Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (9)
 Add a review

Aquarium Systems Hold Fast Epoxy Featured

 
HoldFast Epoxy Stick 4 oz by United Pet Group. Fast drying, versatile compound that is easy to use for a multitude of aquarium projects


Price: $7 to $10 at 3 stores
Searched Aquarium Systems Hold Fast Epoxy in Reviews
 

 

The only two part I use.

Comments As long as you make sure that both surfaces are dry this epoxy will hold.In my opinion as with all two part epoxy's I do not use it for soft corals,because as it cures it tends to put off heat which can damage soft coral tissue.Excellent product.


Liked about it Keeps all your SPS and LPS in place.Easy to mix and gives you a acceptable working time before hardening.


Didn't like no complaints.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 03DieselPower
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Doesn't secure corals that great

Comments It isnt too easy to secure corals with this epoxy, if you are trying to apply this product underwater, it will hardly stick at all. If you want to make sure that your corals are really stuck down, take the rock out that you are securing it to and dry it out a little in the place you want to put your coral and then really mold the epoxy onto both your coral and the rock and then stick them both together and wait a minute before putting it back into the tank.


Liked about it When you get it to cure, it is nice and strong and will prevent corals from falling, so there aren't any problems with turbo snails or anything else pushing your expensive corals off of rocks into the sand. Also this product is very easy to use.


Didn't like If you are trying to use it on wet surfaces it doesn't like to stick, so I would suggest drying off both surfaces atleast a little before applying the epoxy and then let it cure out of water for a couple of minutes.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 27, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great stuff to have handy!

Comments Performs well, mixes easily, dries quickly. Good stuff.


Liked about it It's easy to mix and bonds to nearly any dry surfaces. I just recently used it to patch up a tiny leak I was having between compartments of my sump that are at two different water levels.


Didn't like I haven't tried to use this underwater yet, but I think all epoxy loses its "stickiness" underwater or at least in saltwater. So, I'm betting this isn't great to "stick" frags to live rock. Rather, you'd probably have to mold the frag or coral to the live rock in a way that's sturdy until the epoxy dries. Nonetheless, it's a great product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Aug 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very Useful for aquscaping

Comments I used two tubes of this product to construct my LR setup. It gives you ample time to mould and place the puddy into position before placing your rock in the desired position. Great for attaching LPS or SPS corals to your LR. Can also be used to mould your own frag plugs. Create any shape you want!


Liked about it Easy to use. Simply mash the two colors together unil white.
Sets quickly but takes 24 hours to completely harden


Didn't like Liked to stick to my fingers more than the LR I was trying to place it on.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very important to have some around

Comments Just cut off a small section, knead it for a minute or two and your ready to go. It cures underwater. Larger snails and hermit crabs can knock unsecured corals down to the tank floor. This can cause stress and possible tissue damage. Once you use some of this, problem solved.

Its not like super glue. Its not an instant stick.....You need to hold the item in place with some pressure for a minute or two.


Liked about it Keeps corals and rock where you want them
Easy to use
Works underwater
Not very costly


Didn't like No complaints here.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

This stuff is a "must have" for a reef

Comments This stuff worked great the first time I used it. This stuff great and even more, it's cheap!


Liked about it Easy to break off, easy to follow instructions. Sticks well (i used it under water and worked great).


Didn't like It is very white in the tank. Soon my coralline algae should cover it and won't be noticeable , a SMALL price to pay.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By cutietwo
Aug 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Absolute must have!!!

Comments Yes this is a great product. This is an absolute must have for any reefer. I don't know what I would do without it.


Liked about it Dry's solid. Inexpensive. Mixes easy.


Didn't like Sometimes its hard to get it to stick at first.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Jul 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Not a fan

General I have tried using this product on several occasions without much success.


Didn't like Doesn't bond well underwater. Doesn't bond well out of water.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

As advertised

General The proverbial fragging/rock placement tool for everyone in the hobby. Take a small ball from the stick, roll it in your fingers, add a little superglue gel to the top and bottom of the ball and stick it where you want it. Add the second peice of whatever you want to bond and wait for about 3 mins. Now you have one peice. There are less costly alternatives of almost the same product in the glue isle of your local Lowes or Home Depot.


Liked about it Effective


Didn't like Price


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $10
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec468