my best investments featured

Installation and Operation Super, super easy to install, just take it out of the box, screw a couple parts together, and hang on the tank, and done! Well, almost. There is a little plumbing that needs to be done, but its really easy, just takes 1" PVC pipe, that can be fitted into the bulkhead without gluing, or leaking. It also comes with directions how to get the air out of the "U" pipe, which I found really nice, even knowing how to do it beforehand. Overall, I an extremely pleased with this overflow.


Performance vs. Expectations Better than my last overflow by far! It does everything as advertised, and is easy to setup and operate.


Value for money Totally worth the money. There are others out there when I was looking for one there were others out there I considered, but through reviews and comments from others out there I decided to go with this over flow, and have not been disappointed.


Customer Support Haven't needed to use it.


Liked about it - Easy to setup and install
- Easy to follow directions
- Could be upgraded in the future by adding the next size up of "U" pipe


Didn't like - Would have preferred a threaded bulkhead
- With big hands its difficult to remove the airline from the "U" pipe
- Went on sale almost right after I bought it, although either way, I felt it was worth what I paid for it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Maverick986
Apr 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very pleased. featured

Installation and Operation Installation was very easy. Nothing really to it. First HOB overflow and getting the siphon started was tricky. It is also quiet loud in its stock form.


Performance vs. Expectations Performed exactly as described. My Mag5 which pumps 300 GPH at 4' is at full tilt and perfectly stable.


Value for money Good value and would buy again if going the HOB route. I chose this over other brands due to price and performance.


Customer Support Haven't had to use.


Liked about it Simplistic, easy to set up and use. Good build quality. I did not have to buy an aqualifter pump just for it. Siphon is easy to start. It is easily upgradable. The PF-300 and 800 are identical except for the siphon tube, replacing the 1.25" U-Tube with a 1.5" U-Tube essentially turns your 300 into an 800 if you ever want to upgrade.


Didn't like Loud without tweaking. I have my tank in my small 10x10 computer / movie room and it was loud enough to bother me watching very loud movies. I soon added the "gurgle buster" mod and it is 90% quieter. The stock tube and foam inserts either had lots of gurgle to it or had a loud whine of the air getting sucked down.

The inside box was also much larger than I expected. Not their fault but I wish it was less of a bulging eye sore.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By ScubaJ
Oct 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

An overflow box that I trust for a good siphon featured

Installation and Operation For the most part installation is easy, it hangs on the tank, and the fittings are really standard stuff.

Super easy to get flowing. I just stuck a small airhose up in the siphon tube and sucked the air out with my mouth. That was it and the thing was off to the races.

After it was running, it just keeps running. I never see air bubbles in the "U" shaped pipe that drains water from the tank into the sump/refugium. This is important because if such bubbles exist, and grow to a certain size, it can cause the siphon to fail which means there is a risk of your tank overflowing on to the floor.


Performance vs. Expectations This product really works well. Because it was so affordable, I worried that it might be a case of "you get what you pay for" but was pleasantly surprised at the quality and performance of this overflow. I did a lot of research before deciding between this and a CPR brand product. I was worried about siphon failure and found several videos on YouTube that showed the CPR product to have air bubbles in the "U".


Value for money This is a very affordable product, $40 new. For that price the product is outstanding, but even for a higher price I would be satisfied with the performance and value.


Customer Support I have not had to use customer support, but did use the company's web site. I did not find it particularly useful. Actually, not useful at all. Best bet for help with this is to use the TRT forums to ask for help.


Liked about it 1. Adjustable intake box.
2. Small footprint on side of tank.
3. Holds its siphon.
4. Very affordable.


Didn't like 1. Pre-skimmer box has only one screw in the middle so to make it level you have to eye-ball it. This is really no big deal but is the only thing I could think of.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 07, 2010
 
Last updated: March 01, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Best HOB Overflow PERIOD! featured

Installation and Operation I absolutely love this overflow. It is super easy to setup. Comes with a 1" bulkhead to connect to PVC. The instructions were simple but easy to follow and use. Operation is a snap and once you get your flow adjusted right the syphon holds perfectly and never breaks, even when the pump is shut off to your system. The U-tube design is excellent and is very stable. I am using it in my system with a Mag 5 return pump at 3 feet head height. I dialed back the pump a tiny bit with a ball valve in my plumbing and have been able to get the flow to a perfect sweet spot.


Performance vs. Expectations It performed exactly as I have read. I was very pleased.


Value for money This is where the PF-300 REALLY shines. For a perfectly functional overflow box WITHOUT having to drill your tank, this thing is priced at a VERY nice $40! It will not break your bank and will work really well.


Customer Support I haven't delt with the company so I honestly can't say.


Liked about it Installation is VERY simple. Just used PVC solvent and connected the bulkhead to a 2" long piece of 1" PVC and put a union on the other end for easy removal from the rest of the plumbing.
* AMAZING price, only thing as good is the LifeReef unit which costs almost 4 times as much.
* Is fairly quiet, just a nice trickle of water is all you hear in the overflow box. I modified the overflow box itself a bit because I have very tiny fish that were swimming through the overflow teeth and riding the waterslide to the sump.


Didn't like Instructions could have been perhaps a tiny bit more clear but the startup information is very simple and easy to get help with online.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Mar 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

great product worth the moeny

Installation and Operation very easy to install. the instructions where easy to read and very helpful.
it hangs on the tank, and the fittings are really standard stuff.


Performance vs. Expectations yes it did perform as advertised and my expectations where met


Value for money great value for the money i have had it for over two years and i only payed 35 dollars for it.


Customer Support I haven't delt with the company so I honestly can't say.


Liked about it build very strong. I did not have to buy an aqualifter pump just for it. Siphon is easy to start. It is easily upgradable. The PF-300 and 800 are identical except for the siphon tube, replacing the 1.25" U-Tube with a 1.5" U-Tube essentially turns your 300 into an 800 if you ever want to upgrade.


Didn't like having to clean the sponge filter every day


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By jdm18
May 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Definitly worth my money!!!

Installation and Operation very easy to install, you just take it out of the box and place it on the back of your tank. though i had the use a sealant to seal around where the water goes in the back. it was leaking very badly. it doesn't come with any piping ti bring the water to the sump. but that can be bought for cheep at a hardware store.


Performance vs. Expectations it does exactly what i thought it would. i was trying to use a pvc overflow but it wasn't working so i perched this at it works great!! it keeps up to my 350gph pump perfectly.


Value for money it was 60$ for me and that was responsible. other ones i saw where 120 and did the same thing!


Customer Support i got this from a pet shop where i live and they were fine.


Liked about it > quick to install
> easy to use
> looks nice in the tank


Didn't like > it is a little noisy
> leaked when i bought it
> doesn't come with piping


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By xxsuperpersonxx
Feb 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec483