Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (9)
 Add a review

Lees Aquarium Specimen Container Small Featured

 
This is a multi-purpose, clear container with a 1 in. wide handle that can be hung on the side of the aquarium to be used as a holding tank while catching fish. As a treatment tank for sick fish, less medication would...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Lees Aquarium Specimen Container Small in Reviews
 

 

Useful, but not the best you could get

Comments I have to admit, I don't care a whole lot for this product. The lid is hinged oddly, so it doesn't open like one would expect, almost like it's backwards, and tends to come off. While it has openings to allow flow, I don't think they are quite well placed as there never seems to be any flow through them. It is a good temporary holding area for loose coral polyps that might otherwise float around in the current but there are better products along these lines than this one.


Liked about it 1. Has a lid.
2. Openings in the side allow it to be sunk without tipping. Nice if you don't want what's in it to escape.


Didn't like 1. Lid fits oddly and comes off.
2. Openings don't allow for as much flow through the unit as I would like if I were to keep something in it for more than a short period.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Multi-tasker

General We used these daily at work for bagging fish. They held up to being dropped (empty) quite well, they were under almost constant use and were dropped a number of times a day onto a tile floor. Even when cracked they were rigid enough to hold a small fish bag full of water and fish. Sometimes a piece of the hanger would break off, but they still were serviceable. The badly damaged ones were often still good for scooping substrate off the bottoms of tanks that were being cleaned out.


Liked about it Crystal clear, very rigid plastic. I once made a pretty decent overflow box with this item.

They lived up to normal expectations and then some.


Didn't like Can't think of any failures due to design flaws or inadequate materials.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

not sure what I would do without it

Comments I use this item almost everyday. I use to acclimate small fish and I also have a side buisness selling snails, crabs and also some cichlids. So my specimen container gets lots of use. I only have one so it takes all the abuse. Its been dropped heated under mh lights and whatever else may happen day to day. Its very durable and just has a multitude of uses


Liked about it built very well can take a beating
*has a number of uses*
great acclimation container for small fish


Didn't like Nothing really not to like. It is what it is


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Simple, good for smaller tanks and fish

Comments A handy device when acclimating small fish or prepping/collecting coral frags, but not that great for much else. A must have for almost all tank owners, though this particular size is a bit restrictive. Consider the larger specimen containers for general purpose.


Liked about it It's inexpensive and terribly handy. this unit is made with quality, too, which is nice (as I've dropped it more than I care to admit).


Didn't like The only complaint about this specific box is that it's a bit small, and the handle may not fit on larger tanks.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good simple product

Comments Great little multi use container.


Liked about it Funny that some other reviewers mentioned catching fish with it. That is exactly what I use it for now. It works GREAT for fish. Many other uses as well. Very nice for acclimating some stuff.


Didn't like Nothing really


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

This is a must have

General There are so many uses for this container its ridiculous. I used mine for when I tested, fed, cleaned the tank, frag, dip corals, and now its current use is an overflow box. My overflow box broke from user error and I had to replace it with something, or no sump. I drilled a hole in this, placed the U-tube in this container, and bam I had a new overflow. Great product!


Liked about it Durable
Many uses
Cheap


Didn't like after a lot of use it is brittle to an extent.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fihsboy
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A Must have Item

General I use this for everything it's a great item. I use to to add fish, to catch fish, to hold corals before fraging, to hold tank items I will need when working on the tank, etc. the uses are endless.


Liked about it You can use it for anything



Didn't like No reason to dislike it


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zero186
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Thoughts on Lees Aquarium Specimen Container Small

General Great item when adding new live stock to you display tank. Lees Aquarium Specimen Container Small is very strong and durable.


Liked about it Great purchase great for floating new live stock to fish to corals.


Didn't like No complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
May 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

This is a must have

General I use one of these containers all of the time.
It is great for acclimating new fish.
Instead of a net, I use this to catch fish. Due to the clear plastic, they never see it coming, they swim right in. No stress. This is how my LFS catches their fish also.
I can place a quarantined fish in the container so I can get a real good close up look.
Hang one on the sump to hold misc equipment.
This is a must have.


Liked about it Everything


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec478