Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (11)
 Add a review

250 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - Double Ended - Phoenix

 
Special Promotional Pricing


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched 250 Watt 14000K Metal Halide Bulb - Double Ended -oenix in Reviews
 

 

My favorite of any double ended bulb featured

Comments For a double ended bulb, this one is by far my favorite. I generally prefer using the Radium 20kK bulb, but those are found in single end designs only. This bulb is a little more pricey than competitors, but I find it has a great output, long life, and about the best color I've seen. It's not near as blue as some others in the advertised color range, and I'm very fond of the crisp, white light that comes out of the bulb.


Liked about it The best part about this bulb is the color. Many people claim this as their favorite bulb, and with good reason. I've been using this bulb for about 2 years now on a smaller system for growing frags, and even though the intention is for growth I still prefer to use these bulbs for their color. The output is certainly good, if not great, and I've had good coral response from these bulbs. They're well made and long lasting, I've measured PAR output over time and have not seen significant loss of light output over about a 9 month time period. I'm going to keep firing these up until I have data to support swapping them out, and hopefully I can get another few months out of them before that occurs.


Didn't like Two complaints about the bulb, first being cost. At over $75, these arent cheap. As with most of the trade performed between MH and other lighting solutions, long-term sustaining costs are the biggest hit when using these bulbs. For the performance, I think it's worth it, but it's still something that has to be noted. Second, and this is true of all double ended bulbs, these are not UV shielded. Make certain your lighting fixture has proper shielding in order to properly protect you and your tank inhabitants from harmful side effects of excess UV output.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

there's nothing like it!

Comments Great buld for the price. when i first buld this buld it just hocked me and i'll never go to a different brand again. I don't think XM could compare to the coloration or growth with the same k buld. I was really hocked on XM buld untill my buddy gave me a phoenix buld. just the growth in my corals in a month made me change my mind. I love how this product speaks for its self with a crizp white light and a tint of blue. Lights up my 65 gal to the extreme in color.


Liked about it Great color and para and corals just grow..grow ..grow. Love the color of the blue it just makes my coral stand out and love how it gives a 20k look with a 14k growth. pretty cheap for a MH 250 De payed 55 bucks for it and was well with the buy. The light speaks for its self and will have alot of eyes looking at your corals and fish. My XM buld would never compare to this Phoenix with coral growth. You don't have to run light supplaments when using this buld.


Didn't like wish ive found out about this product earlier.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aquatic-marine
Aug 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice color without actinics, Run on an electronic ballast.

Comments This bulb I really like. It has a very nice crisp blue. Not too blue abut not too white. Running on a Icecap Ballast with Icecap Pendant this bulbs puts out some PAR. Compared to other 14K bulbs this one seems to burn much brighter. The coral/Anemones and Clams really love this bulb. So much color great growth for a double ended bulb I do not think you could go wrong. As long as you have electronic ballasts. I have heard and seem horrible tings about this bulb in magnetic ballasts. Way too blue and very little PAR.

All in all if you have electronic ballasts and are looking for a great but that you do not have to supplements with actinics this may be the bulb for you!

At about $80 it's not to expensive but well worth it!



Liked about it The crisp blue is not too overpowering and is not washed out at all.
Lots of PAR. Tho corals have both great color and growth under this bulb.
Moderately priced. This bulb is affordable.


Didn't like There really is nothing I can say that I dislike about this bulb!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The only bulb I use

Comments I love the Phoenix 14k bulb. Im a bit biased, as I have never used any other bulb! Since 2006, Ive used Phoenix 14K bulbs, first in the 150 watt version and then began using the 250 watt version when I upgraded to a bigger tank. I love the value of this bulb (~$50). Ive always run these lamps on Electronic ballasts and love the crisp whitish-blue that I get. Some say they are too blue, but I love the colors I get with this lamp.


Liked about it PAR - Great output for a 250W bulb. Nice color temperature (higher than 14k if you ask me. Price - Inexpensive bulb compared to some of the other 250 watt lamps on the market. Japanese made.


Didn't like I cannot say anything negative about this lamp.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By MeuserReef
Feb 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Perfect!

Comments Man I am glad they finally added this bulb to the reviews. I cann't say enough. After going three years with various bulbs in the 14/15k range, I upgraded to Icecap 250 HQI ballasts and these bulbs...man what a difference. At the start (first month) they burn in slowly with a deep blue. After the burn-in has completed, they settle into a very nice, *BRIGHT* blue-white hue that compliments my coral and fish colors immensely. While a Hamilton 14K mogul bulb tends to lean towards the red spectrum a little more, the Phoenix bulbs are more blue. Coral growth and reaction has been excellent and in my experience, double that of the aforementioned Hamiltons. I use these bulbs in a three 250W setup over 30 inches of water in a 260g tank. The expected life has been great after a year however, I do not have a PAR meter to compare. Judging by coral growth, I have seen the same growth amount at month 9 as found at month 2 with a 10 hour photoperiod daily.


Liked about it Excellent color; great price; little variance over time.


Didn't like Have not found any yet.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By superwizbang
Aug 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great bulb for a great price

General I run these bulbs on an Aquamedic fixture. The blue color of the 14k kelvin is not overwhelming and looks great. The corals fluoresce quite nicely under these bulbs. I did add an actinic strip just to boost the pop a little more.

I do not have a par meter but I did find an article on another site by Sanjay Joshi that states the par of the Phoenix bulbs decreases over time for the first 2-3 months and then levels off at 75% of the initial par reading. At 18 months the par output was at 70% of the initial par reading.

I compensate for this decrease in par by lowering my fixture a few inches. Although after 18 months I began to feel guilty and finally replaced the bulbs. If I can get my hands on a light meter I will report back with a more accurate statement.


Liked about it I like the color of the 14k bulb
great growth from my coral and clams
I was still getting good growth on 1.5 year old bulbs.
Do not even need actinics as the colors pop with just these bulbs


Didn't like Runs hot but what would you expect from a 250 watt halide bulb? :)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Kyuss
Jun 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Best of both worlds!

Comments I bought this bulb for a frag tank I set up. I wanted a bulb that had a nice blue tint to it but still was white. I must say this has the best of both worlds, low enough kelvin rating for coral growth and high enough for a nice blue tint. I'd defiantly recommend this to a friend


Liked about it Good price
Great color
Nice coral growth


Didn't like The amount of heat it puts off in my Lumen Bright Mini Reflector, but I installed a fan pointing at the water and it cooled it right down, so no complaints now.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quader94
Sep 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Not a great bulb...

Comments I ran this bulb on my 60 cube for a couple weeks. I didn't like the color from the start, but I decided to give it a try to see if it grew on me. It made my tank look like Windex for lack of a better term. Everything looked washed out and it was downright dim to my eye. Much better bulbs out there. It is not that expensive, but for a few dollars more, there are much better bulbs to be had.


Liked about it Build quality was good. Cheap.


Didn't like Color, Brightness, Washed out look


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By dcmartinpc
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice all around bulb

General The was a pleasing bulb, especially compared to the 10k i tried. Based on my research this bulb still seemed to hold its par value while delivery a lot less yellow than something like the XM.


Liked about it Not yellow at all, good par


Didn't like Color seems to shift after 3 or so months of use.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By husky_1
Jul 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great bulbs

General Excellent product. I chose to give it a shot after it came highly recommended on the boards. They were right. Very crisp lightly blue tinted shade color. Very nice. Makes colors pop.


Liked about it Color is great, much nicer than my other 10k MHs
About 6 months into daily use and no problems


Didn't like None


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mjkelly
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Quality bulb, Great Color

General The Phoenix bulbs have been a very reliable bulb for me. The 14k bulb provides a nice balance between coloration and par and my corals have thrived under this lighting.


Liked about it I've been using MH lighting for 10 years and have used many different bulbs over the years. The Phoenix 14k DE light bulb provides a very good balance between bulb coloration and par. Several other brands of bulb have either cracked or stopped working during normal use. With the Phoenix bulbs, I have never had this problem.


Didn't like None to date.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By pogodzib
Jun 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec38 spec60 spec101 spec117 spec125 spec128