Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.2 (20)
 Add a review

Turbo Snail

 
The Turbo Snail is extremely popular among reef hobbyists, since it quickly eliminates large amounts of nuisance algae. It is particularly fond of hair algae and will consume mass quantities of it and other algae off your live rock and aquarium glass. Also known as the Turban or Top Shell Snail, Turbo fluctuosa has a thick, top- or turban-shaped shell with an irridesce... An excellent member of your aquarium's cleanup crew, the Turbo Snail thrives in crevices and holes in natural reefs. In the home aquarium, the Turbo Snail needs ample hiding places and large spaces to graze. Some reef aquarists prefer to keep the Turbo Snail in aquariums with well-secured rockwork since this active herbivore is known to bulldoze loose rocks in search of food. - - The peaceful Turbo Snail should not be kept with aggressive tankmates that can quickly overcome this slow-moving creature. If algae levels are insufficient, supplement the diet of the Turbo Snail with dried seaweed. Also, adequate calcium levels are required to help this member of the Turbinidae family build its protective shell. Like other invertebrates, the Turbo Snails is very sensitive to copper-based medications and high nitrate levels. To acclimate the Turbo Snail, employ the drip-acclimation method since it is intolerant of even the smallest fluctuations in water parameters. -


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Turbo Snail in Reviews
 

 

Here comes the Bulldozer featured

Comments Turbo snails were the first snails that I placed within my tank. They are large snails that do a great job at mowing down unwanted algae on live rock and the tank glass. These snails will typically hide throughout the day and come out to graze when the lights are out. I was very satified with my Turbo snails for quite awhile. They are relatively inexpensive for their size and cleaning ability and had been doing a great job. As with all snails/ invertebrates they need to be acclimated slowly since they are sensitive to quick changes in water parameters. Overtime however I started to see the these guys were kind of pains. They are really large and will bulldoze their way around the tank with little care for anything that is in their path. I have turned my lights on in the morning to many corals and rocks tipped over and moved because of these tanks. Also do to their size these guys can't get into small crevices or holes to clean which is typically where a lot of detritus builds up. I have had some attempt to go into smaller holes only to get stuck. Since these guys like to hide during the day they always wander to places where they can't be seen. Typically it is in these places that they fall off the rock upside down and end up dying because I can't find them. Due to their large size, when they die they pollute the tank and raise nitrates drastically. I had to take apart my whole reef tank to find mine. I found three of them in the most hard to reach places upside down and dead. When I took them out it was the worst smell ever. IMO these snails are better for larger aquariums where they can roam and munch on an endless supply of food and algae. Larger aquariums also provide more stability which is a must for these inverts as they can die from even the smallest fluctuations in water conditions. Their deaths in larger aquariums will also cause less of a disturbance in larger aquariums. I prefer smaller snails such as astrea snails because they can't bulldoze corals, are small enough to get into tight places, do a great job cleaning, and won't pollute the tank if they die. Since these guys have such voracious appetites supplementing their diet with algae sheets is a good idea. Also, if you notice these guys continually falling off the rocks or glass, it is best to take them out so they don't die in a hard to reach place.


Liked about it These snails do a great job cleaning around the tank.
Voracious appetite.
You can get many hitchhikers on their shells like barnacles or limpets.
They have unique shell colors and can be attractive for a snail.


Didn't like They bulldoze corals and basically anything in their way.
Turbo snails fall frequently.
You constantly have to turn them over as they are incapable of doing it themselves.
They hide and find the most inaccessible locations to fall and then die; thus polluting the tank.
They are better for large tanks where their deaths won't be such a big deal.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Guchte22
Mar 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice little cleaner

Comments I have always liked having a Turbo snail or two in my systems, not to do my cleaning for me but to add life and it seems my children like Snails and crabs the Best. They are always on the Move constantly looking for Grazing Grounds.
And can get to places that you can not do so easily.


Liked about it I like having a big snail in the tank, its a good conversation piece for non aquarists.
They will eat stuff you cant see, such as Film Algae.
I really like when there shell's become Identical to the color and texture of your Live Rock.


Didn't like They are big and if you do not have your Corals and Rocks secure they don't mind knocking them over.
They tolerate cooler temperatures than most common Reef setups.
They do generate a lot of waste that needs to be cleaned in order to keep it from decaying and adding nutrient to your system.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Treasures of the
Jan 09, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Definitely good for algae problems

Comments I bought some of these turbos today and I was amazed at how they could eat so much algae in such a small period of time. These voracious eaters eat algae day and night so then you don't need to worry about your algae problems.


Liked about it I loved how they ate my algae so fast and left no algae in the tank. They are completely excellent for making a clean up crew and I would recommend these to people with algae problems. They also clean your glass so then you can showcase your aquarium without the fear of having algae all over your glass.


Didn't like I didn't like how when the turbos would die without my noticing. They would be like nitrate factories and I would have to take them out. They also cannot or have a great difficulty getting backup when they fall down.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Silentdea
Mar 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

speedy eater

Comments Big part in a clean up crew. these guys will do anything to get to the algae they want which means if your coral is next to a nice peice they want they will knock it over to get to it or damage it. very active snail that will get the job done but these snails will starve them self's cause they algae so fast there's no time for the plant to grow to fuel the snails needs. so when buying these snails i'd recomend 1 snail per ever 20 gals so there not competing with food.


Liked about it will eat every kind of algae. very fast at cleaning up rocks and glass. will never stop eating algae and its very fast at doing so.


Didn't like loves to knock over stuff. can't up right its self if tipped over and if it dies and not found in tank it could wipe out your system. will eat coral line if other algae's aren't present.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By aquatic-marine
Aug 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Nice large snail that eats algae but not for every tank

Comments Many aquarists include the turbo snail in their clean up crews because they are such prolific algae grazers, including the dreaded hair algae. However, this snail isn't for every tank. Many tanks do not have enough algae to satisfy the snail's voracious appetite and an aquarist may end up having to feed what should be cleaning up. Due to their large size, and propensity to crawl between rocks to get a meal, they can do quite a number on your aquascaping, knocking rocks about and sometimes causing damage to corals in the process.

Turbo snails are slow moving and can easily fall prey to hunters so be careful what you stock them with.

As with all invertebrates I suggest a drip acclimation of at least 30 minutes to an hour depending on what salinity level they are coming from.


Liked about it 1. Good algae eaters
2. Large and impressive snail with interesting coloration and morphology


Didn't like 1. Can run out of food in a smaller or well maintained tank
2. Can cause landslides by pushing on rocks to get to algae.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By tcamos
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Better glue your corals in place.

Comments I have tried these guys on a few occasions and always get fed up with all the dead corals!
The will knock a $50 SPS frag into a brain coral and guess who is always going to win that battle.
With that aside they are GREAT for algae control. They have a voracious appetite and are one of the few snails that will consume turf algae. they are cheap. About $5 each and they are usually LARGE. I wish I could get some babies maybe 1/4" in size that would be ideal for me. then just give them away once they get too big.

For me that are actually about the only think I have ever had a problem keeping. about 1/2 of them always die within a few days and if not attended to quickly could make a huge mess of your tank.


Liked about it They are great algae munchers.
Their shell is actually very pretty
The are inexpensive.


Didn't like The will knock over every single coral in your tank and they are very fast movers. For snail that is.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ckusnierek
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Clean decently....

Comments There is nothing to do in terms of care for the snails other than put them in and let them go to work. They are constantly moving about eating up any algae on rocks, substrate, or the glass. They even crawl on top of another and clean each others shells. I have 5 of them in a 90 gallon tank and they keep it very well groomed. The only problem is they are sure to do rearranging if rocks or frags are not secure. They do not harm or bother any of my corals or anems, except my elegance. If one touches it, which is done just in passing by, the coral will close up for a few minutes until the snail is gone.


Liked about it They are always on the move and eating up everything, virtually no care needed they take care of themselves, don't harm any of the corals in my tank. They are also very cheap!


Didn't like Because of their constant movement they can and will knock over unsecured lr or frags you may have in the tank. Be sure that when placing lr in the tank it is firmly in place and glue/apoxy frags to a rock to prevent them from being knocked over. If you end up with a severe algae problem these guys aren't going to be able to keep up, you will need additional back up.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Sherilw
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

must have

Comments In every tank I have ever set up and started running, this is always the first thing I buy after water and live rock. They are constantly on the move looking for their next bite to eat. They graze off of the live rock, the glass, and all your powerheads and whatever other pieces of equipment you have in your aquarium.


Liked about it here are a few things I like about my turbo snails:
1. they are always on the move and cleaning everything in their path
2. keep the surface of my equipment clean
3. they help seed your tank with coralline


Didn't like I look at my tank everyday when I wake up or when I walk in the door. Having said that, you have to keep a keen eye out for these guys and see if one has tipped over or fell over. If they are laying on their back, there's a good chance that you will need to turn them up right, because they are unable to do so by themselves. If they die in your tank, they can run your parameters in the wrong direction, and quick like.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 9erNation
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A MUST have for every tank!!

Comments We added these guys wen we were having trouble getting rid of brown algae on our glass and rocks. We put two in our 90 gallon; one went one way and one went the other way and we literally watched the algae disappear! The algae on the glass along the sand bed was gone! We have since added more of these 'bulldozers' to both our tanks. I really wish we had gotten these in the beginning, like after the tank cycled and all that brown algae was everywhere! It would have been gone in no time! A MUST HAVE in every tank and a great addition to your cleaning crew!!


Liked about it Great at getting rid of algae. Clean the glass, sand and rocks. Very hearty and easy to take care of. Fun to watch when they are on the glass...you can see them eating!


Didn't like Since they are bulldozers, they bulldoze everything in their path. This means they will knock over corals if they get in the way, so make sure your corals are glued or stuck in place! Have not noticed them to cause any harm to the corals though. Have heard that you have to feed them if they run out of algae, but have not had that problem.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By andbob25
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Teriffic Algae Grazer

Comments These little guys are extremely easy to care for. If you have algae, they will eat it. Mine are almost always actively eating. They get along great with other snails. I have not experianced the "bulldozing" that many others have with theirs. I have 3 turbos a hair less than an inch in size and 1 that is almost pushing 3 inches. They leave all my corals and rockwork alone and just graze the glass and some macro algae on the rocks. Great little snails.


Liked about it Awesome algae grazers. Will eat some macro as well as micro algae on the glass.

Very hardy


Didn't like The only thing that is a downside is that though these are great algae grazers, their larger size makes it harder for them to reach tight areas of your rock-work.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Mar 31, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Perfect Janitor

Comments The Mexican Turbo Snail. Works the best in a new tank where algae are usually out of control. Add 1 per 20-30 gallons so not to over stock and starve them out. Also so they don't eat the algae that other inhabitants require. Acclimate slowly as they are very intorent of water parameter changes. Very hardy once established. Make sure your display rock and coral are fastened well because these snails are bulldozers and they will knocks things over. Very frustrating. They have thick shells and due require stable calcium levels to grow, which they will. I recommend the Astrea Snail once the tank is established. Also BEWARE of any larger hermit crabs if you have them. They often try to shell jack them. They will die from this.


Liked about it It provides an efficent service. Easy to care for.


Didn't like That they knock over things. With most snails if they fall upside down, they almost always need your help to turn over or they'll die. Sort of a pain


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A must have for reef tanks

Comments These snails are great to have in your reef tank. Just put them in and let them go to work. All over the glass, the rocks and everything else they can reach. They constantly are eating all the time and really do a good job in helping with algae growth. Also fun to watch, they surprisingly cover a lot more ground than you would think. I try to keep a few of these inside my tank at all times. Since they are relatively big compared to other snails, even though they move slow they are able to cover large areas very well.


Liked about it Helps with algae growth
Fun to watch
Do a great job
Hard worker
Easy to take care of


Didn't like Get in the way sometimes when you want to clean the tank, but can't really help that.
Bland color


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Jagator
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Turbo snail - magnificient algae eater

Comments An efficient algae eater, the turbo snail leaves clean tracks on algae-covered rocks that resemble a lawnmower's track in the grass. They are large so, aesthetically, they look more proportional in a larger tank with larger fish to balance proportion. The biggest caution is to add food (i.e., dried seaweed) after the turbos have cleaned out algae. They are easy to care for, move slowly, and climb/clean on glass. I've only seen turbo snails around peaceful large fish and small semi-aggressive fish and a variety of crabs; they fared fine under those circumstances. None of my hermit crabs have shown any interest in its shell but my crabs have a selection of empty shells to select among scattered around.


Liked about it Excellent algae (especially brown algae) cleaner. Large size makes the turbo clean large areas efficiently. Easy care.


Didn't like Too big to get into small places to clean. Can eat up algae sources of its tank and need food added. Slow and couldn't adequately defend itself from a large, aggressive tankmate.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Must have!!!

Comments Turbo snails are a necessary part of every tank's cleanup crew. they are easy to care for since they'll eat nuisance algae, and they will do an amazing job keeping a tank clean.


Liked about it eat bad algae
clean glass
keep tank tidy


Didn't like move slow
nothing else to say just a perfect addition


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By gabranth17
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Slow moving but eats fast!

Comments These snails don't need practically any care except and body of water(a bit of an exaggeration)! These are slow moving snails that eat nuisance algea quick. They're great for new cycling tanks that have alot of new algea on rocks and sand.


Liked about it These snails eat unwanted algea which is a great service! THey are extremely easy to care for!


Didn't like They're usually drab in color. They do knock over corals that aren't anchored.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By berger9953
Jan 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Bad for reefs

Comments These snails get very large and heavy and will knock over any coral frags you have in the tank if they are not epoxied down. They do a pretty good job of eating algae, but in my opinion they have far more bad qualities than good ones.


Liked about it Do a good job of cleaning most algaes off of rocks, glass and anything else, also has nice colors for a snail so it catches your eye.


Didn't like Very slow moving, poos all over the tank, will knock over your coral frags which can cause massive loss of your money, and they cannot turn themselves over so they will die if they fall over.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Thoughts on Turbo Snails

Comments These snail can grow quite big on a snail level. They are aglae grazers so they will eat formula 2 if left in the tank including algae sheets.


Liked about it Liked this snail due to my hermit killed it and eat and it. Resulting in it having a new shell.


Didn't like Very vernable to hermits due to hermits will eat almost anything. 1st reason is due to the slow movement that they have(at least the 1's I had). 2nd reason I don't like them is that they will knock powerhands down(suction cup based) including heaters. If small rock is present in the tank Turbos can and will move them.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Dragonist
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Popular for Good Reason

Comments In addition to their usefulness, these snails are down-right entertaining! Like any member of a CUC, turbo snails SHOULD NOT be relied upon to keep your tank clean (that's your job!). That said, I've seen turbo snails in my tank eat just about every type of algae (except bryopsis). These guys need to be flipped over when they fall, so that's a bit annoying. They also leave large poop pellets wherever they go.


Liked about it Entertaining
Eats algae


Didn't like Needs to be flipped over when it falls
Leaves large poop pellets everywhere


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Yrahcaz
Aug 01, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Turbo Snail...

Comments It moves hast when it wants too, but sometimes it will sit in one spot all day. Out of my snails, he gets the most done though. There is not much else to say about him.


Liked about it 1. Cleaned the rock, glass, sand of film algae.
2. Looks cool
3. I accidentally got mine for free


Didn't like 1. It won't eat my hair or bubble algae
2. It may be knocking over my mushroom coral, haven't confirmed it yet
3. Can't get into tight spaces


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Jan 22, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Algea Eater

Comments Great snails! I added only one to 29 gallon tank and he cleared all of my green hair algea with in a week. They are very easy to take care of just make sure there is some kind of algea present in your tank because they are herbivores. Mine likes to graze on any algea present on live rock and the glass. This snail would be a peaceful and helpful addition to any clean up crew.


Liked about it Eats green hair alge, easy to take care of, cheap


Didn't like none


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec553