Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
5.0 (13)
 Add a review

Hawaiian Feather Duster

 
Feather dusters are soft-bodied segmented worms which excrete a mucous layer which collects mud and sand creating a fibrous sheath. Their feathery crown serves as a net to gather fine particulate food out of the water column...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Hawaiian Feather Duster in Reviews
 

 

A good addition to any sw tank

Comments Feather dusters are filter feeding worms that make tubes to live in out of sand and mucus, though they don't need to be placed in the sand. These worms aren't picky on light because they don't photosynthesize for food, but they do need at least a little current so as to feed. In newer tanks or tanks that are very clean phytoplankton or some other food source will need to be supplemented. I have to add phytoplankton, and it stinks like a dead skunk floating in a toilet. When buying one of these you should keep in mind that butterflyfish, puffers, and some other fish and inverts will nip the delicate crown of this creature. When this happens, the feather duster has the ability to shed its crown and grow it back.


Liked about it - affordable, almost always under $20 unless a colored variety
-a beautiful addition to any tank
-not picky on tank placement


Didn't like - susceptible to bullying by some fish or inverts
- adding food can be a hassle


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gatorguy
Nov 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Beautiful animal

Comments I love feather dusters because I dont keep corals and these are about as close as I will get to something that looks like a coral. Mine is pink with white stripes and is very stunning. When in all reality this creature is a worm! Every family members who looks in my tank always ends up asking what is that pretty thing waving around in the sand? Feather dusters are fliter feeders so you do have to feed them a special diet of finely chopped brine shrimp and photoplankton.I give mine a direct feeding with an eye dropper once a day. Other than that they are fairly easy to take care of and are a great member to add to a reef safe tank.


Liked about it Beautiful coloring, easy to take care of, fun to watch


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very cool addition to any reef tank.

Comments The Hawaiian Feather Dusters are very cool. They are actually a filter feeder and very beneficial to the aquarium.
With their feather like sweepers they are full of color and add a great deal to any aquariums looks.

Usually placed from and center they do make cool centerpieces. They are very fun to watch as they quickly retract from shadows of fish or just about anything.

I really do live them. They are very cheap. They are hardy and fairly simple to care for and very fun to watch.

If you have butterfly fish Do not get one of these. Butterfly fish eat them!


Liked about it The color these little creatures are just full of color.
Uniqueness. Very fun to watch they are very entertaining.
They are very inexpensive. Usually under $15


Didn't like There really was not anything I did not like about these creatures.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great aquarium animal, but not for every tank

Comments There are several types of tube worms, some are much more difficult to keep than others, so when looking for an easy one, make sure to pick this one and not some other type. There is also no reason you can't keep several of these together. In fact, 3-5 of them look very nice put right next to each other. Eventually their tubes will overlap and stick together so they become a unit so to speak. Seeing several of the crowns open in the same area of the tank is visually appealing to be sure.

There's really only one drawback to keeping a feather duster that any aquarist should know, they are filter feeders. In many, of not most, reef tanks, the water is simply too clean for the worm to get enough food to eat. That means the aquarist must add food to the water column. This is an added and ongoing expense, and it adds nutrients to the tank, which means the tank is no longer all that clean. In a well established tank...perhaps a year old or more, this animal will probably do fine with little or no added food, keep an eye on it to be sure. In a newer tank, be sure to feed it. If you fail to provide the proper diet the worm will slowly starve to death. We all have animals die, it's part of the hobby, but we don't kill them and we certainly don't allow them to suffer a slow death.

Other than the need to provide food for it to filter, which may alter the chemistry of your tank, this is one of the easiest of the large tube worms to keep. They aren't picky on tank placement or lighting.

One last note, check for appropriate tank mates as some fish and other inverts will eat the tube worm!


Liked about it 1. Affordable and hardy. Can keep several without adding much to the bio-load of your tank.
2. Unique animal with fascinating behavior (if I could rank it higher than a 5, I would)
3. Not picky about tank placement


Didn't like 1. Requires either a very well established tank, a slightly dirty tank, or to be fed on a regular basis with a food specially designed for filter feeders (hint: Kent makes a great product for this).


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great addition to reef tank...

Comments I have had one of these and it is still doing very well. Adds a little life to the tank and is interesting to watch when it is disrupted and retreats quickly. Very low maintence. I have had a Copperband butterfly fish nip at it a couple times but no damage. I sometimes look at mine to see how much water current is in that area.


Liked about it Very easy to care for. This is one thing in my tank that I never worry about, it seems to take care of itself. Adds some life to tank.


Didn't like There is nothing really to dislike about these things.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By deanp88
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice!

Comments These are easy to care for and are some of the first invertebrates that make it into the tank as they are not dependent on reef lighting. They filter feed are are very interesting to watch, some may be disgusted to learn that these are actually worms. Care must be taken when trying to move one of these dusters as they can die if they are ripped without care from their holding.


Liked about it Very nice to look at some are very colorful and easy to maintain.


Didn't like Careful to buy a healthy duster look at the bottom of the tube if it looks like it has been handled without care or been recently ripped from its hold buy with caution.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

cool addition

Comments I like this worm because of it's feeding style...only thing i don't like (and it probably doesn't like it either) is that my ocellaris clownfish are always nipping at it making it retract.


Liked about it neat addition, unique look among inverts


Didn't like doesn't reproduce, need to find a safe place for it away from my clownfish


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Best addition to a begginner tank

Comments Both of mine came in on live rock, one was injured and didn't even open when i got it but now 3 weeks later its totally healed. Thrive in any place in tank


Liked about it One of the hardiest living things you can ever have in your tank, they are almost impossible to kill if you ask me. They are beautiful as they wave their feathers in the flow, very interesting to watch


Didn't like They don't grow or multiply fast so you only get 1


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Awesome addition to a tank!

Comments Great filter feeder and pretty much does its own thing. No aggression at all. Grows fairly fast but I think it depends on how well it is eating. Very active as far as opening and closing when it gets spooked.


Liked about it Beautiful addition to the tank. They are incredible creatures. Adds a nice little touch to the tank. Prices are fairly reasonable. Non-evasive and just overall a great addition to the tank.


Didn't like Nothing really not to like about it. The only thing I could see about not liking it is if you just thought the thing was ugly.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Brilliant, colorful addition to a reef aquarium...

General Great reef tank addition...


Liked about it Colorful, cool to look at, filter feeders that are low maintenance.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

kool looking

General Kool in a reef tank and in non reef tank. Easy to take care of


Liked about it There out most of the time and the water is all ways moving them.


Didn't like The color of the brown and white ones.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fuzzybob4
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

entertaining worm

General One of the easier creatures to care for. People are always amazed to find out that its a worm. Everyone loves to watch it retract immediately when its touched. Definately a nice addition. Be aware that some crabs are not compatible with feather dusters.


Liked about it Adds a nice touch to the tank
Filter feeder


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

nice addition

General gets to be pretty big in a well established tank. i only have one but i definitely want to get more.


Liked about it cool little worm, nice color


Didn't like nothing yet.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec343