Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (8)
 Add a review

IceCap 250W Ballast Featured

 
IceCap 250W Compact Metal Halide Ballast by IceCap. Innovative design accepts 250 and 400 watt HQI bulbs for your higher lighting needs


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched IceCap 250W Ballast in Reviews
 

 

really good electronic ballast featured

Installation and Operation I've used this ballast for a few years and have been very satisfied with the results. It does require a little bit of wiring to get it connected to the bulb/pendant you're using, but it's a straight forward wiring job and shouldnt take too much effort. Once wired, it's very simple to operate, as it only has two settings, on or off. You shouldnt have any trouble with this ballast.


Performance vs. Expectations Power output on this unit is very good, it will fire any 250 watt metal halide bulb and you won't be disappointed with the performance. It works very well and should provide you with years of operation. This ballast has met my expectations.


Value for money These are priced right on par with all quality electronic ballasts on the market. It really is a coin toss over which one to go with sometimes, and this icecap ballast is very competitive. It will last you for years and isnt very expensive in my opinion, so it has a good value.


Customer Support Icecap sets the standard for customer service in the industry. I've had to give them a call a few times for various issues, and they've always been very prompt to respond and they do a great job taking care of their customers.


Liked about it This unit has a great warranty of three years. It is also a sleek design and provides great output for metal halide bulbs. It runs at a relatively low temperature and should drive your bulbs well. I'd highly recommend this ballast.


Didn't like Not much to dislike about this product. It's exactly what's advertised and then some. I really can't think of anything negative to say for the ballast or the company.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
May 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The BEST magnetic Ballast out there.

Installation and Operation Installation was a piece of cake!
Simply Plug and Play!
Nice long power and bulbs cords make remote ballast location nice. I located my ballsts in the stand and still had plenty of cord to go!


Performance vs. Expectations when it comes to electronic ballasts IceCap are the best.
Output, efficiency, cool running.


Value for money They are priced similar to other ballasts but with this one you just get the best bang for your buck!
That also have a great warranty!


Customer Support the guys at Icecaqp are great!
I have called them a number of times and they hav always gone above and beyond!


Liked about it Sleek and compact.
Efficient.
Cool operation.


Didn't like I would like a on/off switch on the ballasts.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Jan 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great product for the money!

Installation and Operation Easy to install, you just need to know how to work with some wires. For me it requires no maintenance, just let it run!


Performance vs. Expectations It performs perfectly almost every time, although I have seen it flicker when I turn it on and can get very hot when operating, I would suggest elevating it on something so it gets plenty of aeration.


Liked about it This product works perfectly almost every, it does a great job running my bulbs and is by far the best ballast for your money.


Didn't like Flickers sometimes when I turn it on and it will overheat pretty bad if you don't keep it aerated, to the point where it can almost burn you, so I would suggest running it where it is not reasting somewhere not well aerated.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great ballast

Installation and Operation The Icecap adapter can a be a little tricky to people who aren't the best with wiring.


Performance vs. Expectations I'm a little disappointed it flickers when it starts up, I'm afraid the bulb will explode one day but how violently it flickers.



Value for money Its a little on the expensive side but I cant complain.


Customer Support So far haven't dealt with them, hopefully wont ever have to.


Liked about it Another great icecap product, I bought icecap 660s and both them and these are very nice.
Nice design
Great color over magnetic


Didn't like You need to sit it on something or it becomes extremely hot, I had it sitting on carpet and since everyone i knew told me they ran cool i touched mine and basically burnt my hand. Now its sitting on 2 bricks and runs really cool.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quader94
Sep 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

One of the best purchases for my tank to-date

Installation and Operation I purchased three of these ballasts almost two years ago and they run on a 10 hour photo period daily. The kit purchased included quick-disconnects for my lighting pendants (not included/reviewed) and a long power plug. From the first day these were exchanged for my 250W mogul, magnetic ballasts, coral growth doubled. Coral colors began to really pop and the tank was noticeably brighter. The ballasts run slightly hotter than "warm" to the touch, but only slightly. My old magnetic ballast you could fry an egg on. These are nowhere near that warm during operation even after the 10th hour.


Performance vs. Expectations These ballasts performed better than expected as noted above. I would highly recomment spending the extra few dollars and go with Ice Cap!


Value for money 10/10. You pay more and get more!


Customer Support NA


Liked about it Excellent color; great heat dispersion; great reliability.


Didn't like Price. Again, you get it back in peace of mind however.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Aug 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Excellent Ballast!!!

General This ballast is, in my opinion, the best ballast out there for %98 of the bulbs on the market. It drives them at the rated power and will light pretty much anything on the market. I own 4 of them and they have all worked flawlessly from day 1 (over 3 years of use.) The only bulb I have run across that I don't like on it, is the Radium, but in all fairness, that bulb was designed to run on an HQI ballast... If you are looking for an electronic ballast for any other bulb on the market, I highly recommend this one!


Liked about it Bulb Life, Electricity Usage, Reliability, Quiet


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By dcmartinpc
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The best there is

Installation and Operation Installed as easy as any ballast. Takes very little knowledge


Performance vs. Expectations You can not ask anything more of the product


Value for money With the warranty and customer service behind it it is the best value for your money


Customer Support Second to none.


Liked about it Easy to use
Reliability
Overall performance


Didn't like Can't think of anything


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dnazta
Nov 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Cant beat em

Installation and Operation Easy installation with Ice Cap fixtures, need an adapter cord for other fixtures


Performance vs. Expectations Performs flawlessly, every time


Value for money Best value for the money IMO when compared to other e-ballasts


Customer Support EXCELLENT


Liked about it Ice Cap quality and price


Didn't like hmmm..nothing really


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fat Tony
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec368