Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (31)
 Add a review

Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp Featured

 
The Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp acts like the medic of any saltwater aquarium. In fact, this active cleaner will set up shop on live rock or coral outcroppings and wait for fish to come and be cleaned of ectoparasites or dead tissue. Many fish value its services so highly that they even allow the Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp to clean inside of their mouths without...


Price: $14 to $54 at 3 stores
Searched Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp in Reviews
 

 

Cleaner Shrimp - All I wanted & more! featured

Comments I have had two of these guys since I first put fish in my tank, about four months ago, and I love them! They are peaceful and active, always busy doing something in the tank and add a lot to the joy of watching the tank. They are very friendly and quickly learned to climb onto my hands when I am in the tank for maintenance or anything else. They have also learned to come to the top of the tank ("swimming" on their backs!) to eat from my hand. Because they are not shy (once acclimated to the tank), they are a great conversation piece when friends view my tank. These guys appear to me to be willing to eat almost anything that I feed the tank, definitely not picky eaters or difficult to care for. don't be freaked out when they shed, which they will do as they grow - their sheds look very much like you would expect a dead shrimp to look! Both of mine have been producing eggs (which they carry beneath their abdomens) frequently - it's fun to watch the eggs develop into larvae on their bellies, then be released into the tank by the hundreds (thousands? I don't know..). Most of the larvae become fish food, I believe, but I actually have observed many that are alive an appear to be flourishing in the crevices of the live rock. Big benefit also, of course, these guys like to clean EVERYTHING! Overall, they are an exceptional addition to my tank!


Liked about it -Very active and not shy once acclimated
-Clean up detritus and fish
-Easy to care for
-Friendly
-Beautiful!!


Didn't like -Sometimes these shrimp try to "steal" food from LPS that I am hand feeding small meaty foods, but generally, I just give them their own small chunk of food and off they go to enjoy it!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By baboo11
Apr 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Don't just get one, get at least two featured

Comments With its bold color and large size, this shrimp makes a good addition to your reef tank. There are only a few things you need to know about them. They are more shy than the peppermint shrimp, but much less shy than a fire shrimp. You can help them overcome this shyness by keeping more than one of them, especially pairs, tend to be more active and get along well with each other. Do not house them with coral banded shrimp as they are likely to fall prey to this larger and more aggressive species.

This is a very easy shrimp to care for as it will scavenge for food throughout the tank. It will readily take food from your hand and I delight in handing mine a small shrimp which it takes with relish and runs off with it to devour its prize. As the large white antenna signal, this is a cleaner shrimp, and it will engage in cleaning behavior, especially with larger fish.

After a careful drip acclimation this shrimp proves to be a hardy addition and is totally reef-safe. As with most shrimp it will steal food from corals. It may be necessary to feed the shrimp a little food at the same time as you target feed your corals. However, it will usually take what it can grab and run off with it leaving some for the corals to munch.


Liked about it 1. Affordable, usually $23 on a local fish store, can often be found on sale for less
2. Bright coloration and large white antenna make for vibrant display in tank
3. Will take food from hand and will often crawl on your hand. The more used to you it gets, the more readily it will do this
4. Good scavenger for your tank and a great addition to any clean up crew


Didn't like 1. Single specimens then to hide and are generally shy, showing up only at feeding time
2. Will steal food from corals


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Jun 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A wonderful addition to any reef tank!

Comments Acclimation took 45 minutes for the two that I have. Once acclimated, I placed them in the tank and both my sailfin tang and my clarkii clownfish came right up to them and got a cleaning... I was not expecting the fish to develop a relationship that quickly with them, very cool! Also, it is incredibly interesting to watch these guys as they are very friendly and active. They are very low maintenance and are brave enough that they will come take food right out of your hand. Makes a great addition to any tank, and you will not regret buying one of these guys!


Liked about it - they are very active and fun to watch
- low maintenance
- great value for the money as far as adding color and functionality to the tank


Didn't like - they may steal food from a coral or anemone


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By koz954rr
Jun 28, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A character

Comments Needs to be acclimated well, but once this stage has passed they will be a hardy and active member of one's tank. This invert will also clean parasites off of fish. Will also "clean" one's hand when cleaning the tank. I have had mine in my tank for about 3 months and he has done very well. I feed him mysis shrimp and formula one and he constantly comes out when i go near the tank.He has been very peaceful and stays at his cleaning station during the day. Highly recommend.


Liked about it Cheap (18 dollars)
Has character
Eats uneaten foods
A good looking shrimp
Cleans parasites off of fish


Didn't like Hard to spot feed corals as this shrimp will eat the food and "raid" the coral.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By dpoltsdsu
Jun 05, 2013
 
Last updated: October 10, 2013
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Addition To Any Reef Tank

Comments This shrimp was a bit pricey, but was well worth the money. He is full of personality and is hilarious during feeding. He will leap in the air to catch bits of food. At one point he actually got on top of the power head and crawled upside down on the surface of the water grabbing food. He hasn't cleaned any of my fish yet, only because they won't let him. When they swim by he almost jumps on to them, but they are to quick. Very interesting shrimp.

EDIT: I have an update! I ended up getting rid of this shrimp. He murdered my favorite fish, my dragonface pipefish! I will admit, I liked this shrimp almost regret getting rid of him. Just a warning though, it may go after slow moving fish!


Liked about it 1. Fun to watch during feeding
2. Great color
3. Cleans up left overs


Didn't like 1. Was very expensive
2. Hasn't cleaned fish (yet) :)
3. Murdered my favorite fish! :(


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr. Fishy Man
Jan 22, 2013
 
Last updated: August 28, 2013
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Get a pair for best results

Comments I got two of these skunk cleaners and they are the most friendly invertebrates in my tank. As soon as I stick my hand in the tank they immediately swim up and greet me regardless of whether I have food or just scraping algae off the walls. They are super active and eat a lot more than I thought they would. They have great color and are very hardy if there is no copper in the water.


Liked about it Great Personality
Cleans off my fish
Eats all leftover food


Didn't like Can get annoying when they crawl on your hands when your trying to rearrange rockwork.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 23, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

How much fun can these guys be?

Comments These guys (2) have been in the tank for at least six months and they are getting huge! They amaze me when they shed their shell--because the antennae come off too! They have molted at least 4 times.


Liked about it These guys are fun and clean you and the fish. In my 120 gal tank, they tend to hang out on one side of the tank, and they hang out together. I am curious if they are both male and female? They seem to just love being in each other's presence. One of the shimps' belly seems to be growing a lot. Do we get live births or sperm and eggs.


Didn't like What's not to love?


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By juicyfruits
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Colorful cleaner

Comments These shrimp are very neat to watch as they go about picking up meaty bits to eat. With a slow drip acclimation they will take to your water conditions and are relativly hardy. I find that when introduced to a new aquarium they will usually molt, I have had 2 different shrimp do this already. They tend to be shy and keep a little cave to themselves. They are reef safe but can steal food from corals. Another great thing about these shrimp is they will set up a cleaning station and clean parsities off any fish that present themselves. They will even pick dead skin of my hands while I'm doing tank matinence.


Liked about it Great scavenger, cleans parisites of fish, easy to keep.


Didn't like Can be shy and hide most of the time.


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By fishoutofwater25
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Fish washer express

Comments We have a pair of these guys in our 300gallon, they spend half their time hanging upside down on their favorite rock and the other half they are either mulling around or working the "fish wash" We have a bit of an archway set up and the shrimp hang out under the arch, when a fish is feeling dirty, it just swims into the archway and a shrimp with jump on and start cleaning. When the fish has had enough, the shrimp hops off and the fish swims away. It's pretty cool to watch. They get very excited during feeding times and one of the shrimp just molted after being in the tank for about 2months.


Liked about it Interesting to watch, friendly with all the fish, easy to care for.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Foxee
Oct 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great addition to tank!

Comments The Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrimp is a great little pet to add to your tank. The fist day i added my to my tank he was nomming of everything he could get his hands on. He was pulling things out of the rock that i didn't even know was there.The care of this shrimp is really easy IMO. When feeding times comes i put my hand in the tank with a couple of pellets for him and he eats them right out of my hand, then he starts nomming on my hand. He really isn't aggressive but we did just add two peppermint shrimp to the tank and he chases them around when they get to close to him.Not sure how fast they grow when i bought him he was already big and he still looks the same to me.

He is very active he is always cleaning something or trying to get on the overflow box(which he cant...).


Liked about it Very active always do his job. Gets along with others.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Miyo
Aug 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

great little shrimp

Comments I love this shrimp and my family does too. Other than serving a great purpose they are awesome looking too. Mine is very active with a few of my fish always trying to jump on and clean them and will always come running out during feeding time.


Liked about it Does a great service for the fish
full of life
makes a great addition to the tank.


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Farley
Jun 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Awesome little shrmip!

Comments I love this guy. He is awesome. Always comes out to investigate anything new in the tank or at feeding time. Very docile and want to clean everyone! Even me if I put my hand in the take close to him he will come out and jump on my hand and go to town on it! Great personality and very fun to watch. Also very important. These little guy help you keep you fish clean and free from infections and parasites. They only live a few years but I have had mine for close to five years at this point.


Liked about it Everything.
They have great color.
They have a awesome personality!
The will clean everything in the tank.
Very docile and get's along with everyone even other shrimp.


Didn't like There was nothing about this guy I do not like. But If I had to choose I would say that he always leaves his molts right in the front of the tank.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great shrimp for any tank

Comments It does not have any special requirements and is a really easy shrimp to keep it will shed it's skin every 3-4 weeks which I find fascinating and he has a great personality whenever I am mentaining the tank he loves to clean my hand.


Liked about it No special food requirements
great personality
fun to watch crawl around the tank


Didn't like Will eat food from corals mouths


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Clownfish can't
Apr 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Must have with Tangs - cleaner shrimp

Comments The cleaner shrimp will feed off and clean fish, especially tangs that are ich prone, improving fish health. It is plain fun to watch the cleaning: the little (2") shrimp waves its long white antennae and fish float still to be cleaned. The shrimp should also be fed other foods such as frozen brine or mysis shrimp. Another interesting behavior is its molting. The first time you see a shed exoskeleton, you might think your shrimp died. It is only hiding while it swells to expand the soft new shell. Once the shell hardens in the larger size, the shrimp loses excess water and then grows into its larger-sized shell. Hermaphroditic, two shrimp will often determine as a pair. They will then reproduce up to four times a year resulting in planktonic larvae being released as a natural food source in your tank.


Liked about it (1) Clean and improve fish health, especially tangs. (Excellent value especially when you consider the cost of replacing dead fish.)
(2) Reproduce (and produce) a planktonic larvae food source
(3) Attractive shrimp with interesting behaviors to observe


Didn't like (1) You should offer extra food occasionally to keep cleaner shrimp well-fed and healthy.
(2) Occasionally two cleaner shrimp in the same DT will fight and not form a pair.
(3) In the dark of the night, these shrimp will venture all over the tank and explore alternative food sources. (Keep them well-fed to minimize any "exploration" of your sponges or target-fed corals.)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Mar 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A great shrimp for the Reef Tank !

Comments I find this shrimp to be a very easy shrimp to care for. It is a very active shrimp and is not shy. In fact is not shy enough. You will liklely get your arm cleaned when you have to do maintaince in the tank. Nothing specific needs to be added for food, as with other shrimp this one is a great scavenger.


Liked about it -Not shy
-Very colorful
-Great cleaner for tangs


Didn't like -Bigggest issue is that it can start to associate corals with a food source if you target feed, and may continue to annoy corals and cause them to retract.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mark_Winn
Mar 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Best Reef Tank Shrimp

Comments The skunk cleaner shrimp is perfect for most reef tanks. They are omnivorous scavengers, eating anything you give them. Very personal relationship the shrimp and fish instinctly have. When a fish comes down with Ich or another type of skin infection, it will sidle up next to the shrimp and tread water while waiting for the shrimp to clean its body of parasites. The cleaner shrimps will be less shy if kept in pairs they will establish their own "cleaner station" on live rock and fish will know where to seek them when they need them. Be aware Cleaner Shrimp WILL NOT cure an Ich problem. Be carefully to only add them to ornamental shrimp friendly species.


Liked about it They are efficent at their jobs. In pairs they have alot more personality. You can almost assure a mated pair when there are two or more. They will change sexes as needed. They will constantly spawn in the tank. Really cool to watch. Happens under the moon light for me.


Didn't like Sometimes they can be a little pushy towards cleaning when not wanted.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Mar 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A STAR IS BORN!!!!!!!!

Comments Of all the tanks I have up and running and occupants in them, one always seems to stand out and it is the Scarlet Skunk shrimp! I keep them in groups of 3 and there is always one out and about trying to clean fish are foraging for left overs! I can't even put my hand in the tank without being cleaned by all 3 of them! They are the stars of the tank, claiming more attention and looks than any of my fish!


Liked about it -Most bold shrimp I have ever kept, always seems to be one are two out looking for something to get into. -Great cleaner, always looking for a fish are hand to clean. -Easy to care for and feed, it will eat any food i put in, even turning upside down to eat flake food from surface.


Didn't like Not much to hate. It can be aggesive toward other kinds of shrimp(mine bully pepermint shrimp) and it will take food right out of corals mouths!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By treeboa
Jan 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A very active little shrimp

Comments This shrimp is very active, colorful and has a wonderful personality. They eat anything that you put in the tank, and they clean very well(the fish that is). If you put your finger in the tank near the shrimp they come up and try to clean your finger, who needs soap!!!:) It's very peaceful and grows at a moderate rate. Most tank sizes can accomodate this shrimp, usually a 10 gallon + is okay. They molt about every 1-2 weeks, iodine helps with this process, so supplements are encouraged. And make sure to drip acclimate this critter, they are very sensitive to changes!


Liked about it I really enjoy the coloration and the activness of this shrimp. I also enjoy the valuable service of their fish cleaning!


Didn't like Absolutely nothing!!!:)


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Jan 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great shrimp for almost any tank

Comments A great shrimp that will be out during the day checking over fish, cleaner shrimp make great additions to almost any tank. Can often keep more than 1 in a display, these fish are not aggressive and are relatively active. While often reported to cure fish of disease, this is seldom the case and are more ornamental than functional.


Liked about it Active shrimp, not aggressive, good cleaners (of excess foods). It's also great watching them interact with fish in their natural cleaning habits, though I wouldnt expect any distinct results of this interaction (such as eliminating parasites on the fish). They're also tolerant of each other in my experience, I've housed multiple in the same tank without any real concern.


Didn't like Nothing negative to say, they're a great tank addition.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great for any tank

Comments Great looks, not aggressive at all and grows very fast, will also eat anything you give it.


Liked about it Grows fast, gives the tank a nice look and cleans fish and eats leftover food.


Didn't like Not a great candidate if you have an anemone or corals you need to target feed, it will eat the food right out of the corals/anemones mouth.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Reeftanker3295
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Tank Mate that pulls it's own weight.

Comments These guys are easy to keep, easy to acclimate, readly take food, peaceful toward fish.


Liked about it great for helping keep the tank parasite free. are always cleaning fish and your hands when you stick them in the tank.


Didn't like they like to hide in cracks are not out and easy to see unless they are cleaning fish.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fchidsey
Nov 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very cool shrimp

Comments I love this shrimp. Alot of personality and very fun to watch and a good cleaner. My last one unfortunately had an accident with a powerhead but they are awesome shrimp.


Liked about it brilliant color,
great personality,
gets along great with most anything


Didn't like nothing, great to have.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Thoughts on Skunk Cleaner Shrimp

Comments Very attractive shrimp in a reef aquarium, or and marine best aquarium. They are non agressive and great utility for the tank. Due to they will pick off dead skin and eat parasites of a fish. I purchase mine to lower the stress of a Coral Beauty anger that had ich.


Liked about it Cleaner shrimp are not shy at all. If you were to place your hand into the tank the will pick at it in the effort of cleaning. They will eat formula 2 pellets possibly formula 1 also. They eat mysis shrimp and and meaty frozen foods. Great scavenger for the tank.


Didn't like Can be very persistent to try to clean a fish near it, which isn't a bad thing at all. In my tank the fish in due time get use to its presence and allow the cleaning.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Dragonist
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very active!

Comments I really like these guys. They are always out and moving around the tank. Eating food and picking at the rock or trying to clean the fish. Some more expensive shrimp just hide all day long and only come out at night, but these shrimp are out all day long and all night long. They also jump right on my hand if I am putting food in the tank and its pretty neat for them to eat out of your hand like that.


Liked about it Very active, always cleaning the rock or substrate. They will also clean your fish once the fish get comfortable and let them.


Didn't like Sometimes they can be to friendly, when you are trying to work on the tank they can get in the way sometimes, but its no big deal.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By luther1200
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Easy and fun addition to a reef aquarium

Comments These shrimp tend to have a big personality. In our 29g, we've had as many as 2 with a Banded Coral Shrimp. The Banded Coral trys to be territorial, but these Cleaner Shrimp just dance around him. They're really funny to watch. They will scavenge food from the fish and what they can find around the tank. We found that ours were actually too well fed and generally ignored the fish when they were trying to get cleaned.


Liked about it Attractive, easy, friendly, reef safe.


Didn't like Are a bit delicate. Some fish might get too aggresive and kill them. Should be kept only in very docile reef tanks. Don't clean fish as often as I'd like.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Diving The World
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Professional pain, but they grow on you...

Comments A very active and interesting addition to a tank. They are kind of like a nuisance cat that is awfully naughty but has enough endearing qualities that you love them anyways. Mine has been in my DT for about 2 1/2 years and has been a pain from day one. She steals food from corals, makes unwanted advances on fish, and is suspected in the disappearance of a Rainford's goby, a scooter dragonet, a royal gramma, and is responsible for eating all the tentacles of a pink and green sea cucumber. I've been trying to catching her for about 2 years. They are very agile and wary evading capture with a net, by hand, with forceps, pop bottle traps, a tiny fishhook on a line, a noose, and harpooning. Tonight I saw her attacking my yellow assessor and had to close the deal. It took draining the tank down to 1-2 inches to get her relocated to the sump. I can't get rid of her though. She has so much personality, she comes right to my hand when I feed the tank. She is one of the most active and visible inhabitants. My wife and 3 year old daughter love to watch her. I think she might do better in a bigger tank with bigger fish (mine is only a 30 gallon with very small peaceful inhabitants).


Liked about it Tons of personality
Eats from hand


Didn't like Steals food from corals all of the time, like really, I had to buy squid for her to give her something to do and sometimes she would tuck it in her cave and steal food from the corals anyways. Sometimes she would just tear at the corals if she saw me near the tank.
Aggressive towards small slow moving fish
Nearly impossible to catch when relocation was necessary


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By bpcass
Apr 02, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Coolest shrimp!

Comments It is very easy to take care of. It will eat any meaty food offered. It is not aggressive. Though, it will steal food from LPS and anemones when I try to target feed them. It is very active.


Liked about it They are very active and cool looking. Guests love watching it clean my hand when I stick it in there. They are very hardy, which is always good.


Didn't like It is always looking for food and will drop the food its eating to go steal the food from LPS and anemones that I'm target feeding.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wii64brawl
Apr 19, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Cute little guy

Comments I bought a cleaner shrimp just for the heck of it. It's so active and everyone loves it. Always exploring and mine is fearless.


Liked about it Active
Colorful
Entertaining


Didn't like Steals food from corals


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Coreyb
Apr 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

My Favorite!

Comments My cleaner shrimp was the first thing I introduced to my new tank. Very hardy. He is nice to all of his tank mates (even the peppermint shrimp). He is downright beautiful. He is always out and doesn't seem to hide like my peppermint shrimp. I love hand feeding him, especially while a visitor is over and I can show of my "trained" shrimp! Get one!


Liked about it Everything! Beautiful, Fun and you can feed him by hand!


Didn't like nothing to dislike. Just make sure to drip acclimate and you have a hardy new friend!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Gobi wan Canobi
Aug 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

One of if not the best shrimp!

Comments These are very interesting additions to a tank. They add color movement and are very useful in a reef aquarium. I had one that would frequently clean my blue tang and it was very interesting to watch as the tang would take time out for swimming to be cleaned by the shrimp. They also scavenge for food that may fall in the rock work or sand.


Liked about it Cleans fish and scavenges, adds lots of color and personality to a tank.


Didn't like N/A


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Cleaner Shrimp

Comments Non-aggressive, very active cleaning up any missed foods. Easy to care for. Gets along well with other tank mates.


Liked about it Excellent addition
Serves a very useful purpose
Adds nice color to the reef


Didn't like No complaints


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $14 to $54
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec558