Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (10)
 Add a review

Fire Shrimp Featured

 
The Fire shrimp also known as a blood shrimp is a eye-catching deep red with contrasting sparkling white antennea and dots. They are cleaner shrimp that will gladly set up a cleaning station in or near a cave for any fish that would like to be cleaned of dead tissue or parasites. They are nocturnal but give a spark to almost any aquarium.


Price: $3 to $99 at 12 stores
Searched Fire Shrimp in Reviews
 

 

My Favorite featured

Comments This animal is extremely easy to care for. You can either feed it specifically, or it will munch on the scraps. I would classify it as being low to moderately aggressive. I have a Peppermint shrimp that is much smaller than my fire shrimp and the fire shrimp will not tolerate the peppermint coming within 2-3 inches of him. I feel this is a reasonable toleration.

The appeal of the fire shrimp is its beauty. Some are more colorful than others, but they all are stunning. If you can get one that doesn't mind the light in the fish store....chances are.....that he will roam/ stay in the light when you bring him home.

They are not very active and do not tend to move about the tank very much when the light is on. If that is what you're looking for, this is not the shrimp for you. However, when it is feeding time, mine tends to become an athlete: scowering rocks and covering ground like a sprinter.



Liked about it -I love the colors. The beautiful red body with bright white spots and extremely long bright white antennas.
-If you think it looks good now, just wait until it molts, it will become even purtier!
-Ease of care: Seems to get along fine with my clown and six-line. Doesn't cause any problems unless peppermint shrimp gets too close, he'll scare him off.


Didn't like -Theres really nothing I don't like about this animal.
-Wish it would sit right on the front glass in the center.LOL


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mikenicol88
Feb 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

The most beautiful shrimp you'll never see featured

Comments I think every aquarist looks at the fire shrimp and thinks, "ah, this I will buy"! It's simply a beautiful shrimp, the particular shade of red juxtaposed with the bright white of the antenna is about as eye-catching as they come. Too bad you won't ever see it again...well, almost never. It's a shy species that lives in caves and overhangs and generally roves about at night. The sorry thing about this is, at night the colors do not show so brilliantly.

Unlike peppermint shrimp (which can be kept in groups) fire shrimp like to be alone, and will only tolerate their mate unless the tank is very large. I have heard of some aquarist having success in keeping several so perhaps this isn't a hard and fast rule.

You can target feed sinking pellets specially designed for shrimp, if you like, but I find this to be unnecessary as the shrimp will generally pop out at feeding time long enough to grab a meal then dart back into its lair.

Be sure to conduct a long, slow drip acclimation. Also, the fire shrimp is hardy once it has become accustomed to your tank. In the first few weeks it may be at risk if tank conditions are less than perfect, after that, it generally seems to be hardy.

While this is a beautiful shrimp and I fully understand the aquarist's desire for one, it is one that I no longer keep. I've found skunk cleaner shrimp and peppermint shrimp are more interesting to keep, especially the latter.


Liked about it 1. Beautiful animal


Didn't like 1. Hides most of the time
2. Doesn't play well with others of its kind (generally does well with other shrimp)
3. One of the more costly ornamental shrimp


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By tcamos
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Outlived the rest

Comments I've had my Fire Shrimp since I set up my tank. He outlived a number of fish that didn't survive. He cleans my Domino Damsel and would probably clean others if the Domino would let him. Unlike other reviewers my Fire Shrimp doesn't hide all day. There are times when I have to look for him but most of the time he's just in the shadows completely visible. At feeding time he is a sprinter and eagerly eats the Mysis Shrimp. I've seen him take food away from my anemone. I'm very happy with my Fire Shrimp. Dark red with contrasting white tentacles. The body is about three inches long and his tentacles are at least another six to nine inches. I've even seen this little guy do somersaults and ride on the Domino.


Liked about it Contrasting Red and White colors
Cleans the Domino
Hangs upside down from rocks and does somersaults
Eats anything I feed the fish


Didn't like Absolutely nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By zguppy
May 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Not as Great as Expected

Comments This was the first ever saltwater 'fish' i ever bought. I bought him before anything else and he has outlived a few, but he's not as great as I thought he would be. In the store, he was very active and out on display. For the first month I had him, all I saw of him was his antennae poking out from behind my live rock, only coming out to eat. He didn't seem aggressive at first, but as I started adding other passive fish, he began to be. The only time I ever see him other than at feeding is when he's bullying my other fish. I had a cleaner shrimp that wouldn't go near him and a peppermint shrimp that he would chase any time he got near. I didn't mind so much until he bullied my watchman goby. Everytime he goes to eat, the fire shrimp eratically moves toward him and chases my goby back to his burrow. I'm on the brink of taking him back to the store where I got him.


Liked about it -Hardy
-Easy to care for
-Eats plenty


Didn't like -Aggressive toward my more passive other fish
-Got too big
-Rarely came out of hiding


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By MayFields
Mar 09, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

"So pretty"

Comments These inverts are the bees knees. Mine is a little shy but extremely easy to care for as long as you give it a balanced home. They are not very active but look so good when they find a little cave to stay in and show themselves off for the world to see.


Liked about it I love how pretty they are, they seem to keep things neat and clean, I havent had any problems with mine at all.


Didn't like It is pretty secretive so if you need to see it everyday this isnt the animal for you but if you like the occasional treat of seeing a beautiful shrimp go for it.


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By aquaman1987
Mar 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Love them

Comments They are the most colorful and easy to keep shrimp. They do hide alot but mine have come out to show themselves once and awhile they don't hide like they used to.Everyone that see's the tank think they are one of the more interesting things to see. I keep mine in a pair and they always stay together. They were not tank mates before either so don't know about the whole keeping them separatly thing.


Liked about it Love the color
Like the fact that easy to care for and very reef safe.
eats what ever you feed the fish you have now and clean up after the current fish. Don't have to change anything to add them.
They don't get agressive unless provoked by other fish.
Tolorate water parameter changes well, so good for beginners


Didn't like They hide most of the time.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By fireandsalt
Jan 28, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Beautiful Fire Red Shrimp!

Comments I have two Red Fire Shrimp in my 60 gallon cube. They are both a beautiful deep red. They are very easy to care for as they simply eat what they catch going by when feeding the fish or what you drop in after the lights go out. Mine have grown a little but not much (perhaps they were about grown when I got them). These shrimp are not active and spend the day in reclusion under rock cliffs and out of site. They do get around at night. Both of my shrimp provide cleaning services for my percula clown.


Liked about it I like the color of these shrimp. The red color simply sets them apart from any of the other shrimp species. I like the fact that mine do indeed clean the clown fish when he goes into the cave for a cleaning.


Didn't like I do not like the fact that you do not see them during the day. You have to look between the nooks and crannies to get a glimpse and as soon as they see you looking, they move out of sight.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By SUP
Aug 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

vivid colored shrimp

Comments the fire shrimp usually called the "blood shrimp" due to its vivid red color is one of the most beautiful of the reef safe shrimp, although unfortunately it usually hides during the day. it prefers to be given hiding places in the form of caves on the live rock, and will establish a territory in a low lit area. like the skunk cleaner shrimp, it has some cleaning capabilities, though its instincts are not as strong. it usually prefers to scavenge and can be a greedy eater that will come up to your hand to pick up bits of food like frozen shrimp. like all shrimps, they do molt regularly, so don't let this alarm you. this is a great shrimp, not as active as a cleaner shrimp, if you're looking for a beautiful and interesting shrimp, i definitely recommend to get this one.


Liked about it -color
-hardy
-cleans up


Didn't like -can be aggressive
-it is reclusive
-growth


Overall rating:
 
4.3
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gabranth17
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great if your nocturnal!!

Comments Fire shrimp are a brillant red and are welcome to any tank over 10 gallons. They are compatible with most peacful tankmates and are suited for the reef tank and fish-only tank. They prefer to dwell on rock or in a cave. They are nocturnal, which make them boring if you would like a acitve addition. They are very peacful but are territorial towards other shrimps. They are very easy to keep but must be drip acclimated slowly, Fire shrimp are very sensitve to water changes(salinity, temperature, pH etc...). They molt about every week-every other week. Fire shrimp are omnivores but prefer a carnivorous diet. They eat just about anything you put in the tank, whether you feed them frozen, live, pellet or flaked foods. They like brine shrimp, mysis shrimp, krill and other worms included in their diet. They don't need any special care besides a regular dose of iodine so that they may molt smoothly and without a challenge.


Liked about it I love the awesome color of this shrimp. They are very easy to care for and are very peaceful. They clean my fish constantly. My fish know that he(or her, can't tell) is available in his cave and come to him whenever they feel like they need a good cleaning. He's kind of like a mini-aquarium carwash! I don't need to feed him specifically, I just feed my fish and he grabs the food that comes by.


Didn't like I don't like that they are nocturnal. I wanted a acitve addition to my tank and I didn't get it with him. Most people think they are shy, but they simply enjoy their sleep while the lights are on. Once they go out, they are very active. I will most likely trade him in for a common skunk cleaner shrimp because I rarely see him during the day.

I also don't like the molting process, it's relatively fast, and he also molts during the night, but in his cave, so its hard to get the old shell out of the tank. If I leave it in there long enough, he scoots it out of his cave for me himself:)!


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By berger9953
Feb 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great Addition to a Reef Tank

Comments Fire or "blood shrimp" are extremely easy to keep.
Will eat any type food or just detritus.
They grow quickly, usually "molts" it's shell which can scare you into thinking it has died.
When they are not picked on by other tankmates, they will be seen cleaning LR and occasionally polyp corals.
If threatened will be more nocturnal.
I have one specimen that is over 5 years old.


Liked about it Great vibrant color.
Easy to feed.
Long life span.


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By depitch
Feb 27, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 12 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec558