Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (16)
 Add a review

Scarlet Hermit Crab

 
Scarlet Reef Hermits are known for their bright red body color and larger size than other "clean-up crew" hermits. They will commonly eat green hair algae and other forms of green algae with ease. Red slime algae...


Price: $14 to $52 at 2 stores
Searched Scarlet Hermit Crab in Reviews
 

 

A great algae eater and one of the most reef safe hermits featured

Comments I love hermit crabs, I have kept them since I was a kid in tanks with nothing else in them but hermit crabs. Many crabs are not reef safe, and even those that are considered to be so can cause problems when the get to a certain size or in a certain tank. These are that way. They are mostly herbivores and detritivores, but if they don't have enough of these they will turn toward other things, like smaller snails. The way around this is just to make sure they are in a mature tank, or that you drop in some algae for them until the tank is mature.

They are great at eating algae. Mine eat hair algae and bryopsis like it's a salad bar.

These are slightly large than other hermits that are generally considered reef safe. Once they get full size they can be a bit more aggressive toward snails and other hermit crabs. I don't know if this is for food, territory, to get a new shell, or all of the above, but I generally remove them from my reef once they get over an inch and a quarter.


Liked about it 1. Nice bright color.
2. Easy to care for.
3. Eats many kinds of algae and some people have reported they eat cyanobacteria.


Didn't like 1. Like all crabs they can be predatory when larger. My solution to this is to trade them off or put them in a different tank better suited for them when they get too big.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Sep 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Blue legs are better.

Comments Semi-aggressive. It will still kill your snails, and nip at your coral. Eats anything on ONLY live rock but diatoms. These ate hair algae quite well. Not really worth it since blue legs are normally the same price and will be just as aggressive. Blue legs will also eat diatoms and clean the sand. They will look absolutely astonishing when the shell is covered with Coraline algae, but so will a blue leg. These are only good if you like red things.


Liked about it No feeding required.
Cleans the live rock quite well.
Nice red color.


Didn't like Kills snails.
Nips at your corals.
Doesn't clean the sand.
Doesn't eat diatoms.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By wtfwheresscotty
Jan 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Not a snail person here!

Comments All hermit crab are extremely easy to care for. You can just drop them in and their off and running. This hc to me is the prettiest of them all. The legs are Bright red and they show up extremely well against your live rock. These hc also seem to be the less aggressive of all the hc.


Liked about it I liked the color the ease of care and just the fact that they are cleaning the tank while the scuttle around.
They do help keep the rocks clean. Their also good at eating food that settles to the btm of the tank


Didn't like I dont trust crab especially when you have smaller or bottom dwelling fish in the tank. They will kill each other for shells but you can avoid that by placing several empty shell in the tank for them to move to as they grow.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By partobe
Dec 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Better then Blues!

Comments Easy as pie!
Drop 'em in your tank, they eat everything that your fish dont!


Liked about it Beautiful deep red color.
Less agressive then blue legs.
Perfect size.


Didn't like Kills snails for their shells.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Kakalakasha
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Awesome addition

Comments These little guys are an awsome candidate for all tanks. They add a nice splash of color to the tank without causing any aggression in the tank and stay at a very maintainable size for any tank tat is 10 or more gallons, they also require no maintenance, just put them in the tank and let them eat algae.


Liked about it Do a great job of cleaning even algaes that most other clean up crews will not eat, such as green hair algae, great color addition to the tank, and has never gone after any of my corals.


Didn't like They will go after snails if you do not have shells for them to move into but so will all other hermit crabs.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Thoughts on Scarlett reef hermits.

General Had wonderful felling for these hermit when i first purchase them, due to eating alot of my cyano I had at the moment. But over all very boring hermit due to they will find a cervice in lr or under a lr(like under the sand)and will literaly be missing for days.(mine chilled with my amphipods)I recommend going with Gulf of Mexico hermit or Left handed hermit(warning they will attack other hermits other than thier kind (has occured twice in my tank scarletts killed and 1 of my big Gulf of Mexico hermits))!


Liked about it Very fast moving hermit with bright red color.


Didn't like Hid(slept)majority of the time


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Dragonist
May 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

good detrivore

Comments though not the worst of hermits, I find almost all crabs to be opportunistic and will attack smaller inverts for various reasons. I don't care for them in a reef tank, but they are active and fun to watch. they're also very colorful, and one of the best at actually consuming detritus in the tank (whereas many hermits are going to look for other snacks).


Liked about it They're a great detrivore, rather colorful and active. At the price, adding a bunch to the tank is typical.


Didn't like As with almost all hermits (and other crabs, for that matter), they're opportunistic. to find them killing snails for shells or going after other relatively defenseless creatures is common, and I've since stopped keeping hermits in my tanks.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good addition to any cleaner crew.

Comments Red leg hermits are really easy to take care of and they dont cost very much. They are fun to watch as they roam about the tank and pick up things to eat with their little claws. Overall I would reccomend that every person in this hobby have some hermits because they are great little cleaners.


Liked about it -Easy to take care of
-Cleans Aquarium
-Low price


Didn't like They arent as attractive as the blue leg hermits but still, they do their job.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Aug 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good addition to any clean uo crew

Comments I usually buy the Scarlet hermits because they do a good job cleaning left over food. And they don't disturb other tank inhabitants. Plus they don't get to large so they can't really knock anything over like some other hermits can do. Not to mention they look really cool.


Liked about it They go after food on the rock and substrate pretty quickly, so it doesn't just sit there and decay.


Didn't like They are a little more expensive than other hermits, but I think they are worth it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Scarlet Hermit Crabs

Comments Scarlet Hermit Crabs are not like other hermit crabs as they are relatively peaceful. This quality alone makes them a great addition to any marine aquarium. In addition to this they are very hard and require minimal care. Scarlet Hermit Crabs also tend to stay relatively small as the only grow to about 1 to 1.5 inches in size – so they should not out grow your aquarium.


Liked about it Will eat almost anything & peaceful


Didn't like Cost a little bit more than other hermit crabs


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

The best

Comments Some people think they can save money by buying cheaper cleaning crews, but i have had turbo snails, narcissus and electric blue crabs, but the only scarlets i have had are the most active and most hardy


Liked about it They are ALWAYS active in the tank and will thrive in basically any conditions if you don't have any predators in the tank.


Didn't like I have never had any problems with scarlet hermit crabs.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rapidfire143
Aug 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great clean up crew addition...

General Great clean up crew hermits...


Liked about it Best hermit for clean up crew, non-aggressive towards other hermits, great cleaners.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

A great and colorful ditrivour!

General I keep a few of these moved in with my blue legs. They seem to be a little less aggressive then the blues but just as effective at cleaning. I do not keep many of them since they cost so much more.


Liked about it Great color
Fun to watch
Great cleaners


Didn't like Price!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
Jul 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Good little cleaning hermit

General Overall this is a pretty good hermit crab. I ended up getting one by accident mixed in with my red-leggeds I bought. Very bright red coloration that looks great. Appear to be mostly noctournal though. Mine rarely comes out during the daylight hours. I will mostly see him out and feeding during the night. I like it quite alot though either way.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Where did my Hermit Carb Go?

General They like to Hide a lot. But I will catch them out every now and then Picking at the sand and rocks around the tank


Liked about it They will help Clean the tank and has great bright red color


Didn't like Ever since I put mine in my tank I rarely seem them.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By zero186
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Nice Hermit

General These guys are the most secretive of my hermit crabs. They spend most of their time hiding and are out and about less often. As with all other hermits they are great scavengers and help to keep everything clean. The red legs are a nice color addition.


Liked about it Good worker
Excellent colors


Didn't like A very shy crab


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $52
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec342