Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (27)
 Add a review

Mag-Float 125 Magnet Cleaner Glass - Medium 125 Gal Featured

 
Glass Only Mag-Float Medium by Mag-Float. Glass Only Mag-Float: Clean your aquarium without getting your hands wet


Price: $11 to $18 at 3 stores
Searched Mag-Float 125 Magnet Cleaner Glass - Medium 125 Gal in Reviews
 

 

Another must have featured

Comments This product does good at keeping the glass clean in wide open areas away from the corners and the silicone.
Like with anything, you need to use it once a week or the algae might be to hard to remove. It will not remove coralline algae.


Liked about it Here are a few good things I liked about this product
1.I like that it has a magnet in it to make it float if they become detached from each other.
2.I like the ability to clean my glass with out having to get my hands wet.
3.I like how it goes around corners making it pretty versatile.


Didn't like here are a few things I didn't like about the product
1.It is very easy to get some substrate between the cleaning pad and the glass.
2.You have to go back and forth several times in some instances


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Feb 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A pain that you can't live without featured

Comments I have used both the mag float and other cheaper products. By far the mag float is worth the money. There are other magnet cleaners that are stronger and probably better but are much more expensive. My tank has a lighting fixture which does not let me easily manuever inside the tank especially when a full range of motion is needed as when cleaning the glass. Between this and the desire to stay dry and salt free, the mag float is indispensable. Where it really becomes a pain though is the fact that any type of hard particle that gets agitated by cleaning the glass can get stuck up under the cleaner and scratch the glass pretty bad. This is especially the case when cleaning near the sand bed. I have several annoying scratches in my tank now, but I still use the mag float, just with more caution. You will also need to scrub the glass with a pad every so often as the mag float will miss some corner and edge areas. Be prepared to clean the outside of the tank after you use a mag float as well since if you get any dirt or water under the outside pad it will smear all across the tank. For everyday cleaning though it is great.


Liked about it Easy to use
cleans soft algae really well
no wet salty hands


Didn't like can scratch glass occasionally
does not remove hard algae well
corners and edges will need to be cleaned separately
smears outside of glass


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Augy
Feb 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I have bought many and will buy more when needed!

Comments I wouldn't go long without one. Cleaning the glass everyday with a handle scrubber takes to long. Now I use these during the week and use the handle scrubber once a week. From the price and the time saved throughout the week, I can't live without one.


Liked about it strong magnets keep it where you want it.
Keeping my hands and arms out of my tank for quick cleanings is great.
The cleaning surface is rough enough to really get into the mess on the glass with just a few passes.
as long as you clean with it everyday you don't have the coralline algae build up to the point you have to really scrub.


Didn't like sometimes it collects sand under the cleaning pad and it sounds like it is scratching the glass, but very easy to clean out the sand.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Spineless
Mar 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

"The" cleaning magnet to buy

Comments This magnet cleans algae well and is not too expensive. I recommend cleaning the outside glass first with a vinegar solution and then using the magnet. This way you have no debris on the dry side of the magnet.


Liked about it It cleans your aquarium glass...It only takes several minutes to clean your entire aquarium...The wet side floats when it becomes detached.


Didn't like You have to occasionally clean the wet side otherwise debris and coraline can build and scratch the glass...Keep your fingers away from the magnet when handling the two sides in close proximity as the magnets are powerful and could pinch you. You should slide the two halves together when placing on the glass otherwise the two sides will slam together. This would not be good for the glass.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By szucchi
Mar 23, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Clean the glass and stay dry

Comments This is a must have for any glass tank owner. The inside glass of an aquarium needs cleaned always but I like to keep my hands and floor dry. This lets you do a quick wipe down without putting your hands in the tank. Now you will still need to a good wiping every other week or so depending on your tank but for everyday cleaning this is the ticket. Also you will need to keep the outside magnet clean or you will have to clean the outside of the glass everytime you use it. The only other thing is you gotta make sure not to get any hard particles stuck between the glass and magnet or you could scratch your glass. Overall though if your careful this will save you lots of time and wet sleeves.


Liked about it quick for doing an everyday wipedown
*Keeps me dry
*strong magnet to clean the glass pretty good


Didn't like got to be careful so you dont scratch the tank
*not perfect still got to do a good cleaning once in a while but that was expected


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Clean the glass with ease

Comments The Magfloat is a cleaning brush that is inside the tank but you move it around using a magnet on outside of the tank. It has preformed better than I first assumed when I purchased it. For $15, this magfloat was well worth the price I paid.


Liked about it The magfloat makes cleaning the tank easy. You do not need to even get your hands wet. This not only is nice for us reef tank owners, but for our inhabitants inside the tank because they dont have our chemicals leaching off into the water. I also like how it floats if for whatever reason comes off. The magfloat is cleans the glass very quick.


Didn't like The cleaner has problems cleaning near the rock formations (obviously) and so it would be hard to clean the glass if you have excessive glass near your front walls. Also it cant clean off hard to clean algaes like coralline. Finally, it may take a few tries to clean the glass (I'm assuming this can be fixed by either a stronger magnet, or a finer scraping pad).


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jerad
Sep 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

a good, cheap cleaning magnet

Comments If you don't have a huge aquarium, or one with thick glass, this is a good choice of cleaning magnet. At a little over 5 square inches of cleaning surface, it should do well on any system about 100 gallons or less (again, assuming the glass is under about 3/8"). It's got a good design and a good size.


Liked about it Two great things about this product. First, it's easy to use and should provide years of service. When the two halves become disconnected, the wet side will float, so it's easy to retain and shouldnt give you any trouble. And second, it's really cheap. At around $10, you'd be hard pressed to find another magnet cleaner that's as effective.


Didn't like The only real thing I didnt like about this magnet cleaner is the strength. For the price, I didnt have terribly high expectations, but it really isnt suited for anything too large. The magnets are not very strong, so don't expect it to outperform and work well on large tanks.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Better for larger tanks than for smaller ones

Comments Unless you have a tank that is so deep you can't get a long handled scraper down there, this product really isn't all that effective. It works great for getting loose algae off, but if the algae is at all hard, you will need a regular scraper anyway. The idea behind this product is a great one, but the force required to get at some algae just isn't available without a handle.


Liked about it 1. Good for daily use and when you are feeling lazy


Didn't like 1. To expensive for what you get
2. Cannot really get the hard stuff
3. Takes up room in your tank because you leave it in there


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Apr 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Can not live with out

Comments These cleaning magnets are indespenable. I have a set of these on every on of my tanks and they receive daily use. I will never own a tank without a set unless i had something really large which required a lot more gusto. Magnivor's are very expensive but they have there place.


Liked about it A great toy for my son. He helps dad by cleaning the tank and keeps him interested.
Good deal for the money, there not expensive and great for the everyday swipe.


Didn't like There not the strongest around and on my glass tanks they could do a lot better job around the silicone. There is always a stripe left in the corners where the outer shell rides up on the silicone and if the scrubber stuck out the sides by an 1/8 or so it would be much nicer.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ANGRY JOHN
Feb 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great For The Price

Comments The Mag-Float 125 is a very good cleaning tool for all aquariums. It works well for tanks up to 1/2" thick glass, but starts to struggle a bit when you get a little thicker than that. You do have to make a few swipes on stubborn algae but it's not too bad once you remember what you paid for it. It is very nice to have a magnet cleaner that floats to the surface when it loses contact with it's mate because no one likes sticking their hand down the tank for simple day-to-day maintenance. Overall, a very good magnet cleaner that definitely serves the purpose.


Liked about it 1) Ease of use, 2) floats if you lose contact, 3) Cheap!


Didn't like 1) Weak magnet so a few swipes, 2) can scratch glass if you aren't careful near the sand bed, 3) starts to lose a lot of performance when glass is thicker than 1/2"


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By flipside
Feb 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good way to keep glass clean, but use it often!!!

Comments I've always liked Mag-Floats, but I will admit that I haven't used any other type of magnet scraper on my reef tank, and as such I don't have anything else to compare the Mag-Floats to. I think they perform well, are priced decently, and who doesn't like keeping his/her hands dry and salt-free while working around the tank?


Liked about it 1. Easy to use
2. Cleans well, though don't expect it to remove coralline or any really hard, calcium-based algae. (Note that you may have to go over the same area a few times.)
3. Easy to remove from the tank--just let the inside magnet float to the surface and grab it (look below, though, for a related dislike, lol)

NOTE: You need to use the Mag-Float on a regular basis, as it can be difficult to remove large amounts of algae from the glass with the Mag-Float if you let it build up over time by being a lazy reefer. :p I use mine ever three or four days, and it only takes a few minutes to get the glass sparkly clean. I was away from the tank for two weeks at one point, and when I came back and had to scrape the glass, it took about 40min for me to get it really squeaky clean. Just a heads up!


Didn't like 1. Sometimes if the magnets get separated and it floats to the surface, it will then drift over to one of my three Koralias that are up near the surface. Naturally, it will then go "plunk!" and get stuck the the Koralia's magnet. This is by no means a problem with the Mag-Foat, of course. Just beware that you need to retrieve the magnet right away or it could float around and it will then be drawn to (and attach to) anything else with a magnet that might be in your tank up near the surface. So, just a bit of an annoyance I've had to deal with, but it's no biggie.

2. The "cleaning" side has very tiny little bristles on it, so you may accidentally get a tube worm's tube or a small piece of sand caught in the bristles, especially if you're trying to clean really fast and the magnet pulls away from the glass for a split-second. You could conceivably get some small scratches in a glass tank this way. Also, it's hard to clean out these little pieces of aragonite sand or tube worms, unless you soak the scrubbing side magnet in vinegar for a while to dissolve the calcium.

3. Hard to clean corners of the tank. There is no such thing as the "perfect" glass-scraping tool for our hobby, unfortunately. The Mag-Flot does great everywhere except the very top and bottom of the tank, and along any possible silicone seams. Those areas will need to be scraped with a razor blade or a sponge from time to time, so you'll still have to get your hands wet to clean to the glass at times.

Having said all that, these are all extremely minor "dislikes" that I have listed, and I will still always be seen with my Mag-Float cleaning my glass every few days!


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Nov 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

"Attractive"

General I have bought one for every tank i have had in the last handful of years. I have never had one break or leak- and i leave them on the glass all the time. The scraper pad can be cleaned off with a regular toothbrush dedicated for that task.
It would be nice if the in-tank half were a lower profile to fit better in narrow places, but it works fine as it is.


Liked about it If you leave it in the tank, you can't lose it. Since it is always ready to use, you will wipe away film algae more often-before it gets away from you.
The floating feature is key, if you pop the halves apart by mistake, you don't have do dive in after it.


Didn't like It attracts children.

They love to scrape the glass with it. Since the scraper does pick up sand easily if you are not careful when cleaning close to the sandbed, the combination of inattentive, enthusiastic kids and a magnet full of sand can be devastating to the clarity of aquarium glass.
This is not so much a product flaw, it is just an unfortunate combination of tendencies.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By icebear
Mar 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

great way to clean your tank

Comments I love how this scraper works and it is a great value for your money it helps keep your walls verys cleans


Liked about it i liked that is was very easy to scrap off the alge and i loved that if floated and didnt sink


Didn't like The only thing i didnt like was that it wasnt able to scrape of coraline of the glass of my tank


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By gr.dane101
May 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Product

Comments Product works great. Makes glass algae cleaning a breeze.


Liked about it Submersible part floats. Strong bristles to get rid of algae. Comes in a variety of sizes.


Didn't like The magnet will lose its strength over time.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ReefClown91
Mar 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

glass wiped glean!

Comments This is an amazing piece of equipment that should NEVER be overlooked! It gets into every single nook and cranny in the glass, and even scrapes of coraline!! (if you get enough strokes on it)


Liked about it Floats, easy to move from wall to wall
magnets are really strong
gets EVERYTHING!


Didn't like should have gotten a bigger size!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Crazy_About_Salt
Jan 28, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Worth every penny

Comments I bought this magnet cleaner to replace the one i had from walmart and i love it to death. Since the one i had originally was not cleaning as well as soon as i got mag-float in the mail i use it immediately. IT only took one swipe to get the glass clean and it is very easy to maneuver.


Liked about it east to handle
stays out of the way
not ugly
shrimp like it


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Miyo
Sep 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Classic piece of hardware essential for aquarists

Comments This product does the job on the soft algaes that grow on the glass. It's easy to use and we have had this one for nearly 4 years. It's super convenient and always handy to do a quick cleaning.


Liked about it Cleans well, easy to use, long product life compared to price


Didn't like catches sand when i get too close to sand bed, needs cleaning for the external part more often than the interior part, doesn't have enough scraping power to remove hard algae growth


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Mag-Float

Comments The Mag-Float is everything it advertised to be. It a very simple product that's very easy to use. Its great I use it every couple of days to keep my aquairum clean of algae.


Liked about it It will not scratch your aquairum glass



Didn't like The magnets could be more powerful


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Needed for algae

Comments Great for the money, keeps your tank glass very clean.


Liked about it It is very durable, has a very strong magnet so it never falls off while cleaning and does a great job taking the algae off the tank.


Didn't like Nothing to complain about.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

This is a MUST HAVE.

Comments Great product. Keep your hands out of your tank. Does a great job keeping the glass clean.


Liked about it Simple
Clean
Does the job


Didn't like Keep clean or it can scratch your glass


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Seaweed88
Aug 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Works great and quick

Comments I leave it in my tank as recommended. It only takes me 2-3 minutes a day to give my glass a quick scrub. I still do my regular weekly cleaning as well but this is great for keeping the tank looking nice from day to day. It's very fast and easy to use. Couldn't ask for anything more.


Liked about it Quick
Easy
Efficient


Didn't like no complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Mag-float

General I like my Piranha much better but the price tag is quite a bit more


Liked about it Float side is easy to retrieve, cleans well


Didn't like Magnets are weak at times, pads need to be replaced often


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Scrapper

General After a year you will need to replace but you cant beat this lil thing it keeps you front glass clean. Great tool!! a must have for every tank


Liked about it It Floats so when parts separate you can easly get them back together. removes algae really easy.


Didn't like love


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great scraper

General Great product just needs to be replaced every so often.


Liked about it Scrapes great, keeps the algae off.


Didn't like The Velcro back kinda loses the stiffness and stops scraping as well as it did before.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

As advertised

General Pretty much the standard algal removal item in the aquarium today. No real reviews to give. Works as noted/indtended. Price could be less but not out of line.


Liked about it Easy to use


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great little cleaning tool

General It's really good for going around rounded corners, and actually cleaned better than my sponge did in one location. I haven't used it long term, but so far so good!


Liked about it I love this thing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mscottring
Apr 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

As Always Mag Floats rock!

General I have 4 of these. They are the best bang for your buck for glass cleaners and they also work well to mount a powerhead to also....


Liked about it These are great
Compact and powerful


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Mar 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $11 to $18
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec457