Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.9 (15)
 Add a review

Condylactis Anemone Featured

 
The Condylactis Anemone usually has a bright orange-red base and long, white tentacles with pink or yellow tips, though color may vary between individuals. Though not usually a suitable clownfish host, it is...


Price: $1 to $15 at 3 stores
Searched Condylactis Anemone in Reviews
 

 

Due to powerful sting, not a favorite of many featured

Comments Even though this anemone is affordable, and easier to keep than most, it is still a difficult creature to keep alive and does require special conditions. It is recommend that the tank be stable for at least six months before introducing an anemone to it. I have found greater success by waiting even longer.

Even though they are Zooxanthellae, they still need to be fed. They take a variety of meaty foods, fresh or thawed frozen foods work great. I have found particular success feeding silversides to my anemone. I feed my condylactis every other day. Different anemone have different feeding requirements so don't get confused with feeding advice for a different anemone, some eat everyday, some once a week. I have found greatest success with every other day.

Lighting is very important and only general rules can be given since each tank is different, but if your tank is 24 inches or deeper the anemone probably won't have success without metal halide lighting or T5's with good reflectors.

Because anemone move there is the potential for them to sting corals. Since the condylactis anemone has a powerful sting it is not recommended to keep it with corals. I have kept a handful of them in a 20 gallon tank with just them and the fish. It makes for a very nice display.

When you purchase your anemone, it will most likely be white or purple. These colors will change as the anemone regains Zooxanthellae at which time it will take on a "dirty" appearance. This is a good thing and should make the aquarist happy as it greatly increases the chances your anemone will live.

I am very satisfied with this anemone, and will continue to keep them in the future.


Liked about it 1. Probably the most affordable anemone on the market.
2. Readily takes a variety of frozen food so live isn't usually required.
3. Does not move around as much as some other anemone species.


Didn't like 1. All anemone are difficult to keep. Your new friend may not make it long if all conditions aren't met.
2. May sting and kill other corals and can catch and consume small fish. This anemone has a very powerful sting.
3. Can grow quite large.
4. Does not act as a host for most clownfish species. I did find my orange skunk clowns (Amphiprion sandaracinos) would host with it, but they seem to host with just about anything.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Happy with my $8 condys!

Comments I have had two purple tip condys for about two weeks now and I have no complaints. I have a 3 month 60gal tank and my boyfriend has a 1 month 80gal tank. I put my condy in my tank and it attached to a rock right away, it must not have liked the flow because it moved into a crack in the rocks. My boyfriend put his bigger condy in his tank but it didn't settle down till the next day, he has a more powerful powerhead in his. Sadly he had to move his condy into my tank because of a bad algae in his in which his verts were getting sick. As soon as we dropped it in my tank it attacked to a rock, actually the same one that my smaller condy had already made his home on so I moved the smaller one since it was already trying to get out of the way anyway. They both seem to be happy where they are. My female clown hosted my smaller condy but the male doesn't seem too interested in it. I currently have a pair of clowns, a six line wrasse, a 3 stripe damsel, a blue velvet dam, emerald crab, sally lightfoot crab, five turbo snails and about six hermits.


Liked about it Pretty white tentacles and bright purple tips, glows green under moon lights
Stay in one area of the tank when happy
Hosted my clown


Didn't like Don't really have any complaints yet.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By EsMimi228
Jul 03, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very happy with mine!~

Comments I have recently purchased one of these and so far -so good. My Clown hosted it right away and loves it to death. I was surprised how fast this little bugger moves though. When I first palced it in the tank it did not seem to like where I placed it and it moved within minutes to the other side of the tank. It seems to be happy where it is at though. I have recently lost another anenome that cost much more than this one -so right now I do believe this one is worth the money. It is also very beautiful with the purple tips waving in the tank. I have a 60 gal tank.


Liked about it very pretty and very inexpensive


Didn't like so far -no complaints~ I just wish it was bigger.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mfrizzelle
Oct 09, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Lovely and cheap but may damage other sessile invertebrates and corals

Comments This anemone is extremely cheap. I got mine for only 6 dollars. The anemone is beautiful and comes in a large diversity of colors. But as any anemone does, the Condy requires certain conditions and if these are not met, the anemone can be damaged. They should have a tank that is at least 6 months old. If not more. Luckily though, they take most any frozen foods. The downside is that they can grow huge and are often many people are disappointed when their clownfish refuse to host. Also, if the anemone dies, remove it immediately!


Liked about it Beautiful with a huge diversity of colors.
Accepts frozen food and does not require live food.
Is very cheap and is rather easy to care for of the species.


Didn't like Clownfish will rarely host in this anemone.
Roams, so people must be careful that it doesn't get too close to corals.
Can damage other livestock in the tank with their powerful sting.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By ShroomDaddy
Feb 08, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

It ended up being a fish killer

Comments As far as an anemone goes this one is much easier to keep than any other one that I have kept. It found its spot in my tank quickly and only moved a few inches evry once in a while. It was very easy to feed as it would eat any particles that came in contact with it from tank feeding and I also spot fed it different foods such as mysis and silversides. After having it in my tank for about a year I had a couple smaller fish come up missing and then one day I seen it grabbing ahold of one of my green chromis. Well after that it was time for this anemone to be moved out of my tank. I understand that this was my experience and not eveybody has this problem but I got turned off by losing $3 to $50 dollar fish to a $5 dollar anemone to risky for me.


Liked about it easy to care for
*very nice flowy look in the tank


Didn't like IT ATE MY FISH


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Dnazta
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I would not keep one in my Reef Tank!

Comments I have had these before and have know others who have had them.
Don't waste your money! yeah they are cheap usually abut $10 and readily available at chain pet stores.
There is a reason they are so cheap and you can get them anywhere. They are one of the few hardy anemones found in US waters.



They move around way too much, sting the heck out of everything they touch kill your fish and 99% of the time will not allow a clown to host them. Clowns come from the pacific and Indian oceans and this anemone comes from the Atlantic!


Liked about it They are super cheap and you can but them pretty much anywhere.
They at times do have some color.


Didn't like They move around too much
They sting EVERYTHING
They will not let clowns host them!


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ckusnierek
May 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I love mine!

Comments I have 2 of these in my 90 gallon tank. They are hardy anem's and are good for a beginner. The two I have are not aggressive at all. They tolerate my fish coming very close without reacting and don't seem interested in any corals near by, although I still keep the corals out of reach. They grow quite well with spot feeding, and it's fun to watch. I have fed mine brine shrimp and currently mysis shrimp. Mine have not wandered at all. Once placed in the tank they found a near by space and it became home.


Liked about it Beautiful to watch with tentacles extended, fairly easy to care for, cheap!!!, they will be the first to let you know something is wrong or off in your tank.


Didn't like I only wish that my oce's would host in one of them...no luck after months & months. If an anemone dies in your tank it needs to be taken out immediately!


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Anemone: Especially in Getting Used to Anemone Care!

Comments This was my first anemone. I had it in an 8 gallon biocube and it thrived. I fed it once every week and the tentacles had some amazing coloration and patterns developing. It was extremely easy to care for and never needed anything special. The only issue I had was the constant movement about the tank. It would situate itself in a spot and stay there for a week at most and then it would all of the sudden decide to move to a new location. After I upgraded from my BioCube to a 29 gallon tank its movement became a large issue as there were many powerheads. I was gone on vacation for a week when it decided to attach itself to a powerhead. When I came back my anemone was gone(imagine jello through a blender) and pretty much all of my fish went with it. So the big thing for caring for these guys is protecting them from powerheads/ intakes because they will move frequently and are in danger of being sucked up any tank equipment. It was extremely healthy while I had it and seemed to tolerate some parameter swings. They also might not host clowns and can sometimes eat some of your livestock.


Liked about it It's an anemone and they are gorgeous creatures!
It was affordable (I think I paid $3 for mine)
Tolerated some parameter fluctuations
Fun to watch eat!
Grew fairly quickly when fed often.


Didn't like It moves a lot and stings!
If it dies in your tank and you don't take it out right away or it goes through a powerhead you better be ready for some major maintenance. (applies to all nems)
Can eat livestock (pretty sure mine ate my peppermint shrimp...I never found him after putting him in the tank with the nem...this includes clowns).


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Guchte22
Mar 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Anemone

Comments Just got one of these last night for my 14G Biocube. I bought it already "stuck" to a nice piece of rock so the lfs threw it in for no charge. Amazingly my false perc clown took to him today already. The reviews about them not taking to clowns is not entirely correct. In the lfs there was a tomato clown that was in it as well. The coloring on the condy is gorgeous with the reddish "sleeve" with white tenticles and purple tips.


Liked about it Hosting my clown within 18 hours of being in tank. Beautiful coloring in both daylights and actinics. Price was great as well to attempt to get an anemone to host my clown.


Didn't like No complaints.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By SubDude
Jan 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Good looks

Comments Doesn't host clowns but looks nice in the tank. I didn't really like this anemone because it wandered around the tank alot and didn't really have a purpose, so I don't think it's worth it to have an anemone for show that will wander and hurt corals.


Liked about it These anemones look nice in your tank and don't get too large. They are pretty easy to keep so I would suggest this anemone to a beginner so that they could get the hang of keeping an anemone.


Didn't like Doesn't host clownfish, and it will wander alot and sting your corals, which is what made me sell mine back.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

I thought it would be easy but mine was a pain.

Comments Easy to care for. Pretty much eat anything you would throw at it. Mine was pretty aggressive towards other corals in the tank. The thing was very active but I have also read that this may be due to it being unhappy so as always do some research before you buy. I would not recommend it in a small tank. Paid $6 for it at LFS.


Liked about it Beautiful white in color with purple tips. Very easy to feed and would eat pretty much anything you gave it. It also did not seem to produce a lot of waste when it was done eating. it pretty much consumed everything.


Didn't like The mobility of this creature was out of control in my tank. It did its daily rounds and was very aggressive to some of my corals. I would honestly do some research, mine might of moved a bunch because it was unhappy. Once it attaches itself to something it has its mind made up.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

"Hardy" Anemone

General This anemone is very hardy as far as anemones go as indicated by it's relatively low price. It can handle being moved from one tank to the next fairly well, but make sure you find it a low flow area to hang out. if there's too much flow it'll continue to travel around the tank until it's happy. i got it hoping to give my ocellaris clown an anemone but it's not a natural anemone for any clown fish. hence, i have a nice hardy anemone with no interest from either of my ocellaris'.


Liked about it hardy, voracious appetite, tolerant of tank chang


Didn't like not a natural anemone for any clown fish


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Salty O'Shen
Jun 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

its worth the money

Comments i bought my condy at petco for $6 and i have a pair of clarkiis hosting it. i would say its one of the easiest anemones to take care and make a excellent addition to your. i have a 55 gallon reef tank


Liked about it cheap
host clowns
pretty


Didn't like moves alot at first


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By johan
Feb 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Cheap anemone

General Sometimes clowns will host to this anemone. A very easy to take care of anemone.


Liked about it Its a cheap an very active anemone.


Didn't like Will move around tank


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By clowninaround
Jun 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Thoughts on Condylactis Anemone

General The Condy anemone is great in my experince. I my aquacultured (tank raise...not taken from the ocean) Maroon clowns took to this anemone. This anemone has a redish orange foot with purple tips on tentacles. I glows a neon green under actinics.I feel this is a good starter anemone.


Liked about it NOt expensive.Beautiful colors under daylight 10,000k bulbs


Didn't like NO complaints!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Jun 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $15
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec341