Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (10)
 Add a review

Super Tongan Nassarius snail

 
The Super Nassarius Snail from Tonga combines unique beauty with unparalleled scavenging abilities. Its oval, spiral shell is often said to resemble an olive pit, but it is much more ornate and elegant in its beauty. The most striking physical characteristic, however, is the long, tube-like siphon that protrudes from one end of the shell. This siphon is used to...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Super Tongan Nassarius snail in Reviews
 

 

Like zombies rising from the grave these awesome snails are a must have featured

Comments Of the marine snails I have kept this is by far the easiest. The reason for that, I think, is because it is a scavenger and not an algae eater. I think most of us keep our tanks pretty free of algae so turbos and the like often need some seaweed to stay healthy. Nassarius, on the other hand, will eat meaty foods, and scavenge. They make quick work of any dead fish in your tank.

I call them the zombies of the reef because they spend most of their time buried in the sand with only their siphon sticking out. As soon as food is introduced into the tank, they all rise up from the sand bed and go after it. They have an uncanny ability to know just what direction the food is in the tank, even climbing the glass to get at floating items if they can. This action is beneficial to your tank because it cleans up extra food, and keeps the upper layer of your sand bed turned over.

I recently purchased two large specimens that were labeled at the local fish shop as "African Nassarius". I do not know if their larger size is simply because they are more mature, or if the snails from Africa grow larger. However, they are beautiful and the shell is a very classic sea shell. Nassarius range from Samoa to Africa and make a nice addition to any tropical tank with a sand bed. If you have a bare bottom tank, they won't be happy.

These always make up part of the snails in my clean up crew along with cerith and turbo. There's really no reason even a beginner can't keep these alive. That, and the beneficial activities they provide are the reason I highly recommend them. Just remember they aren't going to munch your algae, but they will clean up the extra food.


Liked about it 1. Clean up extra food
2. Turn over upper layer of sand bed
3. Entertaining behavior (i.e. zombies!)
4. Attractive, classic sea shell
5. Good for beginners


Didn't like 1. Generally run anywhere from $1.69 for smaller snails to $2.69 for larger snails. It is sometimes difficult to find the larger ones in shops and the smaller ones could be about 25 cents cheaper.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Fantastic must-have snail featured

Comments This snail is the only carnivore i know of...it is excellent at getting the scraps from a meaty feeding to your fish cleaned up quick...also will devour and fish that is near death on the bottom of the tank. i had a new goby that died within a week of adding it to my tank...I have about a dozen of theses in my 55g and they completely consumed (bones included) the 2.5" fish within 1 hour. these guys stay under the sand bed until they sense food then they all pop up like a surfacing submarine. this is very entertaining for visitors to my house to watch during feeding time.


Liked about it excellent cleaner, shell make great homes for hermit crabs after they die, keep the sand bend stirred up


Didn't like no complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Salty O'Shen
Oct 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

perfect for sand care

Comments the nassarius snail is a nice and critical addition to any tank, this snail does not only give the aquarium something to look at, but also provides a great deal of help when it comes down to cleaning things such as leftover from feedings and whatever dirt that on the sand. one of the things that i can say obout this invertebrate, is that throughout the years i've always enjoyed seeing them emerge from the sand bed to feed on whatever the can see lying on the sand. the nassarius along with astra and turbo snails are really useful when it comes to helping you keep your tank clean, and for those of you that are just starting on this hobby, dont you worry, this snail is as hardy as they get.


Liked about it -hardy
-they way the eat
-sand shifters


Didn't like -can reproduce drastically is given the chance
-overall perfect


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Mar 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great addition to the the tank.

Comments I have had a few of these in my 12g tank for about 4 months now and they are one of the coolest members of the cleanup team. They stay buried in the sand for most of the day and have a little snorkel that pops out of the sand. The second that food hits the water an army of snails emerge and start hunting for food. Like other people have said they are very efficient at what they do and so far seem to be very hardy. They devour all the food they run across. All the stuff the fish does not get they clean up. They are kind of slow and I have lost a couple due to crabs. They do a great job turning the sand over as well. You can tell where they are and where they have been by the sand being turned up.


Liked about it Fairly inexpensive
Easily obtainable
Very hardy
Very efficient scavangers
Fun to watch


Didn't like Nothing to really not like about these. They would be the ultimate clean up crew if they ate algae.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bb0029
Mar 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The best snail to have in my opinion

Comments This snail is easy to care for and the only extra care that is needed is a little extra food being placed on the bottom of the substrate if needed for feeding. This snail is non-agressive, grows slowly and I have known some people who have had them reproduce. I would not place them with emerald crabs, or hermits, the snails turn into a preferred food source for the crabs.


Liked about it They stir the sand bed. The snails are fun to watch as they burst through the sand for food when the tank is being fed. They really help to keep extra food in the tank to a minimum.


Didn't like I wish they would be a little faster to evade the crabs. I have lost many to hungry crabs.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jschulzpt
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great snail for your sand bed.

Comments I have a few of these and they are awesome! I would completely recommend them. They aren't digressive at all. They are CRAZY fast when they are after food. They are carnivorous but only toward things that are dead or very close to it.


Liked about it Amazing to watch (once saw mine get in a fight with a hermit over some food, this thing freaking LAUNCHED the hermit nearly across the tank. The hermit never messed with it again.) Great at cleaning up the tank. Great at keeping your sandbed stirred as they spend most of their time burried if they aren't actively eating.


Didn't like Two things, they are so cool looking I wish you got to see them more since they spend alot of time in the sand. Second thing is that when something is dead, they get right on eating it up. Why is that bad? Well, when you have a fish that dies the day after it was shipped to you and you get home from work to find it almost completely eaten, it makes it alot harder to file a DAA claim with the place you ordered it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Oct 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Thoughts on Super Tongan Nassarius snails

Comments Great little snail due to its talents(nature). This snail does'nt sit in the common conception of a snail due to it is a carnivore. But not in the nature that it will hunt down you livestock to eat it. They scavenge for meaty items and dying meaty items(etc dying fish snail, crab). When they are not eating they usually burrow in the sand. Resulting they will disturb the sand bed for you.


Liked about it Will shift the sand. Eats left over fish food.


Didn't like These snails have a nature to slide up the glass than fall down(they don;t die from this).


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great Sand Sifter!

Comments I bought one of these snails for my tank and am satisfied with it. It sifts through the sand, there for stirring it up, which I am happy with. Not much else to say about it.


Liked about it 1. Sifts and stirs the sand.
2. Is pretty neat looking.
3. It is fun to watch when it is out.


Didn't like 1. It does not rise out of the sand when food is around.
2. Can make large divets in the sand.
3. Is not out most of the time, but I guess that means it is doing its job.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Aug 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Neat little snails

Comments I really like these sanils because they sift sand very well. They consume fish waste, uneaten food, and ditritus. They are hardy and require no special care. The only thing you will be able to see of these snails during the day it the tube like apendage sticking out of the sand. Mine mostly come out at night to feed.


Liked about it Hardy, cheap, sifts sand very well.


Didn't like Rarely see them, If they die you wont know because they will be stuck in the sand.


Overall rating:
 
3.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

These guys are cool

Comments They stay buried until some kind of food source hits the water. Then like some kind of zombie they come up search out a meal then they bury themselves again. They also aide in keeping the sand bed stirred. They are an important part of the CUC.


Liked about it very interesting snail
stir the sand bed
great scavenger


Didn't like They will need to be fed meaty bits of seafood


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec553