Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.1 (40)
 Add a review

Instant Ocean SeaTest Hydrometer Featured

 
Hydrometer 1.000 to 1.030 specific gravity by Instant Ocean. Swing arm style is easy to use and read specific gravity


Price: $5 to $14 at 5 stores
Searched Instant Ocean SeaTest Hydrometer in Reviews
 

 

Worth every penny featured

Installation and Operation i got this when i first decided to setup my saltwater tank and has become a very useful and must needed tool. ITem is a must have for any saltwater tank and is very easy on the wallet i think i paid like $10 for mine and is very easy to use jus drop it in and let it fill up and you'll get a reading in about 15 seconds just make sure to give it a good flick with your finger to knock off any microbubbles that could throw off your reading and you should be good to go. Very easy to read pretty much just stay within the red numbers and when your done just dump it out and give it a good rinse with some freshwater make sure you do that every time so you can get a good accurate reading but other than that its very easy to use and i would recommend this product to anyone its a must!


Performance vs. Expectations this product performs very well and did everything i expected it to do.


Value for money This item was worth every penny.


Customer Support never had to deal with them.


Liked about it Easy to read
simple design
worth the money


Didn't like Cleaning can be a hassle


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By jamesbooth66
Nov 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Do not count on this for accuracy. featured

Installation and Operation I think everyone at one point or another has owned one of these.
i do used them for mixing up a new batch of salt water but I always double check with a refractometer before using the water. They are close but not accurate at all. Like I said I use them to get my new salt water close but would bever use this to maintain specific gravity.

They also have a few issues that can account for the inaccurat readings on the low side.
The swing arm has tendency to stick slightly but causing inaccurate readings.
air bubbles can stick to the swing are causing high readings.
Then there is just the human error factor. If you can not holding the hydrometer perfectly level you will get inaccurate readings.

Godd for a fish only system but when stability is key link in a reef tank stick with a refractometer or a Salinity probe.


Performance vs. Expectations Not a good performance from this product.
It is notoriously inaccurate. I used one for a while before I knew of other methods. Once I got a refractometer I realized how bad these were.
After only a few years the plastic is very crazed.


Value for money They are cheap and will get you close but they are not accurate.
If you want accuracy stay away from these.


Customer Support Never had any need for support with this product.


Liked about it It is compact and convienient.
Close enough to mix water with but I always double check.
They are cheap.


Didn't like In accuracy
the plastic is all crazed.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ckusnierek
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Good as a starter but not without problems featured

Installation and Operation Using this hydrometer is about as easy as it gets but there are some issues. The number one issue being micro-bubbles that stick to the needle and cause it to float up ever so slightly giving you an inaccurate reading. Most of the time there are enough bubbles that is lifts so high you instinctively know it can't be right, so you look, but other times one or two adhere and it lifts only a small fraction. This can cause the aquarist to add fresh water to lower the salinity, but it doesn't really need lowered!


Performance vs. Expectations Even with the bubble issue, this is a good product for the beginner who can't yet afford a refractometer. Once you get used to the small idiosyncrasies it really does work like a charm. I used one for over 2 years before I spent the cash on a refractometer.


Value for money This product is very affordable for someone starting out and it does the job.
Below under ratings I give it an overall satisfaction of 3 but a 5 for would I buy it again. This seems odd, but it's because as a new aquarist, it really is the best deal for the low amount of money.


Customer Support I used the company's web site and found it easy to use.


Liked about it 1. Very affordable
2. Durable construction
3. Can be kept in the tank or used out of it (I didn't leave it in)


Didn't like 1. Not as accurate as other methods
2. Bubbles can be a nuisance
3. Must be rinsed between uses or the arm sticks.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By tcamos
Apr 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Best left on the shelf featured

Installation and Operation Not that it makes good measurements but rinsing with ro water is a must for consistency.


Performance vs. Expectations Using this tester is easy in theory, but even going threw all the trouble of doing it exactly right, filling to the correct level, bumping to get all the air bubbles off the needle, it is still terrable. I have personally had three of these side by side and none of the needles pointed to the same measurement. I have also checked side by side with my refractometer which was ATC automatic temperature compensating and the measurement there was off to. I don't know why anyone would ever get one of these unless the sales clerk duped a newbie into one.


Value for money Well if there was a measure of get what you pay for this is a fine example. Cheap refractometers can be had for 2o dollars on ebay and would be a much better investment. I will never buy one again and will warn others to never spend their hard earned cash on this.


Liked about it I don't think there is a good thing to say about this.


Didn't like Accuracy is honorable and salinity is one of the most critical aspects of keeping a reef. If your a fish only person maybe its ok..


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By ANGRY JOHN
Feb 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Simple tool that every salt keeper needs.

Installation and Operation Very simple design and can be easily understood.
I have used one for years, and have never needed any fancy probes or anything else.


Performance vs. Expectations This product does exactly what it claims to do.
It measures the Specific Gravity in your tank.
Did not expect it to do anything besides that, and it has never failed me.


Liked about it I like the simple straight forward operation.
Fill it to the line and observe your SG.
Very easy to clean, and a compact size to store anywhere.
Does not require batteries and does not have a shelf life.


Didn't like Not much I did not like about this product.
If you drop it it breaks, but hey most things do..


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Treasures of the
Apr 16, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Easy to use

Installation and Operation I used this the first time I got an aquarium. It was easy to use and I had to wait only a few seconds for the meter to go to the salinity point. I had to pay $9 for mine and I had no problem with it.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes, and I expected it to do the same as advertised by the manufacturer.


Value for money A very good deal for the money. It is completely necessary for an aquarium and without it, the basic component is gone.


Customer Support I never had to.


Liked about it Easy to use
Worth the money
accurate readings


Didn't like 1. Must be rinsed everytime it is used.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Silentdea
Mar 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Calibrated Wrong

Installation and Operation Easy to use, I used mine for about 3 months when I started my saltwater aquarium. I kept my SG at about 1.026 on the IO swing arm, or so i thought, when i got a hold of a refractometer, I tested my water. the swing arm said 1.026, and the refractometer said 1.020, i still have it to this day, and it is very accurate, just not calibrated well. I have since made new calibrated marks and keep it in my sump just for a quick glance guid.


Performance vs. Expectations I expected it to give me an idea what my SG was, all I got was an uncalibrated wast of money


Value for money seeing as I paid about $12.00 for it, and it didn't even give me an idea where my SG was, it was a waste of money.


Liked about it I didn't even like the color, let alone the unit.


Didn't like Everything, color, accuracy...


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Nate_Bro
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Awesome for tracking measurements

Installation and Operation Quite easy to use; simply fill and check. One step that is often missed with this is the before/after maintenance of simply rinsing the hydrometer out with fresh water to avoid salt buildup on the swing arm. One thing that does need to be mentioned is the effect that bubbles will have on the swing arm if the meter is filled too quickly - bubbles will cause the arm to rise and give an incorrect reading.


Performance vs. Expectations Many people complain about swing arm hydrometers not being ACCURATE, which is absolutely correct. However, I find this meter very useful for tracking and trending changes to my salinity, not necessarily for pinpointing the exact number of salinity. In that regard, this hydrometer meets my expectations every time.


Value for money Continues doing a great job every time I use it. Well worth the money.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Easy to use
Easy to read
Very durable


Didn't like Inaccurate, though very precise
Susceptible to micro-bubbles throwing off measurements
Swing arm sticks in lieu of regular maintenance


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By Kristopher
Nov 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Half and half

Installation and Operation Easy to use. First ever instrament used to read salinity by me. works, easy to use, cheap. very easy to use all you do is fill it with water and tap and watch the nedeal move tho the salinity.


Performance vs. Expectations well it can be inaccurate but it is arround the right area.It has also not proven to be poorly made and is deffinetly something good to buy for the begining aquariest.


Value for money yes, this is deffentaly worth the little mony you spend on it.


Customer Support no


Liked about it easy to use
Cheap
Partially accurate


Didn't like the partial accuracy
the arm can stick if you dont clean it.
micro bubles that can throw the reading off.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By spittle22
Oct 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Affordable, but not so accurate

Installation and Operation The product is very easy to use, stick it in the water and place on a level surface. You will need to rinse it clean after each use, as any build up will effect the needle. It is very cheap to buy, so if you can't immediately purchase a refractometer this will do in the mean time.


Performance vs. Expectations The readings aren't the most accurate, but it is cheap. To use something is better than nothing.


Value for money For the maybe $10 you will spend on this, you're getting what you pay for. But certainly invest in a refractometer when possible.


Liked about it easy to use & cheap. It's better to have a rough estimate than no reading at all.


Didn't like not as accurate as a refractometer, cleaning after each use...if not the needle will have build up on it making the reading way off, breaks easily. When I first started this was how I tested my water, the needle broke within a month...I just upgraded at that point.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Sherilw
May 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

not a good value

Installation and Operation very difficult to read and use accurately. it is calibrated at 60 degrees. who has their reef tank that low. if you get it to the salinity you what you want you are considerably over what you are shooting for. not worth the money. personally i wouldn't buy another one


Performance vs. Expectations no the hydrometer is not accurate, requires cleaning after every use and you still wonder if it is clean. i got my water to what i thought was 1.025 and when i got my refract in the mail it was 1.034. a little over what i wanted. for the money it is much better idea to get a good refract


Value for money no


Customer Support no


Liked about it it is cheap and for a rough reading it might be good if you can convert higher temp to higher salinity but if you read it for what it is at you will be wasting money on salt in water you will have to dilute


Didn't like not accurate, have to clean after each use, the base on mine broke fairly easily


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By alcorn128
Mar 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Not good enough to measure salinity

Installation and Operation The hydrometer is an inaccurate measure of salinity. Given five readings, the only guess of accurate is an average of the closest three measures. The needle sticks, bubbles interfere and readings vary too often.


Performance vs. Expectations Using the hydrometer is better than using nothing. However, I firmly believe a refractometer is required for accurate measures of salinity. The manufacturer promises more than the hydrometer delivers.


Value for money The price is low but the value is lower. I think the purchase price of the hydrometer is a waste of money magnified in time with the cost of lost tank inhabitants who couldn't tolerate salinity changes.


Customer Support I have had no contact with the company.


Liked about it The hydrometer is better than nothing when measuring salinity. It can be used to crudely measure an approximate salinity. The price is low.


Didn't like The hydrometer doesn't accurately measure salinity so the tank's parameter changes to the detriment of its inhabitants. The measurements when repeated vary too much. Using this equipment gives the aquarist a false sense of control over an important parameter.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Fielding12
Feb 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Not the best methode for keeping an eye on Salinity.

Installation and Operation Product is very easy to use. Just fill it with the water to test and observe the reading.


Performance vs. Expectations I found it to be not accuarate at all. I would even get some different readings taken minutes apart. The error was very high when compare with a refractometer.


Value for money Not very expensive, but also not very accuarte. Can be used to at leat keep salinity levels stable.


Customer Support NA.


Liked about it 1. Ease of use.


Didn't like 1. Not accurate.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Mark_Winn
Feb 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

I Was Expecting Accuracy

Installation and Operation All you do with this little thing is either load it up with some tank water and look at where the swing arm pointing, or remove the cork from the bottom and stick it to your tank or sump. You have to be sure to rinse it out a lot because the swing arm will start to stick. This was my first SG tester in the hobby and I didn't realize how far off my readings truly were until I bought a refractometer. For what it's worth, it's a good tool for getting a general idea on where your SG is; but I wouldn't recommend buying one if you can afford an actual refractometer.


Performance vs. Expectations It is easy to use and read, but it's not accurate at all. It may be accurate at first, but over time it definitely won't be (my opinion, of course).


Value for money Super cheap and better than nothing!


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it 1) Easy to read, 2) Easy to use, 3) Easy to mount in the sump/tank


Didn't like 1) Suction cups never seem to hold up in this hobby, 2) Swing arm sticks, 3) Inaccuracy


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By flipside
Feb 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

You Get What You Pay For

Installation and Operation This is a great instrument for a quick daily check. I like the side drain for ease of opperation.


Performance vs. Expectations The Product performs as expected.


Value for money I believe for a quick daily check it serves its purpose but I also believe one should use a refractometer to be sure once per week.


Customer Support I have not had any contact with this company


Liked about it ease of use drain on side for auto level.


Didn't like it has two drawbacks. 1. salt creep, the instrument has to be washed out with fresh water very time it's used or you will have inaccurate readings either low because the salt will not let the arm swing freely or to high because of the added salt. 2. micro bubbles will stick to the plastic swing arm and if they are not all knocked off you will get a high reading


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fchidsey
Oct 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Save your money for a good one, but this will get

Installation and Operation No installation needed. Comes pre-assembled. Instructions are decent. Easy to operate but you have to pay attention to what you are doing. Easy to maintain, just rinse it with warm fresh water when you are done. No maintenance other then cleaning after use and making sure it is really clean.


Performance vs. Expectations It performs as expected for the price. I have bought several over the years and they all produce different results. Accurate to a degree but it has room for improvement.


Value for money Great value for the price but you get what you pay for in this case. About the same price as other units. I paid $9.99 for mine at Petco cause the LFS wanted $11.99 for it.


Customer Support Never dealt with the company directly.


Liked about it It is fairly good at what it does. It also has a good price and the maintenance factor is minimal.


Didn't like Not very accurate, to me you should not get 3 different readings when you use it.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By bb0029
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

cheap, unlikely to be precise or consistent

Installation and Operation as with all hydrometers, this is very prone to error. Salt creep is the biggest culprit, but initial calibration is to a concern as well. Better to use a refractometer. However, they're usually consistent, so while they may not be accurate, given proper conditions they can be precise.


Performance vs. Expectations Because I had low expectations going in, this unit performed per my expectations. I still have it on hand, and sometimes use it to compare to my refractometer, but it's certainly a backup to a backup.


Value for money This hydrometer is certainly cheap compared to a refractometer, so for some applications (rock vats, curing tanks), this may be a good choice. However, for coral tanks, you're better off with a more accurate device.


Liked about it It's cheap and expendable. For the price, it's easy to justify buying one of these.


Didn't like Prone to accuracy issues. If you have a way to calibrate it, it may be a good choice, but usually I refer to a more accurate device.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By crvz
May 05, 2009
 
Last updated: May 17, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant Ocean

General This is a good and inexpensive tool for a simple saltwater set up. If you have expensive corals then you would probably want to look into a refractormeter for a little more coin. Be sure to tap any bubbles off of the hydrometer to get an acuate reading. My hyrometer does tend to read a slightly highter then actual salinity. Also be sure to wash it out each and every time or you will have a false reading.


Liked about it Cheep and consistant reading have not had a problem with it which i have had for years.


Didn't like Bubbles on the meter will affect the reading be sure to tap them off if you get them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By quick_murdoc
Apr 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Cheap and easy!

Installation and Operation pretty much doesn't get any easier


Performance vs. Expectations works great as expected


Value for money great value. not as accurate as refractometers but doe the job just fine


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it ease of use
price


Didn't like salt build up will cause the needle to stick a bit, just needs flushed.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By gouch
May 28, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Not what I expected

Installation and Operation All you need to do is season it for awhile then take a quick reading. It was really simple.


Performance vs. Expectations It was off about 4 points when I bought my refractometer.


Value for money It's not worth the price, I would save up for a more accurate tool.


Liked about it Cheap


Didn't like Not accurate
Air bubbles


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Coreyb
Apr 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

If you are going to a reef tank. get a refractometer.

Installation and Operation Product is faily easy to use. The only problem is getting the bubbles off the swingarm.


Performance vs. Expectations Expected it to more accurate than it really was. Once I bought a refractometer I realized that buying this was a waste of time and money.


Value for money Get the job done for cheap. Fine for FO/FOWLR tanks.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Reuseable


Didn't like Tough to clean.
Tough to get an accurate reading due to bubbles.
Get different readings at different temperatures.
Unable to clibrate.


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great budget tool!

Installation and Operation This product might not be as on point as a refractometer. But for the price, if it is used correctly then you will have no need to worry about double checking for salt levels.


Performance vs. Expectations Great tool , it under reads so just account for that.


Value for money Good tool for the money.


Customer Support Great company, so customer service gos along with that.


Liked about it Love the shape


Didn't like its not a refractometer


Overall rating:
 
3.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.5

By BobbyRodriguez
Dec 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

works great

Installation and Operation very easy to use


Performance vs. Expectations works as advertised


Value for money great for beginners


Customer Support n/a


Liked about it easy to use, doesn't take up space


Didn't like yo have to remember to rinse with freshwater every time you use it or the needle will stick


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By richieg0324
Nov 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great item for the money

Installation and Operation Very easy to use, just be sure to clean it after every use.


Performance vs. Expectations Seems to give accurate readings on every dip.


Value for money Great value for the money


Customer Support Never dealt with company


Liked about it Ease of use, accurate readings, price is right


Didn't like Nothing wrong with it.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Youl get what you pay for!

Installation and Operation Very nice for the budget conscious... Would not use long term. Dip, sit on level surface and taking SG/ salinity reading. Great to get the kids involved with if they want to help! Care has to be taken to make sure there are not air bubbles on the arm as this will give a false reading. Must be cleaned after each use.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes Reading will vary slightly.


Value for money Absolutely!


Customer Support Never dealt with company.


Liked about it Cheap. Easy to maintain. Easier to use.


Didn't like Reading will vary slightly.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By sks4613
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Ok for the money

Installation and Operation Easy to use just dip and read, besure to place on flat surface and there are no air bubbles on the swing arm, have to keep clean rinse after every use.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs as expected, wish it was a little more acurate


Value for money Good value for the money for those who can not afford a refractometer


Liked about it Easy to use, good for fish only tanks


Didn't like Hard to keep clean, will get a build up after awhile, not as acurate as i would like, i would not use this on any reef tanks with sensitive inverts


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By chrisd
Oct 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Worth the money

Installation and Operation Not difficult to work with at all. It give's you the correct reading's. After you take a reading you have to soak this in tap water for a good five minutes and wash it very well. If you don't you will have dry salt deposits which will give you incorrect reading's. Keep this unit clean after each use!


Performance vs. Expectations Yes


Value for money Good for the Money.


Customer Support No


Liked about it Love it. Just dip and read.


Didn't like Nothing wrong with it. You just have to keep the unit clean to get the right reading's with every test.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By J-LUIS
Sep 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

You get what you pay

Installation and Operation No installation required


Performance vs. Expectations Good value for the money


Value for money Good value for money but definitely room for improvement


Customer Support Never dealt with company


Liked about it Easy to use, easy to maintain


Didn't like Never sure if I'm right with this thing, measured sea water and it said 1.014 (supposed to be 1.026) Then tested tap water and got 1.004.. Very confusing, better to just go for a refractometer


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Worth it if you can't afford a refractometer

Installation and Operation Just dunk it in!


Performance vs. Expectations I usually test the water at least 3 or 4 times with this and tap it to get all the air bubbles out. I would never trust it just on the first use. Always rinse it when done using.


Value for money Worth it.


Liked about it Easy to use and cheap.


Didn't like A little off and easily thrown off by small air bubbles.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By EndlessSummer
Jul 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great for the price!

General When you spend 80 dollars on a refractometer.......you expect it to be precise.......when you spend 5-10 dollars on this.....you will get a fairly good reading. Make sure you do a reading with RO water to make sure its not too far off.


Liked about it Easy to use
Cheap
Readily available


Didn't like Brittle
About 80-90% accurate, which isn't enough.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By fihsboy
Jul 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Instant Ocean SeaTest Hydrometer

General I wouldn't rely on this as my sole salinity metering device but I couldn't imagine living without one as it is so quick and easy to use.


Liked about it Easy to read, quick operation, great for a quick check while mixing up a batch of salt water.


Didn't like Made of very brittle plastic, although it has survived so far. It was calibrated slightly wrong, under-reading the salinity by 0.002. I guess this is to be expected of a hydrometer of this type/price.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By bella d
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Hydrometer

General I used one of these when I started too but after using a refractometer the first time and seeing how far off my salinity was I'll never use one again or recommend anyone else do.


Liked about it Easy to use


Didn't like Completely inaccurate compared to a refractometer, arm sticks


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great for starting out...

General When I started out in the hobby, I used one of these hydrometers as my refernce to the salinty levels of my water. It worked well, you do have to make sure that there are no air bubbles in the chamber though so your readings aren't inaccurate. I did compare my reading to my refactometer after I got it and the hydrometer was off by .01.


Liked about it Ease of use.


Didn't like Not as close of a tolerance as a refractometer.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Big D
Jul 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Bubbles

General Be very careful when filling as to not get any micro bubbles on the arm. The reading will be quite high even if there is a single small bubble on the outer part of the arm.


Liked about it Both scales, Cheap


Didn't like micro bubbles through it off.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By hawaii4485
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

hydrometer

General One of the first tools I bought was this hydrometer and I still have it.
It a useful piece of kit and without one your in trouble. I need to shake mine first as pin gets stuck and I have to use it away form the bubles caused by my skimmer as the pin raises with the bubbles. Overall great simple and cost effective kit.


Liked about it Ease of use


Didn't like Any bubles in water make test inaccurate.
Pin can stick inside so needs a shake.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By bulletmagnet1337
Jul 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Hydrometer

General All in all a great Hydrometer. Just take a reading with it and then have a LFS take a reading and then you know how much off you really are.


Liked about it Cheap, easy to use and fairly accurate.


Didn't like Bubbles on the needle can give false readings.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fish Dude32
Jun 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Thoughts on Instant Ocean Hydrometer

General Great starter unit for first saltwater tank.


Liked about it CHEAP!Great for meausring salt mixes.


Didn't like Due to lack saltcreep will have to rinse in hot water even vinger to make sure a semi accurate reading


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Dragonist
May 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Good for the money

General Before I bought a refractometer, I used this product exclusively to measure my salt levels. It is surprisingly accurate when measuring levels that tanks are normally kept, 1.019-1.026. As the SG drops below 1.019 its accuracy also drops. All in all, I would recommend it for entry level duties.


Liked about it Inexpensive
Simple to use


Didn't like Must be kept very clean to ensure consistent results
Any air bubbles on needle will skew the results


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Mr.Peanut
Apr 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

its a good one

General if mine were to break i would buy another one.


Liked about it easy to read good. for mixing up salt to a good level, but use a refractometer for accurate stuff.


Didn't like not as accurate as a refractometer. dont drop it cracks easily.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Gabriel
Apr 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Always inaccurate the same amount

General Fine for a fish only tank but if you have inverts a refractometer is needed. Do not attempt a hyposalinity treatment with this or any hobby level swing arm hydrometer.


Liked about it If this swing arm is kept clean it reads pretty consistently for a swing arm hydrometer. It should be checked against a recently calibrated refractometer monthly.


Didn't like It always read consistently but it was off by .002.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By jenglish
Mar 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $14
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec455