Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
2.8 (8)
 Add a review

Aqueon Submersible Heaters

 
These fish tank heaters have a limited lifetime guarantee, simple-to-use control knobs and submersible design that makes them the best choice for your aquarium. Each heater is personally tested for accuracy, durability and reliability. Designed from thermal shatter-resistant glass, these safe heaters offer molded control knobs and automatic shutoffs to avoid...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Aqueon Submersible Heaters in Reviews
 

 

It isn't saving money if you have to buy twice! featured

Installation and Operation To install this heater you suction cup it to the side of the tank and plug it in, make sure to put a drip loop in the cord. Right away I had problems with this heater. The suction cups were configured in such a way that the cord pulled on the heater and caused it to incline. I'm a bit picky about such things, I like heater to be straight and to stay just like I put it, this one wouldn't. I finally had to add a suction cup to the cord so that it would stop pulling.


Performance vs. Expectations In terms of heating your water, this works great, you will get warm water from it and it gets it there pretty fast. Two things I hated. 1. There is no temperature setting, just hash marks starting at a short mark then getting larger. The short mark means colder, the long mark means hotter. Just how hot or cold it doesn't tell us! So I really had to play with this thing to get it where I wanted it. Then, summer came and the tank warmed up so I wanted to turn the heater down a bit. Then the tank got too cold, because with just hash marks I didn't know quite how much colder I made it.

I finally got so frustrated at my inability to keep the tank at the temperature I wanted it at that I purchased a new heater, this time one with numbers and the ability to increase or decrease the temperature by 1 degree at a time. It's worth the money to buy a heater that does this. If you skip this heater and just go for the good one to begin with, you may spend more on the nice one, but you will save the money you perhaps wasted on this one.

The only caveat I will give to my above opinion is that I do live in the desert so temperature here is a bit different than other places. Perhaps you will have a better time keeping the temperature right where you need it, but I really doubt it. It isn't that this is a poor quality heater, it heats for sure, it's just that it's a low cost heater, and with low cost you just don't get the bells and whistles you get with a higher dollar item.

Of course reviews are here to help you make an informed choice. Based on experience with this product, I've made mine, I won't be buying another one.


Value for money There's really no value for the money as far as I'm concerned. In fact, because I had to buy another heater due to dissatisfaction with this one, I would consider this product to have a negative value.


Customer Support I have not had to use customer support. I did use the web site in an effort to get an idea what each hash mark mentioned above meant. I was able to find that a certain mark was supposed to be preset to 78 degrees. I still don't think that it was.


Liked about it 1. Heated the water quickly.
2. Turned off automatically when the set temperature was reached and came back on when it dropped below.


Didn't like 1. Suction mount not very good.
2. Dial does not have numbers on it and a slight turn either direction seemed to have a drastic effect on temperature.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By tcamos
Sep 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worked great, and then...... featured

Installation and Operation I bought this heater about 4 months ago and it was very worry free. The temperature didnt fluctuate and the heater still worked. The only thing that worried me is that to keep it at 79 degrees, I had to turn it to almost its lowest setting on the dial. But like everyone says, dont trust those, they are kind of just a gimmick.

Well fast forward to last week, I come home and my temperature is about 90 degrees. The heater had become stuck on.
There was no reason for this, I treat ALL my aquarium products and creatures with the utmost care and this product was no different.

After I unplugged it and threw in many RO Ice cubes and waited for the temperature to come down, it continued to work correctly.



Performance vs. Expectations This product is very powerful, definitely meets its rated power, however it fell way below my expectations.
I know heaters dont last forever but I have some older brands that are around 20 years old and working flawlessly.

Dont trust the submersible claim and if you can leave the top exposed. If you can, when you first get the product take off the top and coat the seal with additional sealant to prevent it from taking on water


Value for money As far as it working its a great product, but nothing can justify the 90 degree spike at this price range.
Ill give it an average


Customer Support I emailed and called and left a voicemail.
That was a week ago and I have not gotten a response.
This is typical of this company with a complaint call. If you call with a question they are prompt at getting back to you.


Liked about it I liked the design and it came with good suction cups


Didn't like I didnt like that it got stuck on and my temperature spiked, but somehow I cant be too harsh on it if others have not had that trouble consistently


Overall rating:
 
1.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Solace87
Sep 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Average Heater

Installation and Operation This heater installs and operates just like any other normal heater.


Performance vs. Expectations The heater seemed to work ok for about a year. I used it to heat water for water changes. One day it just stopped working. I never took it out of the water hot or hit it on anything. Not sure why it stopped working after about a year.


Value for money I would have liked the heater to last longer but maybe a year is the expected lifespan of a heater. I think for the money the heater should have lasted longer.


Customer Support I have not dealt with Aqueon customer support.


Liked about it I liked the light that indicates if it's heating or not. This heater kept the water temp pretty steady


Didn't like I didn't like the fact that it only lasted a year. A heater should last much longer if it's not abused


Overall rating:
 
2.8
Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
2.5

By jefferskn
May 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Buy a Jaeger instead

Installation and Operation Got the 300W heater at Petco when I first set up my tank. 2 days later I made an adjustment to the temperature setting underwater and some bubbles emerged from the seal. I thought nothing of that and I went back to what I was doing. A few hours later the damn thing was filling with water. I immediately unplugged the thing and exchanged it for a 200W version. So far the 200W is doing okay. Keeps my tank at a steady 79F. Although I do make a visual inspection of the heater twice a day to prevent any mishaps. I wouldnt reccomend this heater to anyone. Spend the few extra dollars and get a Jaeger!


Performance vs. Expectations Performed as avertised.


Value for money Not worth it.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it it has a light to tell you when its on.


Didn't like First heater filled with water
Temperature dial is not very accuate. I have it set at 76F and it keeps my tank at 79F
When it fails I might lose some livestock so I plan on replacing it before that happens.


Overall rating:
 
1.5
Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Rustl3r
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good Heater

Installation and Operation as with most heaters this one is very easy to install simply plug and play the heater is very acurate and keeps my tank right on 80 Degrees keep in mind though it is very adjustable to other temperatures of course also the directions say to run the unit 24hrs before adjusting it to any specific temp wich realy made no sense to me but i guess you should always just do what they tell you in the directions


Performance vs. Expectations not much to say here i expected it to heat my tank and it did just that now although i did expect the suction cups to hold better


Value for money id say that it was a good value for the money definately worth 30 bucks


Liked about it adjusting knob
acuracy


Didn't like the suction cups dont hold well enough


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By CHEZITSmaster
Jul 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Never again

Installation and Operation Simple to operate... like pretty much all other heaters out there.


Performance vs. Expectations Thermostat was completely unreliable. Some days it would heat water to 90 degrees, other days it would not turn on even at 70 degrees.


Value for money Worthless piece of trash. Actually worse than worthless since it can kill livestock.


Liked about it The included rubber stand-off for the bottom of the tube makes it more difficult to accidentally break.


Didn't like Thermostat is unreliable, making it a dangerous addition to anything containing livestock. Might consider using it for heating a salt mixing container.


Overall rating:
 
1.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
1.0

By Plaz
Nov 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Good heater

Installation and Operation Easy, plug in, set temp and its ready


Performance vs. Expectations Performs great, better than i expected


Value for money Great product for the money


Liked about it Actually see what temp range your setting it for
price was great
kicks on and off when needed


Didn't like nothing bad to say


Overall rating:
 
5.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
5.0

By swnoobie
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Decent heater

Installation and Operation Very easy to install. Plug and play operation.


Performance vs. Expectations Very happy with the operation of this unit.


Value for money Excellent value for the money in my opinion


Customer Support Have not dealt with them


Liked about it The embossed temperature indicators
Set it and forget it


Didn't like Heater makes clicking sound when used in conjunction with the mount.


Overall rating:
 
4.0
Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0
Would consider buying it again:
 
4.0

By Mr.Peanut
Oct 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec563