Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.1 (28)
 Add a review

Coralife Deep Six Hydrometer Featured

 
Deep Six Hydrometer 1.012 - 1.032 specific gravity by Central Aquatics. Easy and accurate way to test specific gravity


Price: $3 to $12 at 9 stores
Searched Coralife Deep Six Hydrometer in Reviews
 

 

Way off

Installation and Operation Easy to use--getting the water out is more difficult than most other types.


Performance vs. Expectations According to my readings with this hydrometer, I'm practically using fresh water! Something just ain't right with this thing! At times it gives a reading comparable to the Instant Ocean one I also have; at other times, the reading is quite a bit off (you start to wonder which one is correct after a while, but I tested my Instant Ocean job at the LFS today).


Value for money Not if it's not even close to being accurate. Maybe I just got a defective one.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Um, er...it has a nice flat bottom to rest on the table.


Didn't like 1. Wildly inaccurate readings; has worked now and then however.
2. Harder to drain out testing water than other brands.
3. Wish it were more reliable.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By MichaelJayKlein
Apr 11, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Not Accurate, Spend Your Money Elsewhere

Installation and Operation The hydrometer is very simple to use however I have 3 that I have purchsed in the last few months and none of them have been accurate. After calling my lfs they told me they need to be "seasoned" by leaving them in saltwater for 48 hours so I tried that and there was no difference. They said they had been having problems with them not being accurate in the last few months and have had several complaints. Mine reads 1.026 when the salinity is actually 1.030. It is consistently off so I adjust while mixing saltwater and get pretty close to where I want to be.


Performance vs. Expectations No, they aren't accurate right out of the package and should not be trusted


Value for money Although the price is very low on these hydrometers they aren't worth the expense


Liked about it 1. Inexpensive purchase price
2. Very simple to use
3. Gives consistent readings


Didn't like 1. Not accurate, my 3 are off by anywhere from .03 to .05 on their readings although they are consistently off by the same amount
2. Air bubbles can get trapped on the swingarm giving false readings
3. Sometimes the swingarm will become stuck


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By JDG500
May 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

I like this swing arm

Installation and Operation I have the new design that came out, it is very easy to use, has a little sponge to keep out micro bubbles. extremely accurate for a swing arm.


Performance vs. Expectations for the price, the accurateness is unbeatable. this can get me spot on to the refractometer reading.


Value for money I would say, I can get an accurate reading for it between 76-80F it matches up exactly to the refractometer.


Liked about it Nice little unit, I can get an accurate reeding in the time it takes me to get my refractometer from its case. its small, I don't have to worry about loosing money if i drop it. I mix up my SW in a different part of the house, so instead of taking my refractometer back and forth, I just take this little guy, and just double check with the refractometer just to make sure, and hasn't been wrong in 5 months!


Didn't like I have seen nothing wrong with this unit yet


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Nate_Bro
Dec 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

i have tried 2

Installation and Operation i have never got the same reading twice with these i have used 2 of them and it is never right it has given me a reading of 28 ppt dump it try again and its 36 ppt so with that being said you will probably kill livestock with this


Performance vs. Expectations i will not reccomend to anyone ever it will not work i have tried 2 different ones and had nothing but problems right out of package


Value for money not worth the sales tax u pay on it or the gas to get it


Liked about it i cannot honestly say i liked anything about this product it has only been trouble


Didn't like it is very unstable and gives false reading and in the end it will kill livestock in tanks not sure why they are so bad but i will never buy another


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By big_trucks_1985
Oct 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good hydrometer for the money

Installation and Operation This product is very easy to use. It does seem to be very accurate. I have never compared it to any other meter. A good thing about this product is the cost is very inexpensive and readily available. There are not many instructions that come with it other than how to use it and how to clean it.


Performance vs. Expectations The product does perform just like it is advertised, but i thought it could be a little better.


Value for money Definitely a good product for the price


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I liked how easy it was to use and how easy it was to read. I also like the cost. i bought it when i first started salt water fish tanks and it helped bring down the cost a little bit compared to others.


Didn't like The only thing I did not like is that the first one i purchased was defective. It was measuring salt in my distilled water straight from the gallon. Other than that i loved it.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Bobby89
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good to starter

Installation and Operation Extremely easy to use. I liked that it would draw water from the bottom of the instrument, rather then just taking a sample form the surface. It was also easy to read the salinity level once filled.


Performance vs. Expectations It gets the job done, although I would say like others that this is a good starter until upgrading to a refractometer. Once I had upgraded I learned that the readings of 1.022 were actually 1.026 on the refractometer.


Liked about it -Cheap
-Great starter
-Good for a quick read
-Samples water about 6" below surface


Didn't like -Inaccurate
-Needle would stick time-to-time, a quick shake to free up though


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Maverick986
Apr 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good starter Hydrometer

Installation and Operation Easy to use. No calibration needed.


Performance vs. Expectations Works great I dip an pour out an dip again this seems to clear any bubbles that may be present. Accurate too. I compared its reading to the refractometer and it was right on.


Value for money Great value. Use it exclusively


Liked about it fast,accurate, price


Didn't like nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By rugman7
Feb 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Cheap but questionable

Installation and Operation Almost too easy to use and so air bubbles can be missed on the indicator arm making the reading appear higher than it should. Also, there is no way to compensate for temperature, so all readings should be done on samples (tank, water change) that are at close to the same temperature.


Performance vs. Expectations At this low price, its about as accurate as can be expected.


Value for money Good for the money as a starter or backup, but for accuracy a refractometer is a must.


Liked about it Easy to use
Easy to read
Fast


Didn't like Questionable accuracy
Questionable consistency


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By vic622
Jan 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Worth the money 100%

Installation and Operation Like others said, no installation required. Many hydrometers need claibration so they can be tested accurately, but this product is just as accurate as a refractometer. I recommend it highly!


Performance vs. Expectations You need to tap the bottom on a counter because the arm sometimes get's stuck, but that's not a big deal. Make sure you rinse it with freshwater before use, because salt deposits get traped inside which raises the reading.


Value for money I use this everyday! I didn't pay much for it either. And it's a must for any saltwater aquarium!!


Liked about it The accuracy
Easy to use!
No calibration needed!!


Didn't like This is a wonderful product!!


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By berger9953
Jan 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

I would suggest a refractometer

Installation and Operation This product is easy to set up, operate and keep clean but hydrometers are off by alot most of the time so I would suggest buying a refractometer instead.


Performance vs. Expectations It works ok for an estimate, but I would never use it to get a pinpoint measurement. It may be ok if you have just a FO tank but if you have a reef a refractometer is a must have.


Value for money Got it for free so id say it is, but I really would rather save up and get a refractometer rather than buy a hydrometer.


Customer Support Haven't dealt with the company.


Liked about it It is a very easy product to use and keep in working order, and has a clip which can be helpful.


Didn't like Like most hydrometers, performance is nowhere close to that of a refractometer so I would never use one long term or for pinpoint accuracy.


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By Reeftanker3295
Aug 07, 2009
 
Last updated: December 28, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Great Hydrometer

General I personally have had no problems with mine. I've tested it against 2 refractometers and it is accurate. Could be that I just got a rare one that was calibrated correctly. I followed the instructions exactly and filled the thing with some good saltwater and let it sit for 24 hours before use and everything has worked perfect for me. Only thing that throws it off is if there are any little bubbles on the needle. No bubbles are required for a perfect reading. I love mine and for the same results I'll spend 6 or 7 dollars for this unit over 60 or more dollars for a refractometer any day. Do make sure that yours is calibrated correctly though so you've got no worries.


Liked about it Easy to read and very inexpensive


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Jul 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

great product!

Installation and Operation Very simple to operate, and the readings seem to be very consistant.


Performance vs. Expectations for the money i think it works great, and since i have had no problems with it, im not going to upgrade to a refractometer.


Value for money there is no better value than this product for the price.


Customer Support i have never had to call the company, and i have many coralife products. they are a great company for beginners and even on up to more advanced aquarists.


Liked about it this product is easy to use, inexpensive, and very accurate.


Didn't like sometimes the the measurement needle sticks to the side


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.5

By pbrainey
Feb 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Ok Hydrometer

Installation and Operation This product is easy to use and I'm pretty sure that it shows you the correct salinity. Every time I do water changes this hydrometer is right next to me for meausuring the salinity in my tank. My tank has been doing great for almost a year now and this hydrometer hasnt done me wrong once.


Performance vs. Expectations The product performs well.


Value for money Good value for the money.


Customer Support No


Liked about it -Easy to use
-Easy to clean
-Good results


Didn't like I like everthing


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By fishoutofwater25
Sep 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

The best hydrometer for its cost

Installation and Operation No Installation is required


Performance vs. Expectations For its cost this product meets all my expectations


Value for money In my oppion you get more out of this little product than what you pay for it


Customer Support Never had to deal with customer support and I really don't think any one would have to deal with them - this product is just that easy to use.


Liked about it Very easy to use and its cheap.


Didn't like There is nothing I don't like about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By scubasteve3610
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good for the money, average

Installation and Operation No installations required, use right out of the package


Performance vs. Expectations Performed as I expected it too.. It is not very acurate but rather gives you a great idea of your gravity


Value for money Good value for your money


Liked about it Easy to use
Time saving
Cheap


Didn't like It needs to be rinsed off and cleaned after each use, if you do not do this your next measurement will be way off.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By salty198
Sep 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good for the money

Installation and Operation Seems to work fine for me. Some people have problems with it. It does have issues from time to time but as long as you remember to not let bubbles build up on the needle you should be fine.


Performance vs. Expectations Readings seem consistent with my tank and right on target. I have had no issues therefor it performs well for me.


Value for money Great for the money.


Liked about it Easy
Consistent
Fast


Didn't like Having to knock bubbles off the needle


Overall rating:
 
4.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Jagator
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

A good start

Installation and Operation Easy instructions,


Performance vs. Expectations Measures salinity as stated, however, seems to be inaccurate


Liked about it Cheap


Didn't like Not accurate enough to be used for anymore than a ballpark measurement.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By Staplesofficewar
Jul 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Cheap and usefull

Installation and Operation Real easy cause there is no installation


Performance vs. Expectations It works real good


Liked about it -easy to use
-cheap
-no installation


Didn't like nothing I don't like


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By 10 gallon reefer
Jul 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Coralife Deep Six Hydrometer

General Would not recommend buying it unless you are going to use it as a starter until you save and get a refractometer.


Liked about it Easy to read.


Didn't like Compared to my refractometer the salinity was off .003.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By AquaGrizzly
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Cheap and Inaccurate

General These hydrometers are the source of many inaccurate readings. If the user does not have it tested against a calibrated refractometer, then the user will never know how much the unit is off. Mine was reading .005 too low when I first got it and my SG was at 1.030 but the hydrometer was reading 1.025. When I had my water tested with a refractometer I discovered the problem and had to lower my SG. Save yourself the headache, start with a properly calibrated refractometer.


Liked about it Inexpensive.


Didn't like Inaccurate if not tested against a calibrated refractometer first. Becomes less accurate with age.


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By ILuvMyGoldBarb
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Not the best

General If you get a good one they are ok, but they aren't accurate enough for piece of mind unless you only have a fish only tank.


Liked about it It was somewhat close sometimes


Didn't like It was somewhat close sometimes


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By guitar8222
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Deep Six Hydrometer

General An OK hydrometer for the money. Packaging says it's adjusted properly but the one I have is not it is about .04 off which is really annoying. I would recommend a refractometer or another manual hydrometer!


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By cutietwo
Jul 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Don't buy

General Starting off with a reef tank i would say you can use this for a little. But if you get serious in to having a established tank. I would recommend buying a refractometer


Liked about it nothing


Didn't like changed reading if i put it in 3 times in a row


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By quader94
Jun 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Starter hydrometer

General Good for just getting into hobby


Liked about it Easy to read


Didn't like It isn't as accurate as I would like


Overall rating:
 
2.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By clowninaround
Jun 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Not a good choice

General I would not recommend this as a tool for measuring tank salinity. It is routinely VERY inaccurate when compared to my refractometer readings. I would recommend a different hydrometer, or more realistically, a refractometer to accurately measure the most basic and important element of your aquarium ... the salt water.


Liked about it Easy to read and use.


Didn't like Not accurate.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By drdude05
Jun 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Good beginner hydrometer

General Everyone's "beginner" hydrometer. I have known no one to use this item more than a couple of months before moving on to a refractometer. Personally, I would say, if you have the money, take the plunge and get a refract and skip this "step". If money is an issue however, or you are more interested in keeping a fish-only system where salinity does not have to be "spot-on" then this might be an option. Just understand that precision is something we owe the inhabitants we force to live with us.


Liked about it Simple and effective


Didn't like Not very accurate


Overall rating:
 
2.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By superwizbang
Apr 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

its okay

General Its worked pretty well so far for me. From what ive been told a refractometer would be better.


Liked about it easy to read and use


Didn't like if salt was stuck inside it caused the needle to stick and having to tap it to remove air bubbles


Overall rating:
 
3.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By chatterboxbaby82
Apr 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Testing

General I would not recommend this for any testing . Buy a refractometer !


Liked about it Filled up nicely when pushed down into the water. Nice clip to hang off the back of the tank


Didn't like Small base . Always falls over . Very unreliable.Tests were never the same. I found this hydrometer to be a big problem testing my water.It eventually just pointed straight up and didn't work anymore . It was one month old.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By biowheel
Apr 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $12
Compare Prices
at 9 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec453