Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.9 (16)
 Add a review

Bubble Tip Anemone Featured

 
Bubble Tip Anemones get their name from their ability to inflate the tips of their tentacle into bubble or bulb shapes. Tentacle appearance can change dramatically from long with no bulb at all, to short, bubble...


Price: $7 to $46 at 9 stores
Searched Bubble Tip Anemone in Reviews
 

 

Gorgeous!

Comments This anemone comes in soo many colors. The one I have has orange colored tentacles and bulbs. They are very active when first put into your tank, until they find a suitable place to settle. With that said take precaution with any intakes as it can climb onto it and get shredded to pieces. I unfortunately learned that the hard way and would recommend that you have an overflow with sump or some sort of screen over any intakes to protect the anemone from being hurt or killed. I have 1 in a 90 gallon set up and it took him a week to settle into one place where he happily hosts a tomato clown. Will grow faster with spot feeding, just like any other anemone.


Liked about it Once the anemone has settled to his desired home they are easy to care for. Many colors available, a rose colored will cost you 3x more than others. Easy to find at almost any lfs. Hosts many types of clownfish. I love watching my tomato clown playing in it's tentacles.


Didn't like The wandering that the anemone does before finding it's home can take some time and cause some damage. As with the first I purchased, it was sucked into a protein skimmer intake and killed. I now have an overflow w/ a sump and so reduced the danger. It can also harm corals in it's moving process.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

One of a few good starter anemone

Comments This is a good starter anemone, but not for starter aquarists. As will all anemones the bubble tip anemone (entacmaea quadricolor) is for more experienced aquarists. If this is what you are, and you want to start keeping anemone, then this is a good place to start as it is one of the more hardy anemone. You will still need to be concerned about light (not too much not too little), current (likes it), and feeding it (fresh or frozen food).

Two things of note: 1. They move around your tank, so if you have other corals, they may sting and kill them. Because of this, it is better to keep them in a species tank. 2. Not all clown fish will host with them. In fact, one of the most commonly purchased clown fish species, amphiprion ocellaris, does not regularly host with them in the wild. There are reports of them doing so in a tank, but in my experience, they don't.

One final note, BTA are now often captive farmed which means prices have gone down and the impact on the reef is minimized.


Liked about it 1. Anemone like this are beautiful.
2. Readily takes a variety of frozen food so live isn't usually required.
3. Once it finds a place in the tank it likes it will usually stop moving around.


Didn't like 1. All anemone are difficult to keep. Your new friend may not make it long if all conditions aren't met.
2. Still cost more than many other anemone though the price has gone down.
3. May sting and kill other corals and can catch and consume small fish.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By tcamos
Apr 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

BTA Good clown anenome....

Comments I had purchased a BTA before my tank hit the 6 month mark. He secured himself at first but decided to roam after lights out and never stopped for 3 weeks. He did finally secure himself but never really thrived. I think the people saying "easy to care for" have had their tanks up and going longer. It was a beginner mistake on my part. Ended up giving to a friend with a more established tank. I will say that my clown fish took an interest in him almost before the anenome hit the water.


Liked about it -Shorter tentacles that don't reach out so far.
-Clown fish love them
-Adds a lot to the natural beauty of a reef tank
-Inexpensive


Didn't like -Wander quite often when not happy
-Easy to care for, "in right conditions and right tank"
-love power heads. I covered mine with panty hose which had to be cleaned almost daily.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By deanp88
Mar 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Entacmaea quadricolor Anemone

Comments The BTA. I like this anemone for its size and color. I have a Gold Stripe Maroon that hosts it. This anemone seems to do better with a host. I recommend adding this anemone first so it can find its happy place. It will move around until it finds a place where it is the happiest. it must pick this spot itself. So avoid moving it around. It has a moderate sting but can still kill or damage other corals as it moves around. Must have an established system and intense lighting. Very sensitive to change in parameters. They will let you know if something is wrong.


Liked about it Short tentacles and color. Great fun to watch clown fish host and feed it.


Didn't like Mine moved quite a bit . Even with the slightest change in lighting or flow. Can be a nuisance we you are heavily stocked.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Easy to keep

Comments I like this anemone because they do not have long tentacles that will sting corals all around them, and they also do not have very strong stings so they wouldn't really affect corals or fish anyway. These anemones are very easy to keep if you have atleast T5HO lighting.


Liked about it Bubble tip anemones (BTA's) look great, they are easy to keep, and most clowns readily host it. They also won't cause problems in your aquarium because of their short tentacles and weak stings.


Didn't like These anemones are very well known to find their way into powerheads, so you need to have either no powerhead's in the tank or atleast guards on the intake of your powerheads if you want to insure survival.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Needy

Comments When healthy it can be one of the most beautiful piece in your aquarium. It's unique and colorful but i feel that it was needy and required a little more care than I had time for.


Liked about it It's very full and unique and a target for clown hosting. It is also very modestly priced compared to others.


Didn't like For me personally, it was not a great fit in my tank. Although I had 250w metal halides and had it in the middle of my tank with enough flow, it will only thrive under perfect water conditions and it's "hardiness" i feel is slightly overrated. It will not be able to handle mistakes and water chemistry someone who is new to the hobby may make. It hates nitrates, so only add it if you have a fully cycled tank that has 0 nitrates and ammonia.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Rapidfire143
Aug 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

If you have the right equipment, it's a great anem

Comments Bubble Tip anemones are one of the easier anemones to care for. That said, all anemones require high levels of light and good, steady water chemistry. I recommend high-output T5 lighting or Metal Halide to keep a BTA. I run 6 54w high-output T5 bulbs on my 75gal tank, for reference. BTA's can move about the tank until they find a spot where they're happy, so beware that it probably won't stay where you initially put it. Along those same lines, it will likely win most battles with things it comes across while it's moving, so make sure you let it settle before putting anything too close to it!


Liked about it Easiest anemone to care for.
Eats a variety of meaty foods (you need to finely chop them up, first)
Hosts many types of fish (Mine is being hosted by a Tomato Clown)


Didn't like Tends to wander quite a bit until it really finds a place it likes. Even then, it may someday decide to wander again if you change your lighting or flow, or anything else that disturbs its "optimal" place in the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By schneijt
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good First Anemone

Comments The bubble tip anemone (Entacmaea quadricolor) is a great first anemone for those that want to their hand at this type of invertebrate. They tend to be hardier and a little more forgiving than other species. However, that said, you still need to do your research before buying one to make sure your system is indeed setup to provide the proper environment for this species not only to survive ... but to thrive. They require sufficient lighting (T5HO or MH supplimented with actinics) to fuel the zooanthellae and photosynthesis as well as supplimental feedings from time to time.


Liked about it Can be easy to care for if done right.
Great coloration
Can be mobile to ensure they find a spot in your tank they like.


Didn't like Can be mobile to ensure they find a spot in your tank they like. (this means they may sting corals, knock stuff over, and potentially can be a pain if they can't find a place in your tank they like.
Can grow rather large in the right environment so choose to keep this animal with care as they can be very hard to remove from your tank without damaging them.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By drdude05
Jul 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

A great adittion to any tank but beware...

Comments I loved my BTA and so did my clown. The only problem is I have an SPS tank and they like to wander. Stinging my corals.

These guys come in just about any color of the rainbow. The rose is one on my favorites!

They do tend to move and will sting corals that get in their way.
They are a very hardy anemone. Very easy to keep in well lit mature tank.
I would not suggest adding one unless your tank is at least one year old and you have either Halide or T5ho lighting.

I gave this high satisfaction be4casue I do love them but a low on woudl buy again just because of the stinging issues.


Liked about it Very fun to watch a clown host.
Very pretty colors.


Didn't like They can wander and sting other corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By ckusnierek
Jul 14, 2009
 
Last updated: May 28, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

BTA

General I made the mistake of putting a bta in tank that was 5 months old. it didnt eat and moved to the back of the tank where it stayed so i took it back to the lfs. I have too much coral to let an unhappy nem sting them all. I did however realise that one of the issues is that the like to have their foot in a hole so it is safe, exposing only the tips and at the back of the tank it had that. Im considering gettign anemone and clown fish tank in the future. They look amazing just be careful with placement and account for the fact that it may walk off.


Liked about it Colour.
Movement when static


Didn't like Movement.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Easier then others

General This is an interesting anemone. They are relitively easy to care for as opposed to other anemones and some clowns will host them. It is a hit and mis though as my clowns never had any interest in it. They can sting tankmates so be careful about placement and sometimes they will unexpectedly decide to move so be careful. The one I had was happy for months then decided it would like another spot and was chopped to peices by the powerhead.


Liked about it Easyier to keep and some clowns will eventually host is although it is not their natual host.


Didn't like Can sting nearby tankmates or if it decides to relocate.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By quick_murdoc
May 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

easier anemone, but can still be a challenege

Comments A great first anemone, but by no means a starter invertebrate. Does have relatively demanding needs, including light. Not great to keep in stony coral dominated tanks, as they can move around and will damage other corals in short order should they be in contact. Also, if you're hoping to have this anemone host a clownfish, pay careful attention to natural relationships, as not all clowns will always take it as a host.


Liked about it one of the easier anemones to keep in aquaria, beautiful and readily available, may make a good home to a pair of clownfish. They are also commonly known to split as a means of propagation.


Didn't like will move around and possibly damage other tank inhabitants or get caught in powerheads.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Anemone

Comments I like this little anemone it easy to take care of and doesn't roam my tank a lot


Liked about it I liked it a lot bc my 2 perc. clows got right in it the day i put it in


Didn't like I don't like that it doesn't have the bright colors of a carpet anemone


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By collin
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Beautiful addition to a reef aquarium...

General Beautiful addition to a reef aquarium... but should be added by an experienced hobbyist.


Liked about it Beautiful animals, grow fairly quickly in good water/lighting conditions, are easily maintained after they find their "spot" in the tank.


Didn't like Can roam around until they are comfortable, the larger ones tens to find power heads.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Big D
Jul 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

playground for the clowns

General Great anemone my false clowns hosted to it right off the bat i tried several an had no luck. great to watch clowns play in it and fun to feed


Liked about it Easy anemone to care for


Didn't like Will sometimes move around the tank


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By clowninaround
Jun 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

My first anemone

General This was my first attempt at keeping an anemone. After my tank reached the 6 month mark I decided it was time. After a few days in the tank, the anemone planted it's foot and has since stayed put. It took about a month before either one of my False Perc's took interest in it. Now one of them is always "hosting". Watching these symbiotic relationships are one of the best parts of this hobby.


Liked about it Easy to keep
I keep it with PC lights
Inexpensive


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
May 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $7 to $46
Compare Prices
at 9 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec341