Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.1 (10)
 Add a review

Arrow Crab

 
Arrow crabs have long, spider-like legs and a triangular body. They are active and interesting members of a reef community. Often they will roam the aquarium in search of meaty tidbits to consume. Arrow crabs have also...


Price: $5 to $5 at 1 stores
Searched Arrow Crab in Reviews
 

 

Worth the money

Comments This strange looking crab likes to crawl on the rocks and search for food, they will activly hunt fire worms(bristle), and will also pick through the detritus. There long legged stature gives them a daddy longleg appearenc at first glance. can get fairly large, i have seen them with a leg span of over three inches. As long as they are kept well fed are generaly not aggresive, altho will ward off intruders with flailing legs. I have had struggles with bristle worms, and a arrow crab has been an enormous help. With needle like claws pulling the pink bodys from holes in the rock, then picking most of the bristles of and devowering the worm. Have been known to harrass corals on occasion, altho i have also witnest an arrow crab cleaning mushroom polips of debris.


Liked about it 1: Will Eat bristle worms if the right spieces
2: rather unexpensive
3: Stayes out in the open most of the time.


Didn't like 1: Can be aggresive on occasion
2: Is known to occasionaly harass corals.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By MarineDorito
Apr 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Less than impressed

Comments I purchased this crab to help maintain my bristle worm population, though I can't honestly say I've seen it do much more than hide under a rock. It is easy to maintain and doesn't require any additional care outside of regular feedings. Occasionally, I'll see my arrow doing laps around the tank, but other than that I find more enjoyment out of watching the other living creatures in the tank do their thing. I suppose it does help scavenge the substrate, but I think my clean-up crew is a bit more efficient at that.


Liked about it 1. Reminds me of Mr. Bobinksi from Coraline
2. Body structure is very interesting to observe
3. Does help clean up the substrate if you don't have a clean-up crew


Didn't like 1. Watches bristle worms rather than eating them
2. Less active/interesting to watch than other inverts
3. Potentially dangerous to tank-mates


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Kristopher
Oct 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

great scavenger crab

Comments its an easy to care for and very hardy crab, my arrow crab is great at picking up detritus, its a great tank scavenger. they are very cool to watch as they pick up pieces of food and put it into their mouth. they will pick up anything at the bottom of the tank and eat it. when buying one make sure they have both of their front claw hands... given half a chance it will grab large pieces of frozen food and stash it. i have seen it fighting with my coral banded shrimp, actually nipping off part of the shrimps long antennae with it's delicate blue claws before the shrimp retreated and the shrimp is about double the size of the arrow crab. this is with no doubt one of my favorite invertebrates and although he can be quite a bully at times hes very amusing to watch


Liked about it -hardy and easy to care for
-shape
-cleans up fast


Didn't like -aggressive
-would not put him with other crabs and clams
-keep him well fed and he will not mess with your cleanup crew... hopefully


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By gabranth17
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

An awesome, interesting, not reef-safe crab

Comments Arrow crabs remind me of something out of a Tim Burton movie with their long rostrum and spindly legs. They are often sold as reef-safe, but they simply aren't. They have been known to pick coral polyps, eat polychaete worms, fight with and kill ornamental shrimp, and even stab fish with their rostrum. They are best kept in a fish only tank without bottom dwelling fish.

You will hear from people that have kept these in reef tanks with no problem at all, but this is not the rule with arrow crabs. Crabs in general are hit-or-miss when it comes to the reef-safe status but the arrow crab has a reputation of getting into trouble. Still, that doesn't mean this is a species to stay away from, just be aware of the limitations.


Liked about it 1. Very interesting look
2. Hardy and easy to take care of
3. Affordable


Didn't like 1. Not reef-safe
2. Can be aggressive toward other inverts
3. May pick at coral polyps


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
May 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Arrow crabs NOT freindly

Comments This crab does not belong in a community reef tank at all in my opinion. It will become aggressive, eat crabs, snails and even fish. I think it would be best kept in a species tank, but does not merit even that, as it is simply just not cool enough to want to set up it's own environ.


Liked about it Relatively inexpensive. Kind of exotic looking, like a leaf frog or something. Easy to feed and keep. It is a crustacean, and I do have a soft spot for crabs and shrimp and such.


Didn't like It tends to hides a lot by day, attacks tank inhabitants mainly at night. Kills or injures fish in a community environment. I would not get this crab if you plan on adding more living things to your tank.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By gdwats
May 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A funny crab to watch...

Comments I've had one of these crabs in my tank for quite a while. They seem to be good scavengers as I have seen them scurry across the tank to catch a piece of food that got away. It's funny to watch them push fish away that get to close to them. I have provided no special care to this guy and he seems to just take care of himself. He has grown to about twice the size he was when first purchased after 6 months.


Liked about it Provides some intertainment while reef watching. He will eat about anything it seems and is one addition that I do not have to babysit. Good addition to your cleanup crew.


Didn't like Seems a little aggressive but have not had trouble other than the occasional nudge to get a fish away from him. He seems to be more active at night which limits your viewing opportunities.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By deanp88
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Arrow crabs have a great personality

Comments I loved my arrow crab, a very nice addition to my 55gal. Its very active and a bit aggressive. I think you should have at least a 55 gal tank, they can get pretty big. Feeding is easy as they will eat anything.


Liked about it If you want something with personality this little guy is for you. Everyone in my house would gather around the tank at feeding time just to watch my arrow.(seeing the crab come running will make anyone laugh)


Didn't like I dont think that they are reef safe. Mine loved to munch on my xenia and feather dusters.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aarondu
Feb 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

aggressive and territorial crab, add at your own risk

Comments These are pretty common crabs in the hobby, but I've found them to be aggressive (even snapping at fish) and pretty territorial. I don't think they're good additions, especially in smaller tanks, simply due to their aggression and likelihood of going after other things in your aquarium.


Liked about it Good cleaners (almost too good if you don't want them cleaning your live fish!).


Didn't like Aggressive, territorial, and can get a bit large. May eat other tank inhabitants.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

deadly

Comments interesting crab to watch


Liked about it the spider like appearance


Didn't like they kill fish.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By fuzzybob4
Aug 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Arrow Crab

General Beautiful crab would def recommend it for rock cleaning but wouldn't recommend it for tanks with feather dusters.


Liked about it The crab was very active very interesting and def seemed interested in digging in my rock work.


Didn't like I've always heard these crab are reef safe. After just a few min in my tank the crab was having lunch on one of my feather dusters.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By partobe
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $5
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec342