Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.3 (9)
 Add a review

Eheim Jager Heater 150W Featured

 
J ger TS Automatic Heaters 150 watt by Eheim. Automatic heaters for 10 to 90+ gallon tanks


Price: $16 to $22 at 6 stores
Searched Eheim Jager Heater 150W in Reviews
 

 

I was expecting more featured

Installation and Operation Pretty easy to install, fully submersible, set the temp and place in water. I have my heater in the sump. My problem is that the internal thermostat is not accurate. I set the temp for 79 on the heater, and the heater comes on when the sump water is at 79, 80, or 81 degrees. It should shut off at 79 degrees and it doesn't.


Performance vs. Expectations I can not get the internal thermostat set correctly.


Value for money I would have to say no.


Customer Support I sent an email expressing my concerns over the internal thermostat of my heater. The company sent me a link to the instructions and said to follow the directions to recalibrate the unit. I have done this with no success. It doesn't make sense to me to have to recalibrate the internal thermostat. My old heater had a setting for 79 degrees and would shut off when that temperature was reached. You should not have to ever re-calibrate a temperature. 79 is 79 is 79, it dosent change.


Liked about it easy to install and fully submersible.


Didn't like It is not accurate. There is an adjustment to recalibrate the internal thermostat witch in my opinion should not be an option. When the water temperature is reached, the heater should shut off period. It is not complicated but this Eheim heater makes it so.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By szucchi
Jan 25, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Eheim Jager Heater 150w featured

Installation and Operation Plug and play out of the box. The suction cups work as well as expected...not great, but par for the course for suction cups.


Performance vs. Expectations Yes, a heater is a heater, however for such an important part of my system, I opt for a better name and quality build. I still am wary about glass heaters, but this is 2mm borosilicate glass, what I use in my chemistry lab tubes.


Value for money I'm happy to pay an extra few dollars for a better quality product. I'm more confident of the thermostat than in some competing heaters. After cooking a tank from a stuck thermostat, I'm not about to skimp.


Customer Support No problems, no worries here


Liked about it These heaters are a bit big...make no mistake, they are beefy. It should be noted that this model is UL listed as fully submersible compared to some of the earlier reviewed versions that perhaps were not. A new safety cable ( a better insulated power cord & double sealing dial) makes it as practical as any other high end heater. The thermostat is shown on the top, and is easy to read and adjust. There is also a calibration button to double check the factory settings. There is a control light to show when it is on, and has an automatic shut off when overheated. I tested it in a 35gallon mixing container at 65degrees. It did take nearly 24 hours to heat to the 79 degrees I'd set it at, however to be fair there was no circulation in the tank. After mixing the temperature adjusted quickly upon retesting


Didn't like A few more dollars that the rest, but I've used enough bad heaters, and bad pumps for that matter, to happily spend on an Eheim.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By hansmatt
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Great Heater

Installation and Operation Installing this was as easy as setting the dial, attaching the cups, and acclimating the heater to the tank. This heater was a quick purchase to replace my previous heater. I lucked out by picking this one up. Not being familiar with the name brand at the time, I think my money was very well spent, even if by accident ;)


Performance vs. Expectations I've heard great things about Eheim Jager, and now I know why. This one replaced some other heater I had that went out after 45 days. With this heater, I didn't even have to play with the temperature dial.


Value for money It's been a reliable and accurate heater for me. I would not hesitate to purchase another if necessary.


Customer Support Never needed them.


Liked about it Accurate temperature dial - no fiddling for days to get it right.
* Ease of use
* Rock-steady temps


Didn't like There is absolutely nothing I would change about this product.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By Chalkoutline
Aug 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

"Set it" and "Fa-Get-it"

Installation and Operation I literally placed this heater in the sump of my JBJ 28 LED Nano on March 1, 2010 and have not touched it since! Perfect temps 24/7. Not sure there is a whole lot more to say. My favorite kind of heater as it is a "Set it" and "Fa-Get-it" heater!


Performance vs. Expectations As mentioned above the Jager has been perfect. I have been using Jager heaters since the 80's without ever a problem. My Dad has a 10 year old Jager still heating his 30 gal freshwater tank. Enough said?


Value for money Wow I would say so! See above comments. I have never really used other heaters since a clip on Hagen back in the day.


Customer Support NA, Not yet and I bet will never have too.


Liked about it 1.Reliability
2.Construction
3.Value


Didn't like None. Perhaps perfect? I just can't think of anything negative. I have heard stories regarding the suction cups but since I placed my heater in the sump there was no need for them.


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By coral1
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

You get what you pay for

Installation and Operation Installation is easy, comes with two suction cups and a clip. Plug and play


Performance vs. Expectations Performance is dismal. But when a product comes with a temperature fine tuning nob. You would expect that to help.

I have unpplugged my tank let it drop to 79F and then turned the heater to 81F and the light never came on. I then adjusted the calibration nob all the way to 76F (well below actual) and even then the light for the heater never came on. I had to turn it all the way to 86F to get a response. This was very worrysome so I returned the heater.


Value for money If you want a set and forget heater, this is not what you are looking for


Customer Support No contact


Liked about it I like the build quality for such a cheap heater it has some quality features, however its still not a great heater


Didn't like I don't like the temperature dial or calibration methods


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.0

By p3nguin
Jul 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Hazardous product

Installation and Operation Very easy to install this heater. Easy to put in the cups and plug it in. A very clear water level line, and long enough cord to get were you have to go.


Performance vs. Expectations Heater performed well just as any heater should. Kicked on within one degree of a temperature drop. And a good bright indicator light during operation. Then after about 3 months it shorted out because water got in to the heating coil.


Value for money I would say for the money it was an OK product. Some perform and compare better for the dollar spent.


Customer Support I could not reach any customer support after email. And no good phone number to reach any body to get something done.


Liked about it I liked the fact that it had a long cord. Also when it did kick on you could not hear it, as some have an offensive hum. The cups seem to have good construction.


Didn't like I did not like the fact that the salt creep seemed to collect more on this heater than any others I have used. Also the temperature dial is not as accurate as it should be. The one thing is they did not get things to seal up, after about 3 months it shorted out because water got in to the heating coil.


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Treasures of the
Feb 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Good heater, but should not be submersed.

Installation and Operation Easy to install. Beware that suction cups inevitably fail and that this heater shouldn't be submerged beyond the "water line." So, make sure you have a method to keep it from being fully submerged when the suction cups fail.


Performance vs. Expectations Performs well and is easy to see when it is "on" and heating the tank.


Value for money Is rather expensive for a heater, but it is from a reputable company.


Customer Support Have not dealt with the company yet.


Liked about it Easy to see when it's on.
Reliable thermostat.
Made by a well-known company.


Didn't like Cannot be fully submerged, so it makes placement a bit difficult.


Overall rating:
 
3.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
3.0

By schneijt
Jul 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Jager Heater

General I've had mine for over 4 years and never had a problem always accurate to the temperature I have it set to. Possibly going to add another for backup just in case but hardly thing it is necessary.


Liked about it Accurate temperature control dial, suction cups last a long time, thick glass prevents breakage (unless out of water), fully submersible.


Didn't like None


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By firsthesitation
Jul 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores

Don't like at all

General even though they look like a submersable they are not DONT SUBMERSE or you will have problems from my experience


Liked about it easy to set the temp


Didn't like i have had multiple heaters of this brand overheat the tank. they seem to burn out faster that a standard heater


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Twitterbait
Apr 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $16 to $22
Compare Prices
at 6 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec359