Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (12)
 Add a review

MarineDepot Aquarium Refractometer

 
This high quality refractometer is extremely accurate and easy to use and calibrate. Calibration is simply done with a few drops of distilled water. This model also features ATC (automatic temperature compensation). - Adjustable eyepiece - Carrying case - Pipette - Calibration screw driver - Range for Testing: 0-28% - Division: 0.20%


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched MarineDepot Aquarium Refractometer in Reviews
 

 

Throw away your hydrometer! featured

Installation and Operation There is not instillation with this product you can simply use it right out of the box although I do suggest calibrating it before you use it and calibration every time you use it.

So much better than a hydrometer. No more guess what your specific gravity is. Simply place a few drop of tank water on the lens close the come look into the refractometer towards a light source. Simple to use. Clear and precise measurement if your tank salinity.

If you do not already hove one I suggest you go out and get one right away!


Performance vs. Expectations It performs just as expected. It could not be simpler to use.
Clear and accurate reading immediately.
This product performs 100% as advertised!


Value for money At about $50 you cannot go wrong. These are very accurate. Much better than any hydrometer.
I was very please with this products and it is worth every penny.


Customer Support Never needed it!


Liked about it This is about the most accurate way you measure your salinity.
Compact, Does not take up much space and comes with ta case
Easy to use! You cannot make any errors


Didn't like There really was not anything that I disliked about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ckusnierek
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Refractometer essential for salt water aquarium featured

Installation and Operation The refractometer is one of the most important pieces of equipment, in my opinion, for a salt water aquarium. Initial calibration is easy and adjusts to temperature variations and subsequent use requires only care to not scratch the glass surface and to store it clean and dry. Shipped in a storage box, it is easy to protect between uses.


Performance vs. Expectations The refractometer is consistently accurate as advertised.


Value for money Purchase a refractometer if you want to adjust salinity accurately. It is relatively inexpensive and gives you the means to monitor your tank's salinity for a healthy environment. Basically the cost is cheap when you contrast it to the cost of purchased fish potentially lost to salinity problems.


Customer Support I have never needed customer support on the refractometer. I have had good customer service from Marine Depot for other products.


Liked about it The refractometer measurement gives me accurate control over salinity. The cost is inexpensive especially when contrasted with what losing fish would cost. The device is easy to use, clean, and store; it comes with a storage case, cleaning cloth, and pipette.


Didn't like You need a bright light source to read the scale. Scratches on the glass will distort readings. It is not the easiest display to see for a myopic person wearing glasses; it is easier to read if not wearing glasses.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Fielding12
Feb 21, 2010
 
Last updated: February 22, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great refractometer featured

Installation and Operation Very simple to use, works well right out of the box, easy to calibrate. I used this refractometer for years, even after it broke when it fell over (from standing up, and it only fell over onto its side). The bracket holding the water press broke, so I had to hold everything in place to use it. It still worked and I only recently bought a new one.


Performance vs. Expectations Works exactly as expected. Very consistent and I still pull it out to check it against my other salinity measures.


Value for money One of the cheaper refractometers on the market, I think it's easily as high a quality as most. I was very pleased with the value for this product.


Customer Support Marine depot sets the benchmark for customer service for their products, and I've used them for hardware for many years. I'm very pleased with this company and manufacturer, I'd never hesitate making purchases from them.


Liked about it This unit works well, is relatively inexpensive, and very consistent. It's also very simple to calibrate.


Didn't like It broke with relative ease, but I still used it for a long time before finally replacing it. I would be more likely to buy another if I knew it was more robust. The force applied when it broke was very little, but in it's defense I shouldnt have left it standing up where it was prone to being knocked over (it comes in a protective case to keep just these scenarios from occurring).


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By crvz
Jan 06, 2010
 
Last updated: May 18, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth the cost

Installation and Operation Little to no maintenance other than periodic calibration for peace of mind more than anything else.


Performance vs. Expectations Very accurate . Exceeded my expectations


Value for money One of the best values out there


Customer Support Never had a reason to call their support


Liked about it Exceeded my expectations. I was expecting a marketing scheme given its Marine Depot brand and thought it would be a cheap product to plug their name. The quality and ease of use was far better than i expected. It is easy to take the measurement and clean. Has easy to use focus mechanism


Didn't like The clear cover on sample side has odd hinge mechanism
Could have done away with wide salinity range and had bigger numbers and measurement notches for us hard at seeing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By mocoso
Jan 30, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Definitely a must have

Installation and Operation If you have the calibration solution, this thing is very easy to calibrate. The instructions are good and it is very easy to use, much easier than a hydrometer.


Performance vs. Expectations It works great and is very accurate. If you have good lighting, it is very clear and easy to read.


Value for money It is definitely worth the money. It has the same quality as other refractometers double the price.


Customer Support Haven't needed it!


Liked about it I love how easy it is to use.
It is also very accurate and clear to read.
It is very compact and easy to store.


Didn't like It needs to be calibrated a bit more often than I would like.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By wii64brawl
Nov 12, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth the Money,

Installation and Operation Never used or Owned a refractometer before, right out the package easy to use instructions and its ready to go. Comes with everything you need, dropper and screw driver for calibration. Couldnt be easier to operate


Performance vs. Expectations Performs as advertised, but as I mentioned never used one before, much more acurate then a hydrometer I have always used.


Value for money Fairly prioed compared to others I was looking at. Great value for the money I spent on it. Best under $50 I have spent for tank maintence product


Liked about it Easy to use and clean, ten times easier then a hydrometer which always needs cleaning, With this simply wipe with ro or distilled water after each use.
Calibration could not be simplier, easy
Works right out the package
Comes with a handy storage container


Didn't like Can only list one thing I think could be inproved on, view finder could be larger along with how much light is needed to read it. Having to wear eye glasses is difficult to see through the view finder, and need to remove them to view it.


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By salty198
Jan 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

worth every penny

Installation and Operation comes in a hard plastic case with a foam lining for storage. very easy to use and accurate for long periods of time after calibration. calibration itself is easy also. it comes with a small screwdriver and you turn the set screw to raise or lower the line to the calibration point. a strong light in the background helps for readings.


Performance vs. Expectations yes it is the most accurate piece of equipment you can get for a reasonable price


Value for money when i first got my refract i was using a standard hydrometer that read 1.024. my refract, after calibration, read 1.032. i had had my system at that salinity for a while. i probably wasted more money in salt before i had refract than the cost of the it. and stressed my fish


Customer Support never had to deal with customer support


Liked about it easy to use, easy to calibrate, quick and accurate measurement taking


Didn't like the lines could be spaced a little further apart but you can still see them pretty well


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By alcorn128
Mar 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Definitely Worth The Money

Installation and Operation I got this refractometer in a trade with another local. Before it, I had hydrometers and to my surprise I was way off my intended salinity level of 1.026. I was getting a 1.030 reading on the refractometer! I checked my water at a LFS and it confirmed the refractometer's readings.

This refractometer is very easy to calibrate and read. The eyepiece is simple to focus and it comes with a case, screwdriver for calibration purposes, and a dropper. Definitely one of my favorite tools in the arsenal.


Performance vs. Expectations The refractometer does exactly as the manufacturer states. I've had no problems with it whatsoever.


Value for money Since I got this in a trade, and never used a different refractometer, I can't really compare it. It's leaps and bounds better than a hydrometer, though.


Customer Support Marine Depot always has had good customer service, in my opinion. Never had to deal with them on this item, but otherwise.


Liked about it 1) Easy to read, 2) Easy to calibrate


Didn't like 1) Would love if it had it's own built-in backlighting, but that costs more :) 2) Building up some rust around the swing away window


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By flipside
Feb 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very good refractometer

Installation and Operation Picked this up to try it out. I love it. Very easy to calibrate and use and a great value. Great product IMO.


Performance vs. Expectations This product performs amazingly well. Does not have a light so you need light to read it though.


Value for money VERY worth the price.


Customer Support Marine Depot has great customer support. I've never had a problem with returns or exchanges on anything.


Liked about it Easy to use
easy to calibrate
inexpensive


Didn't like Wish it had a light but overall it's a great product. Get it if you don't have a refractometer yet.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By ibanez2k
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Well worth the extra money!

Installation and Operation Easy to calibrate and use. Directions tell you how to calibrate and so easy to use. It has made my life so much easier, as well as feeling less stressed since I know it's much more accurate


Performance vs. Expectations Works very well


Value for money Well worth the 50 dollars


Customer Support Never needed customer support


Liked about it Easy to use, accurate, nice storage case


Didn't like Nothing


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Newtanker
Jan 11, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Must have

Installation and Operation There is no install required. Just Calibrate it and you will be on your way. Not hard to calibrate either. 3 drops of distilled/RODI water on the glass and turn the screw (with included screwdriver). Work the calibration right into your maintenance schedule.


Performance vs. Expectations Works great. No problems here. Performs just as I expected


Value for money Expected a higher price. I think it is well worth it.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Dropper included. Simple to use. Easy to calibrate


Didn't like Less need for calibration


Overall rating:
 
4.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By aborgardt
Apr 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Must have tool

Installation and Operation Very easy to use. The instructions are easy to understand.


Performance vs. Expectations One of the best investments you can make if you are keeping a SW tank.


Value for money Excellent value for the money spent.


Liked about it Exact salt levels are shown
Small compact size
Easy to use
Calibration is a snap


Didn't like That I didn't get one sooner.
Can be hard to read unless you have a strong light source.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec559